Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for A Place Not Far From Here
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HarryGinnyLove88 A Place Not Far From Here

17th October 2017:
You should write more often...how many chapters til end..cant wait to know how its end ☺

 Report Review

Review #2, by Livchin2000 Banshee's Breath

15th September 2017:
This is really good. Please update

 Report Review

Review #3, by HarryGinnyLove88 Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
Finally you wrote, yay!!!

When we hear from James. Both Hogwarts and after?

 Report Review

Review #4, by Giu9_RedandGold Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
I'm so happy to see an update on this story! I know life can get complicated and is definitey more important than a fanfiction, but as a loyal reader I have been patiently waiting ☺

I loved the new chapter! Both past and present have become so intriguing, I don't even know which one I like more!

 Report Review

Review #5, by prongslittleflower Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
Loved the chapter update! Can't wait to read more from you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by BBHP Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
I have too many thoughts and emotions and questions to even make sense of it all. This chapter really took the story to a new level of intensity. I am so eager to read more.

Also, I do hope the chaos calms down for you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by prongslittleflower The Witch's Trial

4th September 2017:
I didn't realize this story wasn't finished and I kept pressing and searching for a next chapter button...which means I'm so utterly hooked on this! I really am enjoying the story and I can't wait to find out more about what's happening in the present and in the past. I like how you're switching back and forth, as it gives insight to the story without oversimplifying or revealing too much. I can't wait for you to update so we can read more!

 Report Review

Review #8, by abbynormalluvsluna The Pendant

5th August 2017:
I want to know what happened at that dang funeral!

 Report Review

Review #9, by abbynormalluvsluna The Jaguar

5th August 2017:
I love the way Amelia narrates! It leaves a lot to mystery but never so much I'm totally confused.

I also definitely entertained the idea that Amelia's mother was Rita Skeeter for a bit when her name was mentioned because of how much ruthlessness they seem to share. I think Rita Skeeter is a bit too old at this point, though.

 Report Review

Review #10, by abbynormalluvsluna The Final Hallow

5th August 2017:
Oh my gosh, this had me hooked right away!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Eyo The Witch's Trial

31st July 2017:
I forgot to put a review after having caught back the story shame on me!

You have a great writing style that should really be the first thing about your story. Seems very pro and the alternance of past and present as difficult as it you master it pretty well. I love how you create continuously new enigma in either the past or the present which I guess will be answer reciprocally in the other time. For example in this chapter will we understand what the hell this group is during their research in the past?

I wonder though if you will be able to alternate until the end which would be really cool but I guess even harder. Your mc has this little original thing which makes her a good one. It's nice how she is a "model" student on the cover but also many other traits no wonder she is attract to James. James though to be honest I feel in the past is a bit boring. He is extremely popular but doesn't appear arrogant or full of himself, he is just nice that is a bit boring to be honest and I was a bit disappointed about the discussion over Hogwart House I felt like his argumentation was pretty dumb, Slytherin and Griffondor follow the same cursus so from this one point it's dumb to think the House makes you "bad" or "good". Ostracism is definitely a better way to make someone turn "bad" and since when cunning and ambition are quality of Dark Wizzard, nice to know that I would have been an a**hole in this James universe haha. But as read in an earlier review maybe James was just acting like that for the sake of the argument and some sexual tension was here I mean at this age I wouldn't say I wasn't like that. Although the present James I hope is more complex and interesting.

By the way to answer you on the house system I always feel since I began to read Harry Potter that the house system was shit. House for sure but for the rest of the year you should be mixed randomly during class, have meals without house table and should just keep house table for the entrance and last meal of the year but anyway.

I love what you make of blood runes and I hope they gonna play a big role in this story not simply as way to sign your murder but also as combat magic or other kind of protection curse!

Also as you tell us James is kind of a prodigy in duelling? How strong is Harry Potter in your story? If James is that good at 16 can we guess that Harry is the best dueller/greatest wizard of Britain? Or maybe do you want to reveal this kind of info right now? I love the post era story where the old characters and not only the childrens are active and for now I love what you make of Harry Potter, very frightening, impressive but carrying he is really my favourite char in your story! I can't wait to see what you do of Ron Ginny or Hermione because after all Hermione knows her shit about the Hollows.

I love how dark is this fic, it's not stupidly dark I could even see it's a nice era but the dark is crawling and you create a very strong ambiance I'm not sure if it's reinforced by the alternance in time though but it's really good.

I can't wait to read more and particularly about the goal of the NeoGrindelwald ( why switch to this shitty name though :p or is it two différents group? ) and I sincerely hope you gonna make them as good as the rest of your story ( their story, their attacks, their relative power, Etc... )

Thank you for this story, cheers! See you next chapter

 Report Review

Review #12, by Eyo The Pendant

28th July 2017:
Well now I'm excited. I'm afraid I will not be able to sleep before I catch up on this story!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Eyo The Final Hallow

28th July 2017:
I'm totally lost but without being sure why I'm going to continue this story. Interesting first chapter let's see what you have next! Thank you for the reading

 Report Review

Review #14, by Violet Potter 434 The Witch's Trial

27th June 2017:
omg
more is needed

I want to see what harry wants to talk to them about

and that last bit
!!!


anyways its amazing

and you must write quickly


love from me xx

Author's Response: Many thanks, Violet_Potter434! :)


Your reviews always put a smile on my face. Working on the next chapter now!


 Report Review

Review #15, by MarieBlack The Mistranslation

18th June 2017:
Not going to lie I stumbled upon this story accidentally around 1am when I was decided to go to bed soon, but then I had to stay up til 3am to finish it. AND BOY WAS IT WORTH IT. I think I love stories that have this jumping from a present moment to the past because it leaves you wondering not just how they have come to where they are, in this case James as a Neowald and Amelia in her state, but also in how they will progress past where we see them now. Brilliant. I love the scope of this story and its inclusion of a probably not always expounded on snippet from the HP original series, the Hallows. I'm sticking this in my favorites as I eagerly await another chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, MarieBlack! I hope you were able to sleep in after staying up til 3am reading my story, and I'm terribly flattered by that. :)

I appreciate your comment about the Hallows. I think they are such an interesting, underlying part of the original series. With the new movie series (Fantastic Beasts) in progress, I am so curious to find out more about Grindelwald, and this story is a chance for me to explore how his ideologies haven't completely disappeared.

There will be plenty more past and present moments interwoven with each other, and I hope that you continue to read and enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Violet Potter 434 The Mistranslation

17th June 2017:
omg
what was that!?

runes
skin
Amelia hurt

ahhh

I need the next bit

and omg shes going under cover

i'm so worried for her, what if the goodies catch her and don't believe shes on their side!

so many worries


this was amazing of course and well it was so beautifully written (obvs)


love from me xx



love from me

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Violet Potter 434!

Yes, Amelia's hurt, the Runes seem to be the culprit, what does it all mean? Hmmm... more will be unfolded soon!

And yes, she's going under cover... She might be at the mercy of the Ministry and/or the NeoWalds... Your worries are definitely valid! ;)

Much love!


 Report Review

Review #17, by BBHP The Mistranslation

14th June 2017:
Very intense chapter! I'm dying to know what happens next. Your story is so creative and unique, and so so different from all the other next-gen stories. I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks, BBHP!

I am having so much fun writing this story, and your reviews are huge words of encouragement. I can't thank you enough! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by shewhomustnotbenamed_ The Mistranslation

14th June 2017:
Ok let me just say this story is absolutely brilliant. It's so original and so well written. One of the best stories I've read in a long time. I love the character development. And I think you have done James perfectly. I can't wait to learn more! Please keep writing, it's brillaint.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, shewhomustnotbenamed_! I appreciate your kind words.

The character development has been a lot of fun to write in this twisty plot. James is one of my favorite characters to write, and I'm excited to see his story unfold!

I'll definitely keep writing (the next chapter is almost finished). Please keep reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by adorably cute The Mistranslation

13th June 2017:
Ohhh that last part was so intense! This was so good. I'm so curious about how this all weaves together, but it's all so good! Can't wait for next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, adorably_cute! There are many more strands of this tapestry that is A Place Not Far From Here. :) I am excited to where this story is headed. Keep on reading and enjoying!

 Report Review

Review #20, by BBHP Two of a Kind

2nd June 2017:
Something monumental is happening, and the little clues here and there are just fueling my anticipation. I need answers! haha!

There are so many things going on in past and present -- James's betrayal, his and Amelia's argument (about something seemingly small but actually hugely important to Amelia, who's had to live with Slytherin stereotypes for her entire academic career), and their past and present relationship in general. Everything blends together so seamlessly, though, and it's completely sucking me in.

The runes at Hogsmeade are just one of those little clues that I'm dying to know more about. And I have no idea what Amelia's next move will be. Everything is getting so complicated in her life! I can't even imagine how I would react to something like that.

As for the Hogwarts Houses debate, I'm all for the separate houses. It just makes for interesting rivalries and fun friendships.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, BBHP!

It makes me so happy to hear that you're sucked into how the story is written. I've actually had this story idea for years, and it wasn't until right before I started writing this story that I decided to tell two linear stories about the same people: one past, one present. An interesting challenge is not giving away too many things about the past in the present, and making the past set up the mystery of the present!

The Runes will be explained more within the next couple chapters, and they might make reappearances in future updates, too. For now, I hope you continue to enjoy catching the little clues here and there in order to piece together all of the mystery! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by adorably cute Two of a Kind

28th May 2017:
Hogwarts Amelia and James are my fave! Their fight about houses had me laughing a little, it just seemed so them! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, adorably cute! :D

I'm glad you are amused at their fight. I would say that Amelia is rather a nerd, and that she brings out that part in James, though he would be the last one to admit it. And James keeps Amelia on her toes with his perspective on things and his (mostly bad) jokes!

Currently writing the next update. I hope to have it up soon!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Violet Potter 434 Two of a Kind

26th May 2017:
in my opinion there should be houses but I don't like all the prejudice

just my opinion

this chapter was a bit sad to be honest

good but I don't like to see them fight like that

I just want James to be a good guy who's like a double agent or something

please? please don't make him bad?

anyways I need to go so

I loved this

please write me an update quickly


from me xxx

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review, Violet Potter434! :)

And thanks for stating your opinion about the Houses. It would be interesting to see Hogwarts without the Houses, but at the end of the day, I would probably want them back (without the prejudices)!

James and Amelia are discovering that they're different people with different opinions and flaws, so they'll need some time to fight. But I'm sure they'll make up somehow (at least, for their past selves. Not sure about present-day)!

As for present-day James, I cannot reveal yet if he is a good guy or a bad guy. It will be uncovered eventually. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Dia Two of a Kind

25th May 2017:
Is it weird that what I loved the most about this chapter was the Hogwarts houses debate? Not because it was engaging and addresses stereotypes, but because of how it addresses the dynamic between James and Amelia. I like that they're the kind of couple who have been united by a mystery, able to actually *talk* to each other about interesting topics, and that they don't lose their individuality just because they start dating. (Also was it just me who sensed a very subtle sexual tension in that argument? I'm glad they didn't just end it by snogging though - hate how unrealistic that is) and Skeeter's article was infuriatingly amusing! Great chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Dia! :)

It isn't weird at all that you loved the debate. You caught onto part of what I was going for with this argument. First, I think that James and Amelia as a couple works for both of them beyond "s/he is good looking." James needs constant stimulation (which is partly why he's so into sports, since he can always be moving), and Amelia's intellect provides that for him. Amelia needs a confidant, especially since she's dealing with abandonment issues, and James has a way to gain her trust, no matter how uncomfortable it makes her feel at the time. Also, James and Amelia are individuals, and they are now really discovering that about each other. Good catch with the sexual tension, too. While their individuality is a cause to their fight, they are both still curiously attracted to the other individual. They are definitely learning that they're separate people, and deep down, they still really like each other... for now. ;)

Anyway, thanks for such a good review and great observations!


 Report Review

Review #24, by byandie The Headline

14th May 2017:
Ok so after binge reading all the chapters so far, I have to say that this story has me on edge. I'm so excited about what's to come and to learn more about "The Cause" and James' connection to them in the present. I really love your writing style and I can't wait to see what happens next :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and for the binge read, byandie! :)

The Cause and James' role is going to be so much fun to write! I hope you have as much fun reading about it in the future.

Thanks for your kind words and I hope you continue to enjoy the story!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Violet Potter 434 The Headline

13th May 2017:
I gtg right now
but oh my gosh
the cliff hangers have to stop

that's a definite
this was outstanding as usual
I loved it of course

cant wait to see what the runes were and what will be in the article

love from me xx

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review, Violet Potter 434!

The cliffhangers should probably stop, but they most likely won't. ;)

The next chapter is up, so your questions might be answered!

Much love!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>