Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for A Place Not Far From Here
  
63 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MarieBlack Hogsmeade

10th December 2017:
Again, just so deep into this mystery. I have a feeling I'm going to greatly enjoy how all of this builds together at the end. It's like knowing the story is a puzzle, receiving those pieces at different times and putting them together as you can. I have a feeling in a chapter or two I'll need to go back and read it all so I can really revel in all that is later revealed.

I love that we're seeing/feeling more of Amelia's intentions about the NeoWalds and people around her. You can see the shift that Neville's talk had with her, even if she's not entirely undoubtful about herself.

I love Lily, she is energetic, bouncy and very endearing. I'm excited to see her grow and how she interacts with other characters as well. Albus, I do have a soft spot for him. He loves his family even with his difference. I like the "Slytherin corner" bit for James birthday, it creates this bond with Amelia.

Her protectiveness too! It is so sisterly, even from seeing Lily's enjoyment and ensuring Albus stays safe, she truly cares for James' family. SO WHAT THE HECK HAPPENED?!

Once again I am on edge but loving it!

I hope updating goes well! Happy writing, xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by prongslittleflower Hogsmeade

20th November 2017:
I so enjoyed this! Sorry it's taken me awhile to read it. Life got hectic. But really, this chapter is more in depth in Amelia's thoughts and with the meeting, and the Hogsmeade trips, I liked hearing her take on things. I'm proud of Albus for trying to find out what's going on with James, but I like how Amelia had to reason with him, telling him to stay out of trouble and that she was going to try to take care of it. It shows a lot about her character, and the strength that she has as well! It's definitely been my favorite chapter so far, and I look forward to reading more. Also, I know she's part of the anti-muggle sentiment, but I'm interested in Sinead's character as well. She's very mysterious. Can't wait for the next update!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MarieBlack A Place Not Far From Here

2nd November 2017:
Again you enrapture us readers in the "BUT WHAT DID HAPPEN?" You leave us on this beautiful constant cliff hanger of -- how does Amelia become who we see in this NeoWald and the Cause war? How does a curious Slytherin mischiefing and falling in love with James Potter become a confused young adult, struggling to make sense.

I love the depth you give to Amelia, she doesn't have it all figured out. She is not this blind hero who always does right, but makes impulse decisions and even horrible decisions in the name of what feels right to her gut. MAN. She's good. I also love the - grittiness - of Neville in this chapter. It's like seeing the Neville hero in book 7 of HP. You can see that stride of determination and the wiseness of growing up far too quickly in a war. Their scene together is remarkable.

As ever, I'm intrigued of how we are where we are with Amelia, how she and James come to be. Sitting on an edge of "What happened to them?" Interested to see how this continues to unfold! Thank you for sharing your writing and talent, happy writing for the future! xx

Author's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review, MarieBlack!

I am glad that you're catching some of the longer themes and plot points of the story. I really enjoy writing Amelia. She definitely does not have it all figured out, and she is trying her best to survive.

I love Neville. I think that Amelia looks up to him so much, and he has a way of jolting her out of herself. I imagine him to be such a great teacher and mentor to all of his students.

What happened to James and Amelia? Why is Amelia the way she is in the present? Those are the questions! And we'll get there. :) Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Helena A Place Not Far From Here

26th October 2017:
This has got to be one of my favourite James/OC fan fictions I’ve read to date.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review, Helena! I'm curious to know why this is one of your favorite James/OC fics, but I am happy to hear it! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by JT4HP A Place Not Far From Here

19th October 2017:
Just stumbled back onto HPFF and searching through stories and found this one!!! And, I'm so so so glad I did because it's such a great one!

I really like this story and the way it flips back and forth between Hogwarts and present day. Can't wait to find out what ended up happening towards the end of Hogwarts!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and for reading this lengthy story!

Towards the end of Hogwarts... Amelia would tell you that she doesn't want to talk about it and that you're better off NOT knowing what happened. As the writer, I am saying that we are approaching the events towards the end of her Hogwarts experience--and in the present, we're nearing her goal of finding and confronting James, though she may not like what she finds. ;)


 Report Review

Review #6, by prongslittleflower A Place Not Far From Here

18th October 2017:
I’m really really enjoying this so far but I NEED to know what happened and what funeral they’re talking about! My curiosity is so peaked! I honestly am so excited to see what happens next, and I look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

The funeral that keeps being mentioned is Amelia's father's. It was briefly explained in the earliest chapters, and Amelia does NOT want to talk about what happened. So far, the readers know that this is when James disappeared during a skirmish between the Ministry and the NeoWalds. We'll get to this point in the past eventually. A few crucial things need to happen first.

I hope you enjoy the unfolding of the story! I feel we're at the point now where many of the questions from earlier chapters (like what happened at the funeral) are starting to get answered (but not always in full--that's for later!).


 Report Review

Review #7, by HarryGinnyLove88 A Place Not Far From Here

17th October 2017:
You should write more often...how many chapters til end..cant wait to know how its end ☺

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

How many chapters left? Good question. Let's see... I think there might be 30-ish chapters total. We'll see how I can fit Amelia's narration in with the necessary plot points for the completion of the story. ;) Still plenty left to go, though!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Livchin2000 Banshee's Breath

15th September 2017:
This is really good. Please update

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm writing the next update now. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by HarryGinnyLove88 Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
Finally you wrote, yay!!!

When we hear from James. Both Hogwarts and after?

Author's Response: I did! Thanks for your review!

We will hear more from James. However, it will be told from Amelia's point of view, so we'll have to wait for the two of them to collide and for the smoke to settle. ;)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Giu9_RedandGold Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
I'm so happy to see an update on this story! I know life can get complicated and is definitey more important than a fanfiction, but as a loyal reader I have been patiently waiting ☺

I loved the new chapter! Both past and present have become so intriguing, I don't even know which one I like more!

Author's Response: Thank you for your patience and your review! :D

Past and present are approaching some very intense moments. Enjoy the ride!


 Report Review

Review #11, by prongslittleflower Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
Loved the chapter update! Can't wait to read more from you!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am ironing out some plot bunnies that I've been so excited to use, and we've only now just begun to get there in the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by BBHP Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
I have too many thoughts and emotions and questions to even make sense of it all. This chapter really took the story to a new level of intensity. I am so eager to read more.

Also, I do hope the chaos calms down for you!

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review, BBHP!

Chaos is calming, but it's still there. This story is a great stress relief.

I hope you enjoy reading the intensity of this story as I do writing it!


 Report Review

Review #13, by prongslittleflower The Witch's Trial

4th September 2017:
I didn't realize this story wasn't finished and I kept pressing and searching for a next chapter button...which means I'm so utterly hooked on this! I really am enjoying the story and I can't wait to find out more about what's happening in the present and in the past. I like how you're switching back and forth, as it gives insight to the story without oversimplifying or revealing too much. I can't wait for you to update so we can read more!

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review!

I love writing back and forth in time. It adds to the mystery and reveals motives in both past and present. :)

Enjoy the rest of the story as it unfolds!


 Report Review

Review #14, by abbynormalluvsluna The Pendant

5th August 2017:
I want to know what happened at that dang funeral!

Author's Response: Thanks for your reviews!

You will definitely find out what happened at the funeral. ;)


 Report Review

Review #15, by abbynormalluvsluna The Jaguar

5th August 2017:
I love the way Amelia narrates! It leaves a lot to mystery but never so much I'm totally confused.

I also definitely entertained the idea that Amelia's mother was Rita Skeeter for a bit when her name was mentioned because of how much ruthlessness they seem to share. I think Rita Skeeter is a bit too old at this point, though.

Author's Response: Amelia begins to find more of her voice as the story goes on, but at the same time, she also leaves some things out. Maybe she doesn't realize that she's doing this, or maybe she doesn't want to rely some information (for whatever reasons). As the story progresses, more clarity will be shed!

As for Rita Skeeter, it's a coincidence in the wizarding world that she and Amelia's mum share the same name. However, I thought that witches sharing names only solidifies the wizarding culture in the HP universe. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by abbynormalluvsluna The Final Hallow

5th August 2017:
Oh my gosh, this had me hooked right away!

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad to hear it! ;)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Eyo The Witch's Trial

31st July 2017:
I forgot to put a review after having caught back the story shame on me!

You have a great writing style that should really be the first thing about your story. Seems very pro and the alternance of past and present as difficult as it you master it pretty well. I love how you create continuously new enigma in either the past or the present which I guess will be answer reciprocally in the other time. For example in this chapter will we understand what the hell this group is during their research in the past?

I wonder though if you will be able to alternate until the end which would be really cool but I guess even harder. Your mc has this little original thing which makes her a good one. It's nice how she is a "model" student on the cover but also many other traits no wonder she is attract to James. James though to be honest I feel in the past is a bit boring. He is extremely popular but doesn't appear arrogant or full of himself, he is just nice that is a bit boring to be honest and I was a bit disappointed about the discussion over Hogwart House I felt like his argumentation was pretty dumb, Slytherin and Griffondor follow the same cursus so from this one point it's dumb to think the House makes you "bad" or "good". Ostracism is definitely a better way to make someone turn "bad" and since when cunning and ambition are quality of Dark Wizzard, nice to know that I would have been an a**hole in this James universe haha. But as read in an earlier review maybe James was just acting like that for the sake of the argument and some sexual tension was here I mean at this age I wouldn't say I wasn't like that. Although the present James I hope is more complex and interesting.

By the way to answer you on the house system I always feel since I began to read Harry Potter that the house system was shit. House for sure but for the rest of the year you should be mixed randomly during class, have meals without house table and should just keep house table for the entrance and last meal of the year but anyway.

I love what you make of blood runes and I hope they gonna play a big role in this story not simply as way to sign your murder but also as combat magic or other kind of protection curse!

Also as you tell us James is kind of a prodigy in duelling? How strong is Harry Potter in your story? If James is that good at 16 can we guess that Harry is the best dueller/greatest wizard of Britain? Or maybe do you want to reveal this kind of info right now? I love the post era story where the old characters and not only the childrens are active and for now I love what you make of Harry Potter, very frightening, impressive but carrying he is really my favourite char in your story! I can't wait to see what you do of Ron Ginny or Hermione because after all Hermione knows her shit about the Hollows.

I love how dark is this fic, it's not stupidly dark I could even see it's a nice era but the dark is crawling and you create a very strong ambiance I'm not sure if it's reinforced by the alternance in time though but it's really good.

I can't wait to read more and particularly about the goal of the NeoGrindelwald ( why switch to this shitty name though :p or is it two différents group? ) and I sincerely hope you gonna make them as good as the rest of your story ( their story, their attacks, their relative power, Etc... )

Thank you for this story, cheers! See you next chapter

Author's Response: Thank you for this awesome review, Eyo! I appreciate your insight.

I have really enjoyed the time jumping in this story. You'll find a bit more about The Devil's Mark (and the NeoWalds [who didn't name themselves this, but more on that in later chapters] and Blood Runes) as the story continues.

I'm glad you like Amelia. She has many strong traits, and those will become more apparent in later chapters. She is on the path of self discovery for sure! As for James, you are reading him from Amelia's point of view. While he is popular, James is arrogant, but it's not very obvious to Amelia--maybe she just doesn't see it, or maybe she doesn't care that he is. James takes things for granted, I think. He naturally expects to be popular, feels comfortable with that attention (and can ignore the more negative aspects), and full heartedly accepts the division between Gryffindor and Slytherin. He does, deep down I think, believe in Gryffindor's superiority, but his feelings for Amelia (as well as having Albus in Slytherin) challenges his pre-assumptions at the same time as bringing them out of him. To answer your question about James' duelling, he is NOT a prodigy. James is a naturally talented wizard, especially in kinesthetic magic (Quidditch and spellwork). In my mind's eye, he does struggle in Potions and in theoretical magic, and his arrogance gives him the confidence to try new magic, which only increases his talent. You will see more of present James, and maybe you'll learn more about his motives. ;)

Harry Potter is an intimidating figure in this story. I love writing scenes between him and Amelia. You'll find out more why Amelia is so nervous to be around him later! Ron, Hermione, and Ginny will make more appearances, as the plot is now accelerating into some exciting new ventures!

Thanks again for reviewing and enjoy the rest of the story. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Eyo The Pendant

28th July 2017:
Well now I'm excited. I'm afraid I will not be able to sleep before I catch up on this story!!

Author's Response: Hope you enjoy what's coming next. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Eyo The Final Hallow

28th July 2017:
I'm totally lost but without being sure why I'm going to continue this story. Interesting first chapter let's see what you have next! Thank you for the reading

Author's Response: Thanks for giving this story a try, Eyo! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Violet Potter 434 The Witch's Trial

27th June 2017:
omg
more is needed

I want to see what harry wants to talk to them about

and that last bit
!!!


anyways its amazing

and you must write quickly


love from me xx

Author's Response: Many thanks, Violet_Potter434! :)


Your reviews always put a smile on my face. Working on the next chapter now!


 Report Review

Review #21, by MarieBlack The Mistranslation

18th June 2017:
Not going to lie I stumbled upon this story accidentally around 1am when I was decided to go to bed soon, but then I had to stay up til 3am to finish it. AND BOY WAS IT WORTH IT. I think I love stories that have this jumping from a present moment to the past because it leaves you wondering not just how they have come to where they are, in this case James as a Neowald and Amelia in her state, but also in how they will progress past where we see them now. Brilliant. I love the scope of this story and its inclusion of a probably not always expounded on snippet from the HP original series, the Hallows. I'm sticking this in my favorites as I eagerly await another chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, MarieBlack! I hope you were able to sleep in after staying up til 3am reading my story, and I'm terribly flattered by that. :)

I appreciate your comment about the Hallows. I think they are such an interesting, underlying part of the original series. With the new movie series (Fantastic Beasts) in progress, I am so curious to find out more about Grindelwald, and this story is a chance for me to explore how his ideologies haven't completely disappeared.

There will be plenty more past and present moments interwoven with each other, and I hope that you continue to read and enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Violet Potter 434 The Mistranslation

17th June 2017:
omg
what was that!?

runes
skin
Amelia hurt

ahhh

I need the next bit

and omg shes going under cover

i'm so worried for her, what if the goodies catch her and don't believe shes on their side!

so many worries


this was amazing of course and well it was so beautifully written (obvs)


love from me xx



love from me

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Violet Potter 434!

Yes, Amelia's hurt, the Runes seem to be the culprit, what does it all mean? Hmmm... more will be unfolded soon!

And yes, she's going under cover... She might be at the mercy of the Ministry and/or the NeoWalds... Your worries are definitely valid! ;)

Much love!


 Report Review

Review #23, by BBHP The Mistranslation

14th June 2017:
Very intense chapter! I'm dying to know what happens next. Your story is so creative and unique, and so so different from all the other next-gen stories. I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks, BBHP!

I am having so much fun writing this story, and your reviews are huge words of encouragement. I can't thank you enough! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by shewhomustnotbenamed_ The Mistranslation

14th June 2017:
Ok let me just say this story is absolutely brilliant. It's so original and so well written. One of the best stories I've read in a long time. I love the character development. And I think you have done James perfectly. I can't wait to learn more! Please keep writing, it's brillaint.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, shewhomustnotbenamed_! I appreciate your kind words.

The character development has been a lot of fun to write in this twisty plot. James is one of my favorite characters to write, and I'm excited to see his story unfold!

I'll definitely keep writing (the next chapter is almost finished). Please keep reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by adorably cute The Mistranslation

13th June 2017:
Ohhh that last part was so intense! This was so good. I'm so curious about how this all weaves together, but it's all so good! Can't wait for next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, adorably_cute! There are many more strands of this tapestry that is A Place Not Far From Here. :) I am excited to where this story is headed. Keep on reading and enjoying!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>