Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The joys of you
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Avanell 2 Chapter 5

29th October 2017:
Lovely, awesome update! Loved Scorpius and Rose's chat, how she's keeping things form him, and of course their connection that they both don't dare speak of...yet. Cannot wait to find out what they are! The news about everyone, I mean.
And loved Draco and Astoria...so lovely, and now a new hope despite her condition. Cannot wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #2, by alexaemd123 Chapter 5

25th October 2017:
Ah!!! I'm so happy and in love with this chapter! First of all, I have so many mixed emotions about the pregnancy! I loved their reactions to the test, it was truly beautiful and I loved the way you wrote their reactions! Second, I am so excited to find out what is with Albus! You mentioned that once Scorp saw him, he would know whats up with him, so it has to be a physical change of some sort. I'm not sure yet, but I'm dying to find out! At first I thought him and Alice had children, but then that wouldn't really make sense if it was a physical change.. unless he brings the kid(s) with him to see Scorp. idk.. I'm brainstorming right now. Anyways, lastly, I am so excited for more Rose and Scorp action! And like you said, there will be a scene with Scorp and Ron!!! Oo exciting!! So happy with how this story is turning out! I can't wait to see Scorps reaction to the pregnancy and the realtionships between Scorp, Rose and Lily! Plus so much more to come!! So please continue soon! I'm in love with this story so much!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Avanell 2 Chapter 4

20th October 2017:
Lovely update! Oh, some news for Scorpius to digest (and plan for) as well ;) Awesome!

Author's Response: There are more hints in the next chapter (that's already up and waiting for approval, should be up later today or tomorrow!) about what's going on with two of the Weasleys that are going to be two of the more important secondary characters, and a reveal will be coming the chapter after that.

Thank you so much for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by alexaemd123 Chapter 4

18th October 2017:
I am so beyond happy and excited with how this is going! Thank you so very much for continuing this story! Your writing is exquisite and I seriously love all their characters so far! I need more of this story and I hope it wont be a long wait since your done with your semester! So, happy writing and I was just curious of how long you expect this to be or how long you think it will be! So again, thank you so much for writing this! It is simply amazing and I love this truly! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this lovely review! It made my day already :)

The next chapter is already waiting for approval, and it should be up on the Archive either later today or tomorrow. It's a long one. I hope you'll love it xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by Glisten  Chapter 3

14th July 2017:
Wow! I can't believe she's pregnant! These are so many things that could happen now, though... she could die right before she has it or she could have it and then die or maybe she's just mistaken?

It's just so tragic that she's going to have a baby now, leaving a child motherless is just the worst. I wonder if Rose will work harder to do the research on her condition and even more I wonder if she will avail.

I like how you added details about how her and Draco came to be and how she saw a resemblance in her son's relationship with Rose. In case she does die, I'm glad that she got that moment of happiness knowing Scorpius had found his love. It's a gift that Scorpius didn't know he was giving her.

I'm absolutely glued to your story and I see it's been awhile since you updated. It's funny because I didn't even notice this story was being advertised, it just popped up in an advanced search, but I saw the banner when I clicked on this chapter! Just that that was kind of funny, haha. I'm surprised his doesn't have more attention. I mean, I guess this kind of story requires a very special taste and appreciation. I feel like it definitely deserves more readers, though.

I'm hoping that you've been working on your next chapter so that you can post an update soon! I'll be waiting (eagerly) for the fourth part!

Author's Response: The pregnancy was a decision I made later in my planning for this story, but I wanted it (mostly) for Draco's arc in this story. There still hasn't been much said about him and how he's dealing with Astoria's condition, and with a baby on the way things will be somewhat prompted into action, and not in the way some of you might think. I have, aside from the general plot of the story, several subplots that'll be explored and I haven't introduced even half of them. Quite a few members of the Weasley-Potter clan will be important to the story and all the subplots will be connected and relevant to the main plot ^^

I have a little surprise on Draco/Astoria's and Scorpius/Rose's past for you guys, by the way :3

Lastly I'd like to apologize for how long it's been taking me to update. However I'm a college student and just finished my exams today. I've been itching to go back to writing (I write for another fandom as well and have several works in progress at the moment) so now I finally can have at it. I'll be updating in the next few days ^^

Once more, thank you so much for your comments. I only saw them today and they truly were a gift after the semester I've had lol looking forward to hear from you after the next chapter :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Glisten  Chapter 2

14th July 2017:
This chapter really helped me to appreciate the sort or strength it takes to be in the medical field, especially the kind where you develop relationships with your patients. Rose has such a kind heart and to work in the Incurable Ward means she has to interact with people who are going to die no matter what she can do. It must be hard to accept, seeing these people every day, tending to them with the thought that you're only supposed to be caring for them until they die.

Timmy's condition reminds me of the movie 50 First Dates, it has a girl with the same problem he does. Such an innocent boy affected by a terrible misfortune. So sad!

Rose and Scorpius's reuinun was perfect. Most books and movies portray reunions after long-term separation as two people who are excited and rushing towards each other instantly, but you really captured how they are realistically. They are both apprehensive about embracing each other and speaking to each other, and Rose felt she needed time to prepare for his arrival. It's only natural to be nervous about that sort of thing, I mean, Scorpius could have changed so much for all she knew. Even though he is basically her soul mate, their relationship is something she'd been away from for a long time.

I know I said this in my last review, but I really feel the need to point out that I really appreciate your writing quality. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!

I wonder what kind of emotions Astoria is feeling? It's cool that your shifting points of view by the way!

Author's Response: Having worked in an hospital for six years in a department where a certain... Tact was required to handle everything I saw there and to deal with the patients we had, I feel like I'm writing Rose a bit in the way I saw myself when I worked there. Not everyone is cut out for these jobs, and it takes its toll on us, but somehow we have to live with it and make do. I want to show just how strong Rose is, and how much stronger she'll need to be with what I'll throw her way what with Astoria and Timmy's condition in particular.

I'm honestly really excited about this fic, I have so much in store for it...

And I'm so happy you loved Scorpius and Rose's reunion! It felt right to me, and as a writer I've always liked to go against the flow a little. I like to explore things I haven't seen other writers explore before, I like to push the edge a bit further, even if it sometimes comes at a cost (like not having as many readers or inevitably making my stories longer), and I don't want to have Scorpius and Rose immediately getting it on again. I want to take my time and have them fall back in love (not that, deep down, they really ever stopped) amidst everything happening around them. It's in the little things, I always like to say :)

I'll be changing POVs often, as I think it'll bring a nice rythm to the story. It'll help you get to know my characters better and be a bit different from most of the stories out there where there's either only one POV or two. It's challenging and I like it.

Thank you so much for the compliments, they do mean a lot to me


 Report Review

Review #7, by Glisten  Chapter 1

14th July 2017:
A very difficult thing to deal with when you're going through a hard time is the pity that everyone feels obligated to show you. If I had been one of those Healers, I would have pretended to check a clipboard or at least allowed him to finish his sentence. The last thing someone wants is to be the center of attention because their mother is about to pass away from an incurable malady.

That must be such a hard thing for Scorpius to have to chose between his dying mother and his future! On one hand he knows that this apprenticeship is his one ticket to this rare path of magic and on the other hand he knows his mother is frail and could pass away at any moment. I can hardly imagine the amount of pressure he puts on himself to figure out what the right choice is. Or, well... maybe I can. You do have a talent with imagery, after all. Seriously! It's like I can see it all happening right infront of my eyes! I can see the thought you put into each of the details and it really brings this to life.

I've always had a special appreciation for these kinds of stories, the ones that aren't exactly centered around romantic relationships and rather somebody learning to go through a hard time and learning to deal with new emotions and finding the answers to difficult decisions.

I know that Astoria's death is coming soon... and I feel like I'm going to cry just because your writing I see so vivid! I guess we will have to see. Splendid work with this chapter, by the way!

Author's Response: Hi :)

First of all, thank you so much for your comments. They meant the world to me.

I love that you think I can paint such a vivid picture! I'm a very visual writer, and as I'm really creative (I don't usually come up with a prompt/plot for a story, but rather a plot and respective subplots and all that comes with it), it's really important for me to /see/ what's in my head. So I create boards for my stories on Pinterest, aesthetics I share on my social media accounts, even draw to myself sometimes, and so when I write I like to know what's where and that I can roughly translate into words what I envision. It helps set a scene and to make my characters' actions more believable, in a way. So I'm glad I'm passing this along :)

While I very much enjoy fluff and romance, I personally prefer both to write and to read slowburns, especially those that focus on things other than the main pairing. It makes the story more realistic, I think, and often relatable, and so that's how I write my own. If there's a story behind a great love story, then I'm on it ^^

Thank you so much for your comment!


 Report Review

Review #8, by alexaemd123 Chapter 3

11th July 2017:
Holy cow! I love your story! I look forward to reading much more of this when you update! So far, it has such a great story line and I am so excited to read more! So please update soon and of course, keep up the excellent writing skills!!! Love it!

Author's Response: I'm so thrilled people are enjoying the storyline so far, thank you! I'll be updating this weekend :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by wethegrounders Chapter 3

9th July 2017:
please update! I'm so hooked on this story. your writing is really fantastic and Rose and Scorpious's relationship has me wanting to know more

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'll be updating this weekend :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Avanell 2 Chapter 3

23rd June 2017:
Lovely chapter, enjoyed learning a bit of Draco and Astoria's marriage. And to finally learn why Rose had the pregnancy test! I was completely surprised, and it fit in with the story.
Oh, please keep her alive! Almost thought you meant, when mentioning she was pregnant before, that it died before she learned it had and was already pregnant. I know of someone that happened too. Can't remember how long she was actually pregnant!

Author's Response: Astoria's pregnancy and her demise will surely be a ride, and a bittersweet one at that. I'll try and write it to the best of my abilities. I'll be updating this weekend :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Avanell 2 Chapter 2

10th June 2017:
Beautiful update! Love the work Rose is doing, not just for Astoria but for the little boy, too! And of course, all her other patients. Loved the reunion, and her thoughts of Astoria and her life, family, etc. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you're enjoying it :)

I should be updating in a day or two ^^


 Report Review

Review #12, by MJ91 Chapter 1

21st April 2017:
Really nice chapter. I hope you plan to continue.

Author's Response: Thank you. It'll be updated this week :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Avanell 2 Chapter 1

17th February 2017:
Very nice introductory chapter! Looking forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. I should be updating soon :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by quill2parchment Chapter 1

14th February 2017:
Wonderful first chapter! I love Scorpius and his mom's relationship, and it's so sad that she's sick! But I can't wait to find out what happens between him and Rose!

Update soon please :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading ^^

I'll explore Scorpius' relationship with both his mom and dad in depth because we barely know anything about Astoria at all, and I like to think that Astoria and Draco did their best to raise Scorpius the way they wish they'd been raised.

Rose will be pretty close to Astoria too :)

I'll update tonight.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Solana14 Chapter 1

14th February 2017:
Wonderful! Love it, and its closeness to canon, which I always appreciate. Yet sad at the same time because we know Astoria is going to die and we get to see how Scorpius handles it all. And he's still in love with Rose. Perfect!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, I'm glad you like it! I'll try and update tonight, tomorrow at the latest :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login