Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Riddikulus
  
61 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Apple In Which Chaos Ensues

17th December 2017:
I think this story is indefinitely one of the funniest fanfictions I have ever read, and I've read a lot of fanfics. The characterisation of your characters is very brilliant as I can always visualise the story in front of my eyes, which is a great effect for a story to hold. They all possess such bizarre traits, which are unique to their personalities and therefore they blend together as a group quite perfectly.

Of course, I have to mention how much I love the idea of James and Charlie together. They both have such stark personalities which contrast quite fiercely very often, which leads to their continuous arguments however they do possess very similar traits. The mix of similarities and differences make them extremely compatible, and I just love reading about them. This being said, please don't make us wait too long for them to get together! They are both remarkably stubborn and honestly, they need to get over their attitudes!

Overall I cannot wait to continue reading the coming chapters and see the development of the novel over the next however long you choose to continue the story. That being said, keep up the amazing work and take your time to perfect the chapters!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Anonymous In Which Chaos Ensues

15th December 2017:
great story! update soon!

Author's Response: I promise I'm doing my best to finish the chapter as soon as I can! ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LaBelleDame In Which Chaos Ensues

10th December 2017:
good work - update soon! You will soon post?

Author's Response: Thank you! I know I've been saying this for a while, but I am doing my best to finish this chapter quickly! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Photography.Geek In Which Chaos Ensues

9th December 2017:
Hilarious story - I also love all the chapter images. They must've taken a while to make but they're all very cool.

Author's Response: Haha thank you! The chapter images are honestly always something of an experiment, so it's a relief to hear that you like them! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Anonymous In Which Chaos Ensues

9th December 2017:
Great chapter! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and can't wait for the next chapter to come! Please don't take too long.
P.S I ship Charlie and James so much! They are such an adorable pair and me cannot wait until they become a couple for real. The wait is killing me!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! The next chapter is still a work in progress, but I'm trying to finish it sooner, I promise! :) I hope you like what's in store for Charlie and James!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Anonymus In Which Chaos Ensues

9th December 2017:
Amazing chapter! Update soon

Author's Response: Thanks! I promise I'm working on the next chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Anonymus In Which Chaos Ensues

4th December 2017:
Funny Chapter! Loved the story! Update ASAP!

Author's Response: Thanks! I promise I'm working to get the next chapter up as soon as I can! :) (But it's shaping up to be longer than the last one, so I can't make any estimations quite yet on exactly when that will be...)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Potterhead1751 In Which Chaos Ensues

2nd December 2017:
Amazing update! You can really see how James and Charlie's relationship is beginning to shape in this chapter and I absolutely loved it. Completely brilliant and although there was a long wait, completely worth it.

I like James' serious use of Charlie's name - I was a mix of laughing and freaking out by that point so there's that.

It's also really hilarious how subjective they are to the other's opinions on themselves. It's clearly obvious James likes his pranking, teasing and of course smirking but I really think Charlie enjoys his presence. Their interactions are always so bloody funny and this is one ship I'm hell bent on. So no pairing them with others - I will literally cry!

Anyways ending my review, really a great chapter. Please update soon!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's awesome to get feedback on the details of Charlie and James' interactions in this chapter. ;)

I had a lot of fun changing up their dynamic for this chapter, and I'm glad you liked it. I always smile when I see that other people ship them. :)

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Anonymus In Which Chaos Ensues

29th November 2017:
Great chapter - thoroughly enjoyed reading it! Update as soon as possible! (don't give us too long a wait like last time please!!)

Author's Response: Haha thanks! I'll try to finish this one sooner than the last. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Anonymus In Which Chaos Ensues

27th November 2017:
Frickin awesome chapter! Love this story and I'm completely obsessed! Update ASAP!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I promise I'll be working to get the next chapter up as soon as I can! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Hedwig3110 In Which Chaos Ensues

26th November 2017:
HE CALLED HER CHARLIE AGAIN. I kinda sorta had a little freak out over this little detail (which technically is not small) because James has only called her Charlie TWICE in FOURTEEN chapters!!! This was a really significant detail for me so I thought that I'd start off with that.

Next I need to address the hippogriff in the room. The undeniable attraction between James and Charlie. Since when have they taken such an interest in each other's opinion!!! it's really interesting to see this side of them because they are two contrasting characters who have never had a really emotionally significant impact on one other so it was lovely to see the seeds being planted for their relationship.
"But you wouldn't care, would you, Simmons?" Why!!! My only question! Why - there was such good progression in 5 minutes and 1 comment made it all collapse!!!

Such a tense chapter! I was really surprised that Charlie managed to somewhat keep her dignity and not murder Potter. (I was very low key very proud of her because if I was in her place, I probably would've punched James too)

In general it was wonderfully put together and was entirely worth the wait. I can't wait to read the forthcoming chapters - so please try to update the story soon. Perhaps there'll be a shorter waiting time but if there isn't oh well...

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad to see that people noticed the use of Charlie's actual name, because that tends to happen in moments where the two of them forget to hate each other. ;)

It's awesome to get responses on the interaction between Charlie and James in this chapter, and seeing feedback on the general dynamic shift is really encouraging!

And it definitely took a lot of effort on Charlie's part not to punch anyone. ;)

I promise I'll try to finish this chapter faster than the last! :) Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Anonymus In Which Chaos Ensues

26th November 2017:
Amazing chapter - Extremely hilarious and incredibly interesting! Keep up the good work and update as soon as possible!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I definitely hope to have the next chapter posted more quickly than the last one was, if it's any consolation! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Potterhead3106 In Which Chaos Ensues

25th November 2017:
"I had a fistful of his shirt and oh, Godric, I was in my pajamas-"
That is perhaps the funniest line I have ever read!!! I could not stop laughing, it paired so well with the scene and Im gal you still managed to add a comedic element even If Charlie was going to kill James!

"Charlie." He said her name again! Not Simmons but her actual name, well nickname! It's really quite interesting that Charlie can fluctuate between Potter and James so easily whereas James strictly calls her Simmons with only a couple exceptions like this time. It's a great element to add because it shows that whenever James does say Charlie he is serious, or so caught up in the moment that he forgets.

He looked almost bitter as he stepped back. "But you wouldn't care, would you, Simmons?" Why do you do this to us!!! It was all going so well, he agreed to take the blame, he apologised! It absolutely broke my heart because all that progression towards mutual animosity just took a huge step backwards! I ship them so hard and this just slightly kills me!!!

'I hated that that bothered me.' But you still gave us hope so thank you!!! We can see a real progression in their relationship now and I absolutely love it. Hopefully we'll see more interaction between just the two of them because frankly they are pretty great!

Overall great chapter and I hope you post the next one up soon!

Author's Response: Thank you for the feedback! :) I have to say, for all the difficulty it gave me, this chapter was a ton of fun to write.

I'm really glad that someone caught the use of Charlie's name, too! You're spot on in saying that it only happens when they're both caught up in the moment, or when they've both put down their defenses.

And there definitely were a lot of conflicting interactions in the apology scene. ;) With these two, it's always sort of one step forward, two steps back, and then another half a step forward. ;)

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #14, by alyssa.violet27 In Which Chaos Ensues

25th November 2017:
AAAH! YOU FINALLY UPDATED AND IT WAS SO FRICKIN BRILLIANT!

I loved the entire James and Charlie dynamic in this chapter - I ship them so hard! Why can't they just get together and be the cutest couple known to the entire Harry Potter Fanfic Universe!?!?!

Please update soon because I am absolutely addicted to this story!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'd love to make it as simple as James and Charlie just getting together, but then I also love to make things hard on Charlie... ;)

I'll have the next chapter up as soon as I can! Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyJames1998 In Which Chaos Ensues

24th November 2017:
Lovely chapter! You've put so much detail into it and it is clearly visible. This chapter you can definitely see the beginning of the attraction between James and Charlie and I absolutely love it!

I really do feel for Charlie because she tries so hard to avoid trouble yet she always lands in some kind of dilemma and half of the time its unintentional.

Overall a really superb chapter and I hope you will update the story soon. Hopefully not too long a wait this time but, if there is no problem! I cannot wait to read about the rest of the holidays and New Year's Day because with this lot, it is sure to be absolutely wild. Keep up the good work and maybe I'll see an update soon...

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad you were able to relate to Charlie somewhere in the insanity of this chapter. ;)

I can't make any promises on the timing of the next chapter, but I can promise that I'll be working diligently!

Thank you for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Annie In Which Chaos Ensues

23rd November 2017:
I hope They get together soon!🙌🏻

Author's Response: Haha They're much too stubborn for it to be too soon, but stay tuned! ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Anonymus In Which Chaos Ensues

22nd November 2017:
AHAHAHAHAH! okay I'm totally in love with this story. I 110% ship James and Charlie - they are so tricking cute and adorable. The gang is so crazy, kinda like this review but I had to let you know what a great job you're doing!!! Love it and update soon!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! To be honest, crazy characters are the most fun to write. ;) There are even crazier things in store for them, so I hope you like what's to come!

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by DracoHermione1991 In Which Chaos Ensues

22nd November 2017:
I was so excited to see an update of this story and it was totally worth the wait. The scenes were hilariously funny and you could relate clearly as to how Charlie was feeling.

This chapter wasn't as long as the other which is shame but totally fin because the quality of the content was extraordinary. That James and Charlie apology scene must have been difficult to write because there was a perfect blend of satire from James (and of course Charlie attacking him) and the serious moment between Charlie and James. It was low-key adorable that her thoughts were mainly focused on James for a good minute. It's quite clever how you subtly introduced the more pro James/Charlie idea except Fred of course and its sweet to see their relationship beginning to blossom.

Overall the chapter was excellently written and I hope you continue to write like this in future chapters. It would also be great if you could make them a little bit longer just because they are so addictive to read and reread, we won't mind waiting a little extra for more James/Charlie. Anyways great update and please do post another chapter soon!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for the feedback! Again, I'm so sorry about the long wait between updates :(, but I hope to get the next chapter up sooner!

The apology scene definitely gave me trouble when I was writing it, because I wanted to show a change while staying true to the characters, so I'm glad for the positive response!

I have some chapters coming up with a lot that need to happen in them, so that's likely to create longer chapters, if that's any consolation. ;)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Anonymus In Which Chaos Ensues

22nd November 2017:
Amazing chapter! Update as soon as possible!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll be working fervently on the next chapter over break, and I promise I'll have it up as soon as I deem it readable! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by op tree In Which Chaos Ensues

22nd November 2017:
FINALLY! I WAS SCREAMING AT THE TOP OF MY LUNGS WHEN I SAW THIS UPDATE!!!
I had figured out what was in the trunk and I'm glad to see I was right! I don't think I've ever felt more sorry for Charlie in this entire novel so far. Her attitude throughout this entire chapter was completely justified and I think its great to see her standing up to James more.

And James, what to say about him. It was quite strange to see him acting more with his head this time whilst dealing with Charlie as it made him seem much more likeable to me. It was actually so sad to read this line, "He looked almost bitter as he stepped back. "But you wouldn't care, would you, Simmons?" I think we can finally see that James does genuinely care about Simmons and I was glad to see that he did apologise sincerely to her. James in this chapter has been particularly mysterious as he just seems to be hiding something which obviously Fred is in on but I'm definitely curious.

Now James/Charlie - the part where she land on top of him was ridiculously hilarious. (I was laughing for a good 5 minutes straight) And the apology scene and what follows was quite tense between them. WE'RE FINALLY SEEING SOMETHING MORE BETWEEN THEM. It is also great see James agree with Charlie so much in this chapter, I'm surprised he didn't say that she would get taken down with him. It's also pleasing to see that James acting so unJames bothers her as it makes their entire relationship seem so much more realistic, which is fantastic.

Finally the entire end scene was very funny. I do not think it is possible for this group to do something without getting caught and the fact that the students and teachers were pretty much playing tag seemed so realistic to me as I would probably do the same if I was in their said position.

Overall a fantastic chapter and I hope everything works out somewhat one for the gang as their break continues. Please do update soon, hopefully the next chapter won't take as long as this one but if time is required to make it perfect, take all the time you need. Once again great story and please do update ASAP!!!

Author's Response: Oh, my gosh; thank you! I was honestly smiling like a maniac when I read your review. :)

There definitely was a change in dynamic between Charlie and James in this chapter, even if she's still oblivious to it, so I'm glad to see that you both noticed and liked it! The apology scene was actually part of what took me so long to write, so I'm really happy to see a positive response. :)

And... it's definitely not possible for this group to do anything without getting caught. ;)

Thank you for being so understanding about the awful update schedule; I promise that I'll have the next chapter up as soon as I can!

Thank you so much for the amazing review! You made my day ;)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Anonymus In Which Mistletoe Is a Tragedy

21st November 2017:
Ok.

I am completely obsessed with this story. The plot line is great, hilarious and you have made it seem realistic to this group of people which is amazing.

The chapters have been light-hearted with the right sense of seriousness when necessary and is overall a good story. It's nice to see the progressive development of James and Charlie's relationship, which always keeps me on my toes. The one question that keeps bugging me is, HOW DO THEY GET TOGETHER!!! They have their similarities, but in terms of personalities are polar opposites and this has not been a typical James/OC fanfic which means I CANNOT work this out. I have had my fair share of theories which all seem absurd as I go back to look at them and I think it's amazing that you've managed to do this. The next sequences in the novel are never predictable which is one of the main aspects I love about this story.

However I do have some more questions/suggestions:

a) Although the next chapter will predominately be based around what is in the box and how the characters react. Will we ever find out more about Charlie's family, her history, her brother? Does she have another sibling? (
For some bizarre reason I'm utterly convinced her brother has a twin so she has two older brother but swiftly moving on...)

b)Could you write a description of how she looks? I just find it easier to imagine her character. Truly the same with the other characters as well.

c) *Not so much a question but...* Please do not let Charlie lose her craziness no matter what. Her paranoia and slight insanity make her such a unique character who is impossible to hate.

In conclusion to this quite long review (my reviews are usually much shorter but alas), I think you are making excellent progress with the stories and can't wait to see how it all plays out.

(P.S. very clever with what is in the trunk - the moment of realisation may have had me screaming at the intelligence of the idea causing my friends to look at me weirdly - meaning I then had to explain this entire plot to them...)

Author's Response: Firstly, thank you so much for the constructive feedback! This review honestly made my day. ;)

Next, and to answer some of your questions while also trying to be conscious of spoilers, I can say that I have a lot of crazy things planned for Charlie and James. ;)

As far as Charlie's family goes, I promise you'll find out more, I just can't say much right now for fear of accidentally spoiling something. :)

Description wise, I think I mentioned something in the first chapter about Charlie having brown hair and blue eyes. I may have included a few indistinct descriptions for her roommates and James, but I'll freely admit that I didn't say very much for fear of ending up with a My Immortal-esque description paragraph. I'll be sure to drop a few descriptions in the coming chapters, so thank you for the insight! :)

And as for the general insanity of the story, I can promise that there's more to come ;) I'm really glad to hear that you like Charlie's characterization, because somewhere along the way she sort of developed a mind of her own! ;)

Again, thank you so, so much for the amazing review! I hope you like what's to come!



 Report Review

Review #22, by DracoHermione 1991 In Which Mistletoe Is a Tragedy

19th November 2017:
Hi! Okay, I'm going to start off by saying how much I absolutely love this story. I came across it yesterday and finally caught up and decided to write a review for the last updated chapter!

First of all I'm glad to see that Charlie is still somewhat sane after all she has been through and I love the fact she has got herself banned from a shop. "I guess it'll be recycled gifts for everyone this year, then," - I absolutely loved this line because it really encapsulates who Charlie is.

Secondly, what is going on with the Quidditch team? There's definitely something coming but I can't tell what but it should definitely be interesting. I hope Alan and Harvey can work out their issues, Gryffindor cannot lose another game, they have to win the House Cup!

Thirdly that entire last section was extremely crazy and so hilarious! Now as to what's in the trunk I think, like most of your readers, I've figured it out. I definitely can't wait to see what everyone's reaction will be and how it will affect Charlie. I am completely pro James/Charlie because they just compliment each other so well and I really hope that whatever is in that trunk won't affect their relationship too much. I mean the pranks and insults between the two have already gone far enough and don't even get me started on the rumours.

Overall I think this is an amazing story and is shaping up into a great plot line. I can't wait to read the new chapter, which will hopefully be up soon?? Also one question would be how long do you think this story is going to be in general - I need to prepare myself for the amount of waiting required. But until the next page I wish you luck and please update this soon!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the amazing feedback! :)

I'll start off by saying that you're probably right about what's in the trunk, but I'm excited to write where this goes. ;) I'm really glad that you like Charlie and James together, because writing shippable characters with such strong personalities can get difficult. :)

The Quidditch team is probably going to be put on the back burner a bit over break, but I'm excited to write more of their practices afterwards, and I'm glad you like that subplot!

As for the update schedule, I've (at long last!) gotten through the scene that's taken me the longest, so I can pretty safely say that the next chapter will be up by the end of the week. :)

Length-wise, I have this story outlined to go to the end of the year, but things start to move a little faster from here; I'd estimate that this will be about 25 chapters total, but that's a rough estimate at best.

Thanks so much for the review! I hope that that answered some of your questions. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by LilyJames1989 In Which Mistletoe Is a Tragedy

18th November 2017:
Great Story! Keep up the good work and please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll have the next chapter up as soon as it's even remotely readable, I swear! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Anonymus In Which Mistletoe Is a Tragedy

6th November 2017:
Great story! I am excited to read the coming chapters! Any time frame of when Chapter 14 will be up?? Couple days? Week?

Author's Response: Hey! I'm so sorry for the late response; I've honestly just had a lot going on recently. I have the majority of Chapter 14 finished, but I've been sort of stuck one scene, but I promise that I'll get it up as soon as it's finished!

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Hedwig3110 In Which Mistletoe Is a Tragedy

31st October 2017:
This story is 100% funny and original - I am absolutely in love with it!!!

The friendships in the story are extremely unique and that's what makes them stronger and it's a great element of the overall plot line. I especially enjoy that although the group is now in their 5th year, they still have a childish and less mature side which is one of the many reasons this story is absolutely amazing.

I extremely enjoyed this chapter and like everyone else I have my suspicions about what is in the box and IF I'm right it will tie perfectly to the story, especially the title.

I also adore Charlie's character, she actually is a lot smarter and mature than seen. It is hilarious that whenever James is involved all logic is thrown out the window and paranoia immediately kicks in. I'm sure her character development will be amazing in the coming chapters. Overall she is the most lovable paranoid, crazy goofball I have ever read.

And of course like all your loyal readers I completely adore James/Charlie - they are the most unique couple I have read so far. In most stories we see girls dislike the guy and secretly think he's gorgeous and eventually attraction wins out, however we see genuine 'intense loathing' between the two. The development of their relationship is natural and not forced which makes it really distinctive. I can't wait to see what happens in the next chapter between the two of them; How will our beloved Charlie react? What will she do to James? How will James explain himself? Will the teachers come back? Will Charlotte Jane Simmons finally get sent to Azkaban for murder? Who knows?

In conclusion to this quite length review I love this story and please update soon!!! The boredom I feel while waiting for an update is unimaginable and when it finally happens I do start squealing like a 5 year old. Keep up the amazing work and once again update soon!

Author's Response: Firstly, thank you so much for the absolutely amazing review! :) I'm glad you've grown to like such a ridiculous story (no pun intended) ;)

Subtlety has never been my strong point, so I'll say that as far as the trunk, you're probably on the right track, but it's not so much what's in the trunk as it is what it means for the characters. ;)

I'm really happy to hear that you like the characterization and relationships so far, because I honestly love writing those scenes. The scenes in the girls' dorm are some of my favorites to write, and the Charlie/James dynamic is always a wild ride, so I'm glad you like them! :)

(I actually laughed out loud in a silent room at your last question about her going to Azkaban, so thanks for that) ;)

As for chapter 14, I've outlined the entire chapter and have a pretty decent part of it written, so I hope that's good news!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>