Reading Reviews for In This Darkness
  
143 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Levana Chapter One: The Beginning

24th February 2018:
Hey! It’s me, Maggie, here with your review 😊
So, you definitely have me intrigued with this first chapter and I’m interested to see where you go with this. The plot definitely sounds promising to me, and I’m already anticipating the fallout that’s going to happen in a future chapter when Xander finds out they modified his memory – which I mean, that will definitely be eventful.

I’m also very curious about Xander and the backstory with who he is and who is grandfather is. Also the fact that he could actually cast the cruciatus curse at his age is terrifying (it actually made me shiver when I was reading that), but it also made me feel really sad for him because what would have happened for him to hear about that curse? But also, the fact that he did that to save Harry’s life shows that he isn’t bad. So, I think you do a very good job of showing that he’s just a scared little kid who’s clearly had some trauma in his life and not the evil kid the creepy dude thinks he is.

I like your characterizations so far. I have to admit I was a little worried that Harry would come as OOC when he first showed up, but I really like where you went with that. You did a good job of showing his uncertainty and hesitance about the whole situation (as well as his disgust for that creepy dude, Chapman) and then Harry’s true nature swooped in the sort of counter the hesitance that he had.

I really like how you've written Harry and Ginny, they were so cute and I think you nailed their relationship and the dynamic that they have. I love how Ginny already cares for Xander and is willing to adopt him.

All in all I think that this is a very good start to your fic! The only thing I’d say you should change/watch out for is some grammar and typo mistakes that were missed. Other than that, it’s great. Your writing is very good. 😊

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lympha Chapter Twenty-One: Rude Awakenings

15th February 2018:
I really love your story and was ecstatic to read this chapter. I especially love reading the interactions between Xander and Lily and there was plenty of that in this chapter.
I'll look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'm so happy you enjoyed all the Xander/Lily moments in this chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ameera Chapter Twenty-One: Rude Awakenings

14th February 2018:
Hello ! THANK YOU for updating , you made my day as always .
Where do I even start ? This chapter is a masterpiece , I've been fighting the need to read it earlier all day and even while working, i was just thinking about it , that's how obsessed I am with your story .. Every little detail is perfectly written from Lily finally discovering about Xander's sessions to the newspapers to Xander kind of finally admitting he wants to have a relationship with Lily , you're an amazing writer and the way you can shift from one character's point of view to another and still leave me impressed every single time i read a new sentence is honestly mind-blowing.
I think i've said this before but also the way you're able to keep the war all throughout the story a looming threat and make it seem so real and so close is another testimony of how good of a writer you are . Please keep writing because you have a huge fan here !
Now , i have to talk about Xander and Lily because the tension between them is just too much , i can even feel it just by reading , i need them together ASAP please or at least admitting their feelings towards one another would be a huge step .
However , i have to say one thing ,even though i've wanted them together from the start , i don't mind the waiting and fighting of the last 20 chapters, it doesn't feel rushed or forced at all. They didn't just wake up one day and realized they loved one another , it was always there so great job !
As always, I can't wait to read your next update ! Your story is one of my favorites by far !
Love,
- A

Author's Response: A! Thank YOU for such an amazing and thoughtful review. I can't even begin to tell you about how your words made my day. This chapter took a lot of work because there is so much going on. I rewrote it several times from other points of views, but Xander took over again.

Including information about the war with characters who are so self-observed in their daily lives is tough lol so I'm really happy you still get just how big of a threat it all really is.

Haha I agree. Lily and Xander have been incredibly good at self-denial these last 20 chapters, but you're right, there's so much tension, and it's not something that they can really ignore anymore.

Thank you so for this amazing review, A. You're amazing :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by BBHP Chapter Twenty-One: Rude Awakenings

14th February 2018:
I have so many thoughts. I love how in love Xander is. The way he feels about her is so sweet and passionate and I want so badly for them to get together.

Hugo really sees right through Xander, doesn't he. I love it all.

Author's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed the chapter! You're right, Hugo's always been able to see straight to him. Lol

Thank you the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lily D Chapter Twenty: Edward Ballard

12th February 2018:
I love your characters - how they're not black or white and are always developing and growing into themselves. This is so clear with Xander and Lily as they are the main protagonists, but also with Hugo, who is not only defined by his role as their best friend but also learning the kind of person he wants to be for Hannah and the kind of person who wants a career that isn't defined by his family (even though this is such a long shot if he's going to the Ministry!!!) I love how Xander is questioning the choices he makes and how they define him as a person and how other people regard him, from Hannah to Caroline to Ballard. (Although I do hate Caroline!)
This is an excellent coming of age story - even though it's set in Harry Potter land, it's so relatable and I identify with Lily the most, I think. She is afraid of change - as we all are - and I think that if I were her, I would go insane! Because she has her public persona to maintain, especially as the daughter of Harry Potter. I also think that Ballard is now one of my favourite characters, purely because he is on the opposite end of the spectrum. He's not good, but he's not bad either. He knows that what he is being told is wrong but he's not a Gryffindor and he doesn't have the courage to make a stand. And he's in unrequited love with Lily, which is so sad. I hope that she doesn't give up on him because maybe, he'll find courage through her friendship. Although I don't think Xander and Edward will ever be friends!!! Unless Edward does something so self sacrificing for Lily's well beings.
I have a lot of theories regarding Xander and the Clarifiers and the old man with the blue eyes (Rowsell?)...and it'll be interesting to see how it all plays out. Especially as I think Ballard Senior may have something to do with prolonging his life through the Thestral hair potion...although he would probably be hella old by now.
I haven't read this in ages so it was a real joy to catch up again! I am really interested to see where you take this next and can't wait for the next update!!! ;)

Author's Response: Your review made me so excited! I can't even begin to tell you!

I'm so happy you're enjoying the character development. Having characters that seemed real is really important to me, so it really means a lot.

I'm also really happy you're loving the other characters. I always feel for Hugo because both of his parents are so influential, and I think that he has it somewhat harder than Lily in that sense just because I feel like Harry would have been much easier on his children than Ron and Hermione.

And then you have Edward who, strangely enough, is having similar problems with his father although for different reasons. I think that when it comes to prejudice, even in the real world, a lot of the times we come across people who believe it because their parents did, not necessarily because they believe it to be right deep down inside.

Ooooh and I love, love, love hearing your theories hehe I can't wait to show how it all plays out with that and how it all connects. But there's still a few more things that need need to play out before then.

Thank you so much for the review. The next chapter is already being edited, so I'm hoping to have it out soon.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Isys Chapter Twenty: Edward Ballard

19th January 2018:
Hi there!

It's taken me so long to post because I wanted to reread all the fanfic with the changes. I just loved it. I didn't know it was possible to enjoy even more this story, but you made it possible. So I want to thank you and encourage you to continue with this amazing, reaally awesome, novel.

The chapter was quite interesting, we all know now what is really going on and I have made up a lot of theories about how is going to continue. I was really surprised with Edward, I used to hate him but now I'm just curious. He's sooo much deeper than it looked like. I love it. It's not the typical antagonist, completely hateful, that exists in every cliché fanfiction story. That's why I love yours so much. It's so cliché free and the characters are just real. So real that you can feel like you know them (quoting the previous review which was absolutely right). And no to mention all the drama I'm just dying to see. The clarifies gives me all the creeps, but I'm just addicted to know more.

I really hope you can post soon, I just need to know more. Specially about Xander, which I can't help but adore more each day.

Loads of love,

Isys.

Author's Response: Isys, I am always super happy to get reviews from you!

I am so excited/honored/everything that you took the time to re-read all nineteen chapters!

I'm so happy you got a new perspective on Edward. I enjoy him just because there's so many sides to him. He's definitely an antagonist but he, like everyone else, has his vulnerabilities, and I think we're finally starting to see them.

I promise I'll be working on a new chapter. Thank you so much for sprinkling so much love on this fic. You're amazing :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by victoria_anne Chapter Twenty: Edward Ballard

18th January 2018:
I don't even like the guy and he gets a whole chapter named after him, ugh.

Poor Edward having to deal with such a bad father :(
Although I loved the dialogue between him and Xander. I can smell the testosterone from here. I really loved the tension in their words and that Xander remains nonchalant. It's perfect and I really enjoyed it. Especially since it's filled with so much information. Things are clearer now, but also a lot more intense.

Wow wow wow, I knew I loved Xander but I didn't realise how much until this chapter. He is so real to me, I keep forgetting this is fanfiction and he's not a character from a published book on my shelf. I LOVE his little self-realisation moment, with the girls, and how it affected him so deeply that he's had this overwhelming sense of feeling lost. I hope this means we find out more about his past soon. But for now, it was extremely well done and I really enjoyed this chapter! I hope life slows down for you soon, both for your sanity and so I have another chapter to read soon :P ♥

Author's Response: Haha this chapter was definitely filled with testosterone.

And Xander needed to have some self-realization. He's always been a little too sure of himself and judgmental of others, so I think it was about time he realized he wasn't so perfect eithr.

I hope life slows down as well. It's been so crazy. I'll do my best on that new chapter :)

And please let me know if you ever publish anything new! You're honestly one of my favorites, and I cannot wait to get hooked on another wonderful fic from you.


 Report Review

Review #8, by victoria_anne Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

18th January 2018:
Hello Quilly!!! Long time no talk! I've just finished transferring reviews over to HPFT so now it's time I catch up here!

Ooh things are really taking a dark turn in the wizarding world. As if I couldn't be sucked into this story any more than I already am, I'm fascinated by the Clarifiers and can't wait to see how this conflict plays out. The idea of Ballard saying Harry, Ron, and Hermione have been idolised for so long when things have changed is sad but interesting. I don't believe it of course but it definitely adds some realism to the story that there are always people out there ready to disagree and stir trouble for others.

“What is it with you and dragons anyways?” - Do you know how many times I get this a day?

CHRISTMAS IS COMING. THE MOST MAGICAL TIME OF THE YEAR!!! I swear if I don't get some beautiful mistletoe action between Lily and Xander in the next few chapters, Quilly, I'm coming after you.

"I make sure that the rest of my body is fit enough to support it." - HAHAHAHAHA I love him so much. But wait, there's more! - "Well then I commend you on such excellent manners.”

Lucy is hilarious, and so is her relationship with Xander! Let's see her more!

He says he'd give her the moon, and she'd just toss it to the side and demand for the sun instead. - Holy moley I love this so much?! Also I tried really hard not to write a review where I just quoted the whole chapter back to you but I'm failing :P

Oooh Ballard is here! And here I was just saying what a nasty piece of work he was and he's HERE! I've gotta read on - see you soon! ♥

Author's Response: B!

It's so good to see you!

I'm so glad you've enjoyed Lucy. She's one of those characters that have been fully developed in my head for so long. She was going to play a bigger role in the beginning but she kept
getting cut off the final published chapter, and I was happy she was finally able to make it - even if it was just for a bit.

I love knowing which lines are your favorite so no problems there! Hehe.

Thank you so much for review, my love!


 Report Review

Review #9, by annimal16 Chapter Twenty: Edward Ballard

2nd January 2018:
Give me more give me more. This story was good before you rewrit it and now it is just perfect.
Go on

Author's Response: Awe thank you! You are so sweet! I'll try to have a new chapter posted soon :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by sweaterweather21 Chapter Twenty: Edward Ballard

24th December 2017:
Just re-discovered this fic after a hiatus from reading fanfiction, and let me tell you, I was sooo happy to pick up where I left off. I think you've done a remarkable job developing the characters of both Lily and Xander (swoon!) as well as advancing the exterior plot of the war and some other developments, like the whole Hugo/Hannah thing and family drama.

I liked that this chapter almost ended on a cliffhanger with Xander's questions about his past, and the tension with both Edward and his father. You're doing a great job with the character of Xander - the similarities between both Harry and Tom Riddle as students are evident and I can't wait to see where the rest of this story goes!

Keep writing :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! Seriously, I'm so happy to hear that you've come back and enjoyed the additions to the story. I'm glad you're enjoying the character development, and that you're able to pick up on Xander's similarities with those two.

Thank you for the encouragement! I will definitely keep writing :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by BBHP Chapter Twenty: Edward Ballard

23rd December 2017:
I'm reading this through the haze of a sinus infection so I'll probably have to read it again, but I loved it! Things are starting to fall into place. I'm so anxious for Xander. For Lily. For everyone really. The chapter was worth the wait.

Author's Response: First of all, I really hope you feel better soon! Sinus infections are the worse :/ Secondly, thank you for taking the time to read/review. There is so much to come, and I can't wait to share. :)



 Report Review

Review #12, by Ameera Chapter Twenty: Edward Ballard

23rd December 2017:
Hi ! I was so happy to see a new chapter, thank you , you made my day ! And what a chapter , i feel like we learnt so many things about the war brewing , it feels so real and close now. I wish Xander would remember part of his past and i wish i could slap some sense into him ! Lily is NOT in love with Edward ! Apart from that, i'm glad it turns out Edward is not that bad and he really loves Lily ... It's quite sad for him !
All throughout the chapter i wondered if Edward's father knows who Xander really is as his eyes are very peculiar. I know that he was never featured on magazines with the Potters but he certainly knows he was adopted and what the looks like now , the contest could be a way to bring Xander to the Clarifiers since he's working with them.. I can't wait to know more !
PS : I love the new banner btw and i never told you that before but the title fits well with the fanfiction.
-A

Author's Response: Awe thank YOU so much, A. :)

Everything is definitely becoming much more real, more than they realize too.

Regarding Edward's father - That's a good question! I promise it will answer itself later on.

I'm glad you liked the new banner! I really love it as well, and there's been times when I'm hesitant about the title, so I'm happy to hear you think it fits the fic well.

Thank you for all the love,
Quilly


 Report Review

Review #13, by Hufflepuff_girl Chapter Twenty: Edward Ballard

23rd December 2017:
I can't believe it's been an year either. It seems like you just posted the first chapter and i had binged like a maniac. No kidding, i fear i became addicted to this story. I feel like my favorite tv show has hit a mid season finale. Please tell me you will not wait till holydays are over to post again. I won't handle it well.
Regarding this awesome 20th chapter...i'm just glad Xander did not fall into the trap and join the dark side. No silly "destroy from the inside" games here. Edward Ballard is now so much more interesting, there was so much more that met the eye.i wonder if he doesn't deserve a narrative redemption...a second chance at happiness, not with Lils of course.
As always, i look forward to read more
Yours, HG

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Really, I can't tell you how much your support means to me. :)

I think Xander's too smart for those games - I will say he has a lot of tough decisions up ahead, but I won't say more than that because I don't want to give too much away.

I'm so glad you are finding Edward to be more interesting. He's one of those characters that's been around for a while but I hadn't really had a chance to properly introduce and develop, so it feels good to give him more space and introduce him the way I had always envisioned him. Like Xander, he's also going to have a lot of choices to make, so we'll see how this all turns out... ;)

I can't promise I'll post again before the Holidays are over, but I promise I'll be working on the next chapter! :) Again, thank you sooo much for reading & reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ameera  Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

28th November 2017:
Hello !
I was rereading the story while waiting desperately for an update ! And let me tell you your story is just as good even after i've read it like 10 times entirely .. I think i might be addicted sorry
Anyway , i was wondering who did you imagine portraying Lily and Xander ? The boy and the girl on the banner ( they fit perfectly btw ) ? And if so what are their real names ? I've seen the girl so many times as Lily Evans but i never seem to catch her name .
Ps : I just thought i'd write your 130th review
-A

Author's Response: Hi A!

It means so much that you've stuck with this story and re-read it so many times! I've been working on some editing that was desperately needed but as soon as that is done, I'll have a new chapter up.

Honestly, Lily and Xander live only in my head so there's no actor/actress that come to mind when I'm writing them. The boy and the girl in the banner come in close but I'm not sure who they are. I recently had a new banner (which will be posted soon) and those come in close as well.

And yay for you being my 130th review! It means so much to me! You're awesome!

~Quilly :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by CharmAurorG Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

15th November 2017:
Hello, wonderful writer! I've been obsessively checking is there any update on this story and just realized I never left you a review. :( I am terribly sorry for that, because this story is honestly one of the best I've ever read! Your characterization is perfect (both Lily and Xander, but I really like all Potters and Hugo), relationships and friendships are described spot on, and plot is so so interesting! :) Though Ginny being death broke my heart, I do understand is important for story and development of Lily's character... I just wanted to let you know that I think your story and writing style are amazing and that you always improve my day with your updates. If you have any original work (and don't mind letting us know where to find it), I would really like to check it out. Keep up great work and I hope to see update soon. :)

~M~

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for your review! It made my day - which was hectic and crazy - so much better the!

I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying all the caracters especially the Potters and Hugo. They're not the main part of the story, and they don't get as much time in this fic as they do in other FF, but I love to write them so I'm happy you enjoyed them.

I really don't have any original work going right now but I will definitely let you know if that ever changes :)

Thank you for the support. Lots of love!
-Quilly


 Report Review

Review #16, by Isys Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

11th November 2017:
Hi there! I know i haven't posted since ages and i feel really bad for it but my life has been crazy. Even though i didn't post I was reading all your chapters and I'm just loving more and more this story everyday. I especially adore the characters, how realistic they are and how you manage to develop their storylines. And all the Clarifiers stuff makes me so curious.

So I hope, i really really really hope two things: that you forgive me for being a host for so long and secondly but more important, that you continue with the story. Pretty please, I can't live without knowing how it continues, don't make me make it up all!

Sincerely your major fan (who expects a new chapter and a lot following that one),

Isys.

Author's Response: Hi Isys!

Please don't apologize! I am so grateful that you have stuck by this story and continued reading whether or not you posted reviews! You're honestly the best!

I am definitely continuing this story, but life has been crazy, and I haven't been able to commit much (or any, really) time to writing, so I've been focusing on making some revisions to the story.

Hopefully, I'll posting a new chapter soon. Thank you so much for your patience & your support!


 Report Review

Review #17, by DossyVilja Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

12th October 2017:
I'm not sure if I ever left a review for this story for you, it is the kind of story when one does not take the time to review, but goes on to the next chapter eager to see what happens :) but since this is the last chapter, I had to stop... I hope you continue soon, I'd love to read more.
I have to say for me there is a bit too much of romance in this story, but just when I say 'oh, it's getting boring with all that love story' you bring in a twist that makes me say 'wow' this is such a moment, when we are reminded of Xander's past, and that he is the one the Clarifiers are looking for, I just really hope you will have the time and devotion to finish this story, as I really want to see it to the end

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'm all about the romance hehe so it's really easy for me to get carried away with that stuff, but I'm glad there's just enough of all the other stuff to keep you interested :)

I've been so busy that I haven't had time to really sit down and write, but I do write a little every day, so hopefully I can find the time to sit down and edit the next chapter properly so I can post it. I definitely want to see this story to the end as well :)

Thank you so much once again for the kind words!


 Report Review

Review #18, by danicalifornia Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

23rd September 2017:
I am HERE for this character development, absolutely wonderful! I have so many thoughts and theories on where this story is going which makes me so excited to continue reading it! Also love the attention you place on the supporting characters like Hugo and Hannah, I think it really adds a depth to it all. Anyways this chapter was great I hate cliff hangers I'm so anxious right now so congrats you're great at eliciting an emotional response with your work!

Author's Response: Thank you SO much for this wonderful review! I'm so glad that you've enjoyed the characters! I'm working on an update, and hopefully it'll be here sooner rather than later. Life has been so hectic so I'm struggling to find the time to write but reviews like yours really motivate me so thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Giu9_RedandGold Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

29th August 2017:
I'm finally able to leave a short review!!! Wonderful chapter (I have been reading it a couple of times, while waiting for the next). It should be obvious by now, how well Xander knows Lily, but he keeps surprising every time.And also how he knows when it's fine making her mad and pushing her buttons, and when it's time to stop being a prat and actually be more mature because that's what she needs in that moment. Even if the bickering and the arguing is still there, you were right, something has definitely changed between them.

I found very realistic moving Lily's main concerns towards the war and her father. It proves she is not as self-absorbed as she seems.

I almost wanted to kick Lucy when she interrupted that hug. I definitely wanted to kick Caroline when she interrupted that conversation.

I need to know what Ballard and Regan are up to. NOW, thank you! What do they want from Xander??? I mean, I can imagine, but I need to know! And Lily needs to know ASAP!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

Xander's obviously cares about Lily, and you're right, he tries to be there for her when she really needs him, so he's growing up lol a little slowly, but he's getting there.

And Lily's growing up too. She's always been rather self-absorbed, but she's having people she cares about in danger is definitely putting things in perspective.

Lol yeah I totally wanted to kick Lucy and Caroline as well - and I think maybe Lily did as well hehe

I'm working on the next chapter already! Life's been crazy so I have no idea when it'll actually be posted but I'm trying to work on it a little bit every day, so I'm hoping it's sooner rather than later lol

Thank you for the review, love! You're always so amazing to me, and it means the world to me that you've kept up with this story for so long!


 Report Review

Review #20, by victoria_anne Chapter Eighteen: Hannah

14th August 2017:
Hello! ♥

Look, I don't care if you're tired of me praising those opening paragraphs, ...but here it comes again. I love this especially: had been pleased to find the woodfire in the head’s common room every bit as awake as him...

Omg I'm dying over the relationship between Hugo and Hannah. They are so adorable, and I love the little system they have to learn more about each other.

Hannah, however, was completely transparent, and that was, in Hugo’s opinion, an approach to life that required a great deal more of courage. WHY HAVE YOU MADE US WAIT SO LONG FOR THE BEAUTY THAT IS HUGO/HANNAH?! More please!

OH MY GOD and that child they're looking for is Xander, isn't it? It has to be.

I'm sorry if this review is just me quoting the entire chapter back to you, but: It was as if her heart was big enough to hold on to the problems of all seven continents while Hugo could only barely handle his own. LOVE IT ♥

I love the Snow White reference :D

I absolutely loved this Hugo-centric chapter. We seriously need more of them.

♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Lol I could never get tired of it! I'm so happy you enjoy them!

Haha Hugo/Hannah is always going on in my head, and I've so little chance to place them in the story. Lily/Xander sort of take over but I promise I'll try my best to add them more often.

Thank you so much for your review, B. You always make my day :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Drummergirlred Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

11th August 2017:
Loving this story. I am not a next gen fan AT ALL. I can't remember why/how I started reading this but I am glad I did. I think perhaps the war going on in the background makes this story int interesting instead of just romance/fluff. I also really love your OC, Xander. Seem to only read/find OC females (guilty myself in my limited writing). I enjoy his PoV. Things are really starting to get good with this and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm so glad you're enjoying Xander. He's definitely special to me so it means a lot :)

I'll be working on a new update soon! I hope you enjoy it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Glisten  Chapter Nineteen: An Unexpected Visitor

7th August 2017:
Stupid, stupid Caroline! She just had to interrupt at the very wrong moment didn't she? How utterly infuriating! I'm so happy that Lily was kind of opening up to him now, though. Of course she's going to be worried about losing another person who's close to her and if he hadn't pushed for her to share what was wrong with him she probably would've kept bottling her emotions up.

I love Xander's response to Lily's comment about him being bigheaded (I make sure my body is fit enough to support it) that was absolutely priceless! Xander is so clever with the stuff he says! I love how Lily tried to hide her nose from him! That was so adorable and Xander saw right through her attempts.

You know, with most stories I find myself imagining it all happening with the people on their banner but that's not the case with this one. You describe the characters so well that I see past the banner images and have perfectly clear pictures of your characters. Obviously it's difficult to find people to put on the banner that look exactly like how you imagine your characters to be but your writing makes up for that by describing the vivid red hair and bright green eyes of Lily or the brooding masculinity and turquiose eyes of Xander.

I can't believe it's already been nineteen chapters! I've been enjoying them so much that I could swear it was less than that! I can't tell you enough how much I love your story! Of course I should get to the end one of the only times you leave a cliffhanger! How could you do this to your poor readers? Haha, I'm going to be waiting rather impatiently for your next update, you can believe me on that one. By the way I'm kind of sad that this is the last published chapter because if there was one more I'd be able to be your 123rd review. I guess I'll have to be the first person to review the next chapter! Dumb things like that make me happy for some reason lol.

But seriously, thank you for continuing to write. As much as Lily and Xander stress me out it relaxes me to read this fanfiction. I've probably said it a million times now, but astounding work. See you soon!

Author's Response: Yeah, Caroline seriously came in at the worst moment, didn't she? You know, I don't think Xander's the easiest person to open up to lol He can be hard to read and unsympathetic, but he definitely cares about her enough to try, and I think it paid off with Lily finally sharing a bit of what's been going on with her.

Oh my gosh that's a huge compliment! I'm so happy you can envision the characters! Especially Lily and Xander who are so perfectly well formed in my mind lol

I can't believe it's been nineteen chapters either! Lol I'm working on chapter twenty already. It still has loads to come, but I promise it's in progress.

Seriously, Glisten. Thank you so much for supporting this story and for taking the time to leave such detailed reviews in each chapter. It means so much to me, and I can't say it enough.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Glisten  Chapter Eighteen: Hannah

7th August 2017:
I like how you added a part with Hannah and Hugo since it's been awhile. I always love reading about them. I guess I keep saying that with all of your characters though so I'm pretty sure the phrase is losing it's worth at this point haha.

The clarifiers killed an entire year of students at the school in the States? That's crazy! And, of course, we know who they were looking for. Does Xander know about all of that? Are the Clarifiers going to come to Hogwarts? Aughhh I'm on the edge of my seat here! Oh, by the way your spellcheck or autocorrect corrected a few of them from "Clarifiers" to Clarifies", I thought you'd like to know. Even while I'm typing this it keeps trying to correct the word.

I'm really hoping that Hannah is going to tell Lily about Xanders' bruises. I really feel like Hugo trying to keep it from her is the wrong choice. If they could just get over their silly feud! I'm surprised that Xander is still going through with this. It makes me feel that maybe my initial assumption, which is that he was in it for the knowledge, may not be his only motivator here. Perhaps this is the Slytherin's qualities showing?

I love Don Quixote, a beautiful classic! Whenever I talk with my friends about him they never know what I'm talking about though, since none of them read Spanish literature or speak Spanish at all. I'm sure there's a version translated into English but I don't think it's very popular because nobody seems to have read it.

Your story is so addicting! I know the next chapter is the last one and I'm very saddened by that. I'm going to go read that now!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed Hannah and Hugo. They're definitely fun to write - and a nice break for Lily and Xander hehe :)

The Clarifier questions... I can't say too much without giving it away :X But they will be playing a bigger role as the story progresses.

Xander does have Slytherin qualities, and they show through from time to time, but I'll let you judge his reasoning later on... :)

Oh I love Don Quixote. Classics in general, but Spanish is my first language so that one is special to me. It has been translated in many languages but, you're right, it's not as popular in English-speaking countries. For Spanish-speakers, it's up there with Shakespeare in popularity lol

Thanks for the review, love! I can't believe how quickly you've read the entire thing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Glisten  Chapter Seventeen: Heated Arguments with Slytherin Boys

7th August 2017:
Well it looks like Edward has finally become tired of the way Lily has been using him. I actually feel really bad for him because even though he was portrayed at first to have that materialistic view of girls and narrow minded beliefs of the world I really feel like he was truly infatuated with her. He even apologized for his father's foul play in the election and I just feel like that really shows that he was opening up a new part of himself for her. Yes, I believe he has every right to ditch Lily the way he did. When is she going to learn her lesson? First Andrew, now Edward. Hopefully there's nobody next.

So he went into Slytherin's to keep up with her! It makes sense now, I knew it couldn't be for the greatness! It makes a lot of sense now that i think about it. Everyones talking about how amazing Lily Potter is going to be and Xander only wanted to keep up to her pace.

And then. They. KISSED! I don't think Xander has ever completely lost control of his words and actions like that, has he? He always thinks, he's always clever with his words,but all of that was raw feeling. I like how it didn't get all sweet and happy after that because that's where a lot of fics go wrong. You didn't turn down Lily/Xander completely because you had the left nose twitch thing and the very last words from Lily was that she knew she wouldn't be able to just drop him from her mind. I feel all giddy inside! I can't believe that just happened! Although I'd be lying if I said I wasn't worried what with Reagon's lessons and the war that's anticipated... I just hope nothing bad happens to them!

I know I had that one chapter a day rule but I figured that since I had to miss all those days since I didn't have internet I deserved to treat myself, lol. I just reminded myself that there's only two or three published chapters left and to click off but I'm pretty sure that's not going to happen ;)

Author's Response: I totally agree. Edward had every right. And I'm not saying he's perfect, but, yeah, nobody deserves to be treated that way. And I think Andrew was always pretty easy for Lily to handle, so she doesn't really have that much experience with guys calling her out on things - other than Xander, but they have a sort of different dynamic all together - so, yeah, I think this was a growing up moment for her.

I think that the train ride was the first time Xander realized how big Harry Potter really was and, thus, how big of a deal Lily was, and, yeah, he wanted to keep up. Although I wouldn't say it was 100% unselfish. After all, Lily never thought it was a big deal, so, in some ways, it was more for his own ego.

Lol no, you're right. Xander is always very put together. Lily and Xander are both too stubborn to let go of it all that fast so it'd be impossible for either of them to just let go of the past and move on from that.

Lol I'm so glad you have your internet back! It's honestly so hard to live without it! hehe

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Glisten  Chapter: A Letter from Scorpius

7th August 2017:
Omigosh the quote had an effect on him! He stopped flirting with that Katherine girl! My heart literally (but figuratively) stopped beating when you said that Xander's favourite colour was Lily's auborn hair! I literally felt like I was melting when I read that! I think I'm fangirling more over your original characters than the ones JK created... well except maybe Hugo... and Lily. ugh nevermind I love them all. You're fantastic!

I love that you brought Scorpius into the story. James and Albus's editions to the note were great! He proposed! If that had happened before she started liking Xander I'm sure she would throw a fit but not anymore.

Maya is an interesting addition to the story. I mean, it makes sense that she would have become obsessed with Witch Weekly since she didn't really have any contact with the outside world as much as other kids her age so that was really her only source of what was going on. It would be much easier to dislike a character that chose to gossip but for Maya that is really all she knows. Their heart to heart with the mother thing was sweet and I feel like Xander doesn't necessarily see her as just annoying anymore, and maybe feels a little sorry for her.

This was a sad, sweet chapter but lightened up slightly by the things Xander learned his friends said to Maya like how Hugo told her to picture him in a feathered hat and her grandmothers clothes and how Lily said pictures couldn't be taken of him because he is so ugly the camera would melt. So funny!

Originally this review was a lot longer but I took so long writing it and HPFF logged me out. I tried to remember everything I wrote but I'm pretty sure there was more. Bottom line is you did a spectacular job and I give a big thumbs up to you!

Author's Response: Lol I remember you bringing the quote up, and I was amazed because it comes up later on, so kudos on that! And, you know, Xander loses his chance with Katherine but he remains in this sort of denial.

Lol I do picture Maya as a sort of lonely girl and she just sort of read about the Potters, the way some girls read about fairytales. It's hard for Xander to be patient at first but, yes, once he starts to see her as a little girl who just lost her mother - because she was murdered, no less - then he starts to feel more compassionate.

Thank you so much for reviewing this, Glisten! I really love hearing from you! You are amazing, and I'm so happy to hear that you are enjoying the story so far :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>