Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Making of The Map
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by loveinkwell Lily

3rd November 2017:
Hey there! I really enjoyed reading your interpretation of Severus and Lily's friendship - I've rarely seen such a thoughtful and multi-dimensional portrayal of what was obviously a complicated and fraught relationship. I'll be reading onward soon!

Author's Response: Hi!! Omg I never expect to get a review for TMOM so I was so excited to see this!

Thank you so much for your kind words! I feel like I just never got enough of an explanation or deeper understanding of their friendship even in the beginning so I want to explore what it meant for Sev to introduce Lily to the wizarding world and magic and how it made them the closest friends but also strangely separated in a way.

But yay!! Let me know your thoughts on the other characters POV!

Thank you so much for dropping a review!!! Love always, P xxx


 Report Review

Review #2, by BBHP James

25th July 2017:
It's all so intense! I'm dying to know what happens next. This is so different than many Marauders era fics and it's excellent.

Author's Response: Eeek! I'm so happy you've decided to read this story! There's usually not a lot of crossover between next-gen fans and marauders era fans lol so this is cool!

Yeah, this is definitely going to be VERY different than most Marauders fics. For one, this is going to span quite a while and I have this grand idea to write up until Lily and James' deaths so we'll see how this goes lol.

THANK YOU FOR REVIEWING! xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lexish Lily

13th June 2017:
Well done. I haven't read a lot of stories where Lily and James are close this far in to their schooling, but I think you have done a nice job portraying their relationship accurately as well as introducing the beginnings of the first war with Voldemort. I look forward to seeing where this story is going.

Author's Response: Thank you for this lovely review! I can't wait to see what you think of what happens! x

 Report Review

Review #4, by scintillated Sirius

25th February 2017:
whoo hoo this chapter is the start of the making of the map!! i really enjoyed this chapter, i feel like you manage to make each POV a different narrative in a way; like the writing just seems the slightest bit different. and wow, i'm left with a lot of questions after this chapter! what is up with anita pym? what is this parchment / place they found? when are they going to make the map? overall, this was a really intriguing chapter, and it kept me fascinated the whole time!! can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Yes!! Thanks for this wonderful review, I'm really starting to look forward to them! And yeah, I feel like with each character, because they think and feel and perceive so differently, the writing/language just changes accordingly without me even realising it completely. But yes ... what IS up with Anita Pym?? All your questions will be answered in due time ;)

 Report Review

Review #5, by scintillated James

25th February 2017:
wow! this was a great chapter! you handled the POV switch so well; there are often times where it can be disastrous, but this was extremely well done! i really like james, and i can see how passionate he is about quidditch. also, your writing is super enrapturing, like i get sucked into the story and can't come out. great chapter!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm dubious about POV switches as well but I feel like it's necessary for this year, just to get the ball rolling, but I'm so glad you enjoyed it! And ahh!! I'm so glad you get sucked in! Thank you for the lovely review! xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by scintillated Lily

25th February 2017:
this chapter was really good! i really like the characterization of lily, and your writing is really great! this chapter was a really good introduction, as it set up the relationships between lily and the other characters nicely. i really like marlene! and lily! and james! and quentin! and everybody to be honest besides like snape and the head girl and boy. onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much, what lovely compliments! Loved your review, I hope you keep reading! There's more to come! xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by greenbirds Lily

13th January 2017:
oh my god. this is fantastic. i love it, i adore it, i just know it's going to be my new favourite fanfic for the year. there's so much to say about it- and we're only one chapter in!

firstly and perhaps most importantly; your characterisation of lily is magnificent. this is one of the first times i've seen her portrayed as an actual teenage girl, someone who- as another teenage girl- i can relate to and emphasise with. i love the decision to have her secretly harbour a crush on james, it makes perfect sense, and to be honest i never did buy the notion that lily was totally and wholly immune to his charms for seven years. i mean- come on, she's a teenage girl- not some clumsily crafted mary sue type that is perfectly in control of her hormones and her daydreams, not some character who's logic has such perfect reign over her feelings she can say right! well. james bullies sev so i DO NOT FANCY HIM! there! oh god, i hate this head canon accepted characterisation of lily, and i'm so thrilled you decided to go against it- whilst still retaining such canon characteristics of hers!

because, only a chapter in, it's evident she's intelligent but not immune to the charm and allure of the slug club; got friends, such as marlene and remus and quentin, but not some
over the top 'it girl' she was never really going to be, realistically; she cares for sev, but not blindingly, and is, above all, vulnerable enough to be so clearly affected by what she perceives to be a prank on james and sirius's behalf.

and omg! don't get me started on james, sev and marlene. what full fleshed out characters despite only have a scene each to themselves. i adore marlene; spunky and independent (but again, not in a manner that isn't unusual for teenagers- the line about her thinking she's the only one clued up about death eater fascism reminds me of /me/ when i was in sixth form, banging on about feminism and the labour party), and the allusion to an upcoming plotline between her and william mckinnon is so exciting. we don't see enough of political activism amongst the characters of fanfic, which is totally weird and not ok, teenagers really are getting more and more political and come ON now- the marauders & co joined the order of phoenix straight out of school! of course they'd be clued up, knowledgeable and concerned about the threat of pureblood fascism! even the way marlene presents it, USING terms such as terrorism and fascism is so clever. well done you.

the vulnerability and dependency upon lily of snape, especially his worries and anxiety over slytherin common room death eater recruitment was fantastic to read and very convincing. i loved seeing a different side to him, a side often ignored in marauder fanfic. and as for james? super excited to see what you make of him and lily and sev in future chapters.

sorry for babbling on so much! i really am so, so excited by this. please please please update soon! all my love xx

Author's Response: "i just know it's going to be my new favourite fanfic for the year" !!! This is the sweetest thing in the entire world! Thank you for your review, this was so lovely and I'm so happy that you like it and have so much to say! This was so sweet! Can't get over it!! And a new update is coming very soon! Thanks a million times! xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by Kristina1990 James

30th December 2016:
'Your potion's trying to crawl out by the way,' she snarled at Sirius.

Interesting idea... Haha, a fleeing potion.

'Why not? She's beautiful,' James said genially. 'I'm beautiful.'

*lol* Such a guy...

He needed to romance Lily! First, she had to believe that he fancied her then of course she'd say yes! He'd gone about this all wrong. It was spectacularly mind-boggling that he hadn't realised this before.

Oh no... No no no no no... Please don't.

I also finally figured out what mirror you keep talking about. No wonder he is so flustered all of a sudden. Sirius would have a field day.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you!! And yes, Sirius would be FURIOUS! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Kristina1990 Lily

29th December 2016:
Well, this is a new angle. I like it ^^.

You also described the interaction between Lily and Severus well. Sort of distant, in some aspects, but still trusting in others. I'm looking forward to seeing how this will change over the year.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! And thank you! I'm really looking forward to writing Sev and Lily's relationship as the years progress. I hope you keep reading! xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by May Lily

4th December 2016:
Great chapter looking forward to the next one

Author's Response: Thank you! x

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login