Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Letters to No-One
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by rosehedwig243 The Letters to No-One

24th April 2017:
Hey Isobel!

Iím here for CTF, and to brighten your day I hope!

ďThese are the ramblings of a madman.Ē Ooh, Iím interested already!

Holy moly this description is spine-chilling! Iím assuming this is Azkaban?

Wow Siriusí musings -if i may call them that- are deep!

Come on Sirius! Finish this! You arenít a madman!

This is such a good story Isobel! Iím like, rooting for Sirius so hard. Surely he knows that all people write letters with no intended recipient, or with a recipient but no intention of sending it.

Ooh, I wish that Sirius HAD completed the last sentence of his letter as he had intended to write it.

Thalia Macmillan? Isnít that the surname of a Hufflepuff who was at Hogwarts with the trio? One of her relatives must have been Ernieís parents. Ooh. Ernie wasnít so innocent then.

If you havenít figured it out by now, I review as I read so youíre getting my mostly unfiltered thought on this.

And wouldnít the Ministry want someone unaffiliated with either side of the war to handle the post? I mean, wouldnít they want to do that to make sure that no orders from the DE were sent through to those who could utilise and put in motion those orders?

I wouldnít say a a three word phrase could make a letter, but hey, everyone has different ideas.

Yo slushies! But its so sad that they freeze in the winter, you would think that there would be room in the budget for blankets for the prisoners of Azkaban.

Aww who is Sirius writing his latest letter to? This is so sad! Who started cutting up onions near me?

Yo Sirius, nice memory of anniversaries! Ten years since the marauders first christmas :(.

Oh thats sad. Add creepy. I cant imagine ever writing in my own blood, especially writing the names of my own victims. It reminds me of Jacques Sauniere from the Da Vinci Code, but I digress.

No Sirius you have to care!

No what happened to the recipient?!

Poor Sirius.

This is such a good story, itís so deep and incredibly moving. Thank you for writing it.

Bye now,

Hayden

 Report Review

Review #2, by MalfoysAngel The Letters to No-One

23rd April 2017:
OMG Isobel! This was hauntingly beautiful! I'm still reeling from the emotions that I can only imagine Sirius is dealing with while being a prisoner. And being sent to isolation on top of it. I can't even...

The way you weave the words together to tell the story and your attention to the subtle details is WOW. From the names of the muggles killed, to the blood on the wall and him blaming himself, yet still not sure he did it and trying to figure it out while writing letters to Remus that he can't send is too much. And when you add in that he sent a birthday card to Lily, please excuse me while I mop up the puddle of emotions left on the floor.

I can see how he became the Sirius we met in Prisoner of Azkaban, spending twelve years in prison for a crime that you think you committed but aren't one hundred percent sure you actually did would drive anyone into insanity I imagine.

If you can't already tell by the above rambling, I really did love this and wish there was more to the story like maybe Remus doing the same thing but in letters he knows Sirius will never receive? Please? :D

Tasha

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore The Letters to No-One

18th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Isobel! It's been so long since I got to read any of your beautiful writing, and I'm so glad that I get the chance to now.

This was a really beautiful story - I know that shouldn't surprise me at all, since your writing is always stunning, but I love the premise behind this, with the way that Sirius is sending letters from Azkaban - in a way trying to keep hold of his sanity while he's there, I think, and remembering all the people he's left behind (though, as we know, it's not necessarily the best way to keep hold of memories with the Dementors determined to take them from you) - and the way you reveal more through the story.

The description was fantastic in this story. There were times when I had chills running down my spine, particularly the way that you described Sirius writing the names of the friends who have died on the walls of his prison cell - that really struck me.

I loved the anonymity of this - the way that it was through love that Sirius didn't use a name or address for Remus (I loved the subtle Wolfstar here too) and that he still wanted to protect him while he could. Then the way that he tried to protect himself by thinking of himself as Padfoot rather than Sirius; everything was easier if he wasn't human.

I thought you got across Sirius's heartbreak and despair so brilliantly here, especially in those first few days after the arrest when he ends up in Azkaban. This was great!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by melian The Letters to No-One

18th April 2017:
Isobel, this was beautiful. And heart-wrenching. Iíve not read a lot of fics set inside Azkaban Ė I suspect because they are too dark and many people canít write them. Indeed, Iíve only tried it once, and I have generally written Sirius at just about every juncture I can think of. Azkaban, though, is perhaps too great a challenge. Itís hard getting into the mind of someone in that situation, isnít it?

Youíve done a really good job at this one though. I love the title Ė co-opting a chapter title from Philosopherís Stone and repurposing it for your own purposes here. Thatís a great idea and one I wish Iíd thought of. And the idea that one of Siriusí methods for keeping himself sane, apart from becoming Padfoot, was to write letters. It didnít matter if they never found their intended recipient, because it was the action of writing them that was important. And then, him saying that he is deliberately leaving the name and address vacant because he doesnít want their secret to be out, that's beautiful Ė and heartbreaking. Because if they did love each other like that, it would be awful to not be able to share that. With anyone.

I liked the confusion about Peterís death, too; how he couldnít work out how heíd done it because his wand hadnít vibrated and he hadnít cast the killing curse, wouldnít have in a public place like that, when it was the last spell his wand had cast. We of course know what happened, but of course he thought he had killed Peter. Iíd never really thought much aobut it (more the fool me, obviously) but yes, of course he did. Heíd killed Peter and that was why he was in jail. Murderers get what they deserve, right?

(And yes, I totally stole that line from your fic. It was so poignant I couldnít resist.)

Great story. Really got me thinking. I may have to go back now and read it again.

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Letters to No-One

16th April 2017:
Maximum Security attracts a higher concentration of Dementors, it is nestled in the heart of the prison, protected from the elements.

Man, prison has to be rough. I mean obviously, right? But to think his one break, the one good thing is that he's locked up in the middle of prison and isn't freezing from the weather. That's just...sad. Poor Sirius.

Padfoot knows that if he reverts back to Sirius, he wonít be able to stop the tears.

My heart breaks for him. To see him, a man who never actually did anything wrong, rotting in prison and blaming himself for everything. I mean obviously he would have blamed himself for everything. He was part of the major equation but to sit there and say Peter was his best friend, to reminisce about the good times, to really feel badly about doing nothing wrong. Lord, it's just heartbreaking and depressing. It's just wrong.

This address is no longer in existence Ė return to sender.

UH!. SIRIUS, MY HEART BREAKS FOR YOU. I think you captured his isolation perfectly. I really could feel his pain, heartache and grief. I just wanted to reach into the story and hug him. After all that time when he needs it most she wasn't there. Uh, Sirius, you're innocent! Don't let Azkaban trick you to believe otherwise! He was starting to piece it together. He was starting to figure it out. So painful he had to spend all those years of his life just sitting there, wasted, without hope, without anything or anyone.

 Report Review

Review #6, by crimson quill The Letters to No-One

16th April 2017:
Capture The Flag


So this was intense wasn't it? it's awesome to see some insight into sirius time in azkaban from such a talent writer too!

so, you've done a great job at setting the scene with rather harrowing description of the prison. I like the concept that the stories is being told through his letters. something which I guess I didn't think about that you've mentioned is that people sirius knew would be visiting the jail like all the time. that's enough to drive anyone crazy!

I've only recently started to get into wolfstar and I really loved the mention of it here. I feel so much for them as a couple like I totally can't explain how divinely tragic they are as a couple. I want some new fluffy wolfstar stuff apart you write angst so well. it seems like you're able tap into emotions of the characters and channel them so well into your writing which makes its so bold and powerful. writing their names in his blood was insane and slightly frightening edge to how much he is cracking up in there.

it was rather mournful and sad when he tried to send that birthday card to lily. so emotional and such a well written piece xo

 Report Review

Review #7, by Claire Evergreen The Letters to No-One

2nd April 2017:
GOD BLESS A STORY ABOUT THE MARAUDERS HALLELUJAH!!

Ahem...hello! I'm here for the CTF game!

Heartbreaking is pretty much the only word I can think of to describe this. You basically took my heart, ripped it out of my chest packaged it up, and chucked it across the ocean. That probably would have been less painful than this. In a good way, of course.

The raw emotions in this were so powerful that I found myself blinking back tears more than a few times. Sirius's time in Azkaban is something that I try not to think about too much because it hurts a lot. And you made it all that and then some.

I'm going to be honest, I did not read the story shell before reading the story and the whole time I was hoping that it'd be a Wolfstar piece and boy howdy was I not disappointed! I love that I was able to tell exactly who he was writing to without you ever having to say it. That alone makes this an amazing story in my opinion and the rest of it is just a cherry on top.

The structure of this is also so well done. You knew exactly when to break things off and move onto the next section. And each part hurt more than the last. It was all just so beautiful and so painful at the same time.

So, sorry if this was completely rambling and incomprehensible, I'm super tired. TL;DR: I love this story and you for writing it!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #8, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage The Letters to No-One

2nd April 2017:
Aaah! Isobel! I am here for CTF but I've already read this story so this will be a homestretch =D

In any case. It always baffles me how much this story turns me to tears over and over again, really, especially with the last sentence when he sends a birthdaycard to Lily. It's really heartbreaking to read, really, and I can't imagine how hard that must be for Sirius, especially getting it all back and being faced with the cold, hard reality that life is.

But I also love the wolfstar in it. It's subtle, really well done so that it absolutely isn't clear who he writes to- and that is exactly his intention but still. You really have to know what to look for and read between the lines to pick it up and that itself is a talent already if you ask me. I think it also shows how clever Sirius really is and that he is also prone to break, even if he might not show it right away. The sentence that if he returns to himself rather than staying as Padfoot really portrays this as well, if you ask me, and all I want to do is just hug the man and tell him it'll be alright in the end. Or, well, as all right as you can get in a situation like that and knowing how it ends as it is.

In any case - really well done and I am sorry for not reviewing this sooner

 Report Review

Review #9, by victoria_anne The Letters to No-One

21st March 2017:
Isobel!

I read this ages ago, but I haven't reviewed?! Probably because you broke my heart. But anyway, I'm here to change that for the Chalice Review Spree!

Seriously though, this moves me to tears. Sirius' time in Azkaban is just horrible, and his letters are heartbreaking. Of course, that last line is just crushing, and kind of reminds me when people call a lost loved one, and the receiver says the number is disconnected.

As always, your descriptions are so beautiful.



 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoy The Letters to No-One

9th August 2016:
I'm back! And I certainly picked a good story to come back to!

THIS. This has given me so many different thoughts and emotions and questions.. it's just incredible!

Obviously it's heartbreaking, seeing Sirius' sadness, seeing him in isolation for something he didn't even do, seeing him wondering how it could have happened. There's also frustration because he's blaming himself, even though it wasn't his fault, although he doesn't know that yet.

Then there's curiosity - you've given some great clues as to who the letters are for, but you've also still left it open to interpretation, which I really love here.

There's definitely a shift in tone when Sirius comes back from isolation, and I couldn't stop myself from wondering what happened, why he was forced into isolation in the first place. He definitely seems defeated near the end, but in a way, that really makes me feel hopeful as well, because we know that eventually, he found out the truth and escaped, and was reunited with Remus and Harry.

I think you did an excellent job of getting into Sirius' head here and exploring some thoughts and feelings he would have had that I think can often be overlooked in fic, so really well done with that.

This has really got me thinking about what Sirius could have done in his time in Azkaban, and how could things have been different if he'd only been able to get a letter out to someone, made them believe his side of the confrontation with Peter. But, who knows? He very well may have tried writing a letter to someone, and received a "return to sender" message just like the one here. I think that's what I like the most about this story, is that it opens up SO many other possibilities!

I really enjoyed this, dear, you're incredibly talented!!

Well done, and thank you again for donating to HPFF! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan The Letters to No-One

23rd July 2016:
although Maximum Security attracts a higher concentration of Dementors, it is nestled in the heart of the prison, protected from the elements. -- Yes, always look on the bright side, Sirius :P

I'd never considered how difficult it would be for Sirius to see his former friends coming in to Azkaban bringing in the prisoners - Aurors with whom he used to be on the same side, and whom he was working with to send Death Eaters to Azkaban. And now everything is all backwards. That must be so jarring.

Hahaha, I love the idea that Remus engineered a prank all on his own and ended up getting James and Sirius in trouble for it. I've always thought Remus was the mastermind behind all of their best pranks. You have to be a good planner to come up with the really good ones :P

Gah, Sirius' letter to Remus is breaking my heart. This seems to be a habit of your stories :( But seriously, the way he says he should be angry but only feels love for him... wah. So sad. Especially because these letters never reach Remus, without a name or address. It seems like Sirius is just writing them because he needs to get the words out, and that's important whether or not the words are actually heard.

It's super sad too how he keeps remembering all these good old times with his friends, and the knowledge that the group fell apart as it did and ended up destroying one another. Like, he hates Peter, and in that instant wanted to kill him, but in Azkaban he keeps drifting back to thinking about being friends with him. And when Sirius is in isolation - although you don't mention the Dementors specifically there and taking good memories away, but in this section I realized Sirius actually thinks he killed Peter. And I found myself wondering if he can't remember the truth after so long stuck in Azkaban, or whether he thinks he figuratively killed Peter, because who Peter was as a teenager is not the same person who Sirius fought with the day after Halloween. interesting thought.

WRITING A LETTER TO LILY. *sobs* this is too much. That ending is so sad. But once again you've written such a beautiful story. Really well done.

 Report Review

Review #12, by alicia and anne The Letters to No-One

22nd May 2016:
Isobel...Isobel.Isobel. It's a good thing that I love you so much, because I know that this is going to break me in half. You're going to use my favourite canon character and destroy me with him aren't you? :P

Your descriptions are beautiful by the way, I'm going to have to convince you to teach me your magical ways so that I can write as beautifully as you. You really know how to draw the readers in with your powerful words.

I can never imagine the pain he must have gone through, to lose his best friend because of another one of his best friends, then being 'responsible' for the death of that one too. You want to be angry at him, but then you have all those memories of your time together before and it just makes it all so much more painful.

I love that his using his time to annoy the post staff, that seems like such a Sirius thing to do and that thought alone brings me joy.

Oh Sirius, those letters are so devastating :( He's writing them to Remus even though he won't be getting them. :(

And Wolfstar!!! *sobs*

"Unfortunately, Sirius has never been very good at doing what he should." This is the most Sirius line in the world!

That last line is devastating. Why must you hurt me in this way?

:(

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login