Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Third Time's a Charm
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginny Two Stars, One Constellation

17th April 2017:
Jailbreak

Hey Bianca!

So as I was reading this I realized that, as far as I recall, I've never read a Scorbus that centred on Scorpius or was from Scorpius's point of view? Admittedly I don't read a whole lot of Scorbus, so I'm not sure if that's actually a trend or not but either way it was a refreshing change of pace for me.

Aww, poor Scorpius. Liking your best friend pretty much sucks but it's a million times worse when it's your same-gender best friend, for obvious reasons. I really felt for him and omg when he kissed him and Albus just froze I WAS SO TENSE.

But then when Albus got all nervous and asked Scorpius to kiss him! And "third time's a charm"! I melted. Also, I absolutely loved the way you brought the comet metaphor back in the last paragraph. That bit about him feeling small and insignificant in the wake of something huge did an amazing job of illustrating what Scorpius was feeling, like I could imagine that feeling perfectly. Also, speaking of the comet metaphor, love the way that ties into astrology being Scorpius's passion.

This was a little bit of a rollercoaster but I really enjoyed reading it! It was so sweet and well written. Great job!

-Kayla

Author's Response: I have no idea if that's a trend either, but I'm glad it was something different for you! Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by melian Two Stars, One Constellation

17th April 2017:
Well, Bianca, this isnít the first Scorbus Iíve read as part of Capture the Flag, but itís one of the sweetest. Awww. I just want to reach over and pinch both their cheeks.

The start of any relationship is fraught, isnít it? The will they respond, what if they donít think of me that way, what if I embarrass myself, will I ever hear the end of it, all that sort of thing. And when itís a same-sex crush, itís worse because you have the additional hurdle of sexuality. If Iím gay/bi/whatever, are they? Or are they sworn hetero? In this case, when the object of his affection Ė Albus Ė has a history of dating lots of girls, youíd have to feel like the odds are stacked against you. Yes, Scorpius, I feel for you. I really do.

The details in this were what got me though. Noticing the five oíclock shadow. The fascination with Albusí fingers, putting him off his homework. Fingers? Theyíre not usually seeing as alluring. When you have a hopeless crush, though, you do start to find things like fingers alluring. Just about any skin, really. Iíve been there, I totally get it.

And then Ė the relief that it turned out okay. That Al didnít run for the hills, or push him away, or anything like that. That he considered the idea and even found it appealing. You captured it spot on.

Great work, Bianca. I really enjoyed reading this one. :D

Cheers Mel

Author's Response: Aw Mel thank you so much! This was my first Scorbus so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by ImaRavenclaw Two Stars, One Constellation

28th January 2017:
Bianca I cannot believe that I haven't read this story! This was extremely ridiculous and needed to be fixed, so I made sure to start reading it right away.

I'm going to try not to use too many capitals, but I can't promise anything because you know how much I adore your writing, and Scorbus.

I LOVE how descriptive Scorpius' feelings for Albus are in this story. For some reason I thought this was going to be dialogue only?

I love your comparisons to stars and constellations and astronomy in general. They make this story stand out. I MEAN ASTRONOMY? COME ON I LOVE ASTRONOMY!

AW the kisses. Squeeing like mad here.

Thought it's so short it is a wonderful story. I really enjoyed reading it.

Thanks so much for being a wonderful writer and friend, B!

Yours sincerely,
Lily

Author's Response: Aw Lily, thank you so much, I'm so happy you liked it :) xxx

 Report Review

Review #4, by PaulaTheProkaryote Two Stars, One Constellation

3rd September 2016:
I keep forgetting that the rest of HPFT isn't on my time.

Okay lovely person! This was absolutely adorable!

Your descriptions really brought this little story to life. Things like the lapping of the lake on the windows in the dungeon and the thunder and the warmth of the fire. It was all so perfect and indeed quite cozy.

I love the similarities you drew between the first time he realized he liked Albus to the first time he did something about it. My sweet little heart. Oh it's so full and happy.

Buddy. Yeah, I can see how that word might dash some hopes and dreams.

My favorite besides all my other favorites is how well you characterized the awkwardness. Especially Scorpius' failed attempt to escape and the subsequent mess that followed. I had anxiety for him.

AW THE KISS IT WAS SO SWEET. Third time was totally the charm.

Honestly Scorpius was totally brave and I loved it. Knowing that Albus was probably into girls (he dated loads of them) and still somehow kissing him (despite not having much control over himself) AND THEN DOING IT AGAIN. AND ONCE MORE. Totally and completely a bold boy.

This little story brought so much joy to my heart and I'm so happy I read it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading, P! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8 Two Stars, One Constellation

18th June 2016:
* For the LGBTQA+ Pride Review Event*

Hi Bianca.

I was looking for stories for the LGBTQA+ Pride Review Event, and I came across this one. It looks really good, and I really like Albus/Scorpius, or Scorbus if youíd like, so I just knew I had to read it. And then I havenít read anything of yours in a very long time so it was probably about time I did so anyway. So yeah, I think Iíll just get right to the actual review part.

I think the reason why I love Albus and Scorpius is the fact that they are friends. I love friendship to love stories, because I feel like itís so realistic. Thatís how many couples get together in real life, and then I feel like daring to try a relationship with a long-time friend takes so much courage, because if it fails you risk losing your friendship too. So you donít enter those kind of relationships easily. You go into them fully prepared to fight to make it work, and thatís why the relationship often end up working.

Now I really like your Albus and Scorpius. I felt for Scorpius from the very first line. Iíve never been in love myself, but it must be hard to see your best friend date lots of girls and know youíre so madly in love with him. And I really liked that that you show his feelings, his problems with hiding them and that this gradually becomes harder until you reach this scene at the end here where itís like heís been hiding his feelings so long, he simply canít hold them in anymore. And they are so awkward and adorable and I donít even have words. It was a really beautiful scene, and it made me smile and thatís definitely a compliment. So amazing job, Bianca. Thanks for sharing.

Lotte

Author's Response: Ee hi Lotte!

Aw you are so very sweet, I can't thank you enough for everything you've said. I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you my darling ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore Two Stars, One Constellation

18th June 2016:
Hello! I don't think I've read much of your writing before, but this was a really lovely story!

My head canon for Albus and Scorpius is kind of different to this, but the more of them I read, the more I find myself loving Scorbus as a couple. I love the idea of the two of them being friends at school in spite of (or perhaps because of) their parents' differences, and then something growing out of that. A lot of relationships start with friendships and I think you captured that really well here, as well as the awkward moment when people first admit their feelings.

The opening of this was so sweet - I really felt for Scorpius and the way that he'd realised about his feelings for Albus but was too scared to say anything. It must have been such a revelation that first time and I liked the way you captured that with the fact he remembered exactly what that time had been like, and how aware he'd been of everything around them.

That transitioned really well into the main scene here, when everything feels the same to Scorpius but time has passed and now it's like he can't hide his feelings anymore. I thought you wrote that really well, and particularly the moment when he kissed Albus. It was so sweet but there was so much tension there because we had no idea how Albus felt. You captured the awkwardness and embarrassment there brilliantly, but I was so glad that Scorpius didn't just rush out and they actually got a chance to finally (kind of) admit how they felt about each other. When Albus finally responded it was adorable, and I'd love to see you write more of these two! ♥

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

Author's Response: Hey Sian!

You surprised me with this review, so thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it and that I gave them a bit of justice. Thank you once again!

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by mymischiefmanaged Two Stars, One Constellation

3rd June 2016:
Came to visit some more of your wonderful writing and this was beautiful. I don't write Al and Scorpius but the more I read them the more I'm tempted.

I love your Scorpius. He's just the right amount of nervous. And Al obviously cares about him so much already. They felt very real here and their relationship is very genuine. And I like that Scorpius, while nervous, trusts Albus enough to show how he feels.

Lovely writing as always.

Emma xx

Author's Response: Ooh so nice to see you over here! Thank you for checking out this story!

First attempt at any next gen whatsoever, so I'm glad you liked them! Thanks E ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by dreamgazer220 Two Stars, One Constellation

24th May 2016:
Bianca!!

Why haven't you written Next Gen before?! WHY HAVEN'T YOU WRITTEN SCORBUS? This was so adorable and fluffy, which I know is different from your typical dark tales.

It really shows your talents as a writer. You did such a great job of describing every little detail, everything that Scrop noticed about Albus. My favorite was his eyes, though, reminding him of the constellation, Sirius. And every time he compared Albus to the stars, I swooned.

I'm so glad that you decided to write this! It was short and sweet and so lovely, but I also WANT MORE. Okay? Cool, glad we decided that.

♥♥♥
Jill

Author's Response: Eek! Well, er, I have now!

Yes it is just a wee bit different from what I usually write, ha ha. Look how versatile I am! Is everyone seeing this?!

Aw you are the absolute best Jill, thank you so much ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Unicorn_Charm Two Stars, One Constellation

24th May 2016:
Bianca!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

Oh my god! Oh my god! Oh my god!! I'm flailing around like a crazy person and have a smile from ear to ear! I can't believe you wrote this for me and I love it so much and you're amazing and this was amazing and it's ScorBus♥ and they're my OTP and this was so sweet and I loved every second and you're such a talented writer and I can't even deal right now!!!

*takes deep breath*

I loved this! (In case that wasn't obvious). The way that you described someone realizing their feeling for the first time was so spectacular. I loved the analogy of it being like a comet bursting from Scorpius' heart and setting his body ablaze. Such a wonderful way to phrase it!!

And then of course you have the whole not being able to concentrate, because he's focused on Al. And noticing all the ways that he has changed and just gah! I'm so in love with this!!

It must be so confusing for a teen to realize they have feelings for a member of the same sex. Especially your best friend. It was hard enough developing feelings for a best friend of the opposite sex, but in this case, you really don't know how the other person will react. Scropius had to be so scared that the friendship may end up ruined.

And Al! Oh I love him!

I can't believe Scropius just went for it! Yes!! Get it, Scorp!

Oh his reaction made me laugh. I felt bad for him, because he was definitely embarrassed, but it also cracked me up. XD Then Albus telling him to sit back down! My ScorBus heart exploded with joy. ♥

Scorpius?! Another kiss! What a brave boy. :)

Gah! Al kissed back! Al kissed back! Third time really was a charm!! And now they'll fall in love and live happily ever after and have lots of kids and live the most perfect life filled with love and everyone will want to have a relationship just like theirs and squeee!!!

Bianca, I can't thank you enough for this. *squishes* It really was so, so good. Like so, so, so good!! You must write more ScorBus (and marauders for that matter) because you've done an incredible job. I'm thrilled that I've finally had a chance to read your work, because you're so super talented it's crazy. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! ♥

*smothers you with hugs*

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Meg!

I can't even begin to describe how much my cheeks hurt from smiling at this review! Thank you for allowing me to dip my toes in the next gen pool, I love it! I'm so so glad you liked this story, thank you for being you ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login