Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LucyD Constant Vigilance

3rd October 2017:
Have just discovered this and the prequel the Chinese book, they are both brilliant. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you LucyD!

I hope you will continue to enjoy both stories.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #2, by Bardic Magic Constant Vigilance

30th September 2017:
Bill,
An excellent back story for an unforgettable phrase. I always liked ole Mad-eye! You've, once again, painted a fine picture.

Keep up the good work! I await your next chapter with patience and anxiousness, at the same time!

Bardic Magic

Author's Response: Bardic Magic,

I like Mad-Eye too. He emerges into the story whole, fully-formed. Other than he's a great Auror, we don't learn too much about him. That made room to imagine a past that fit the character we liked in the books.

I am accommodating to being a recent widower and have less time than I would like for story telling. I expect I will be a bit slower for a while but not for too long.

Thanks for your review,

Bill


 Report Review

Review #3, by PendleWizard White Shoes

24th August 2017:
I continue to greatly enjoy this story. I'd like to reiterate what Bardic Magic's review says: It is your attention detail that makes your writing. You are writing about the interplay between magic and muggle and therefore the detail has to work. I'm trying to do the same in my own writing. There are plenty of other stories about magic and relationships if that's what people want! So please: carry on 'being Bill'

[Just to clarify: a lot of beer does go in the fridge, but real ale is something specific and it is drunk at room temperature, just like red wine is.]

Have a bonus mark for the comment about the News of the World. It is SO what Whiteside would have said!

The term Not-For-Profit is not in general use in the UK, certainly not at the time your book is set. YIPI would be termed a voluntary organisation. The general population tends to use the term charity slightly lazily as a bit of a portmanteau to cover any voluntary organisaion whether or not a registered charity. Whiteside, I am sure would talk about family/charitable trusts, registered charities and voluntary organisations..

But I'm being the pedantic Englishman again. Maybe you need to talk about not-for-profits for the benefit of all your other readers and I'll just have to grit my teeth!

Thanks again for brilliant writing. I'm looking forward to the next installment.

Author's Response: hank you PendalWizard,

As I told Bardic Magic, I've been out of reading time for a while and am looking forward to seeing how you both conceive of magic, muggles and their interplay.

I thought I knew that about real ale, apparently not! Thanks.

I think I need to go with voluntary organization. I'll make the change in this book then later make the change in my first story. Again, thank you, I appreciate getting the cultural context right.

Pedantic, humm! It was wrong and you fixed it for me. That's teaching. I appreciate that you took the time to make my story better.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #4, by Bardic Magic White Shoes

22nd August 2017:
Bill,
Sorry I haven't posted more through the chapters, but I was busy gobbling them down.

It seems we have similar ideas when it comes to house elves, their magic and their connections to their "masters and mistresses". I explored this in my own stories, to some extent.

Also, we seem to have the same "hiccups" in slang, as I am an American English speaker, too. I would have put the "beer in the fridge", too! I did pick up on WC, though...I guess it shows our age or locale as Americans.

I will disagree (no harm intended to the reviewer) about your "lengthy explanations". Again, it may be that we share that characteristic in writing style. I thoroughly enjoy the in-depth explanations and the attention to detail. I had some reviewers that mentioned it to me, also. Of course, I had many that said it wouldn't have been right without it. C'est la vie!

Keep on "being Bill"! Love the story and await the next chapter!

Bardic Magic

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. I'll be interested to see your take on house elves, magic, masters and mistress. I'll look up your stories.

I have a couple of dictionaries and a linguistics blog on the differences in our common language that I research when I think their might be appropriate, useful British slang. But something like beer in the fridge is hard to see as wrong without knowing the culture.

I've had fun learning what little I have of the language differences. The rhyming slang is fascinating but I wouldn't dare try to use it. Nonetheless, people here have been both helpful and forgiving of my lapses into Americanism.

I did wonder about age and being for or against lengthly explanations when I read that review. At my age, I have used and created more written materials than most others ever will, particularly those born into the media / digital age. I was driving before I saw a television and everything I learned from was literature. That is what has set my taste for what is enough explanation or detail. Also, I have had children the age of many of Ms. Rowling's characters, so I have this sense that they are complex, thought-driven and not always consistent, just like the ones I know, and the ones in her books.

Again thanks.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #5, by Bardic Magic Prologue: Number Twelve Grimmauld Place

22nd August 2017:
Likewise, I am excited to see a new story from you!

I like the format...more of a personal drama...intimate day-to-day details. I like this very much, so far. I'm sure I will continue to like it, as I did your first story.

Welcome back, Bill!

Author's Response: You're very kind, thank you.

I'll probably be a bit slow getting to your stories, but I'm looking forward to reading; it's been a while.

The challenge of the format is to tell the story through dialog with less third party narration.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #6, by kayt Salvaging the Weekend

7th July 2017:
Nice to see H/G having a bit of fun.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review. Yes, they're smart, young, powerful, and in love. They know what's fun and it pleases me to write that they do.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #7, by Magicabounds Into the Weeds

5th May 2017:
Really missing the magical aspect of all this. Integrating into the muggle world is great, but this is way to much. You're getting way to much into explanation of what's going on. The reader should not have to have this much detail to understand where you want to go with your ideas. You need to be in the magical world more with less importance on the muggle world and laws. Your writing is very good, but I was hoping for more in depth of their lives and less of their work. I guess just more of the original characters writhe the addition of the new people

Author's Response: Magicabounds,

Thank you for taking the time to review "Grand Trine." I appreciate your advice and will keep it in mind as I move forward. To some extent, it is what one reviewer called "chewing the scenery" that is my natural style. I quite like imagining their responses to the Muggle world and how the personalities and talents they bring from magic play out as they create their Muggle identities.

But, I'm sure I sometimes write as much for the fun of the writing as for the story, so thanks for your review. It's early for me to see what is too much, I'll need another pass, but the rest of the story isn't posted or final. I'll keep my eyes open.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #8, by PendleWizard Breakfast at Hermione's

18th April 2017:
I'm very much enjoying this story and am waiting to see where you go with it!

I'd probably put WC rather than W.C, but I think it's just preference. And toilet is probably the commonest euphemism, but there's nothing wrong with WC.

Just one plea: Please tell Harry and Ron not to keep their real ale in the fridge - it is stored and drunk at room temperature. Actually, I think most twenty-somethings in the early noughties would have drunk lager, although I realise they are not typical twenty-somethings!

Author's Response: PendleWizard,

Thanks! There's so much I don't know about your customs. Glad you enjoyed the story so far, I'll fix the anomalous beverage bits. I hope you enjoy where the story goes. Thanks so much for your review.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #9, by dumbledore_wannabe The Grand Trine

23rd March 2017:
Well, the plot thickens!! Interesting idea, can't wait to see what you do with it. :)

Author's Response: Hi dumbledore-wannabe, nice to see your pen name again, I hope all is well.

Well, I won't say what will happen but everything is in place for the resolution, just not for a while. I need to "chew the scenery" for a time.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #10, by hgstories A Lovers' Morning

14th February 2017:
Welcome back! Chinese book was one of my favorite stories and I am very much looking forward to this one! One thing that has confused me so far has been the acronyms. I assume WC is walk-in closet? I'm not sure what the acronym for Harry's work means. Maybe I missed something where you explained them, but just something to keep in mind.

Author's Response: hgstories,

Thanks, i hope you will continue to enjoy the story.

WC I meant as "water closet" a room with, or the flush toilet itself. Maybe it should be punctuated: W.C. I'm a native American speaker, I may have this wrong.

ACS is "Affordable Computer Services," what Harry created to help out the not-for-profits.

Thanks, your review is the second to note somethings I should have done better earlier in the story. I'll go back and do that.

As always, HPFF readers are helpful. I appreciate knowing things like this.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #11, by kayt Day-to-Day

6th February 2017:
There aren't many well written stories covering this period of time for Harry et al, so I'm really enjoying your take on what happens to them. I had several chapters saved to read - I like a big chunk of story so as to get immersed in all the lovely detail you provide. I think that as with the CB it will be great to reread as a whole when its finished. I have to admit I'm finding it slightly hard to imagine Harry as a computer genius, but I'm working on it! Its just one of the many details that give your story originality.

Author's Response: kayt,

I hope that by the end it will finish satisfyingly.

But, thanks so much for drawing my attention to you difficulty with Harry the computer genius. I'll need to find a place to add some dialog.

Even today, mastering a computer skill is one of the ways for entrepreneurial, shy, and people with just poor social skills can earn a nice life. In Harry's case I'm thinking this is one of the ways to merge into Muggle culture without doing what Hermione does in this story. I thought it fit well and will look to explain more when I think of where to do it in the text.

Also, I need to work on the portrayal of what he actually does, I mean it more as a smart aggregator than a computer genius. He knows how to apply the work of genius.

Thanks for the stimulus kayt.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #12, by dumbledore_wannabe Ministerial Magic

13th January 2017:
Love the way you thought about redesigning the whole Ministry and the details of accomplishing it. Very imaginative and original!

Author's Response: Dumbledore_Wannabe,

Thank you, I appreciate your feedback. I'm playing with the mind-side of magic, thinking what would "real" magic be, and proposing it would be effected by mind and wand.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #13, by dumbledore_wannabe A Sense of Relief

30th December 2016:
I'm always happy whenever you post, and I'm interested to see where this story is going! Hope everyone in your family is okay now. :)

Author's Response: Thanks Dumbledor_wannabe,

We're as good as can be expected, thank you. Getting old takes some work.

I'm honestly not sure about the pace for revealing the mystery. Hopefully, it is not too slow. The reveal is a few chapters down the road and the resolution won't come until the end.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #14, by ppn1958 A Lovers' Morning

3rd August 2016:
I am loving this story! Please hurry up and update!😀😀😀

Author's Response: ppn1958,

I should have a new chapter posted by this weekend, thank you for your kind review!

Bill


 Report Review

Review #15, by Michael Bell Pizza and Bunny Slippers

13th June 2016:
First, welcome back. It is wonderful to have your vision in another story. I am enjoying the start. A little more opening exposition that I might expect, but you do have to write backwards and forwards for a bit and I recognize that. What appealed to me most in the Chinese Book was your skill with dialogue. You have the voices down and that is a great thing. Cannot wait for more. Well I can and will, but thanks for taking on another story line.

Author's Response: Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to write. You're right, of course, I do need to wander about the scenery before I can get going. In the case of “Grand Trine,” where I am trying to bring a story out of the day-to-day mundane, Grimmauld Place seemed like another character. As that it let me play with ideas like “magical space," the magic of transforming it.

There'll be lots of dialog starting with Touch & Talk the chapter I just posted. I've paid a lot of attention to the phrases introducing dialog as chances to shade the emotional content.

Thank you,all the chapters are written, I'll post them as I get the proofing a bit better. I hope not to disappoint.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #16, by dumbledore_wannabe Pizza and Bunny Slippers

3rd June 2016:
Oh, how wonderful, you are back with a new story!! Can't wait to see where it goes. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm a bit behind in posting, hope to get there this weekend. It is planting time where I live and the garden is getting all the attention.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #17, by annimal16 Prologue: Number Twelve Grimmauld Place

28th April 2016:
Im so exited you finaly posted this story.
Loved the last story. Amd im stoked for this one!

Author's Response: annimal16,

This is more mystery and character-based than "Chinese Book," so I hope it doesn't move too slow. More detail of Harry and Ginny, Ron and Hermione's day-to-day magical lives, less action.

Bill



 Report Review

Review #18, by kayt Prologue: Number Twelve Grimmauld Place

28th April 2016:
Glad to see s new story from you as I loved the Chinese Book. Look forward to more.

Author's Response: kayt,

I'll say the same as I did to annimal16, there's more mystery and detail of Harry and Ginny, Ron and Hermione's day-to-day magical lives, less action than "Chinese Book."

Bill


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login