Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Broken Crown
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginny Chapter the First

19th April 2017:
Jailbreak

Oh, this is very intriguing indeed. I've read fics set after the second wizarding war, but usually they're set a few years after it ended. But this one seems to be set much closer to the end of the war, with less time elapsed. That seems like a very interesting space to explore - there was so much rebuilding to do, especially with the degree to which the Ministry was infiltrated.

This is certainly an idea I've never seen explored before - wands being taken from people with Death Eater connections. I always sort of assumed that, as with the first wizarding war, those who were confirmed to be Death Eaters or who were found to be knowingly helping Death Eaters would be sent to prison and that would be the end of it. But what with the Dementors abandoning the prison during the war, I guess it'd actually look a bit different, and from what we know of the Ministry in canon, I can definitely see them taking this measure.

Now, I'm assuming that this Miss Montague is the sister of the Montague mentioned in the books, and that he's the brother she mentioned. And she killed Crabbe? There's so many questions brought up by that, especially with the sort of matter-of-fact way she thinks about it. This chapter makes me want to keep reading and see what happens, which is of course what you want from a first chapter. I think you were very successful in setting up an intriguing scenario and character.

Alas, instead of moving on to chapter 2, I have to go continue jailbreaking! But maybe I'll be back sometime!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #2, by melian Chapter the First

19th April 2017:
Hi Isobel!

Well, that was a thought-provoking beginning. I like how you used the line from the summary in chapter 1 because it means that we get to the good bit quickly – and also, because it’s intriguing! We know Crabbe is dead. We know that Draco Malfoy, Pansy Parkinson and Gregory Goyle (I assume that’s the Greg you refer to) are now wandless, possibly in connection to Crabbe’s death. And we know that this Ms Montague – who I think is an OC because I don’t remember her from canon, though I assume she’s related to the boy Fred and George stuffed into a Vanishing Cabinet – is claiming responsibility for his death.

It’s also clear this is set not long after the war finished. Robards is still head of the Auror’s office, and people with connections to know Death Eaters are being chased down and interviewed. I find it fascinating that you put Zacharias Smith in with this group – or, if not, then why was he being interviewed by the Ministry? More intrigue.

So we have a potential Death Eater associate, some semi-guilty verdicts on known Slytherins (and, due to Ms Montague knowing Draco, Pansy, Greg and Zacharias I take her to have been in Harry’s year) and an unexplained death. Great way to start a story. I want to read more. Well done!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #3, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage Chapter the First

8th April 2017:
Hiya! here for CTF #5!

And what a way to start a story. Of course, I shouldn't be surprised considering the fact that it is in fact you, Isobel, who has started this and I am under the impression that you can never not start a story with a good first chapter to begin with. It's really intriguing to see how she is as a person and how she seems so innocent at first, but then that that sentence about how she was the one who killed Crabbe is exactly the kind of twist I actually would expect from you. It really shows a contrast and a sign how not everyone you think is innocent actually is and that even the aurors might be in the wrong about letting her roam free for that long. But on the other hand it is you and I don't think she would've killed him without a specific reason to do just so - maybe selfdefence? I don't know. There is a lot more to this story at least.
Aside from that I am yet again amazed by the structure and wordchoices of your sentences, even though I am always a bit surprised by just that. It's again really well done and that last sentence is by the way a perfect way to end a chapter, because not only does it make the story progress, it also gives you enough opportunity to go back into the past and tell it working your way back again to this point to cover all that has happened. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by BellaLestrange87 Chapter the First

8th April 2017:
Hello! I'm here for CTF!

Oh man, this was such an excellent first chapter. I absolutely love the idea behind this - of a protagonist having to undergo an interview with the MLE, and of all the dirt and backstory it's going to bring up. And all the little bits of foreshadowing you've casually included and thrown in: about her relationship with her parents, and that casual bombshell you dropped.

She killed Vincent Crabbe? I love this enormous bit of intrigue and mystery this adds, because we know that Vincent Crabbe was killed in the Room of Requirement at the Battle of Hogwarts. Did she set him up for his death? We know that he died from the Fiendfyre that he cast; how did she kill him? I am most definitely coming back to continue reading after CTF is over (and you know, school and work and all that jazz *cries*).

I can't help but feel that this interview is a bit more serious than some of the other ones. While Robards seems to be very casual and at ease here, I feel like it's part of an intimidation strategy - a way of reminding her who's really in charge here. If this was just a routine interview, wouldn't she have the human transcriber sitting in the corner writing stuff down? There's definitely a reason for Robards to be relying on a potentially-fallible quill for note-taking, and I feel like none of the potential ones are good.

Also, I'm very surprised at Zacharias Smith having an interview with the MLE. Just what was he up?

I really loved the first chapter of this story! It especially appeals to me because I am a legal nerd and this involves magical law, so you can guarantee that I'll be back after CTF ends (and, you know, I need answers to all the unanswered questions).

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #5, by victoria_anne Chapter the First

21st May 2016:
Hi Isobel!

Okay so I was going to read the second chapter of Vanishing Acts, but once I read a little bit about what this story was about from the forums I just couldn't resist! (And how gorgeous is that banner?!)

You are the master of intriguing starts. How dare you. I have so many questions already! You've given us a glimpse into who Liv is, but she remains very mysterious! Clearly there is more than meets the eye to this story (like how Crabbe comes into it) so needless to say I am hooked already. How u do dis?!

You'll hear from me again soon, no doubt

♥ B

 Report Review

Review #6, by BookDinosaur Chapter the Fourth

31st March 2016:
isobel

you know, i had hoped that more chapters would mean some more answers. i see now that i was foolish

i have so many questions it's difficult for me to even think about where to start? but i suppose the first question would have to be why are you so good at this

it's good to know that some of the slytherins have recovered as much as they can and made themselves successful after the end of the war. and i have to mention how much i love that theo was fighting his father during the battle of hogwarts. multi-faceted slytherins for the win! :P

and aww, the memories that olivia has of theo are so sweet ♥ maybe not sweet, but i love that they seemed to have such an understanding, and could stay with each other whether they were socialising or being silent. i think a lot of the more shallow friendships only apply to one of those aspects, if that makes sense, and feel awkward when they're doing the other aspect. (am i making sense at all, here? it's late, i'm tired, i should be sleeping but i let myself read this chapter before heading off)

but then - how does theo know about millicent? is the first question, i suppose, if we decide to do this chronologically. why is vincent so distressed at the lie that they've been seeing each other? have he and nott also been seeing each other? and what does olivia mean when she says that theo has an ulterior motive? hiding his sexuality? i feel the need to inform you that it's very unfair that you're keeping this information from us, and also that i really want the answers to all these questions :(

in light of everything that i just said, i think it's very easy for you to know that i would love for you to update soon, my dear, because this story is so wonderful and as much as i complain about how you're a miser with information, i'm definitely going to keep reading whatever you choose to grace the archives with :D :D

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #7, by BookDinosaur Chapter the Third

31st March 2016:
isobel

don't be angry at me for taking time out to write review - i've gotten to 3k words, so i've allowed myself some time to read more of your wonderful work ♥ :D

ah, i just really enjoy this. i'm pretty sure i've mentioned this in a review on another story but you can pull off flashbacks like nobody else. they just seem so natural and the flow isn't interrupted at all, and even though the flashbacks maybe aren't revealing as much as i hoped they would on the current situation, i suspect that's just a me-wanting-to-find-out-more thing, because it all feels entirely natural

and, as olivia said last chapter - this is feeling less and less like an interrogation, and that feeling just intensifies in this chapter. when robards is so quick to say that he's not criticising, merely observing, or when he agrees to just do it olivia's way - there is something going on here and i 'm kind of desperate to find out what it is :P why are you so good at revealing the truth so slowly?? Dx

and, of course, how could i not like the descriptions of olivia and millicent being friends ♥ i can almost always get behind friendships, and the first half of this chapter had me grinning widely, until that wedge kind of came between the two of them :( i do wonder, why olivia is so reluctant to go out with boys if she does like them. because of theo? it's interesting

ack, i cannot believe the validators are so fast; i swear, when i clicked onto the story earlier tonight there were only two chapters up, and now that's doubled. (i refreshed this chapter an embarrassing number of times when i saw the 'next chapter' button, oops). i have to say i'm very grateful for the speed, though!

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #8, by BookDinosaur Chapter the Second

31st March 2016:
isobel

ahhh, i love this so much. throughout the chapter the tone was kind of changing, a little? you're pulling the veil off the situation slowly, and we can see that there's something there but we don't know what. you're just amazing at this how do you even do this.

and now you're just being mean and building up the suspense :P honestly, i need to know what's happening in olivia's mind and why she blames herself so much for crabbe's death, and everything that's happening with robards and the interview and just everything.

This is feeling less and less like an interrogation, and I don’t understand why.
this is my thought process exactly.

and i've mentioned this in a previous review, but i love how you turn the tables on the canon interpretations of slytherins - in this case, crabbe, who we all see as nothing more than a henchman to draco, but here the description of the picture he's in just brought home so vividly how he had a life and feelings and moments of happiness of his own, and i just really love that

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #9, by BookDinosaur Chapter the First

31st March 2016:
isobel

ooh my, i really love this already. you seem to be able to do that :P i thought that vincent crabbe was killed in the room of requirement, so straight away we have this really interesting question of why is olivia so certain that she is the one who killed him? i'm going to try and avoid theorising since most of the thoughts i come up with seem very implausible, but know that this is something i definitely want to see how you handle.

i loved the opening sentences, by the way - I am being stared at and then expanding on the perpetrator - i don't know why, i just really liked it :P

it's interesting to wonder why olivia's trial is so markedly different from the ones her friends described. like her, it's making me a little nervous? and olivia just seems so determined that she's going to be found guilty and her wand is going to be snapped in two, and i can't help feeling like there must be more to the story than this, although maybe i'm wrong

For him to have obtained that quote means that someone has been discussing me with the Ministry.
see? someone has been discussing her. i definitely think that there is something going on behind the scenes here. i hope i'm not wrong, that would be embarrassing :P

♥ emily

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login