Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Broken
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BellaLestrange87 Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

28th May 2016:
Hi there! I'm here for our review exchange!

This was really good, and definitely not what I was expecting from the summary at all. I thought, reading it, that Draco had cheated on her or something. This was a lot harsher and way more creative.

Draco's manipulation of Hermione has me really intrigued. What did Harry and Ron think? Mrs Weasley? How did they start to fall in love (well, Hermione anyway)? Does Draco really love her and is just hiding his feelings?

Their conversation was really well done. Draco's contempt is in-character with what he know of him from the books, but more harsher and crueler, like he would have been had he not shied away from the Death Eaters. Hermione is just the right mix of anger, sadness, and feelings of betrayal.

The ending was so sad and heartbreaking. This sentence especially, "And, here she was, Hermione Granger, stuck in a locked dungeon at midnight, with a broken heart and a broken soul, destroyed by nothing but love."

I really loved this, and I'm glad we swapped. I'll be back to read more of your work soon!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing. I am pleased you found this creative and well-written!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Unicorn_Charm Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

14th May 2016:
Hi there! I'm here with your review!

This was so dark and so sad! Is this a sequel to another story? I'll have to look and see. If not, I would LOVE to read more of their relationship together, before this happened, to see what all lead up to this point.

Oh I hate seeing poor Hermione so broken and defeated. I just wanted to rush in there, punch Malfoy and free her. Then let her beat the crap out of Malfoy.

You've written Draco so cold and heartless here. I was shocked and completely angry when he actually hit her. How dare he do something like that! The jerk. And how awful that he took advantage of her for a year, broke her heart and now has her chained up, close to death. Why, Draco? There's some good in you, we know this. Why do this to Hermione? *sniffle*

I really admired Hermione for remaining so strong, or at least, trying to portray that she was still strong. Definitely the Gryffindor in her. ;) I thought she was definitely still in character, showing how loyalty and friendship are the most important things to her.

Ugh and the end just broke me. I hope that she gets out of there alive and gets some justice for what happened to her. I'd really love to see a follow up to this. This was so good, I need more!

Thanks so much for dropping by with this. I enjoyed reading it, even though it broke my heart! :p

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing. This is not a sequel but yes it would be interesting to explore more of the relationship - I might look into it in the future! I am sorry it broke your heart but pleased that you got into it and found it nice!

 Report Review

Review #3, by my_voice_rising Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

6th May 2016:
*blows air through cheeks*

I mean, damn.

I haven't read anything dark in a long long time and THIS is pretty dark. Dramione is a guilty pleasure of mine but this one-shot seems unique in that it's after the "happily-ever-after." He wooed her, she finally let her guard down, and came to trust him, and it was all an act. Somehow this feels more canon, anyway.

Hermione's perseverance and the fact that she never told him about Harry is just so good. Of course she wouldn't betray her friends. Your language is very poetic here, and even without going too deeply into description and visual language, the reader can clearly see the scene.

"Two years of fighting, one year of betrayal." This is very interesting. One thing that this story leaves me wanting is some Showing and Not Telling, as they say. Not so in-your-face as flashbacks, but some specific memories would tell the backstory that's hooked us.

Moments of when Hermione finally came over to Draco, for example, would be really interesting, and Ron and Harry's reactions. Or the moment when she realized that he had actually been playing *her* all along.

Especially after you mention "the love they shared"--so he did indeed have feelings for her at one point? Is this all because he's being put up to it because of his parents and Voldemort, or is it because he was really truly using her all along?

I want to know more about this torturous tumultuous relationship!!!

"Destroyed by nothing but love" is such a powerful ending, too, paired with the muted sound of the gong.

Nice work! ♥

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing. Glad you found it dark as that was my aim!

 Report Review

Review #4, by dreamgazer220 Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

4th May 2016:
Hey there! Here with your requested review ♥

This was amazing. Even if it was a Dramione AU where they were together, your characterizations and everything were so on-point that it didn't feel strange to me or out of place at all.

It was so heartbreaking reading what he was doing to Hermione. I love that you kept her strength, her bravery, and her loyalty together- you did a great job with that, even though Draco had once been the man she loved. There's a part of me that's torn between wanting to know more details of how they were when they were together, and not wanting to know because the result is just so painful.

I also really liked that she found a letter. Hermione sticks to who she is, no matter who she's dating, and you did a great job of painting that in this short piece.

I really don't have any CC for you. Your descriptions were just enough where I could visualize what was happening without it being overbearing. In fact, I feel like if you had given us too much detail, it would have taken away from the story itself.

One suggestion:
When she's asking why Malfoy had done this to her, I feel like he should be Draco here. Everywhere else in the story, the surnames make sense, but here, she's remembering the man that she loved. I'm sure at one point in their relationship they were on first-name basis ;)

I was also a little confused as to why there was a gong sound, so maybe another detail to explain that?

Otherwise, this was amazingly heartbreaking and painful and you did such a great job. The ending nearly broke my heart.

Thanks for the request! I really loved this.

~Jill

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing. The gong sound was to break her out of her thought - somewhere far off into the distance. and i like that bit about the surname, thanks, will keep it in mind when i edit!

 Report Review

Review #5, by TearsIMustConceal Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

2nd May 2016:
Hey, here for the TGS review exchange!

Angie, this is absolutely incredible!

I'm not the biggest Dramione fan, I must admit but I am a lover of angst so you've won me over with this masterpiece. Although it was short in length, it didn't lack in intensity and I was completely overwhelmed (in a good way) by Hermione's narrative, which was just so honest and broken. You've really portrayed her heartbreak and confusion and strength all at the same time, which is simply amazing!

In the short length, you've managed to encapsulate everything Hermione is feeling in such a realistic way and I am completely in awe at this and how you've done it. And the way you've portrayed Draco was my favourite part. I love a cruel, teasing and provoking Draco and you've captured him incredibly. He might just be my favourite part of this story. You really caught how cruel he can be and not just in his words, but in his actions too. He's amazingly cruel and I love it.

Overall, this was just amazing and fantastic and any other adjective I can think of that means incredible. Thanks for the amazing read Angie!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lostmyheart Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

30th April 2016:
Wow, Angie.

This was a really intense, short read. I didn't expect it to be so angsty, but you did it SO WELL. I am loving your writing style, you've developed so much these past few months, it's incredible.

Especially that opening line:
His harsh whisper washed over her like a broken melody, one that had been so beautiful at one point of time, but was now merely a shell of what it used to be.

SO AMAZING.

I love how you captured Hermione's feelings, she's so conflicted and the way she wonders in the end is heartbreaking.

It seems like you thrive in these dark stories, and I love them because you write them so beautifully!

I'm so glad I stopped by and I'm looking forward to new stories from you!

Love and hugs,
- Avi

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Musing Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

17th April 2016:
Hello Angie! I'm finally making my way here to review your entry for the Taylor Swift Ultimate Challenge.

This was the most unique take on Dramione I've ever read and I'm positively fascinated. The way you've incorporated the song and the prompt and spun this story from there is really impressive.

Poor Hermione! I really felt bad for her. She must have been really broken if she's ready to embrace her death in this manner. But she still remains true to her character and wants Harry to win the war, that is what makes her Hermione Granger. Your descriptions made this story very realistic. Draco is a really terrible person for doing this to Hermione. I wish Hermione had seen through his pretence earlier.

I'd really love to know what happens next! Will Hermione be able to escape or will Draco succeed?

Thank you so much for participating in the challenge and sharing this story with us. It was a great read and I really enjoyed it.

-Emm

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heaven Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

10th April 2016:
REVIEW TAG.

I visit your author page so infrequently, so I am always so pleasantly surprised when I see that I have so many wonderful new stories to choose from!

I think I say this every time I write a review for you, but I am just SO IMPRESSED by how much your writing has improved over the years I've been reading it. You were always fantastic, but with every new thing I read, you become EVEN MORE FANTASTIC. HOW DO YOU DO THIS? WHAT IS YOUR SECRET?

This was just so creepy to read. Draco was a horrible horrible person. It's been a while since I read an evil Draco story, and I love the way you turned the usual Dramione love story on its head. I'm not much for the ship, so this was so realistic for me. I felt so sad and sorry for Hermione, and her pain felt so so real. Love can be a terrible, terrible curse sometimes. It was so nice to see that she was still loyal to Harry though. She knows she's going to die soon, but still she keeps his secrets. Go Hermione! More power to you!

This was just a wonderful read, and good luck with the challenge :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TreacleTart Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

30th March 2016:
Hey there!

I'm here for our review swap! When I saw that this was for the Taylor Swift Ultimate Quote Challenge, I was really excited to see what you'd come up with.

This was really dark. For some reason, I don't think of Swift's music as being particularly dark, so this was a really unique route to go. I personally really like it as I'm not a big fan of fluff.

The situation that Hermione is in is pretty tragic. It's just awful what Draco has done to her not only physically, but mentally and emotionally as well. I wonder what he could've said to her to convince her that he loved her. It would've been really cool to see some of her memories of their relationship to give us a bit of back story.

I thought by far the creepiest part of the story was when Draco brushed Hermione's lips with his own. What a sadistic, twisted person. He's already hurt her. Now, it seems like he's just tormenting her for his own enjoyment.

I certainly hope that Harry (and Ron?) are able to rescue her. Otherwise, I truly fear for her sanity and safety. I don't want her to die at Draco's hands. I want her to escape and have her revenge.

I love that you left the ending sort of open and up for interpretation. It really leaves the reader to imagine what happened next, so that's a nice element.

My only CC is that I found myself wishing that this had just a touch more detail. You've created such an interesting premise that I just want to know more!

Thanks for the swap!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Chrissy Why Did You Break A Perfectly Good Heart?

29th March 2016:
WOW!! That was deep. You definitely have something great here. Wished it was longer though. You've left me wondering how it would all possibly end :-)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login