Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for 19226
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal 19226

25th April 2017:
Oh my goodness - like wow, seriously wow. This is very haunting and chilling. The obsession that Ginny feels the way Tom plays in her thoughts. Dark and beautiful, words are everything and they gripped me. I just loved how you played things and then when it came to the bracelet I was like WHOA!

I mean seriously I was not expecting that! Not at all! AUish? Ginny being in a mental hospital? Dude it is epic and I would love to see more of that it seems super interesting - kind of reminds me of Hogwarts Sanitarium (if you don't know it is a fic here where Harry is 'crazy' - not sure if it finished though).

While I loved the story and the haunting darkness and the epic surprise of he hospital band what follows after kind of confused me. I admittedly thought that my computer glitched and I scrolled up by accident or the page didn't load right. I'm not sure I understand the repetition bit very well, there are differences but a lot of the same line. I remarked on this to Angie and she thought it was to help show how crazy Ginny is. Is that the case? I would love to know and understand better because I did like the story despite my confusion.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 19226

25th April 2017:
OMG THIS WAS SO BEAUTIFUL! SUCH A WONDERFUL PIECE OF WRITING GAH. excuse me while i take a moment to breathe.

Squeeing aside (have to even though don't want to), this was so so so good. Your writing was mesmerising and beautiful and haunting and creepy and chilling and lovely all at the same time. The phrases you use, and the repetition, especially how the first segment repeats itself in the last segment, wow just plain wow. What floored me was how we don't immediately realise what is going on - at first I thought ginny is at Hogwarts with the diary but then I realise this is an AU where she has been diagnosed (Muggle hospital?) and Tom is her hallucination! You bring it out slowly and beautifully and smoothly. The way she is ensnared by his writing is tragic and heartbreaking and at the same time makes so much sense with the way we saw how the diary-tom was in the books. The description of the ink being seductive was pure poetry. I love such amazing metaphors. How she talks about no one ever understanding her connection with Tom is also so on point - it was a strange, strange thing that they shared in canon and you have built upon that wonderfully here. I always wondered how she got out of it without any post-traumatic effects so your take on her situation here is sad but also believable. The use of the imagery is vivid and beautiful and pulled me right in too and not to mention the writing style that comes across almost like poetry, it is enchanting. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

-CTF review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #3, by Claire Evergreen 19226

1st April 2017:
Why hello there Sam! Here for CTF!

Honestly, this is one of the most beautifully written pieces of fiction I've ever read! The flow of it is absolutely incredible and the pacing works so perfectly. I know that this is short piece to begin with, but wow, it felt like I was only reading for two seconds! All of the metaphors and descriptions just move into each other so nicely! I honestly wish my descriptions came out this well.

The way that you crafted this around Ginny and the diary is so inspired. It fits in so well with the way that her writing in the diary is portrayed in the books. She was so dependent on Tom while she was writing to him and I love this take on what could have happened to her if she was in the Muggle World (which is where I'm assuming she is?)

Also, wow that twist. My eyes got wide when I read that line about her bracelet. It was like a punch to the gut and you built up to it so well. Everything before that was so full of tension and suspense and then everything after just slowly led us down and out of the story. I'm just so in awe of how well you captured Ginny's mental state through your prose. Everything about it is simply inspiring.

Absolutely stunning! (As per usual :P)

Claire

Author's Response: OMG SHUTUP YOU FLATTER WAY TOO MUCH THANK YOU

♥ ♥ ♥

Really, there is nothing I can say to this review but endless squeeing

thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou

♥ ♥ ♥

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by PaulaTheProkaryote 19226

1st April 2017:
Hi Sam! Iím here to destroy hufflepuff in the capture the flag and also to say hi :D

I recently found out that Iím in love with Tom Riddle fics. Plums introduced me I think. Anyway, I knew I had to stop at this one.

Tom and Ginny have such an odd, interesting relationship in general that I just can't get enough. That obsession, especially in such a young impressionable girl says everything about how evil...how predatory? he is. Like I mean that he would find any weakness he could and exploit it. Cruelly.

And honestly he's really poisoned her mind. Like this forced isolated Ginny. It's so far from who she truly is that it highlights what he's like. He becomes what she needs and he isolates her. It's so toxic. My poor babe.

Oh he's a hallucination to her in this story. My poor girl. Oh, I want to keep her safe. And honestly the dialogue here is kind of scary. The nightmares are getting worse being repeated really freak me out. The way a lot of the phrases are repeated. The hungry smiles. This is thrilling and scary and SO well written.

and the fact that the story is the same both forwards and backwards. IT'S SO EERIE. I love it.

Stylistically this was one of the best written stories I've read. The whole circular conversations inside her mind and the isolation and hallucination. I'm not even sure if this is AU or fit into the story or what, but it's just so so powerful. and really, how can we understand their relationship? ;)


-Paula

Author's Response: Oooh yay my first CTF review! =D

I'm really glad you picked this story - it doesn't get much attention =)

I am such a sucker for dark!Ginny. My original otp (since elementary school) was Ginny/Draco, and I've never been able to get fully behind a Ginny that wasn't somehow twisted by the events of her first year.

I'm glad you enjoy that twistedness as well!

I did conceive of this story as fully AU, with Ginny having been institutionalized at 14, but I am totally open to people interpreting it different ways - Ginny's mind is not a reliable place in this story, so there can be many layers of questions of what is real.

I really love how much you loved the style and writing here - big hugs and many thanks!

Carry on with your destruction! ♥

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by krazyboutharryginny 19226

23rd September 2016:
Hi Sam!

I'm quite impressed with how much you managed to get across with such a small word count. You employed some excellent stylistic choices that made this piece incredibly effective.

First of all, there's the repetition. To be honest, I'm not 100% sure what your goal was with that, but to me it came across like either Ginny was so caught up inside her own head that she would get caught in circular trains of thought and need things repeated, or (the more likely option in my mind, and the one I thought of first) that her days are all mostly the same and sort of all blend together and become indistinguishable.

Secondly, there was the sparseness, which I definitely think contributed to the effectiveness of the repetition. Barely anything "happened" in this, and very few hard facts were communicated, but it all worked beautifully to create a sort of chilly, haunting tone.

I'm not even really 100% of... I'm not sure how to word this... where/when this is set? I'm not sure if you intended it to be a follow-up to CoS, or whether Tom is really in her diary or just a hallucination brought on by trauma... Or maybe it's an AU where Tom was never real and was always in Ginny's head? I personally don't feel like it needs to be clarified, and think it works for any of those scenarios. And honestly I think it's great that we have so little solid information, because we only know (and only really need to know) what Ginny knows - Tom is always with her, and he's not letting go.

Very interesting piece!

(Sorry for the weird, musing review haha.)

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 19226

19th July 2016:
SAM!! It's been too long, I hope you're doing well! I'm here with a few (belated) Hot Seat reviews for you! Thank you SO much for donating to help keep HPFF around! I can't tell you how much it's appreciated! And now, on to your first review!

This is just.. spooky and haunting. It's also a little confusing, but I'm pretty sure, given the plot, it was meant to be that way. :P

I have so many questions about what's going on here, even though I know what's going on.. if that makes any sense. It's very ambiguous, but also very clear cut at the same time, and that takes talent!

For example, when Ginny says the diary is under her bed, I'm wondering if that's what she's hallucinating, or did this actually happen in an alternate universe where the diary was never discovered?

Also, I really love the idea of there being that connection between Ginny and Tom - here you've made it seem like they're almost the same person and it's creepy!! (I mean that in the best possible way!)

I think the repetition is incredible, and so realistic and such a great descriptor of Ginny's situation - her life is on repeat, so it makes sense that the same words would get re-said or re-organized, but ultimately have the same meaning. SO AMAZING.

Anyway, this is a haunting and thought-provoking piece, I really enjoyed it! Well done!

Author's Response: Hey Jayde, ♥

Thank you very much for the reviews. No worries at all that they're belated! (I've been on a twitter hiatus, so didn't actually know when my hot seat week was =P)

I am really glad that you liked this. Yes, it's intended to be kind of disconcerting and confusing, but I'm glad you thought there was a good balance there.

In my idea of the timeline for this story, the events of CoS happened as they did in the book, but afterwards Ginny was unable to fully re-adapt to reality after the firm grip Tom has on her world and mind. So yes, thinking that the diary is underneath her bed is a hallucination, as her mind is trapped reliving the events of her first year.

Thank you for your feedback!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan 19226

17th July 2016:
Another review for the hot seat!

I watch the girl as she walks, confident and capable in her spotless green robes -- Aah. I thought this meant a Slytherin at first, and that Ginny was still a first year, until I got to the bit about Ginny's bracelet. Clever. And omg sad.

WKAFLKWSKJLFKJE so I just reached the middle of the story and then it all starts going backwards - this is incredible, is there no end to your talents? It reads just as perfectly forwards as backwards, and I LOVE that stylistic choice as it for some reason works really well with Ginny being a patient at St Mungos. The pattern of her thoughts is kind of all over the place, but in the end leaves her right back where she started.

And the last few lines, the way you divided up the sentence into multiple lines - I really liked that as well. Kind of poetic, in a way... maybe because of the shape of the paragraph, in an artistic way - but I like it, it just really works.

A wonderful story - great writing once again. ♥

Author's Response: YAY YOU THOUGHT IT WAS A SLYTHERIN =D

That was my hope, though I think the only comment I've gotten on it so far is someone who realized it was a Healer right away. I'm glad my deceit works on some!

I don't have much to respond to your review with, except that I love your enthusiastic and flattering feedback. ♥

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by pointless_proclamations 19226

1st May 2016:
Sam.

This is wonderful and brilliant and I need time to process. OK. It took a while to realise the symmetry both within the story and the word count. The latter was a brilliant additional touch. I feel as though, in this case, the symmetry did well to work and increase the impact of the mood and the atmosphere--almost psychedelic, very appropriate. In the centre of it all, literally, the bare bones of the story: Ginny, a patient as a result of hallucinations. The words you write spiralling around that--[expletive]ing brilliant. IT JUST WORKED SO WELL AND I LOVED IT. This needs a film adaptation. And I haven't even begun on your style of narration. Ginny' swords are written so well and serves to maximise how wonderfully disturbing it is. Your writing is so convincing and seductive here. I am figuratively blown away.

In short: LOVE IT.

Cheers,
Em.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon 19226

10th April 2016:
Howdy Sam! Stopping by to R&R as I work through all of the Knockout Challenge entries.

This was...not being "Tom" I struggle to come up with the right words, but it gave me a very Shutter Island feel about it and Shutter Island being one of my favorite movies, psychological thriller sort of pieces being some of my favorite stories, movies, etc, this just really resonated with me. It goes without saying that the structure worked brilliantly toward that end, winding and then unwinding Ginny's disordered thinking.

The fact that you were able to achieve something like this while achieving such a delightful balance of description and inner thought in such a short piece is also truly enviable.

Thanks so much for participating!

Author's Response: Hey Kevin!

Thank you so much for the review! It really excites me that you're making your way through the stories, and I really look forward to see how each of the brackets will work out!

And I love your reaction! It is very flattering to have my story compared to something that you like so much. I wasn't sure if everything I was trying to do would come across in this story, so I am glad that my risks seemed to payoff!

Thanks again for the review, and for hosting/MCing this wonderful challenge!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by victoria_anne 19226

4th April 2016:
Sam ♥

I was just vacuuming my room in your author page when I noticed this! Tom Riddle! My favourite! (How dare you not tell me about it!)

It's been so long since I read and reviewed your work I was having withdrawal symptoms!

Oh my goodness gracious golly me. This was delicious. And another short from the short master (as in the master of writing short things... But if you're short, that's cool too. Bianca, shut up)

I love how you don't even have the diary in this and yet I can read the power he wields over poor little Ginny. The eerie twist is her now being a patient.

But then, it like, goes backwards?! That gave me goose bumps once I got the end, and just made it all the more creepy. Perfect Tom Riddle.

More amazing work (though of course I didn't expect anything less). Love B ♥

Author's Response: Oh, yeah It's been, like, a wek since you've left me a review. Like totally forever [/sarcasm]

Glad to hear you vacuum =P [/wait, now sarcasm]

I'm really glad you liked this. I honestly wasn't sure if it would really work or make sense the way I wanted it to, so it's always good to get feedback. I also really like that you felt that this captured Tom Riddle well, even though he's not actually in it.

I'm totally honored to be the short master, and don't worry - I'm not short in real life. And if I was, I think I would be even more honored to be the short master.

Now if you, excuse me, I have to run read the SECOND wonderful review you left me last night.

Sam.

Much love!


 Report Review

Review #11, by A fellow Knockout Challenge entrant 19226

2nd April 2016:
Hello! I was scanning the challenge thread for entries and I came across yours. I'll admit, the title intrigued me so I clicked on it. I'm glad I did so.

I greatly enjoyed this story. It was different. I didn't realise what was going on in terms of the structure until I read about 'destructively seductive patterns' twice. This made me look at the whole story and I realised what you had done. It was very well written and I applaud your effort to make it so seamless.

My only CC is that some of your sentences are quite abrupt, although I realised this is practically unavoidable when writing a story like this. In fact they added drama (now I have confused myself about whether or not that was a CC or a compliment!).

You have a talent for writing stories like this, and I would be greatly interested to see more like this one from you.

Best wishes for the challenge.

xxx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! ♥

It is so thoughtful of you to review this story, both as a competitor and during this crazy time.

I definitely understand your uncertainty about your comment on my sentence structure being CC or a compliment, and I appreciate both sides of that!

Thank you very much for your review, and good luck in your bracket!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login