Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Harry Potter and the Aftermath
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Julivadi Celebration

8th December 2017:
I have only just found and read your wonderful story. I found it this afternoon and started to read. It is now 4.30 am and I have just finished. I think I can say with absolute truth that I could not put it down. What a fabulous story! It is plain to see that you have a great affection for the characters and a sparkling imagination. I loved the transatlantic connection and the melding of muggle technology with the wizarding world. A lovely sense of humour and a touching use of emotion. I really hope that you will treat us to another story sometime. You have a talent for storytelling that should be nurtured and allowed to grow. I will certainly look out for any further books.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Labhub Celebration

15th February 2017:
Am new to this site and only just found (and finished) this story. Congratulations on a fresh, funny, moving, and enjoyable "page turner". I hope there is a sequel or follow-up-it deserves one.

By the way, do you have a military or naval background? The character of the Admiral was VERY well done.

Author's Response: Thank you! The second half of the story is in the works, but this one took some time.

I am not a veteran, although there are several in my family tree. But I am an amateur military historian, and a good friend of mine is from an old Navy family. Besides that, one of my favorite authors, Robert Heinlein, was a Navy officer. The Admiral was a temptation I didn't try to resist.

So glad you enjoyed the story -- all the feedback is wonderful.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Avanell 2 Celebration

3rd December 2016:
Interesting story...I came to it late and have skimmed some (hard to catch up on all) and I hope you keep "refreshing" it so I can read more of what I haven't read :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the post, delighted you're interested -- I'm a little confused about your request to "refresh," mainly because I'm still very new to fanfiction and this site. Are you not able to access the story, or find it, unless I post something new?
There is more to the story but "real life" has been getting in the way of my writing lately. The continuation might be a whole second story...but I'm not sure about that yet. But if I can do something to help you read, let me know!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Maleka Khorakiwala Invitation

7th August 2016:
What a delightful read. One of the better written tales. Loved your sense of humour. Waiting to read more from you.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story, and the humor -- which is one of the things I especially like in Ms. Rowling's writing. A sequel has been started, and I'm trying to decide whether to post chapters as they are written or wait until it's finished.

 Report Review

Review #5, by dumbledore_wannabe Afternoon In Late Spring

11th July 2016:
Jefferson Hemings - I see what you did there! Nicely done. :)

Author's Response: I actually attended UVA (the Muggle one, darn it) and the temptation was irresistible. Such a joy to know you got it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by dumbledore_wannabe The Ministry of Magic

9th July 2016:
"It would probably take six or seven books to tell it all...". Brilliant line! I'm really enjoying this one. You have an inspired imagination!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was inspired, of course, by J.K. Rowling...and I had a blast writing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by annimal16 Invitation

19th June 2016:
Hello. Love the story. Is there a secuel on the way? If so im lookin forward to it

Author's Response: Thanks, annimal16! Really glad you enjoyed the story.

There is more to it. After all, it starts near the beginning of May and ends near the end of June; there's still two months of summer left. But this is mostly still in my head, and again, I'll finish the book before I post it. Once the characters take over, they go their own way, and sometimes it's necessary to go back and change earlier things to fit. Besides, that way the readers can get the whole thing fairly quickly.

So it may be awhile.

That's why I deeply appreciate any comments and reviews! I'm new at this and trying to learn what people like and don't like. Feedback will only help the next story get better.


 Report Review

Review #8, by lauraf68 Invitation

13th June 2016:
WOW, I'm blown away. I've finally caught up with all the action and planning. I became a bit busy and couldn't take time to read FF. Surprised that when I finally was able to come back I had a whole bunch of chapters to catch up on. Your details are amazing, your wit is undeniable (are you a Ravenclaw?), and the story is just downright fun!! Good job, keep it up!!
Happy Writing!

Author's Response: Many thanks! I'm very glad you enjoyed the story all the way through. The Potter books were such grand fun to read, and funny, especially in the beginning. I was aiming for that kind of experience.

I rather think I'd be a Gryffindor, but Ravenclaw is a possibility; wonder what the Sorting Hat would say? I'm much too lazy for Hufflepuff, and Slytherosity has no appeal for me at all.

There have been lots of encouraging reviews, and it's particularly interesting to find out what people think of the story as a whole, now that it's all up on the site.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Annie O A Walk In The Garden

11th June 2016:
Very smooth, Ryan, I bet Hermione didn't see that coming.
I Love the way you angle it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ohpl High Moon

9th June 2016:
Fantastic story. I will be sorry to see it end in three more chapters. I hope you have a follow-up in mind.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I do have a sequel in mind, but that's just where it is right now - in my head. Getting it down on paper will take some doing, but requests like yours are noted and much appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Annie O Hogwarts

7th June 2016:
Interesting twist - will Harry and Ginny play Quidditch on their honeymoon or are the wedding plans too much?
Still love the modern American wizards.

 Report Review

Review #12, by annimal16 Hermione

5th June 2016:
Love the story.
Just pitched in so im happy you updated so fast

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm loving all the responses and updating ASAP when chapters are validated. A small headsup: I'm traveling to an event soon, and my dance card is pretty full, but I'll have a laptop with me and will try to keep up as time allows.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Annie O Visiting Hours

3rd June 2016:
I predict secretary Blackstone is coming to visit... Love the story, miss Ginny in the story. I need new chapters every day ;-)

Author's Response: I'll try to put up a new chapter as soon as one is validated -- delighted you're enjoying it!

A lot has happened very quickly, and it's not that long after the Battle of Hogwarts. Ginny, at this point, is a major comfort to her parents, still grieving over Fred, since she's still living at home. She obviously spends as much time with Harry as she can, too, and Ryan just doesn't see her nearly as much as the others. Harry, of course, would never want her at risk with the Aurors; he's been protective of Ginny since he was 12.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Bill nilsson Visiting Hours

2nd June 2016:
Loved it so far. Nice read. Flows nice

 Report Review

Review #15, by Annie O Office Party

2nd June 2016:
Always a cliff hanger - how do you do it? Looking forward to reading the next chapters

 Report Review

Review #16, by Annie Reconaissance

30th May 2016:
Love the angle and plot.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Simone First Nations

30th May 2016:
Well written,really enjoying it

 Report Review

Review #18, by Banker James Level Ten

25th May 2016:
Great story so far! Keep up the good work

 Report Review

Review #19, by lauraf68 The Ministry of Magic

17th May 2016:
LOVED: Kingsley was smiling. “Ryan, your diplomatic skills are unerring.”, I don't do diplomacy, Kingsley, I'm just me, tryna get stuff done.” HILARIOUS!!
So excited about the prospects the Snifferprogram will give. AND OMG, Harry is Head Auror???!!!
So, looking forward to next chapter!

Author's Response: Well, Ryan had undoubtedly heard about Percy and isn't the type to put up with pretentiousness any more than the twins were. But his method is a little different.

Can't respond to every post, but I love all the comments and feedback! It's hard to be sure what will work for others. Thank you all.

Old Voldy did a lot of damage, though. There's a lot that needs to be repaired or rebuilt. And just because he's gone doesn't mean the remnants of his evil are. The next chapter has been submitted.


 Report Review

Review #20, by lauraf68 Wemail

12th May 2016:
I wondered if Ryan was going to pull a 'Ben Franklin", made me LOL!! Loving all the banter and the trust! Glad Blackstone's open & friendly too. VERY interested in the dark detector, that'll be great if Britain gets on board.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Lady Zahlefeel Wemail

12th May 2016:
Although I've never been a fan of post Hogwarts stories, The Aftermath has truly caught my (somewhat obsessive) interest. I love the concept of a communication break between America and Britain and the technology integration is fabulous. Even better, the characterisation has caught me in its trap as I desperately want to find out how everyone deals with realistic post-war struggles. The lack of 'super-angst' that some fics have is just another bonus that keeps me reading.
While originally wary of the first person tense, I've not found it distracting or excessively reflective at all.
Overall, I think the Aftermath is brilliant so far and am looking forward to the posting of the next chapters.
- Lady Zah.

 Report Review

Review #22, by ppn Wemail

11th May 2016:
I am loving your story! You have so much talent!!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by lauraf68 The Burrow

11th May 2016:
Good day to you. WOWEE such details, I'm completely impressed!! "Slimy Cook Parboil" had me LOL'ing. The work you put into explaining Blackstone's story has me intrigued. My husband was in the US Navy and I especially liked your explanation a few chapters back regarding Navy Coffee.
I'm looking forward to what's coming next!! Keep up the good work. Happy Writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm not a vet but am a Navy fan, have read much, and know several people who served. I dearly love the humor in Ms. Rowling's stories and hope to make this book fun as it goes along.
The next chapter has been submitted and they'll keep coming, it's a finished manuscript.


 Report Review

Review #24, by lauraf68 Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes

7th May 2016:
I've just recently found your story. Very well written, although I'll admit you lost me on the computer details. Very interesting how he used it to help George. Hopefully he can revolutionize British Wizarding ideas? I look forward to seeing more.
Happy Writing!

Author's Response: New chapter just posted! And I'm checking the site regularly, so I submitted the next chapter immediately. I'll try to get them all up asap. I'm delighted you're enjoying it (this goes to all!) and thank you for the compliments.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Juno Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes

3rd May 2016:
I wasn't sure about this story line but you have me hooked. Keep writing and don't leave us hanging for long.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>