Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Brightest Blue
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Liana The Brightest Blue

7th August 2016:
That was really interesting. I don't think I knew about synesthesia. Are there negative effects of synesthesia? The Frank and Alice story is always so sad.

 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst The Brightest Blue

16th May 2016:
Hi, Sarah!

Kevin pointed me in the direction of this story and I'm really pleased that he did!

This was one of those stories that did an amazing job of taking something from the muggle world -- mundane, if you will -- and building a special sort of magic around it. Alice's chromesthesia -- I kept looking for a good word to use there: condition or ailment or sensory issue... none of them felt right -- becomes an amazing and beautiful thing in the context of this story. The way you wrote it built a neat mix of reality and surreality all at once. Even though it makes her different and makes some things sort of challenging, it never feels like she struggles with it. Instead, she treats it like a special part of herself. If only everyone could have such a positive experience with the things that make them different.

The way that she finds Frank and the way that she finds her will to fight to make the world a better place for Neville were probably my favorite parts of the story, along with Olivander's wand shop. Really great stuff!

Awesome job. I'll have to thank Kevin!

 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon The Brightest Blue

24th April 2016:
Howdy! I have arrived in my reviewing rampage for the Quill and Ink Challenge!

This was such an interesting story and your incorporation of chromesthesia (you learn something new every day) made Alice such a unique character. Perhaps what I enjoyed most about the characterization though is that rather than let her unique ability completely define her, you used it as this elegant prism through which we could see WHO she was. From her early innocence and curiosity, transformed over time by being forced to hide her talent into moments of fear, to being reminded of her exceptionalism by its connection to her magic.

Then, the story gave way to its eventual powerful conclusion - Alice's family and motherhood. People often attempt to tackle to challenge of writing her (and/or Frank), but I think this was the most compellingly I've seen it done. The color-based explanation for the gum wrappers in conjunction with how badly she'd obviously been damaged that fateful night was simultaneously endearing and heartbreaking.

Thanks so much for sharing and participating in the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #4, by velajune The Brightest Blue

10th April 2016:
Hello,

I'm going to start off by quoting my favorite line, "It had always just been sounds, but maybe wands had some sort of quiet music about them," because as small of a detail that was, it made me feel a lot of different emotions. It's a beautiful line with so much weight to it, yet it lightens the soul. I knew that when Alice was going through wand after wand that there would be something special happening. I didn't think that I'd be moved as much as I was.

I've had this story on my "To Read" list for a while since returning to HPFF and I'm glad that your summary caught my eye. I'm glad that people were recommending it because it's a beautiful piece.

In this story, there's just so many beautiful lines like "I didn't want the whole world knowing about my colors." And the lines for after every memory/ scene, they're wonderful.

You writing is magical!

I'm not sure what else to say. I loved this story and I loved your writing. I forgot the whole way through that your Alice was the Alice Longbottom, the Alice we didn't have the time to really get to know in the series. And so my heart was broken all over again, especially with this line, "He was the picture of innocence. He was Frank and he was me. He was us. He was Neville" and every time you said "empty".

If it wasn't already obvious, I love this story!
June

Author's Response: Hi, June!

I'm glad you liked that line. I love exploring how magic relates to the arts and wanted to put a bit of music in this as well as colors. Music and art are so interconnected and almost magical themselves, so I wanted to tie in wands and magic to that.

It was really interesting to explore Alice as a character because we know pretty much nothing about her in canon. I came up with the synesthesia idea before I decided what character to use and Alice seemed to fit so well.

Aw, thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed the story. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by mymischiefmanaged The Brightest Blue

14th March 2016:
I adore this. It's so original and so beautiful and it's just lovely. Emma xx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan The Brightest Blue

13th March 2016:
Hi Sarah - wow, this story is so incredible! I saw it recommended on the forums, and in the recommendation it was mentioned that the story is about synesthesia, which is something that I have (this particular type, in fact), so I thought I'd check it out. And I'm so glad I did, because my goodness this is just a beautiful story.

I love the way she sees and hears the world and I'm right there with her - and the way you wrote it flows like music. The scene when she gets her wand is just magical (pardon the cliche haha). I think because you used sounds and colours to describe everything, it makes your descriptions that much more rich and encompassing. I'm trying to recall if we have a Best Description category in the Keckers this year because if there is, this one is going to be in the running I know it.

And I loved how she and Frank are always described by the colour of their voices, and everything about Neville is the colour combination of their two colours (of course!). That was just so lovely, and how this bright blue colour represents Alice's favorite things in the world - the safety she has with Frank, and it represents Neville, and most of all I loved how you explained the significance of the Drooble's Bubble Gum wrappers in such a perfect way. There had to be a sentimental attachment for her to always be doing that, and this is... I just can't imagine anything else now, new headcanon.

The torture scene was well written because the colours felt kind of thrown at me as the reader, there was just constant dark red and black and it was very sharp, and from that into the following colourless, grey scene when she's in St Mungo's and everything has lost its meaning with all the colours gone - just, your writing style in this is impeccable and you absolutely used the senses to great effect.

What an amazing story. Favouriting this for sure. Well done, you should be really proud of this.

Kristin xx

P.S. reading your author notes was pretty cool. I love Kandinsky's work and I love that that's what inspired this piece, as well as your own synesthesia.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TearsIMustConceal The Brightest Blue

13th March 2016:
Oh wow, this was such a stunning piece of work. I didn't know what to expect when I read the summary but whatever it was, you surpassed it ten fold with this one-shot and I actually can't think of any words that will do this justice. I am literally quite speechless after reading this.

Every is so vibrant that's what strikes me immediately. Your use of description, explaining the colours Hannah can see and what they're similar too, is so striking and it really adds another dimension to the story. I've never heard of Synesthesia but you really do well to show the reader everything Alice feels and allow us to experience it with her. It's really quite magical to read.

I love Alice's voice hear, especially young Alice she's so determined that she's right in what she can do and that despite everyone telling her it isn't quite normal, she knows it's special what she can do and although yes, she hides it, you know she loves her uniqueness and it makes her feel special. She always sees the good in what she can do and I find that beautiful.

I also love how she describes the colours or places or people we know. Like Diagon alley being a deep purplish-red, like plums and then Frank being like the ocean, a greenish-blue. It's so fascinating to read the colours she sees and associates with people with it really makes you thing exactly what colours you would see if you had this type of Synesthesia and I can't help but now look around where I'm sitting and really think hard about what colours I would associate with certain objects and people.

I adored the wand scene so much it was like everything came together for her in that moment and she knew then she was something unique, something special and it didn't matter what anyone said and for the first time, they could see what she could see and they were in awe at her talent.

On a side-note; I can really imagine the Hufflepuff common room being that orangey yellow, like a sunset. It's exactly how I imagine it to be in my head.

I love how despite how she couldn't find out what she had in Hogwarts, it led her to Frank and that's what mattered in that moment. With the war brewing and the times unsettled, it's nice to know that her uniqueness led her to Frank and they're just the sweetest. The way you describe their colours merging together into one I have no words. I think this is just beautiful and possibly the most beautiful thing I've ever read. You know they're in love but it's amazing to see their love unfold and see them become a whole. Your writing is just incredible.

The use of colours in the labour scene really just adds something special to it. I can easily imagine the pain being red and that colour taking over the room. I don't what to say without repeating myself again but I just can't get over how much a simple thing like colour just adds that next dimension.

The scene with Bellatrix, and the colours slipping away, leaving only black and red that hit me hard. Reading how those colours dwindled down to reds and blacks was heartbreaking because you could feel Alice's despair as they all faded away, leaving only pain behind.

That last scene, with the wrapper. Oh wow, that was so poignant. The way you incorporated that with the idea of Alice's synesthesia was remarkable and amazing and so, so clever. And it made that small moment all the more significant that in that snapshot, she remembered Neville being blue, even if it was for a fleeting moment.

As for you concerns about flow this flows perfectly and seamlessly and I think that has to do with how you start each new paragraph with describing a place or a person with colour it gives it all seamless link and makes it perfect.

So, this has to be one of the best things I have ever read here on HPFF you have so much talent and creativity and this one-shot shows you also have such an intelligence when it comes to writing. Reading your authors note, it's clear you did a lot of research and it really does show in your writing. And to read that you also have a form of synesthesia; although it's not the type you've given Alice, I feel like this is such a genuine interpretation and authentic look at how this talent (calling it a condition seems wrong because I don't think it seems like that at all the word condition to me evokes negative feelings and I think it would be wrong to label it as this so I'm going with talent for a better word) actually feels. It's so fascinating to know that this is something that people can have and that you yourself have, just in a different form. From a layman's perspective, I feel as though it must be fascinating but also maybe sometimes hard to deal with or has been hard to deal with in the past?

Anyway, this was simply stunning and I am so glad you requested this because I am so awed and stunned to have read such a beautiful piece of work.

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #8, by ngayonatkailanman The Brightest Blue

8th March 2016:
wow. utter genius. excellent one shot. one of the best i have ever read and i am 54 years old. well done. i cannot believe how beautifully touching and soul searching a well written one shot could be. i so look forward to more of Frankie, Frank and Alice's grandson.

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked it that much. I hope to update Renegade soon. I took a break to work on other things. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Eliza The Brightest Blue

8th March 2016:
I haven't reviewed anything in a while, but this was just... too moving. I am touched in a way that I can barely express, which does not often happen. It is beautiful, tragic and very human. I had never heard of synesthesia, but I'll definitely look into it. Thanks for writing this :) hope you have a great day!

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked this. Synesthesia is very interesting. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by AussieLottie The Brightest Blue

8th March 2016:
This was absolutely beautiful.
Tragic of course... And very heartbreaking as soon as I realized it was about Frank and Alice! Fantastically written, you really brought Synesthesia to life in this fic, I don't have it- but a friend of mine does and actually did a school project on it which has left a big impression on me! 😊

Definitely a 10/10 fic, I had to leave a review after I started getting goosebumps!
~AussieLottie

Author's Response: It was horribly sad to write, but I really enjoyed writing it, despite the sadness. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Synesthesia is fascinating. There are so many different kinds. I don't have the kind Alice has, but I have one of the other kinds. Never thought it was a thing until I learned about it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login