Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Aurora Borealis
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by confusedlover If you love me, let me go...

20th March 2016:
Very lovely.

What a beautiful, short little story. So tragic and wonderfully written, I enjoyed this read a lot. Keep on writing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ravenclaw_princess If you love me, let me go...

9th March 2016:
Hi Anja. I was looking for something new to read, saw you online and decided to head to your authors page.

I quite like Dramione's though I do note that it's not your favourite pairing. The banner attracted me to the story, but then I read the summary so I knew I was in for a heatbreaker. While this story is definitely not roses and butterflies, it is beautiful in its own way.

I haven't read much from Draco's point of view before but it was refreshing. He's very broken in this story and has lost all the arrogance from his youth. Even at the first meeting with Hermione, you could tell that he is unsure of himself and a shell of who he used to be. I feel that Draco has given up on himself and wont allow himself to be happy. Then Hermione breaks him even more, gives him a fleeting moment of happiness only for her to be gone by morning. He would love to bring her back into his life, but is afraid of what she would do to his all ready damaged heart and mind.

Hermione is running from something and uses Draco as a release from reality, only for her logical mind to catch up to her by morning. It's like she struggles between what she thinks she is supposed to do (the expectations of ohers) to what her heart really wants. It this instance, it seems she took the easier road her mind was telling her to follow, only to then wish she'd followed her heart. But it was too late.

I love your descriptions throughout the story. You have definitely mastered the art of showing not telling and Draco's emotions came through really clearly in things like his white knuckles. I also love the metaphor about the sun and Aurora, it fitted in so beautifully with this story.

This is a lovely and well written story. Despite the fact that I'm now quite sad after reading this heartbreaking little tale, I really enjoyed it. I love it when I can leave a story and still feel all the emotion it brought out in me.

Jacqui

 Report Review

Review #3, by PaulaTheProkaryote If you love me, let me go...

6th March 2016:
For HPFFs review-a-thon

For starters and completely unrelated, I both read and wrote this review trailing behind my husband at the grocery store so next time you see someone obliviously walking through the store on their phone, don't get mad. They might be reading fanfiction.

I'm not usually a fan of Dramione, but I'm quite interested in your characterization of the pair of them and I just might actually read more even though Im quite crushed.

I like how hesitant Hermione is because I don't think she's the type to be so brash about it. Shes not really the kind to just agree and go with it. I think shed be absolutely overthink it and be flighty. Draco seemed to have evolved greatly, but I think his character is still true to canon. Hes always been a complex character to me and I could see his actions and feelings being organic and not forced.

I'd really like to point out your most obvious strength in writing: descriptions. You excel at painting a picture in the readers minds. I can picture the pale knuckles and sweat beads without having to put forth any effort whatsoever.

I always felt that despite the glaring differences of each of the characters, they were more alike than dissimilar. This story seemed to really capture that.

Overall, I felt heartbroken, crushed, and miserable so I have to say it was incredibly well written. I love stories that make me wallow for a few hours. Also, I like the song you happened to tie into the story and the way it didn't seem to completely take over the storyline.

 Report Review

Review #4, by maraudertimes If you love me, let me go...

5th March 2016:
This review is for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and also for our review swap!

Okay, so I'm really not a Dramione fan. That's not to say I go out of my way not to read Dramione (I read this one of my own accord, as you can see :P), but it's not something I avidly seek out. The reason being is that a lot of the time I can't get into the mindset where anything in a universe where Draco and Hermione are together makes sense.

HOWEVER!!! None of the above stuff is in any way bashing this - because I really liked this story. I do believe that there could have been chemistry and attraction between Draco and Hermione (I myself adore the bad boy/argumentative relationship trope in stories and my real life :P), and I loved how you played it off in this story - there is a need/want for the other, but in the end she can't do it. They have one night of fiery passion but she can't stay. That part of the story hooked me in because that's really the only Dramione type stories I end up becoming really involved in.

And then the second part with her coming back? Oh darling, you slay me. As I've mentioned, I don't normally go for the whole Dramione thing - but this aspect of the relationship really draws me in. At first she couldn't do it and it broke him. And then he couldn't do it because he couldn't let her break him again. In an odd and twisted way, I think this story capitalizes on how both of them are really intelligent people. Hermione couldn't bring herself to enter into a relationship that she thought she couldn't handle. And when she emotionally came back to him, he ended things because he reasoned that it couldn't work.

I think that because you've captured their personalities so well in that way, the story not only came alive, but it made it a story that may very well be one of my favourite Dramione's. This was incredibly well written and I loved the incorporation of the song - it truly gave something to the story and I thought the story really went well with it.

Overall this was really well done and I'm so glad I got to read it! Thanks for the Review-a-Thon swap! :)
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 If you love me, let me go...

25th February 2016:
Hi there Anja!

I'm here for the February BvB review battle.

Okay - so I know you're not a Dramione shipper and neither am I, but that doesn't mean I enjoy a well written story - and this was fabulous. I really like the take you put on it. Most Dramione's are rather unrealistic and very over-the-top with the drama and romance, but this had everything put into such few words. I was really feeling all of Hermione and Draco's emotions. They both are such tortured souls, but the drama isn't overdone. Everything it entirely believable. Hermione needed a moment away and found Draco, who'd always intrigued her. But in the morning, her logical brain took over and she fled in horror of her actions. And Draco, who was a boy forced to become a man too soon could never allow himself the pleasures of what it meant to be whole again. Thanks for pounding my heart into a little pulp - haha.

Your language in this is brilliant. My favorite lines were these:

How could I have known you would break what was left of me?

and

You drained all the color from my life.

Wow. It's simply moving to read those words.

Really fabulous job with this!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #6, by TearsIMustConceal If you love me, let me go...

22nd February 2016:
Hi Anja! Thank you so much for the review swap and I am so sorry it's taken me this long to get around to it, life is a bit hectic at the moment but here I am!

I am not a big Dramione fan but my god Anja, this was heartbreakingly beautiful. I'm a sucker for anything tragic and beautiful and this was everything! I just loved it all.

I adore that it's Draco voice that we hear because a lot of Dramione focus on Hermione but this was different and it worked. His new found vision of himself that he doesn't think he's good enough for her and the hints of him perhaps hating a small part of himself, it really works and I prefer this Draco to the arrogant one we know in the books. And I honestly feel that with this Draco, the pairing is realistic and believable. And having a Hermione be the one to do the heart breaking it's a new angle but I believe it whole heartedly and I really love how the direction you've gone in how Draco for once isn't the bad guy.

Your writing once again is just incredible and you really are one of the best writers on here everything is so perfect and I can feel every emotion so strongly that I my heart was literally breaking as he shut the door on her, despite his own feelings. Everything was entirely realistic, down to how they bumped into each other and it's those little details, like the fact is just had to Flourish and Botts, that really make this piece amazing.

I absolutely adored this Anja!

Thank you so much for the swap!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauder lady If you love me, let me go...

19th February 2016:
Wow!!

Never ever have I ever felt sympathy for Draco Malfoy- but you managed to make me!!

This is so heartbreakingly poignant and beautifully written my lovely. Truely amazing.

Author's Response: aw thank you, love. I always love your reviews sooo much. Thanks for stopping by. ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by Felpata Lupin If you love me, let me go...

19th February 2016:
Oh, Anja...
This is so beautiful! The most beautiful Dramione I've ever read (not that I've read many... not too fond of the couple... but the way you wrote this was just so tragically perfect! I have tears in my eyes now...)

Poor Draco... I felt so bad for him. The fact that he thinks of himself as someone who's behond redemption, of a dark soul not worth saving, is so heartbreaking. And Azkaban... So awful...

I loved the image of the Aurora Borealis! So fitting. And so poetic. So beautiful!

This was wonderful. The writing was perfect, the emotions so vivid and strong. I've told you so many times already, but I'll tell you once again... you are an incredibly talented writer!

Thank you so much for the swap! It's always so lovely!
Snowball of hugs,
Chiara

Author's Response: Oh my... all this praise... I'm grinning like a fool right now. Thank you so much!

I'm not a fan of Dramione either and I never thought I'd write one, but this was what happened when I sat down to vent last night :) I guess it's okay.

Aurora Borealis is something that's very special to my heart. I've been to Iceland a few times, but I've only managed to see it once, and Aurora, along with the beautiful countryside, keeps pulling me back there. I actually feel homesick for Iceland sometimes, even though I've only ever been there on holidays.

I love this review and I'll probably come back and read it many more times. Thanks for the swap

♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #9, by RavenclawFTW If you love me, let me go...

19th February 2016:
Heya Anja, I'm here for BvB! And wow, I can't remember the last time I read Dramione, much less a Dramione that was this solid and dark. Great job!

First off, bold choice to use the form of Draco addressing Hermione throughout the story, but I really love it and think it works superbly here! It really had a feeling of realization and realism as he kept struggling to figure himself out, until the final resolution. I really felt like I was on that journey with him and could get what he was going through. I'm in a Shakespeare class this semester, and this really felt like a soliloquy that worked nicely.

Also, as previously mentioned, I'm not a huge Dramione reader, but I really love how you've made it work here. Not only is Draco really self-aware and self-loathing, but he thinks he's not good enough for Hermione, which works much better than having him remain as cocky and rude as he was throughout canon. Then I also love that a lot of this relationship is due to Hermione-- Hermione making the first move (yowza, Hermione!) and then Hermione breaking his heart. She hasn't been painted in only a rosy way, and that's always great to see how both characters have room to grow and mess up. Draco isn't necessarily idolizing her, because he realizes how she's hurt him, but she's still so unattainable to him.

This is also realistic in the sense that the AU-ness of it works-- they run into each other, Draco's always had a thing for her even though he tried to suppress it, she bails. That all comes off as really believable for their characters, so nice job!

Back to the writing: I like how you moved from this specific incident at the door, to background, to his final thoughts-- it had a nice narrative arc that was easy to follow and also flowed smoothly. Then the writing at the end was killer! I kept thinking, wow, what great line, I'll quote it in the review, but then there were too many to do that and not just have a review parroting your words back to you. If I had to choose, something about this line resonates really nicely with me: It was nothing like I expected it would be. Still, you were everything I hoped for and more. It just ties together the idea of hope vs. expectation vs. reality, and also Draco's own psychological state. Then the analogies at the end were really beautiful as well!

Great job, Anja! This was a very well-crafted and well-written story and made me actually root for Dramione! :D

--J

Author's Response: you know, it's not often that a review renders me speechless, but right now I really don't know what to say.

Thank you so much for this review. I kind of despise Dramiones, I've only ever found two that I liked, and I NEVER thought I'd write one. Then, last night, I just had to vent... and breaking a character seemed kinder than finding the closest person here and yelling at them for an hour. So I found a song that inspired me and just started writing. That's weird for me, I usually plan stories forever before I actually get around to writing them. I'm so glad this worked and that you liked it even though you're not a big Dramione fan either. Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by victoria_anne If you love me, let me go...

19th February 2016:
Oh my. That was simply beautiful.

The way you write is incredible, and I enjoyed it much more the second time (yes, I went back and read it again!) once I knew who was who. I was a bit confused at first, but honestly I think that was just me!

The reference to the northern lights was just so perfect, especially the part: "But you can never be sure when it will show up or how long it will stay". It just fit with the mood of the story - that he had something he thought beautiful and had craved, but it was only fleeting.

Really enjoyed this, awesome work :)

Author's Response: Wow, I'm impressed that you read it twice. Thank you so much for this lovely review. I always love it when people pick their favourite lines and tell me about them, so thank you for that. It kind of makes me feel close to the people who read my stories. I really enjoyed our swap. I'm sure there'll be many more in the future :)

♥ Anja


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login