Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Hero
  
152 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal Mystery

30th April 2017:
Yet another lovely chapter and a lot is building up here and I am loving it. This is such an interesting story! Seriously this is going to be added to my reading list after CTF is over. You were someone I was hoping was the flag particularly this story as I have been enjoying it.

I have said it before and I'll say it again that I love how you've built Hero as a character and given her so much depth and I love how you are playing with Tom and Rebeus building them up for the story and showing the true nature of each but keeping things ambigious enough for Hero - who is SUCH a Gryffindor by the by.

I mean seriously wanting to investigate when the professors are already doing that? SUCH A GRYFFINDOR! Still it makes for an interesting character and I love it!

Also, please forgive me if I am repeating myself but the incorporation of the Dark Arts book that Tom will end up using was a nice touch and I love how you don't fully stain Tom with it and yet we know he totally uses it. Also his questions about the muggle boy and inquiring about Hero's interest in him was so nicely done subtle and to the point! Wonderful job and I do look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! It means a lot that it's on your reading list :)
Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Yoshi_Kitten Mystery

29th April 2017:
Yeah, considering the fact that we've gone back to talking about the petrified girl, which happened back in chapter two, and not the roosters; I am almost certain that your second and third chapters may be out of order hun. There's a really simple way on here, under the Edit Story options, where you can rearrange your chapters just by clicking on the up & down arrows though. I've done it several times with my Novel when I was re-writing the beginning of it – it's so easy to do. But you may wanna read back over the two of them yourself, just to see how you think it sounds/flows together. Don't just take my word for it, because I could be totally off.

But OMGosh, this chapter had SO MANY things in it, I couldn't stop reading, lol!! I'll try to remember everything… So, are her and Tom dating now? NO HERO!! I thought I warned you about him already!! Turn back now before it's too late!! Oh gosh, she's really digging herself a hole, isn't she? And then there's that Dark arts book – I recognized that title right away from HP, which was really nice to see!! But Oooh!!! I wonder if that's the book that he first reads the information about Horcruxes in!?! Wouldn't that be interesting. I just love how you slipped that in there like that!! And then there was the bit about the two little girls hearing “something big, loud, and scary” moving around in the pipes. Geeze, I wonder what that could be?? ;)

GAH!! And there is her brother, being a git again. I really wish that they could get along more. I get the whole sibling rivalry thing, and then you have the Slytherin vs. Gryffindor house rivalry added in on top of it; but they had to have gotten along at some point in their lives, right? I just don't get why he's SO mean to her. Especially the “splish-splash” comments. That's what really gets to me the most. Because, if her friend Noah actually got trapped inside of a car and drowned right in front of her; which is what I have taken away from the clues that have been given so far, then that is a TERRIBLE comment to make to someone's face like that! I mean, someone whom she obviously cared about DIED, and you're just gonna make fun of her pain like it's nothing? I know Tom Riddle is supposed to be the “Villain” in this story, but that right there just made me hate Finn. Like, he is seriously evil. There is something wrong with that child. And maybe it's because he's been spending too much time with Tom, Idk. But as of right now, I do not like him at ALL!!

Okay, Finn rant is over, haha!! Moving on… Aww, there's ickle little Hagrid again. I love seeing him in this, but it also breaks my heart because I know that this is the year he gets suspended. I wonder when we will be seeing signs of Myrtle. Will we get to see her alive in this before the Basilisk gets to her? I would like to see that too. Seriously though, I LOVE all of the familiar elements that you have brought over from HP into this. It's a completely different time period, but this could absolutely be a prequel about Voldemort's school days. It's that good!! We weren't given very many details about this time-frame in the books, but I swear you have taken everything and made quite an amazing and very believable story out of it!! I am so impressed with this, Bianca!! =D

I had to laugh when Tom told her that his parents were dead, and she made the connection that she had fallen for another orphan boy. My name is Hero Blishwick, and I have a thing for orphan boys. LOL!!! That line was too funny. OMG!! What if Tom & Noah went to the SAME orphanage, and what if whatever trauma Noah went through when he was young was actually caused by Tom Riddle? Wouldn't THAT be a plot twist!?! Tom is awfully interested in Noah, but I could just be imaging things… I shall have to wait and see if my guesses are right? This is SO AMAZING, B!!! I love it so much!! I cannot wait to read more!! ♥

~Deana

Author's Response: You were absolutely right, the chapters were out of order o.O So that's annoying, but thank you so much for pointing that out and it's all fixed now!
Your reviews always make me smile so much, you have such kind things to say. Thanks so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Marshal Riddles in the Dark

27th April 2017:
OH MY GOODNESS! Can I just say how much I love love LOVE your use of Shakespeare in this? It just made my heart happy all the away around. Call it me being a bit of a literary nerd and being a fan of Shakespeare. I think it quite clever how you had a character use a line from it as well.

After reading the last chapter but not the first I was surprised to see Hero is in Gryffindor, that adds to the depth and levels of the story some.

I have to say I really like your Tom thus far. I love the small bit about him talking about names and how they are important and complimenting Hero on her name. It speaks a lot to his character and what we know of him and yet the words are so simple and innocent at the same time. I find this to be very clever. I also like how you had Tom familiar with mythology and reference that as well. It makes my nerdy heart happy!

Anyway this is an interesting story thus far and I really like the suspense you are building. I also am fond of how you are devolving Hero as a character, particularly the pressure in her life that she is feeling. It makes her very real and compelling. Great job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the Shakespeare! I can never resist using inspiration from him in some story or another :P

Thanks for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Yoshi_Kitten Riddles in the Dark

27th April 2017:
Hello Bianca, I am back again for round four of CTF!! Even if you're not the Flag Author (again), how could I not come back to this wonderful story of yours? I have added this to my favorites and put it on my reading list too, by the way. I cannot wait to read the rest and find out what happens!! Although, once CTF is over with, I will probably resume my R&R's at the new place for you! ;)

When he asked her if her boyfriend drowned, I couldn't help but feel like he was using his Legilimency skills on her. But then he was super sly and covered it up with some history of the origins of her name. Smooth Tom, really smooth. Way to work that Slytherin cunningness of yours!! OMG, you write him SO amazingly well!!! GAH!! I LOVE IT!!! I hate him, and he creeps me the heck out, but I love his character in this story so much, haha!! XD

It's still so hard to imagine Tom Riddle as normal though, let alone believe that this girl could actually have real feelings for him. But I guess in the books he was described as being incredibly handsome, and this girl doesn't know what he is about to become. She don't know that he was conceived under the effects of a love potion, and is therefore incapable of loving her in return. How can she? To Hero, Tom Riddle is just a classmate; and a friend of her twin brother's at that.

The thing that happened with the roosters at the end was really intense. It did make me wonder though if, perhaps, your chapters are out of order maybe? Because you have this rooster incident at the end of chapter three, and yet chapter two begins with Finn making rooster calls in the Great Hall. I remember being a tad confused at the beginning of that chapter as to why he was doing that, but then there was mentionings of a rooster incident later on in the chapter that clarified it, so I didn't say anything... But now, in the scene at the end of this chapter here, it seems kind of like this is the first time the students are seeing something like this, based off of their reactions to it. Which just makes me wonder if maybe the chapters got moved out of order somehow? Just an observation I had. It's really not too noticeable, honestly, and everything still makes sense as to what is happening and is perfectly clear and easy to follow.

I love the way things are moving along in this, your pacing is really great. I cannot wait to find out what happens next!! Hope, hope, HOPING that maybe the flag is in here?? Maybe??? Meh, we shall see. Either way, I love reading this story, and I will be back, haha!! Amazing job hun, as always!!

~Deana

Author's Response: Deana your reviews are always something to look forward to and you always make me smile! Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by Marshal Something Wicked This Way Comes

24th April 2017:
I am jumping in a chapter late, so please forgive me if I miss something. Anyway, this was a very good chapter. It took me a minute to figure out when this was but not too long. I LOVE that you are writing a story during the time when Tom Riddle was in school! Like I can't even begin. I is amazing to see original characters during this time and I think your Hero is a good voice for this story.

I love how you are setting the tension and the dark times of this particular school year as it is clear to see that Tom is 'playing' with the basalisk. I love how you have set the tone and started pointing things in the direction of what we know will happen such as Hero seeing Rubeus out late at night. I also like that you have her crushing on Tom Riddle. I think his handsome looks is something a lot of people forget about. It would not surprise me if in Hogwarts Tom was the aloof heart throb of the school. He had the looks and the charisma after all.

I know I mentioned the crush Hero has on Tom but I keep coming back to it in my mind, I mean that is brilliant really not just becuase I think Tom would be a school heart throb based on what we know but that leans credibility and believably in his favor when things get serious with Myrtle and all.

Also did your chapter title take inspiration from The Hobbit? It has a chapter titled Riddles in the Dark.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Marshal! Your reviews are so great! And I think it subconsciously did - it's not until after did I realise but it just fit perfectly!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Yoshi_Kitten Something Wicked This Way Comes

24th April 2017:
Hello, I'm back again for round 2 of CTF!! Chapter 1 was so good that I just HAD to come back for more, haha!! =)

Her parents are really something else though, aren't they? Is she from one of the old pureblood families? It certainly does seem that way, as uppity and strict/downright rude as these people are! I mean, I get it that they're mad she wasn't sorted into Slytherin, but that's no reason to treat her so mean!! Why can't they write Finn his own letter about his hair? Poor Hero!! I felt so bad for her when I read that letter at the beginning. This is story is starting to get very interesting, and I am really starting to like her a lot as an MC already.

You know, all throughout the last chapter I was trying to figure out who was older; her of Finn. But now you slip that little hint in there about them being twins. Sneaky, sneaky, lol!! I never would have guessed, but I did love that little surprise once it was revealed though. It such an interesting change to see this pair of twins who seem to be such total opposites of one another. I am looking forward to seeing more of how their relationship develops in later chapters when Tom becomes more involved also.

And speaking of Tom. WOW!! Can we just take a moment to appreciate how BRILLIANT this is?!? He's clearly the one responsible for the roosters and the girl getting petrified, yet he's just acting all casual. Please tell me she's not actually falling for him, is she?!? Don't do it, Hero, don't do it!! Tom Riddle is not capable of love. He is a monster, and you deserve way better than him!!

Sorry, I just had to rant about that there for a moment, lol!! Seriously though, this plot is BRILLIANT!! And I absolutely loved getting to see a glimpse of little Hagrid in there too. Please tell me there will be more of him in future chapters?!? Everything is moving along quite nicely. Your pacing is amazing, and your imagery is stunning!! I am a huge fan of your writing-style already!! I really cannot wait to read more of, I just want to know what happens next. I want to know more about Noah, and I want to see what happens with Tom. You write him SO WELL!!! I promise to come back as soon as I can!!

~Deana

Author's Response: Deana you are such an angel ♥ THANK YOU so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp One Day at a Time

24th April 2017:
Ooh now this is a very interesting story! We have a classmate of Tom Riddle (Voldemort) - now that is something! And I believe something is going to happen between them - that was implied in the summary too. I wonder what will happen to poor Hero by the end but anyway before I start thinking about that, let's talk about the beginning of the story! So you already have me very intrigued - this is the perfect first chapter giving enough information yet keeping back enough too! Hero is a Gryffindor, she had something with Theo, and she got into some sort of accident "making out with a muggle and then killing him". Hmm, very very interesting. And somehow Tom riddle is also involved in the incident? I wonder if he is the one who killed the muggle. Very excited to know about all this!

Hero also seems like a very genuine and likeable character. I like the little details like how her family disapproves of her and how much she is not looking forward to Hogwarts, and how she is kinda in that mindset that her grades have to be absolutely perfect. Her pain, subtly enough, comes through and I am curious to see how her relationships develop further.

Oh and random point, but i like how we have familiar last names like diggory. And also, Finn the brother appears really awful - there are annoying siblings and then there are plain horrible ones and he fits the latter category ugh!

Good start to the story!
-Angie

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by Yoshi_Kitten One Day at a Time

23rd April 2017:
Hello, RoxiMalfoy of Slytherin House, here for CTF!!! I must confess, this story has been on my reading list for quite some time now!! So I am extremely glad that this competition has finally given me an opportunity/excuse/chance (call it whatever you will) to get on over here and read it!!

I love the aura of mystery that this is story is putting off already. You really drew me in with this first chapter, and already I am left with so many questions! I love the way that you introduced Hero and her family. Everything was so smooth, and very well written. Your attention to detail was fantastic!! You have already managed to provide the reader with so much of her family information that I already feel as is I know her a bit. And yet, with all of these secrets she is hiding, I also feel like I barley know who she is at all, lol! I really, really want to know what happened over the summer now. Did someone drown or something? That's kind of my guess, but I really don't have enough information to speculate anymore than that right now. I shall have to read more to see if I am on the right track with that assumption or not. ;)

I've never read a story that was based in the time-frame when Tom Riddle was at Hogwarts before, so this was a rather nice and welcomed change for me. I'll admit that it was rather strange to see him there amongst the other students. I mean, Tom Riddle was just chilling on the train with her brother like it was no big deal. Just your typical ride on the Hogwarts Express, I guess!! For real though, I cannot compliment you enough on how well written this was. You made writing Tom Riddle like a normal student seem effortless, and I completely applaud you for that!! I also liked the bit of foreshadowing you slipped in there when her brother said: “We had more important, super-secret things to do.” Like planning to take over the world, maybe? IDK?!? I am really looking forwards to seeing how that particular relationship develops as this story progresses. I hope nothing too bad happens to her brother though…

I must say, I really do love all the names that you have chosen for your characters here. Hero, Finlay, Theo, Emory; they're not the typical common names that you hear, and I like that a lot. You've introduced a lot of new people in this first chapter, and given just enough information to grab my attention and get me hooked!! I am seriously hoping that the flag will be in here so that I can continue this one tonight!! But if now, I will definitely be back to read more as soon as I can. This is way too interesting not to keep reading. This was a VERY great start!!! 100/10 =)

~Deana~

Author's Response: Aw so sweet to know it's been on your reading list! I hope it lives up to your expectations! :P Thank you SO much for the review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by LittleMissAutumn Lionheart

27th March 2017:
I read this story in its entirety the other night and LOVED it! All the characters seem like they were carefully planned out with each of them having wonderful senses of development. In another world I wish Tom Riddle would have let go of his prejudice. In another world I wish he would have genuinely cared about Hero for all the qualities that made her, well, HER. In another world I wish she and Finlay would have spent more time together, appreciating the other for their traits even if they were opposing most of the time. In another world I wish their family was happy and showed love and affection with other. But, alas, that would none of that would have made the story what it is and would have taken away from its brilliance. You're wonderful. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by quill2parchment Lionheart

19th March 2017:
Bianca,

I am in love with this wonderful, hunting tale.

Your characters are just so amazing. They're strong and so well-developed. Every single one of them seemed so alive and human. From Hero to Noah to Tom, I felt like I *knew* them and I was rooting for them all despite their obvious flaws.

Yes, even for Tom. I have to admit that he had me going for a while. He was so clever and charming that I - like his Professors at Hogwarts - became so charmed that I could not see past his facade.

"I don't need you. I don't need anyone." This is so Voldemort. We see so much of this later on in his relationship with Bellatrix and with Snape. To see it at such a young age with Hero gave me goosebumps.

I loved Finn too. He sort of reminds me of Regulus and Severus in that he genuinely believes in Tom's cause, and then realizes how even his loved ones are at danger. I hope that his fate is much more favorable though.

The last scene between Tom and Hero. I. Can't. Even. It gave me CHILLS! From the very beginning, I was like RUN, HERO, RUN! When she opens her eyes, and sees him smirking... It's like she just told him she knew his deepest secret, and the boy is freaking SMIRKING! It's so eerie. And the fact that he kills her with her worst fear! And the fact that she has to die in his arms! The whole thing was so tragic and poetic and well-written!

I honestly can't tell you how much I enjoyed this story. I'll probably be re-reading it again soon. Can't wait to read more from you. You're an incredible talent. Congratulations on such a terrific story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Quilly! It's been lovely hearing from you and I'm glad you enjoyed it! ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by quill2parchment Wake Me Up

15th March 2017:
My gawd…
This. Is. So. Freaking. Good.
Seriously I’ve been meaning to stop earlier to leave a review, but I am just so sucked in. I absolutely love Hero’s voice. It’s so real that, as a reader, I almost feel like her thoughts and mine are the same. She doesn’t just tell the story… She guides you through it, subtly letting you know how you should feel. Seriously, you’re amazing. I don’t know how you do it, but I totally love that you do.
Is it weird that I love Noah? He seemed like a really sweet guy! When he tells her she’s lucky to have a family and that’s she’s beautiful when she’s angry… My heart just breaks. I want him to be okay, and I feel so sad that he wasn’t.
Okay… I’ll keep reading now. Just letting you know you are absolutely fantastic.

Author's Response: Omg this has completely made my day, THANK YOU SO MUCH ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by quill2parchment One Day at a Time

15th March 2017:
Bianca!

I just discovered this story, and I have ways to go before I really catch up but I thought I'd drop in to let you know what a fanatastic first chapter this was!

There's something so eerie about Tom Riddle just being there like any other student... And none of them aware of just who he will one day become. Kind of gave me goosebumps.

I have so many questions! (Did she really kill someone? Why?) I'm sure we'll eventually have answers.

Anyways. I'll come back to read the rest! Fantastic job, my dear

Author's Response: Hello my dear! It's honestly so wonderful to see you here! Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by AND review, I really appreciate it ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by Beeezie Wake Me Up

23rd December 2016:
Oooh, nonononono.

Tom Riddle killed Noah. What. Noah must have been one of the kids he took to the cave! Oh, god, that is so twisted - is that why he's been hanging around Hero? Or at least, part of why? What is wrong with him? Ughhh Tom Riddle.

Also: poor Hero. That's such a shock, and her brother is such a selfish jerk. He clearly doesn't care about his sister at all and doesn't even bother to try to understand her feelings, and it's really upsetting. :(

Also: Hero, stop doing that. The girl is going to get herself killed if she keeps sticking her nose into things without bothering to wait for backup. It's unclear to me whether it's, like, a depressive-type deathwish or just that she believes that she'll be fine or something else entirely.

This is wonderful, though. Love it.

Author's Response: Thanks, Branwen! ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by Beeezie Mystery

23rd December 2016:
Your Tom Riddle continues to make my skin crawl... especially since even knowing that Tom Riddle is kind of evil and also the worst, I'm still finding myself feeling charmed by him. I can't even blame Hero. Yeesh.

Speaking of Hero, the intense skin-crawling I'm getting from Tom might be overshadowing how much I like Hero, and I want to remedy that - because I really do like Hero quite a lot. She means so well, but I'm worried that this is going to turn out so not good. :(

Also? Hagrid is heartbreaking. The end. :(

This continues to be amazing and incredible and wow.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Beeezie Riddles in the Dark

23rd December 2016:
Oh god Tom Riddle is creepy. I'm not sure what his game is, and it's possible that he genuinely like her, but like... he's also so clearly using the fact that she's in a vulnerable position to manipulate her, and it makes my skin crawl. In a good way, though, if that makes sense?

This is so good omg. Amazing chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Beeezie Something Wicked This Way Comes

23rd December 2016:
This is kind of besides the point, but holy hell is Fireheart a wonderful artist. These are lovely CIs!

ANYWAY.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear. Hero, abort mission, do not pass go, do not collect $200, and get the hell away from Tom Riddle! He's so, so creepy here, especially since we know exactly why he was there and that he was responsible for the roosters. I can't believe him. (I mean, I can. But seriously, he's so sketchy - Theo is not covering himself in glory here, but Riddle just takes it to another level.)

Also, her family is terrible. Her brother is clearly a complete ass, and Forgiveness depends on your O.W.L. results? SERIOUSLY? She is a wonderful character and deserves a better family. :(

Ahhh this is addictive. ♥

Author's Response: Isn't Fireheart amazing?!

Thanks, Branwen!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Beeezie One Day at a Time

23rd December 2016:
Hey, I'm here for our HPFT gift swap! ♥

I loved this so far. There's just the right level of intrigue, and I have no idea where this is going! My heart goes out to Hero to such a ridiculous extent - she's really in a such a tough place, and her brother is clearly kind of a jerk. Tom Riddle's presence makes me super anxious for her, though I'm not sure why (other than that he destroys everything he touches because he's the worst).

Amazing, amazing job. I'm already hooked!

Author's Response: Thank you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by maraudertimes Wake Me Up

18th September 2016:
Hi hi! No real greeting because

OHMYGOODNESS, NOAH WAS ONE OF THE BOYS THAT TOM TOOK TO THAT CAVE NO WAY!!! AND THAT BIRD AND THE FACT THAT THE DOORS WOULDN'T OPEN, EVEN FOR THE POLICE? I used to ship Tom and Hero (even though it's Tom Riddle) and now I think perhaps that Tom is actually stalking her? This is really creepy, and I actually haven't even finished the chapter yet, I just had to get that out, okay going right back up to read the rest :P

Okay, I'm back!

I really love how Hero's owl is named Villain. I briefly forgot Hero's name and got really confused as to why her owl would be named Villain, but as soon as I remembered, I thought it was the funniest thing. And the fact that Tom was also at the owlery (did I spell that right?) almost basically proves that he's stalking Hero. Ugh, he's so creepy!

I would just like to point out that I love how I seem to be living the same emotions that Hero is. At first, I think Tom might be a decent-ish person (even knowing that he is, in fact, Lord Voldemort), but now he's so creepy! Ugh! I think that this really speaks to your abilities as a writer to truly bring your readers into the story and into the mindset of your main character.

Also, I don't think Hero quite realizes Morgan's true feelings for her. I think they both might be in for a rude awakening. Hers would be that he likes her and his that she had no clue. Perhaps he thinks they're going on a date? Whatever it is, it's bound to be awkward and I am so ready for when that happens!

And oh no. I think Emory may have just gone through a breakup. UGH SO MUCH DRAMA. I love this! But also ugh, she does not deserve it. :(

Needless to say, this is a great chapter! I'm still so hooked, OMG I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED WITH EVERYTHING! Great job Bianca! This is awesome!

Lo :)

Author's Response: Looo!

Ahh so many capitals! I love how you had to come down here and comment on that first :P

Yeeeah Tom's getting a little weird(er) now, but I've sucked you in so I regret nothing muahaha.

It's been so amazing hearing from you Lo, thank you for taking the time to review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by Aphoride One Day at a Time

7th September 2016:
Hey there, Bianca! :) Dropping by for review tag! So we've chatted about Tom a lot and things - and I should probably admit that I read the first few chapters of this ages back because I was curious but didn't review :/ - so I thought it was really about time I stopped by here :)

I gotta admit as well that I remember being a little nervous reading this the first time because I'd read a bunch of Tom-era OC-led stories before and they were all super cliche and I wanted yours to be so different - and, you know, I think it pretty much only took this chapter to make it really clear that it's nothing like that. Hero is such a great character and the way you introduce her to us is amazing! I love the way you drop the bits of information about what happened that summer to Noah throughout the chapter, and how it's affected her so badly - worse than she thinks, at this point, I think. It just gives her this depth which I don't think that many OCs really have.

Also, I love the mystery element to this and how dark it is. It's really appropriate considering both the time period (WWII) and that it includes Tom and the purebloods. Plus, you just write both so well - the mystery especially. You just seem to drop pieces of information here and there and make it work, or have little pieces of conversation which have clues as to what happened with Theo and why it would upset Emory dotted through the chapter so the whole thing is so good. I don't know how you do it, but I love it :)

Also, I gotta say that I love how you included the train journey and the platform so well - a lot of people try to do that and it doesn't always work, but as with everything, you make it look so easy, almost obvious.

Your writing is lovely, but I think I've said that before - anyway, it deserves restating ;) It really is - and the voice you've got for Hero is so strong and so lovely, and all of your characters are so well rounded. I love the way they're all so different. Hero and Finn are so normal, especially compared to the glimpses of Tom we get, and so real in the way they approach things and deal with them, and I love Finn's disaffectedness about whatever's bothering Hero. It's so cruel and callous, but it's very teenage sibling :P

Anyway, I love this, I should have been here sooner, and I'll definitely back :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much Loz! ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by CambAngst Something Wicked This Way Comes

5th September 2016:
I like how this story isn't about Tom Riddle (at least not yet) but you can see the threads of his story winding all through the plot. The roosters, the girl who's been petrified... even the muggle boy who died seems to have some connection to the orphanage where Tom grew up.

Hero's story is also very intriguing. Again, I like how you're pacing the delivery of these plot. Authors should hold their secrets jealously, revealing them only when the plot absolutely requires it! Hero obviously still has a lot of secrets.

I feel a love triangle possibly coming on between Hero, Emory and Theo. Stay tuned...

You write really well. I can't find a thing to critique about your grammar, dialog, word choice or the flow of your narrative.

Awesome job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by CambAngst One Day at a Time

5th September 2016:
Hi, there! Kaitlin recommended your story as good reading material for my flight, so I decided to check it out. I'll have to thank her. This was a very interesting beginning.

I'll admit right up front, this review is going to be short and general. I'm terrible at doing this on my phone.

You almost never read stories about Tom Riddle as a student, unless they're weird romantic pairings with Minerva McGonagall. I really like where things seem to be heading in this. Your characters seem genuine and believable so far. I like the pace at which you're delivering the story. I learned a fair bit about the characters, but there's plenty of mystery to bring me back for chapter 2.

Nice job!

Author's Response: So nice of you to stop by, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by maraudertimes Mystery

1st September 2016:
Ah!!! I'm bacck!!!

This is awesome, I can't tell if I ship them or not because it seems like Hero and Tom would be really good together (lol at the fact that Hero has a thing for orphan boys), but it's Tom Riddle for heavens sake! What are you doing to me??? I've never shipped Tom with anyone ever and now you're corrupting me by wanting them to get together and be happy forever AND THAT'S NOT PLAUSIBLE BECAUSE HE'S CRAZY!!!

Her brother is awful and so are his friends. I can't believe they would do that with the roosters. I know they're Slytherins, but come on! That's just insensitive. And he hit her! I know they're siblings but that's just insane! I would never put up with that, although then again, Hero and I are in very different positions with our families.

RUBEUS HAGRID!!! Oh, this is making me sad because I know what's going to happen, and he's just a young boy and it's obvious he's not well liked and it seems like he's suspicious but because I know what actually happens this makes me so sad!!! Poor Hagrid! I just want to yell at him to go on vacation or something to keep him safe!

And oh, the final scene. Can I just say that I WANT TO SHIP THEM AND I'M HAVING SUCH A DILEMMA HOW CAN YOU DO THIS FOR ME.

This is amazing and I'm excited to get back to it again! I'll be back later I can promise! Great job B!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot, Lo! ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #23, by pointless_proclamations Wake Me Up

31st August 2016:
'In all my dreams I drown.' o.o. . . 0.0 . . . O.O

THAT is what happened?! You've alluded to it so well that, by this point, it's like the fog is clearing. I suppose that's the entirety of this story, though: there's a bunch of obscurity that's slowly, bit by bit, being uncovered. There is very little doubt in my mind that you are 100% a master of suspenseful writing.

Finn, when he's not being a bit evil--what with his association to Riddle--is a bit of a goofball and almost likeable. And then there's this: “Did you just say Noah was locked in the car?”

DID HE HAVE ANY PART IN NOAH'S DEATH, B?!?!

I wonder what Finn would be like if Riddle wasn't there to corrupt him further, but then he's got his parents which has me wondering if Riddle was just a catalyst for an inevitability.

Noah knew Tom, didn't he? Oh this makes it so much worse. Why, B, WHY?!?!?! 'just a Muggle.' What a lad. Hopefully, the thing between them stays over.

Oh Emory. . . I really, sincerely hope they have time to sort out whatever's happening between them--it looks like a friend-ship sinking very slowly.

Morgan seems nice. Shame she doesn't have any feelings for him--or wouldn't because would her parents approve? Ahhh, it's so complicated. I hate to be in her shoes, but through the use of your very, very fantastic writing abilities, I feel as though I am forced into them.

THAT ENDING?!

WHAT IN MERLIN'S BLAZING SOCKS NOW?

Author's Response: *eep* I'm not saying nothin'!

Hehe if you're starting to like Finn, I have a whooole story in his POV just waiting for you ;)

"Merlin's blazing socks" HA HA! You are hilarious and amazing and I have a smile on my face every time I read your reviews. Thank you, E! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by pointless_proclamations Mystery

31st August 2016:
Oh for goodness sake!!

More time alone time with Riddle and that book and more petrifying?!?! This story will be the near death of me because I cannot stop fretting over Hero because she is precious and a lot is going on that she doesn't know about and that I barely know about except for Riddle petrifying students BUT [EXPLETIVE] IS THAT BOY CHARMING OR WHAT?!

It has been brought to my attention that Theo and Hero are a thing that's was going on for a long time rather than a one-off thing. In that case, BAH!! WHAT?!

Hagrid, oh no. Someone else to worry about. I try so hard to despise this story for making me feel so many things--most of them along the lines of concern and panic and second-hand rage, but it's that control of a reader's emotions that this story--your writing--possesses that makes me have so much respect for it and love it so much: The course of true love never did run smooth and in my case, I'm going through a flipping roller coaster built in the exact shape of Norway's coastline.

B, I'm starting to get suspicious about the chocolate now. What's up with the Hero being fed chocolate?

Again, this story is insanely brilliant.

Author's Response: Ha ha if you think this story is the death of you now... Well, maybe just continue reading ;)

Um, excuse me, E, but what could possibly be so suspicious about Tom giving someone chocolate?!

*whistles innocently*

Thanks for your review! ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by pointless_proclamations Riddles in the Dark

31st August 2016:
Thou art more lovely and more temperate. . . Thy eternal summer shall not fade as evident in this chapter.

I could not feel more sympathy for Hero--her life is slowly going down. It's like watching a slow-motion flush. Like sailing into a whirlpool. It's like floating into a black hole.

It pains me to see she's dedicated to her studies for the sake of not wanting to disappointing her parents more than wanting to do well for herself. That's a terrible motivating factor that just makes her life so much more stressful. For her to hear her parents' voices repeating in her mind all this time drives even me a bit insane.

How does Riddle manage to find her practically EVERYWHERE?! I don't know if I should be creeped out, but I kind of am. He's insanely charming, but that just makes him more dangerous and unnerving. AND! She's just telling him things about herself which is--I don't know what to make of that because she barely knows him. I don't know, B!

NO EMORY! RIDDLE IS NOT CUTE. He is a future psychopath!

This chapter had so much and I love it so, so much!

Author's Response: Ohh, anyone who quotes Shakespeare to me has my heart forever ♥

BECAUSE HE'S TOM RIDDLE THAT'S WHY

It's always so amazing to hear from you, THANK YOU! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>