Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Stranger
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 17 Years Old

17th June 2016:
Hello again ♥

Thank you for this story, and especially this ending. All through this story Myles has been confused and upset and not knowing who he really is, but he finally got a sort of happy ending. Obviously, there's still a long way to go in his life and journey, but I felt like the way that you ended it here meant that he had some sort of happy ending because he got to be who he really wanted to be - not even who he wanted to be, but who he is.

Reading this chapter, it seemed like maybe Myles hadn't come out to all of his family and friends, or if he had, they hadn't accepted his transition (with Pansy being the emergency contact). But in spite of that, I was so happy for him that he was getting to live life as who he was. I liked the way that you described the physical changes that had happened to him so far as something that was natural and just getting him closer to the person that he wanted to be.

The use of male pronouns made me really happy here, too - it's hard to know when to switch, particularly when you're writing, I think, but here you see that Myles is male now and living as a man. I definitely think it'll help people who aren't necessarily familiar with trans issues knowing more about that side of the transition.

It was so interesting to read about the process that was going to happen to change Myles's body medically. It's so intriguing to think that there might be different ways to help people transition and perform gender affirmation surgery which work much better than the Muggle ways. The process in the magical world seems a lot quicker, too, and a lot less restrictive (at least than it is here), which makes me think that it's much more understood and accepted in the wizarding world, which is a lovely thought :)

I'm so, so glad that Pansy was there all the way through as well! It's such a different portrayal of her character, but it works so well. The friendship between the two of them is so strong and I love the way that she supports Myles and is there for him right through all of this. Thank you for writing this!

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore 15.5 Years Old

17th June 2016:
Hi again!

I was so proud of Millicent here in this chapter, and seeing the conversation with Madam Pomfrey has really filled me with a lot of hope and optimism. Even so, I can't help feeling a little bit worried about what might happen in the future. Maybe it's my awareness of society at the moment, or maybe it's because I know how much you like writing angst and I suspect you're going to break our hearts some more in this, but I'm not entirely optimistic...

Anyway, I loved Madam Pomfrey's reaction to Millicent's confession! I honestly don't think that there could have been a better reaction to it, and I know that there are plenty of doctors at the moment who don't react anywhere near so well, and have no real concept or understanding of trans issues or what it means to be transgender. But Madam Pomfrey was just so understanding and the fact that she wasn't fazed by what Millicent told her and actually knew other trans people must have meant so much, and it's really filled me with a lot of hope that there are people there who will be willing and able to help Millicent. This is just the start of the journey, and there's a lot more to go - telling a lot of other people, beginning a social transition (and possibly a medical transition) if Millicent wants to, but I think the main thing is that there are people there to help with this and Millicent can talk to people who can understand what is happening.

I noticed there's quite a big gap between the ages in this chapter and the next, so I'm excited to see what's happened in the future and how Millicent is living. But I also know that's when the war is going on and I'm worried about what might happen under the Carrows' regime...

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore 15 Years Old

17th June 2016:
Pansy is nice! Pansy came through for Millicent (at least for now)! I seriously can't tell you how excited I am about your portrayal of Pansy in this story, because it's just so different and unusual for most stories that you see about her or involving her - especially before the war begins and she's been through something majorly traumatic. She's just so nice here, and so accepting and tolerant, and I honestly can't help liking her for that. Out of all the Slytherin girls and characters I've seen, she's not the first I'd have thought of for Millicent to talk to, but I'm so glad she was there.

I think you wrote Millicent's coming out really well. It's so difficult to do and write about. How do you explain to someone that you were born in the wrong body? I don't think there are really words for it and the first time you say it to anybody, there's such an incredible mix of emotions, but it was so brave of Millicent to voice his feelings to Pansy. I also really liked the way that Millicent explained those feelings as more than just not conforming to gender stereotypes. I really hope that Pansy's right and some of their friends will be accepting and understanding too (although something tells me that's not going to be the case if it's anything like real life).

I also loved the detail about there being Transitional Healers at St. Mungo's! I honestly don't think I've seen that before and the fact that they exist and that Millicent knows about them (especially when it's not so easy to find out about things without talking to people because of the lack of internet) is great, and it gives me a little hope that the wizarding world is more accepting and understanding of these issues than our society is. It's brave of Millicent to go and talk to Madam Pomfrey, too - I hope that she has some information that can help him!

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore 12 Years Old

17th June 2016:
Okay, so this is starting to make me really sad and I suspect that before this story has finished I will be crying about this. Partly because this relates to people close to me and it's reminding me of them (which can only be good because it means your writing is realistic, right?) and partly because I already really care about Millicent and her journey.

I'm not sure that at this point in her life, Millicent has realised that she's non-cisgender - I feel like maybe she knows there's something wrong but she's not really sure what it is yet? Puberty is so difficult anyway and feeling different to other people is horrible at that age, so your body developing more quickly than other people's is really difficult because it marks you out physically. Dealing with that on top of being non-cisgender and really, truly hating your body because it's not the one you're supposed to be in is terrible.

Watching Millicent trying again and again to reduce her breasts and get rid of something that marks her out as different, and something she doesn't want, was just heartbreaking.

I loved the introduction of Pansy into this story, too. I'd be really interested to see more of her at other points - it's an unusual portrayal of her, but I really liked it. She seemed a lot more perceptive and understanding than she's usually depicted and I'd really like to think that she'll carry on like that and maybe be there for Millicent in the future too!

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore 7 Years Old

17th June 2016:
Hey Kaitlin! It's about time I get to read some more of your lovely work (and there's so much of it that it may take me a while :P) but I got really excited when I saw this on your page!

I think it's a really brave choice to start writing this story when Millicent is such a young age. It makes a lot of sense to me, because many non-cisgender people know (or at least feel in some way) from a very young age that they've been assigned the wrong gender at birth, but I don't think that's the sort of thing that's often discussed. So I think that it's really great that you chose to start this story when Millicent was seven, and show the way that a non-cisgender child might struggle with their identity at that age. And in the family situation that she's in here, my heart just went out to her. Life is hard enough already without a family that are reinforcing traditional gender stereotypes and who I suspect won't be terribly supportive in the future...

I think the way that you tried to introduce the idea of Millicent being non-cisgender in this chapter was done really well, with something which seems so simple to us and probably happens a lot more than it should and than most of us realise. Little girls are taught to be "ladylike" and wear certain colours, and boys are taught to behave and dress a different way, and for people who are non-cisgender that's got to be absolutely horrible. I loved the way that Millicent hiding the robes was something that had happened multiple times already, because it really emphasised the idea of how horrible they were and that it went beyond just an average dislike to them because of their colour. Millicent's mother was so strict and determined about being "ladylike" and behaving properly too, which was just frustrating. I'm really looking forward to reading more though, and discovering Millicent's journey!

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #6, by krazyboutharryginny 15.5 Years Old

19th May 2016:
Hi Kaitlin! Here for our swap, and also because I've been eager to finish reading this story!

Aw, I really like this chapter! I'm so happy Millicent had the strength to go talk to Madame Pomfrey, even though she wasn't sure how it would turn out. I really like the way you wrote Madame Pomfrey. In the books, she always came across to me as quite brusque, but I always felt that she truly cared about the students in her care. I think that this chapter was a totally realistic portrayal of her.

I'm really relieved that the meeting went so well and that Millicent has some resources now. There's quite a big jump in her age between this chapter and the next, so I'm really eager to continue reading and see how far she gets in that time!

I think what's remarkable about this story is how well it creates sympathy for a character who is presented in the books as unlikeable and sometimes cruel. I say over and over again how awesome a job you do of exploring and expanding minor characters, but I think this is the most exceptional example of that skill.

Another great chapter - wonderful work, Kaitlin!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon 7 Years Old

18th May 2016:
Howdy Kaitlin! I'm trying to get some last minute reviews in for my (failed - CURSE GMT) quest.

I think it was a bold and impressive choice to start with this story with the character so young. It's undeniable that she's old enough to really start recognizing that the gender she's "supposed" to be doesn't match her true self, but I think it's such a challenge to get that across in a believable way at this age. You chose the perfect vehicle I think with the color of the robes and that really helped it feel effortless. A great inclusion was also the harsh reaction from her mother - it sheds light not just on how people with a non-cis gender identity find their sense of self rebuked roundly very early on, but also on how stifling society's gender constructs can be because even though now we're talking about color, it quickly expands when it comes to attire and interests and myriad of other things unfortunately.

An auspicious start! I'll try to come back and finish the story later (just make sure you remind me)!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella Hunter 17 Years Old

13th May 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with the last of our review swap! :D

I have to say that this was such a wonderful story and I feel bad that I haven't read it much sooner! It's inspirational and just written so darn well.

You should be given all kinds of praise for this! :D

I like that Millicent finally took the steps to being who he wants to be (Thank you for also using the right gender here) and that he has such a strong support system from Pansy.

I would have been interested in knowing how their other friends were feeling about this and I really wanted to know how his parents felt. I get the feeling that it might not have ended well but this chapter had such a lovely hope about it.

The chapters were short but you managed to put so much emotion into each one. I think that takes some talent! I also loved that Pansy was just such an unrelenting and lovable person in this story. She never abandoned him and that last paragraph with them just sums up how strong their friendship is. :D

Just wonderful writing and characters all around with this one! :D I can't go on about how much I loved this, thank you so much for sharing it!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #9, by Gabriella Hunter 15.5 Years Old

13th May 2016:
Hello!

Back again and I only have one chapter left, which really makes me sad. I am glad that I was able to read this though because I probably would never be able to find anything this good again!

I have to say that this was a really amazing chapter. Millicent finally gets a name for how she's feeling and not only that, Madame Pomfrey was just so understanding.

I wonder how often this happens at Hogwarts and who else may be trans there but I feel like that's another story.

Anyway, I think that you explained Millicent's feelings so well! It's really tough to break it down like this but you've done an awesome job.

I'm not trans but I know a few people who are from the pages that I follow. They're usually so misrepresented and transition is something that I don't think a lot of people understand.

You've put a lot of care and patience into this that I don't think anyone else would have without the right knowledge. Madame Pomfrey was so kind and she didn't have the judgment or disgust that Millicent might have thought.

I am really, really anxious to find out how Millicent's mother reacts to everything. I'm not sure if you'll answer that but I love the bit of hope that you've given this chapter!

Onward!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella Hunter 15 Years Old

13th May 2016:
Hello!

I'm back again! There were so many things about this that I loved. We jumped a few years but I think your Millicent is just so wonderful that I know her so well.

I love that you have her so awkward and unsure but still brave enough to voice out her fears to a friend. We never see that side to her and I am so happy that she managed to find someone who understood her.

I didn't think it would be Pansy but that is also a lovely surprise. The two girls seem to be pretty close and I think the way you explained Millicent's discomfort with herself was so well. I personally try to learn and understand more about transgendered people because I don't want to make anyone uncomfortable.

I follow a really amazing woman named Kat Blaque who talks about these issues in an easy and intellectual way. I think you've done a great job here though of not only bringing this to light but not making it seem like a negative thing.

Thank you for that!

Ooh, I've also really liked this unique inclusion of Transitional Healers. These sort of things always made me curious about the wizarding world and you've really opened my eyes to the possibilities. :D

Onward!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella Hunter 12 Years Old

13th May 2016:
Hello!

Back!

This was an interesting chapter! I think you chose to do something really unique here by having each chapter a different period in Millie's life.

You get different mannerisms, thoughts and fears with each one. It's oddly like I'm growing up with her and I think that going through puberty is one of the hardest things in the world.

She's not quite sure of what's wrong and once again, she's not sure how to understand it. I like that you have her examining her body too, that's something we don't see very often either.

A young girl goes through so many changes around this age. The insecurities and all those ugly emotions can really be hard to go through alone. She seemed so vulnerable here and it really make her appear softer, less rough around the edges than I've seen her before.

And we've gotten a tiny Pansy too! I like the display of kindness from her. We often see her as being very rude and selfish but she seemed genuinely concerned. I can tell that she cares about Millie and I wonder if we'll see more about their relationship in the future or if this was just a one time thing.

That last lines really brings back memories from when I was here age. I didn't know what to do or think when I started developing, only that it was something I couldn't change.

Very poignant!

Onward to the next chapter!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella Hunter 7 Years Old

13th May 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap!

Thanks for agreeing to it! I always like coming back to your work!

I don't read enough stories about Millicent. I think that she's actually a really underrated character. We don't know much about her personality aside from a few mentions in the HP books and I think you've chosen a really great person to write.

I also saw this was for a challenge! I really like the idea of this too and I wish that I had been able to participate. I never read that much about trans individuals on the archives and so this was a great thing to see!

I like that even at a young age here, Millie is pretty certain of herself. She's self-assured in her own way and she isn't afraid of speaking her mind. Her mother seems really overbearing so I'm surprised that she was able to talk back to her, even in such a low voice, without getting some kind of reprimand.

You've also given us some great insight into her home life too. Her family is well off, she has a brother that she envies and she's not sure why she doesn't like pink. She just doesn't because it doesn't feel right. I think that was the important thing to focus on, instead of this really mature analysis of who she was right then.

You kept it age appropriate and have really made me curious for the next chapter. I shall be on it like butter on toast!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan 17 Years Old

13th May 2016:
Aw, yay! I really loved the happily ever after feeling of this chapter - and while I know that it's not 'happily ever after' and there will probably be other struggles later on (like the reactions of his mother? I kind of wondered what happened there, but regardless, I like where you ended the story), this ends on such a wonderful note with Myles finally being the person he wants to be, and Pansy so supportive and happy for him. It was just such a lovely moment between friends. And given that in the previous four chapters Millicent had always been unhappy or confused, having Myles walk in smiling was such a huge change and it really changed the mood of the story. His happiness changed the whole tone of the chapter.

Pansy's last line "You look like you" - aww, I just adored this. What a positive ending ♥

Also, congrats on finishing the first of your WIP's! That's huge. :D *hands out celebratory cake* Great work on this story, Kaitlin!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan 15.5 Years Old

13th May 2016:
Millicent's anxiety is really evident in this chapter, in how she's afraid of what her peers will think and even what Madame Pomfrey will think. You did a wonderful job of conveying that, as it was easy to feel her nervousness and all the things she worries about. The teenage years are such a hard time anyway without stuff like this going on as well, looking in the mirror and seeing someone that's not you.

Madame Pomfrey was a great addition to the story as well because I think she'd have seen all sorts of things by this point without batting an eye and hardly anything could surprise her - werewolf students, Ron's dragon bite that he said was from a dog, arms without bones, etc., so she knows how to handle complex things and how to keep people's secrets safe. I have no doubt she'd be super helpful and understanding.

I'm glad you pointed out that gender reassignment is an option but not the only solution. I think this is one of the more commonly misunderstood things about trans issues, but there are plenty of trans people who don't undergo reassignment. This chapter was well done in terms of awareness and the different options available to trans people. I'm glad Millicent is taking steps to becoming who he is and having who he is on the inside and on the outside match for once, and that there's a support network of healers and the larger trans community. Once again great work on this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan 15 Years Old

13th May 2016:
I love this chapter! And I love Pansy in this! (Never thought I'd say that) but she really is a good friend here. Sure, she's confused at first, but she is supportive, takes Millicent's words seriously, and genuinely wants to help her friend. I also like that you had Pansy bring up the idea of traditional gender roles vs gender, and how Millicent explains why it's not that. You approached the idea from several different angles and it really brings a lot of light to what it means to be trans. (Not that I'm an authority on this either - but Millicent's descriptions and emotions match what I've been told by some of my friends who are trans.) In that same vein, I also think Pansy brings a great aspect to the story that can help people who are unfamiliar with gender issues understand Millicent, because Pansy has to learn to understand too.

At any rate, I'm glad Millicent has figured it out, connected the dots in her mind and understands why she's been uncomfortable with herself for so long. And I'm really glad she has Pansy's support and that she's going to see Madame Pomfrey, it's so good she has people to confide in who will not judge her. That's so important.

 Report Review

Review #16, by marauderfan 12 Years Old

13th May 2016:
Another excellent chapter. I really like the addition of Pansy here, and how she comes across as a sympathetic character who is perceptive and wants to help. I have no trouble believing she's actually pretty nice to people in her social circle, which would include Millicent. It's a nice change from Harry's rather biased perspective of her.

I also like how you pointed out the difficulties of this time of Millicent's life. Puberty is not easy for anyone, and I think most people go through a phase of being embarrassed about something about themselves, and are very self-conscious. The way you set this chapter up such that Millicent thinks that the problem is her self-confidence is pretty convincing, because at this point she can't change her body. And since she developed early, part of her annoyance is that she's not like the other girls anymore - she doesn't fit in. And not fitting in is enough of a hardship at that age that her gender identity just hasn't occurred to her yet.

Poor Millicent :( this was a great chapter though! Your writing is wonderful.

 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderfan 7 Years Old

13th May 2016:
Saw your post on the forums and it reminded me that I still owe you 5 reviews for winning the Least Favourite Challenge - luckily this story is 5 chapters! But... there's so much good stuff on your AP. I may just leave you like 20 prize reviews isntead :P So anyway, this is such a great start. I love minor characters, and so I'm glad you chose to write about Millicent Bulstrode here. From canon, the only things we know about her is that she has a cat, and that Harry thinks she looks ugly/mean/scary (I forget exactly what he said, but it wasn't positive). So it leaves you with so much room to interpret her character.

This is such a wonderful interpretation of 7-year-old Millicent. She's too young to understand exactly what is wrong, but even at that age she knows that something just doesn't add up, and that she doesn't feel comfortable with who she's being told she is. And having it come across in the perspective of a child, who's never heard the term gender dysphoria, but only experiences this vague confusion, it really makes me feel for her as a character and... I know I'm getting ahead of myself here, but I hope her mother is understanding when Millicent finally figures out what is going on. Her mother doesn't seem unkind per se, just very traditionalist and dignified and would never have considered the possibility of her daughter being trans. I'm curious how that will turn out. (But seriously, 'Green is for boys'? What about all the Slytherins who aren't boys -they wear green all the time! And that's Tradition too, something she would be able to get on board with. *shakes head*)

/rambling tangent

This is really great so far and I'm excited to read the rest.

 Report Review

Review #18, by krazyboutharryginny 15 Years Old

2nd April 2016:
Hi Kaitlin!

So I believe I mentioned this in my last review, but I really like your portrayal of Pansy in this. I love how you've made her a sensitive person and a really good friend, giving her dimension that we don't get to see in the books.

I also really liked that in this chapter you touched on gender roles and made it very clear that what Millicent is feeling goes beyond discomfort with a gender role. That area is where I see a lot of confusion when talking to people who don't really understand this stuff, so I think it was a great idea to include that bit of dialogue.

I'm so happy that Millicent has begun to come to terms with all of this, and has true friends there for support. I hope Madame Pomfrey will be able to help too!

I think you're doing a good job on this so far and approaching it from a way that is accessible for people who might not know much about trans issues, so kudos on that! :D I'm excited for the next chapter and to see where you're going to go with this!

Hugs!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #19, by krazyboutharryginny 12 Years Old

3rd February 2016:
Hi again, Kaitlin!

This was another very well-done chapter. Again, I didn't notice anything wrong with the way you talked about trans issues (although, like I said, my experience is limited).

So obviously puberty is kind of a weird time for everyone, but it's clear that Millicent's experience is going beyond that standard weirdness. Also, I'm pretty sure most girls hate something about their bodies and want to change something about the way they look, but again, this goes beyond that (especially with the context of the last chapter).

I really liked that you made Pansy sort of a sympathetic character in this. (Millicent too, of course, but Pansy is someone who is more actively antagonistic in the books.) You really have a knack for taking minor characters and giving them new depth and dimensions. It's something I really, really admire about you!

I think you're doing a fantastic job with this story so far, and it's probably one of my favourite works of yours that I've read. I'm excited to read more!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

I'm glad that you think this was ok. You know far more about trans issues than I do.

Puberty is indeed a weird time for most people and I definitely agree that most young women want to change aspects of their figures (which is sad in its own way). I definitely do think that some of what Millie is feeling is teenage angst, but I think there is definitely a deeper feeling of discomfort in her own skin. I think that she's starting to discover that her mind doesn't fit with her body.

In my mind, Pansy wasn't always a jerk. I actually imagine her being quite nice with her fellow Slytherins and Purebloods. I only think she would've been horrible to people she was raised to be prejudiced against.

I'm so thrilled that you like this so far. I promise more updates are coming soon! As of March 31st, this will be on a regular update schedule.

Thanks for all of your support!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #20, by krazyboutharryginny 7 Years Old

1st February 2016:
KAITLIN! (I can't do emojis in reviews but imagine that that :wub: emoji is here like 10 times)

First of all, I'm so touched by your incredibly sweet dedication. You're so awesome and I'm really lucky to have you as a friend!

You did SUCH a good job on this first chapter. I definitely didn't notice anything wrong with it (although I am 100% not an expert). Although I don't have personal experience, this seems to me to be a realistic portrayal of the way a child would experience gender dysphoria. I thought that her tying her hair back out of her face was a really good touch.

Even aside from the dysphoria aspect of this, I thought you did such a great job capturing the mindset of a child. I could clearly picture Millicent standing there guiltily while Tinka searched her bedroom. So really awesome job with that!

I was kind of whatever about Millicent's mom (like, I didn't like her but I didn't hate her guts) until I got to "Keep resisting and I will petrify you and put them on you myself", at which point I was STRONGLY reminded of my Walburga and was filled with some serious (heh) dislike.

Anyways, AWESOME job on this chapter, and thank you again for the lovely dedication. Seriously, that means a lot, especially coming from you.

Hugs!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Kayla!!!

Oh good! I'm so glad.

*wub*

I'm glad that this seems realistic to a child going through gender dysphoria. I figured it would show up in simple ways, like a dislike of girlish clothing or a desire to dress like an older brother.

I have to say that I had a few moments of my own like that when I was a child...hiding something and then getting busted by my mom.

Millie's mum isn't a shining example of being a parent, but I also truly believe that at this point, she isn't really aware that her child is trans. I think she just thinks her child is being a pain in the butt for no reason, hence the frustration. But yes, the petrification does cross that line.

Thank you for the lovely review and for all of your support!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #21, by NPE 12 Years Old

31st January 2016:
Hi,

So the idea for this was brilliant. I think, after now writing several reviews of your great breadth of work, that you have a real talent for finding interesting concepts and angles for stories. It's startling how you achieve that.

So, the characterisation of a largely ignored character in the HP world who is often assumed as bullish and uncaring was terrific. You gave her a vulnerability I really respected.

I think your descriptive terms, particularly in setting the scene in the first two paragraphs, as her fears over her own identity are exposed to the reader, are possibly the most authentic you've written. Aside from maybe the midnight reference - none of it feels to directional or obvious.

The fact that compliments haunt her and make her uneasy due to her trepidations about her body, plus the whole reducio spell, elevate this story to being quite outstanding. I seldom say that.

I even liked your characterisation of the vicious Pansy. Amongst Slytherins, she may have had plenty of redemptive features. Really, who knows?

I think the last line is my only CC. Would she, with her mind and brain and feelings so confused and despondent, really have such a firm resolve to that. It did feel a little contradictory in my view.

Other than that - this was the best thing I have read out of your all work. Some achievement.

Best,

Nick

 Report Review

Review #22, by Aphoride 7 Years Old

29th January 2016:
Hi there, Kaitlin - dropping by for our review swap! :)

I really wanted to drop on this, because it sounded so original and interesting - I've only ever read one one-shot about Millicent before this and it was totally different to this one, so I was so curious to see what you did with her and how you portrayed her - especially because it said it was for the non-cisgender challenge :)

I love how you characterised her. Though we don't see that much of her personality in here, I loved how she hated pink and didn't want to wear the dress robes, wanted to wear green and black instead. There's something so sad about her hiding the robes and hoping Tinka doesn't find them so she doesn't have to wear them, when her mother insists that it's what's going to happen. It's little things, but it makes me so curious to see how you take her through the journey as she grows up and realises about herself, and everything which comes with it.

Your writing is really lovely in this - your dialogue is so great and really suits the characters, especially the mother. I love the differences you used in describing the two of them - it really set them apart, which was so clever.

Gah, I'm so sorry for the short review, but I'm really curious to see where you go with this, and what happens next! It's a really lovely beginning! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hey Aph!

I was so excited to have an opportunity to write for the Non-Cisgender Challenge because although I strive to write diverse characters, I realized that Non-Cis characters are an area that I've had a blind spot.

This first chapter here is just a brief flash of Millie as a child and in each chapter she will get a bit older and things will become more clear. I've seen that even young children, while perhaps not completely aware that they are transgender, can be aware of not feeling like they fit in traditional roles. That's how I imagine Millie at this stage. Not liking the traditional role of a girl in a Pureblood family. As she gets older, she will begin to understand more clearly that she has always been a boy.

Dialogue is always a weakness of mine. I have a tendency to be too formal. This does however usually tend to work for older Purebloods, so perhaps I just got a bit lucky there. :D

That's okay. It's a short chapter.

Thanks for the review swap!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #23, by Unwritten Curse 7 Years Old

28th January 2016:
TEAM GOLD

I just HAD to read this as soon as I saw it was for the Cisgender Challenge. I've been really excited to read all the entries. I'm too busy to write one myself but I love this challenge and I'm sure a lot of great fiction will come from it.

Anyway…

This was a great opening. It's always interesting to me that young children are already so aware of their gender identity. That they can sense that something is off. I don't remember being that mature as a child but I'm sure something this big challenges the way they see themselves even before they can articulate exactly what it means.

Hopefully that made sense.

Her mother is awful, by the way. Just awful. She'll petrify Millicent if she doesn't put on her robes? What? I want to slap that woman. And what's wrong with the color green? It's a Slytherin color. You'd think her mom would appreciate that, at least.

You've already made me fall for little Millicent. I'm rooting for her.

Great work, as always. :)

--Gina

Author's Response: Hey Gina!

I'm excited to read the entries as well! I can't wait to see what the others have done.

I'm not sure about everyone and maybe my perspective is skewed because I was an only child, but I feel like kids can be surprisingly aware of themselves.

Her mother is indeed awful. She's been brain washed to believe Pureblood ideology and traditional gender roles.

I hope you'll keep rooting for little Millie!

Thanks for the lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #24, by Yoshi_Kitten 7 Years Old

27th January 2016:
Yay, I get to leave the first review on this one, lol! This is my first time ever reading a Non-Cisgender fic, so I cannot really comment on everything specific in that regard. But it certainly does not show that this is your first time writing in this area, at least not in my opinion it doesn’t. Honestly; you are so talented, and your writing style is so brilliant. You could re-write the phone book and I would probably read it at this point, lol! =P

I love how perfectly you were able to capture the innocence of a seven year old in this. And although I do not know from personal experience, I do feel as though this is definitely something that a little girl with confusion on her gender identity would feel at such a young age. She is too little to understand exactly why she would rather wear her brother's clothes, but she does understand enough to know that ruffles are hideous, and that pink is the ugliest color ever, lol. If only her mother was smart enough to realize that her daughter was a bit of a tom-boy and just accept her for who she is, rather than force her to do something that she is so obviously uncomfortable with. Silly richy-rich snobs with their uppity and judgmental personalities! You have certainly caused me to despise the mother in this already. Not sure if she will become more open and accepting of her daughter as time goes on, but for right now I hate her – in a good way tho, lol. ;)

Also, I do not believe that I have ever read anything with Millicent Bulstrode in it before, but I do love that you went with such a minor character for this story. She's so unknown that you really could go anywhere you wanted to with the rest of this fic. Idk why I was thinking that it was just a one-shot. But I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the end and saw in your note that this was actually going to be a short story collection. I cannot wait to read more!! Good luck in the Challenge you entered this for. I'm sure that you will do great! :D

~Deana~

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login