Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Let Sleeping Dogs Lie
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlwaysAddicted Rest for the Weary

15th August 2016:
Once again lovely. I really enjoy your writing style. The ending line was perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you I am glad you enjoyed the read!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Rest for the Weary

6th March 2016:
Hi Marshal :) This is such an interesting story. I think insomnia is a pretty reasonable thing for Remus to struggle with - I mean, turning into a nocturnal animal for a night, with the additional tremendous stress on the body that comes with transformation - no wonder he's exhausted, being a werewolf would do weird things to your circadian rhythm.

And the way you wrote his bitterness about it is understandable, the way part of him hates James and Peter for being asleep, just because they take their sleep for granted and there's Remus tossing and turning and envious. Poor guy :(

You got into Remus's head really well, in that even though he's going through a lot, he's still very in tune with his friends' emotions and what's going on with them, such as how he notices Sirius' drunkenness and also knows that's not the right time to talk about it.

A wonderful story, and I really enjoyed reading it - well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! Remus is my all time favorite characters. I love digging deep into his head and I'm glad I landed things nicely in this story. I hope maybe to explore what was going on with Sirius in another story but not at this present time. Again thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by PaulaTheProkaryote Rest for the Weary

6th March 2016:
For HPFF’s Review-a-Thon

I immediately understand the dread that Remus is faced with. Every single night leading up to the full moon when he goes to bed he’s that much closer from having to face it. Then he has a few rests of reprieve before reverting back to that anticipation and anxiety.

I really like your word choice throughout the story. Peter ‘borrowing’ is much more appropriate than any other word you could have used.

I love/hate the tortured soul that is Remus Lupin. I firmly believe that a disease does not define you and having worked in the medical field for awhile, I see so many people get caught up in the diagnosis and forget to live the life that they still have. While it’s true both to canon and real life that he’d be so drawn in and tormented by his disease, I desperately ache for him to just accept it and be himself. I like to think that eventually, with Tonks, he does that.

I like the fact that Remus recognizes the appropriate time to talk to Sirius about his problems, but moreover that he plans to talk to him about them at all. I think a lot of people write off tell-tale signs instead of confronting the truth.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story. I feel for Remus and I love the characterization of the remainder of the Marauders. I’m sure he needed his rest and they absolutely should let sleeping dogs lie.

Author's Response: I know it has taken me forever to respond to this review, but better late than never yeah? Any way thank you for your sweet compliments on my story.

Your remark on my word choice made me smile, I'll admit that this is one of those times I just wrote and didn't think too heavily on word choice. In some ways the characters just take over, if you know what I mean and this is one of those times that characters sort of just presented themselves and I wrote. Still thank you.

I completely get the whole thing of people defining themselves by their disease and I think Remus very much does this and it is why I feel for him so much. It is hard to live past a condition, having fibromyalgia, I am familiar with this problem from time to time. I try not to let it define me but it does run my life on occasion. I can only imagine what it is like with a disease that comes with a stigma like Remus or those with Aid's as JKR was trying to correlate this to in some respects. I do agree with you though that Tonks I think helps Remus see past that from time to time.

I'm glad you liked the bit with Sirius. It was just sort of a last minute inspiration. While this was a one-shot Remus made it very clear that he and the others have a life beyond this story and it shouldn't be ignored. In some ways I would love to explore in more detail what comes of that situation but right now I have other projects that I need to be working rather than on a new story.

Still I'm glad you liked the story over all! Again, thank you for leaving the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gail Welin Rest for the Weary

6th March 2016:
Hi Marshal!!

I'm here to (finally) review your entry for my Sleeping Habits Challenge before I (finally) announce the results! It took me ages to find/take the time to properly review this - it's a pleasure to re-read this bit to refresh my memory!

Do you know that feeling when you read the first line of a text and think "oh, this is gonna be good"? That's pretty much what I feel when I read this piece :p

I love how Remus fights having to go to bed and even resents all asleep, even his closest friends. Sirius brings forth other feelings - there's jealousy there too, considering booze wouldn't help Remus sleep. Your characterization of the boys is wonderful, by the way ;)
I love "This was for the doxies" :p
I love that you use the luna cycle to back up Remus' sleep pattern. He sleeps like the dead after the full moon, exhausted after his transformation, but can't sleep prior to it, I'd say especially not during the waxing gibbous. The anticipation of the full moon, like an itching in his blood. A surplus of energy, preparing him for what is to come. Made me think going running (or something) would help (that's what I do with my dog, hehe).

Hoorray for Sherlock Holmes! Captivating enough to keep him awake, full with contents smart enough to tire his brain. Very good choice :D
Ooh, don't we all know this feeling; the body's finally ready to go to sleep and one might even catch an hour or two that feels like half a second before the day starts.
I just love how he finally manages to get some sleep in the library while studying, a book as his pillow. And then the rest of the Marauders trying to figure out who'd wake him this time around. I can relate to Remus a lot :p

Thank you very much for writing this very wise bit of advice - let sleeping dogs lie ^^

*Gee

Author's Response: Gee!

It has been ages! Ages since we talked and ages since I gave a proper response to this review! I was so excited to place in your challenge and I had fun writing this story. I'm glad it was a good story to cozy up with! Remus is such a fun character to write and I'm glad you liked what I did with him here! As for Sherlock I've always felt that Remus is a fan of the detective and have to give that feature into the story.

Sorry the review is quick it is getting late for me and I am fading but I didn't want to go to bed without giving you a response as it is long over due and if I didn't respond now it would be months before I responded!


 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Rest for the Weary

5th March 2016:
“For the HPFF Review-A-Thon”

Sirius was out, presumably with a girl, and he was the only one that Remus presently did not hate. Sirius was awake like he was and thus could be forgiven; James and Peter on the other hand were asleep and he hated them for it.

This part made me chuckle. I also liked the closing line. I thought it fit well and was a bit humorous.

In such a short story you really packed a punch. Your descriptions were delightful and really vivid. It was also relatable. Sometimes this happens to me when I’m stressed out or I’ve been working so long I’m overtired and can’t sleep. I despise my boyfriend for being able to sleep like nothing while I toss and turn all night. I think we’ve all been there though.

I really liked the imagery you built with the snitch and Remus trying to use it as a background noise to sleep. Sort of like counting sheep in a way.

I thought it was a good idea that you also grounded the story with the rest of the guys and added a little extra with his concern about Sirius. Sometimes it's hard when a story is so short in length to add different elements but I think you did a wonderful job.

I'm also glad Remus fell asleep at the end.

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review. I know I am very late in responding but life has been quite crazy. I am glad I was able to make you chuckle.

I had a lot of fun writing this piece. I agree with you that it can be hard to put a lot of depth into a story particularly a one shot. I admittedly got lucky here and I know so much details when it comes to the characters and honestly the bit about Sirius was last minute inspiration.


 Report Review

Review #6, by princesslily_36 Rest for the Weary

5th March 2016:
Hello, this is Ysh here for the Review-a-thon!

Aaah the marauders!!! Let sleeping dogs lie – the title made me instantly think of Sirius, but this is about Remus :D

I’ve read a few entries for this challenge but I can see why Remus would be ideal for this – like you mentioned the lunar cycle affecting his sleep patterns. That’s a wonderful take. *claps*

I just want to say I simply LOVE LOVE LOVE your entry. Your descriptions are amazing! You have managed to capture the time between lying on the bed and slowly falling asleep when it was most difficult to sleep in wonderful vividness.

I like how you talked about a slow rhythm helping someone fall asleep, and how he was so frustrated that James and Peter were able to sleep soundly and he wasn’t. Do I see a hint of insomnia in him? Or is it just the plain dreading of his transformation that you hinted at in the first chapter?

The little details like Sirius smelling of Whiskey, nose of the werewolf, the description of his bed and the sounds around him – they all added up wonderfully to create the scene you have described. It is indeed horrible that
Remus won’t be able to turn to alcohol or sleeping drought for help. But all the more better, don’t you think? We wouldn’t want Remus becoming too dependent on alcohol for sleep : (

Great job with this story, and loved the title (after all, wolf is a type of dog isn’t it?)

~Ysh

Author's Response: A long time in responding to the review but here I am. Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you liked the story so much. I had a lot of fun writing the details out, my goal was for the reader to really feel for Remus. I don't have insomnia but I have had my share of struggling to sleep and used that for a lot of inspiration. I'm glad you liked the mention of Whiskey on Sirius, it was honestly a last minute bit of inspiration like Remus whispering in my ear going 'you know that this was going on right?' and it had to be written even if the story behind the Whiskey isn't written at present.

Glad you liked the title I debated it considering that most people associate dogs with Sirius but there was no other title that really worked in my mind.


 Report Review

Review #7, by victoria_anne Rest for the Weary

17th February 2016:
Heya!

Aw poor Remus! :(

You've really brought the way he views his condition into light, and it was nice to get this perspective on it, especially the way he views his bed and the easy way his friends can drift off into sleep!

And even in a short space of time, each Marauder displayed their unique personality, so terrific job!

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review. I had a lot of fun writing it and I'm glad I was able to portray each of the boys. While Remus was the focus it seems to me like all of their sleeping habits may have been covered.

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Rest for the Weary

12th February 2016:
Hello there! I'm here with 2 reviews for you as your prize for guessing another present correctly in the "Guess the Present" thread over on the forums! Congratulations, and thank you so much for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday!

I'll be reviewing as I go, so if things seem to jump from one topic to another kind of suddenly, that's why, and I apologize in advance!

And hm... a new story with no reviews? Well, we'll just have to fix that, won't we?! :D

Okay, so, first off, I really love how you've set up the cycle between Remus and his bed already here in the first paragraph, and explained WHY this cycle even exists. And really, it's heartbreaking - knowing how much pain he's in and that pretty much forces him to want to sleep so much after his transformation, and then knowing that before his transformation, he CAN'T sleep, probably because he's so anxious about the upcoming transformation. It makes me wonder - did poor Remus EVER get enough sleep? :(

Oh wow - your referring to the bed as 'the opponent' was really awesome, you've actually given somewhat of a personality to the bed, and made it like a character instead of a prop here. That's amazing and just shows how talented you are!

Awww, the other marauders are there! It makes me feel good to know that, even though this is hard, Remus isn't going through this alone. His friends know all about his constant battles with the bed, and that just goes to show how close they are, that they can see he's obviously struggling with this. I was really hoping the sounds of the snitch would help Remus sleep. :(

Okay, so I got a little scared when you said that Remus hated James and Peter, because I thought they'd had a bad fight or something. But then when I saw it was because they could sleep and he couldn't, my heart broke a little bit more - that's so sad! :( Poor Remus!

I'll admit, when I was reading the bit about sleep aids, I got kind of hopeful for a minute, thinking "Remus could take a sleeping draught or something", but it sounds like taking those could potentially cause more problems than they'd fix. :( I know I already said it, but poor Remus! His situation seems almost hopeless. :(

Aw!! Well, at least Remus was able to get some sleep in the end, even if it wasn't really at an appropriate time. And, it's very sweet of everyone to let him sleep, they know how much he needs it!

All in all, I think this was a great little story, dear. You did an excellent job with conveying the emotions Remus feels here and honestly, this made me want to go back to sleep! :P Also, I think this is great for the Sleeping Habits challenge! Honestly, I've never read a fic about a character's sleeping habits before, so I think this was a very original challenge, and I think you did an excellent job with it! Well done!

Author's Response: Ages late in responding but better late than never no! When I got the review on this story it made me super happy because this story at the time indeed was unloved. I'm glad you liked how thing were depicted with Remus and his bed. I don't have the struggles like Remus does but there are times even now where my bed feels like the enemy, particularly when I can't get comfortable and can't sleep.

I had a lot of fun writing this story and I'm glad the little details worked and you enjoyed the read! Thank you so much once again for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login