Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Risk It All
  
73 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AbraxanUnicorn You'll Regret This

1st April 2017:
Howdy. Here to break my friend out of jail so we can go off in pursuit of a flag!

Well, you certainly know how to capture a reader's attention with an opening sentence. Rumours of a divorce and a protagonist in a world-famous band? I like how casually she brushes it away, as though she is regularly plagued with such rumours, which I expect she is, being famous and all. After all, if she took every rumour seriously, she'd never have made it this far. I think it's a very realistic portrayal of how someone has to react if they are going to survive the showbiz world.

But, oh! It's real, and James actually wants a divorce? It's clear she's pretty shocked by this, so I expect there hasn't been any particular trigger for the event. Unusual, to come out of the blue after four years of marriage. Poor Esme :( Just before she'd due on stage as well and face all those adoring fans. Could there be a worse time for her to have received this news? I love how well you've described the gamut of emotions here; again, beautifully portrayed.

Hugo. Hugo Weasley. In a world famous band. Playing the guitar. Be still my beating heart! Oh my, I know I am absolutely going to love this story!

I really like the dynamics between Esme and the other members of her band. And good on her for the stance she takes at the end. You go, girl.

Another piece of magic from the house of Alicia and anne. Awesome first chapter!

Brax X

 Report Review

Review #2, by lovegood27 You'll Regret This

1st April 2017:
Hey! Here for Capture The Flag :)

Ah James! Such a charmer, aren't you? I totally understand why Esme's so angry. You think everything's fine and then he suddenly wants a divorce out of the blue? Without talking to her first? Who does that? Although I KINDA see where James is coming from. It doesn't seem like they're in contact much, and no one really wants to be married to a girl they hardly ever get to see, I suppose. (I'm still on Esme's side though)

I really liked the idea of her being in a rock band. It's an original one I haven't seen before and of course, you also weaved in some romance to spice things up. Also, can I just say that I absolutely love the name Screaming Banshees? I would expect nothing less from the Wizarding world ;)

Aw, she dedicated a song to James! Okay, calling him an a-hole wasn't flattering, but still. I hope things turn out okay for them :)

I've enjoyed reading this so far. Great job! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Flower n Prongs You'll Regret This

1st April 2017:
The Author's Note is an underestimation. The number of stories is impressive for its sheer volume, but the number of longer stories is even more impressive. There are so many.

The summary for this chapter. The summary of the whole story didn't sound as funny, but the chapter summary made me intrigued. It is nice to see that even in the magical world that the tabloids can be over the top with their rumours. Yes, in this case they were right but it seems like they have been saying it for years so they would be right eventually if Esme & James did divorce.

All of her questions are very good. Really, doing that to your wife (soon-to-be ex-wife or not) is a jerk move. At least wait the couple days and tell her to her face if that's what you want to do. I suppose divorce over owl is the magical, marriage version of breakup over text.

Obviously I'm not sure if this will lead to an actual divorce or reconciliation being only one chapter in, but I do think that it's interesting that you have chosen to write this from a non-Potter/non-Weasley point of view. People are obviously pre-disposed to liking the characters that we already know and their children, so by making Harry and Ginny's son the "bad guy" in the relationship, at least so far, puts an interesting twist on this all. The fact that she is clearly pretty bad *** with her band and all also makes me think that she will not let him push her around or pull the "My father was the Chosen One" sort of attitude we see on occasion in fics.

I'm interested to see how the humour plays more into this in the future. It does not seem like a very funny topic, at least not right now, but it seems like you have a good grasp on humour from your (many!) other stories so I'm sure it will not disapoint.

- R

 Report Review

Review #4, by lhod23 Is This Over?

1st November 2016:
Ahhh so many questions now!! Can't wait for more and i'm so glad you're writing again.

 Report Review

Review #5, by alexaemd123 Is This Over?

9th October 2016:
AHHH I loved this chapter so much! I love James and Esme! But James needs to get his sh*t together lol I personally, do not think James is lying...I think Todrick is lying about the messages! I sure hope I'm right! I love them together and I hope everything works out alright with Esme's plan! I hope James is man enough to get all his issues in order too! So as usual, thank you so much for writing this story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Tom Is This Over?

8th October 2016:
I'm actually reading all your stories after crossing Illusion of a perfect mariage which was quite a good story. I really liked it, but his one looks even better with more serious themes and more complicate relationship.
I hope you are going to continue this story because it would be a shame to not have all of the story which looks really promising .
I was a bit confused by James, is he also mythomane? It's a bit weird because I didn't really understand why it happens like it did. Doesn't she want to clarify everything before taking action because she looks extrely sure he's lying maybe I missed some information.
Anyway I'm looking forward to the next chapters and thank you for your stories.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Kristina1990 Is This Over?

27th September 2016:
Ah, this is such a difficult situation you don't wish on anyone.

James isn't being fair to put his whole happiness and evolve all of his actions around one single person. This never works out in the end, because it's just too much pressure on both sides. Life is a balance between many things and he has to figure this out.

But I honestly don't understand Esme either. It's not like she trusts Todrick. She knows he's after their success more than their well-being, she has said so herself more than once. Doesn't it strike her that James wasn't able to contact her at all? She might have trust issues, but what he says fits perfectly to what she has already figured out about Todrick.

And to top this of - I get that her career is important. If this is her priority, good. But she shouldn't be surprised if she comes home and things have started to change to something she doesn't want. This is what happens when you don't give a damn for a while - things develop and you don't get a say in it anymore. She is committed to a person, as well, not only a career. She seems to have forgotten about this though. Not taking for a few days might not be a big issue, but a full-on silence for weeks? Come on. That ASKS for trouble.

Yeah, I'm a little frustrated with the main character ;). Maybe I'll get unfrustrated the next time? :P

 Report Review

Review #8, by bluejay Is This Over?

23rd September 2016:
I like this story a lot, it is intresting ad one of the story's that I am begging to be updated. One question is Esme having an affair with Lance?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am working on updates as I write, so hopefully not too long until a new chapter is out.

And to answer your question, no, they're not having an affair. He's just doing everything he can to make her feel better.


 Report Review

Review #9, by blackzero Is This Over?

22nd September 2016:
There were intense emotions in this chapter. Hugo and Todrick are scheming to kick James out of Esne's life.Esme is unsure whether to believe it or not Waiting to see how Esme will fibd the truth.Thanks for the update

Author's Response: I'm glad that the emotion got across, I was worried about how it would turn out. Mmmm your questions shall be answered soon! :D Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by The Justice League Is This Over?

22nd September 2016:
Love it love it love it I think it's going great so far!!!

Author's Response: And I love you!! Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dirigible_Plums Talk Is Cheap

3rd September 2016:
Hello!

It's Plums here with the second of your reward reviews. I'm starting on chapter deux because I've already reviewed the first one :)

Poor Esme. The mess of emotions she's feeling right now must be absolutely horrible! I mean, she's clearly still in love with him, even if she hasn't seen him properly in ages, but he was such a piece of...dung with that move he pulled! If I was her, I would actually erupt.

Not cool, James -.-

It's really interesting to see how Esme's bandlife is like. The different aspects to it are exhausting - running around different countries, barely sleeping, having to do shoots with that lack of sleep and painful interviews - but you can tell she loves her job, even if the media attempts to drag her down. Speaking of the media, I love how you mention little things like their interpretation of Logan's facial hair and how it's so far off the mark of what's really happening. It's both entertaining and realistic.

Another thing I like is that you have Hugo as the best friend. Yes to the ignored Weasley! There are not nearly enough fics about him which gives him so much potential - you can do anything and it'd just about fly. I like how he's a sweetheart here, but a very lethal-looking one when he wants to be.

Brilliant chapter and I can't wait to read the upcoming exchange between the married couple!

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #12, by LittleMissAutumn Break Me

3rd July 2016:
I really liked this chapter, especially your descriptions of James as an alcoholic. We got a brief glimpse of it in the last chapter but this one really pulled through. This story is so unique. I love how they're a band and being pulled into the public eye for everything. I go to at least concert a month so this especially grips me because I love the music and the messages behind it. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by coolgf Break Me

27th June 2016:
James needs to man up. Esme needs to tell him to get it together. They are adults and she loves him still. Please up date soon.

Author's Response: He really does need to man up, you're right! The newest chapter is up now, and I hope that you enjoy it. :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by alexaemd123 Break Me

27th June 2016:
Awe, I loved this chapter but it's so sad! I feel bad for James and Esme so much. There are so many problems with both of them in their relationship that I hope they get back together but not until James gets better! I love this story so much! Please continue soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Levy Raven Angel

24th June 2016:
Please update. Oh my god I need more!!! This story has got me
on my toes. We need more James/Esme interactions!

Author's Response: The newest chapter is up now, I hope that you like it! More James/Esme is coming! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Levy Let Go

24th June 2016:
Its only the fourth chapter and yet I am so in love with your story! Continue writing and finish this masterpiece. I know sometimes as a writer its frustrating not getting the amount of reviews you want, but there are many silent readers who really do enjoy your story. Keep writing and let this story grow. I await the more that is to come. You are amazing.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so happy that you love it so much! I'm sorry that I haven't been able to update as much, it's to do with work screwing me over (I'm out of there now and starting a new job tomorrow that I hope gives me enough time) I'm not too bothered about the amount of reviews I get, and will keep updating no matter what, so have no fear silent readers! :D Just seeing my little read count going up is enough for me. :D Thank you so so much, Levy! I hope that you enjoy the newest chapter. :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Charlie Raven Angel

6th June 2016:
Hey! Really loving this story, I love how different it is from the other James fanfictions there are which can sometimes follow the same formula. Keep it up, I can't wait for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad that you think it's so different and that you're enjoying it, that brings me a lot of joy. :D More is coming soon and I hope that you love it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by banshee Attention Seeker

31st March 2016:
but were they used boxers? hahaha

She's probably right, that she shouldn't have started an argument while she was tired. But at the same time, it's not exactly like she can go to sleep with that kind of news.

That fight was painful to read. Painful and sad because as much as James made me angry, you can really tell that both of them do not want to be in that situation. I feel like James really realizes about half way through, and she manages to turn it against him. You can really see that something is building that they're not quite at the spot to talk about yet.

Ugh, stop making me ship Esme/Hugo. for real. I suppose if anything, like you told me, James sort of does have a right to be jealous :p :p

lol, I love/hate when the Weasley/Potter family calls James 'Jimmy' - it makes me cringe, and I feel like it annoys him so much.

Yikes, that accidental almost kiss :(

Aw, such a sad ending too! I liked the little interaction with the band members, but aw, the part with her dad was so sad! I feel like seeing that awful picture finally sparked that this was a very real thing that was happening to her.

Lovely chapter my dear! (Roxxie is asleep next to me but she sends her puppy love again)

♥Julie

Author's Response: Who even knows? Urgh can you imagine if they were? Haha

I agree with you, even though she's tired she needs the answers!

It hurt to write it (and I'm totally going to have more arguing in the future :P) And it still wasn't resolved. Yep, James realises halfway through :(

James is so jealous, and I think he has a right too *insert secret talk we had about Hugo here :P*

Haha James hates it too, so much! And Hugo knows this.

Thanks for the review!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by banshee Talk Is Cheap

31st March 2016:
Woof! We haven't been formally introduced yet, but my name is Roxxie. I am a cuddler, and I love to steal all of my brand new owner's attention! I don't know why, but I just love getting petted! I'm currently distracted by looking out the window (my second favorite activity), so I've given Julie a chance to write out this review for the Hufflepuff review exchange before I walk over and put my paw on the keyboard again.

So I'm here. And I have read this chapter when it first came out (and the previous) but I haven't reviewed it because I'm awful :p But I'm here now!

I really loved your intro. I like that we got to meet the band but we weren't thrown a whole bunch of information that would crowd what was really going on, which is huge!

Divorce is never easy (and shouldn't be written in an Easter letter :p ) BUT it's got to be so much more stressful over the fact that they're both famous. I love her statement to the crowd at the end of the prologue.

But let's talk about this chapter.

So, I really like that you pointed out about the fandom "shipping" thing. I know as well as any fan how fun shipping can be, but it becomes really harmful really quickly when it starts involving real people and creating very real drama for those people.

Let's talk about Hugo. SO. From what you have told me about this story, I didn't ship Hugo and Esme. BUT, then coming and reading their easy banter and their friendship, yiikes it's kind of happening. I'm sorryy! Jesme 5ever♥. I really like how you wrote Hugo here. I love all of your Hugos.

Please always call him Toddy.

AND YAY HUFFLEPUFF PRIDE :D

I love the band. I love their easy banter and how much they seem to tease each other.

So, we also get a tiny glimse of James here. I'm really finding myself needing some answers right along with Esme!

Lovely work here, my dear. (Roxxie thinks so too.)

♥ love from us both ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by Kristina1990 Raven Angel

30th March 2016:
The first chapters have definitely left me wanting more. It seems we're in for a ride ^^.

Author's Response: Oh yes we are! I can't wait to see what you think of the rest of the story :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Jo Raskoph Let Go

28th March 2016:
Hi Tammi :)

I thought I'd start reviewing here as the earlier chapters already have so many reviews, but about what happened there:
I loved the confrontations! Every Esme/James scene is written with such vivid dialogue – I could feel Esmes conflicted feelings but also James' standpoint…

And it was so exciting finding out more about Hugo's feelings as well. She says "platonic" but I could swear I read "romance" :D

The relationships in the band were also really interesting and one scene I especially enjoyed was "you can't use that excues ever time", I find the idea very interesting that a squib would be playing in a wizarding band.

Another thing I loved – maybe even more – was your allusion to
fans shipping Esme and Hugo (fandom! :) and I'm starting to ship them too, I think. But really I hope James and Esme keep fighting for a while before that happens.

I'm not a huge fan of the flashback, but I never like when the situation changes suddenly in a story so that's a personal preference thing. And I think you chose the scene well, it shows so much we didn't know. Again: Hugo! :)

I love Esme's backstory and I find it refreshing that you show the good side of Slytherin characteristics. I can see how a Slytherin heart couldn't abandon a child even even it was not his (or stay loyal to one person even after they have passed). Generally, dads who cook for their daughters when they've had a rough day are something preciuos literature doesn't have enough of :)

So far I love your story! The characters are very believable and the emotional rollercoaster is described so relateable – for me it is a real pleasure to read.

I'm addicted to that tearing feeling you get in your chest when you suffer with some characters, especially when you see they really just can't get over themselves to be happy. Being able to create this feeling in readers is one of my personal goals as a writer and you do it! In every scene! So well! :D

Thank you for sharing this with the world and asking for swaps so I could find it!

Love, Jo

 Report Review

Review #22, by cherry_pop94 Raven Angel

28th March 2016:
Hello!

I've dropped by to read more of this. As always, I love this story. This was a great chapter. Todrick is a bit mean isn't he? It sucks that the band is stuck with him for another year. He doesn't really seem to care about them as people at all. They're just money makers to him.

I'm so glad that the woman is Dominique! James isn't cheating! But that's low isn't it? For the tabloids to print that picture when they probably know full well who it is! And to change Dominique's hair colour to make it more believable! How sleazy! You show the downside of James and Esme's seemingly glamorous lives really well. People use them and their image for money - Todrick, the tabloids.

I'm very curious to know what James is up to. Did he once have a drinking problem? I recall they met at a party. It must have been a serious drinking problem as Esme's having a panic attack and seems convinced that he'll die!

I cannot wait for the next chapter!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #23, by victoria_anne Attention Seeker

28th March 2016:
Tammi!

HUFFLEPUFF PILE UP! *squish*

I can't believe I forgot about this story *hides* I was right on the good bit too! The confrontation, dun dun duuun.

Ooh James! I don't know whether to rip the towel off him or whip him with it! I'm very confused right now. But the anger in their argument was so intense. Both Esme and James seem like very hot-headed people and I (guiltily) like to see them clash. I bet their *ahem* time in the bedroom is amazing (and I don't mean more arguing ;) )

But aw here's Hugo! My fave! I still think the fact Hugo Weasley is in a band is still what I love most about this story... WAIT and he has tattoos?! Argh awesome!!

AND BLACK NAIL POLISH.

Hugo just gets better and better.

OMG THIS: “You know I’ve got a second bedroom now.”
“I thought that was for your ego?" BRILLIANT! But oh no, do I have a sassy Puff rival? :(

Ha ha does Lance have a scrapbook? That's hilarious.

Uh oh, James better watch out! ESME'S DAD IS ON FATHER DUTY! I bet no one breaks his daughter's heart and gets away with it!

Thank you for another entertaining read you gorgeous lady ♥

 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan Raven Angel

27th March 2016:
Hi Tammi! Sorry for taking so long!

I love that you started this off with lyrics from the band :D Their manager sounds like a jerk. Shouldn't he let the band make their own setlist? Or some of their own decisions at least? It sucks that they're stuck in the contract with him too. He kind of represents the terrible side of business that's just concerned with making money and not with people. Thank goodness the rest of the band is all about hugs and feelings, they are good people for Esme to have at her side during all of this. Aw! I love them!

And muahaha I love how they got around Todrick's insistence that they play Raven Angel. He won't be happy... but what is he gonna do about it? XD

Also I like the name of their supporting band. I'm basically envisioning them as the wizarding version of Destiny's Child, just because of the name hahaha

It was Dominique!! I am so glad it wasn't another lady James was flirting with, he was just hanging out with his cousin. So far it looks like it was all a misunderstanding. But... but... what about the divorce papers? How is he going to explain those away? THEY NEED TO TALK. FOR REAL. I think they've only had about 10 minutes to speak to one another in the whole story so far.

I hope James is okay! Poor Esme - things just are not going her way right now. She's also working off basically no information and a lot of rumours and that's got to be hard. What was the bright flash, I hope that wasn't a paparazzi taking a picture of her fainting or something.

Ah! I can't believe you left it there though :P

Great chapter!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by victoria_anne Talk Is Cheap

11th March 2016:
Tammi, Tammi, Tammi.

As if I needed another fictional boy to dream about, you give me three. Hugo, Logan, Lance *sigh* it doesn't help that I'm in love with name Logan grr!

Ha ha haaa Esme eating a crisp from her bra, preach that! We've all been there sister!

...Oh, we haven't? Yeah me neither...

Aw I bet Grandad Weasley was stoked at receiving a garden gnome!

YES ESME GO HUFFLEPUFF WOOO!

Oh you write feelings so good. I love how Esme is so torn between hating and loving James, her emotions feel so real. I can't wait to see them together properly! *prepares eyes for some amazing dialogue* *and a handful of swear words* *probably*

Love B

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>