Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginny Chapter 1

28th April 2017:
Oh, the duality in this story is really interesting. That it's a first Christmas in more than one way, some of those ways being happy, others being sad, others being bittersweet... it's definitely very compelling. It's the first Christmas for the Weasleys without Fred, which is obviously heartbreaking. I'm honestly impressed with George for showing up at all, because I feel like in his shoes I would just want to hide in my room. It's the first Christmas, at least in a long time although not Ever, where Harry and the others haven't had Voldemort hanging over their heads. And it's Teddy's first Christmas, which is a happy occasion!

I really loved the idea of the Weasleys being able to sort of put aside, but not forget about, their grief in order to make Teddy's Christmas a happy one. I definitely feel like that's very much in their nature and true to the canon characterization of the whole family. They were always so generous, what with their willingness to take Harry in and include him in the family, and the way they made the best of Christmas after Arthur had been attacked in Order of the Phoenix. So I think you really hit the nail on the head with this whole piece. Bravo!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #2, by Crumple-Horned Snorkac Chapter 1

4th October 2016:
Greetings and happy day of birth. I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack, elusive inhabitant of the northern boreal forest and I just happened to pick this day to venture out from my hiding place again into the world of fanfiction.

This first paragraph about all the snow is almost getting me excited for the winter. Then again, a Snorkack doesn't do much in the winter besides hibernate, which means hiding even more than usual to avoid all the cold snow. It amuses me that humans enjoy that cold precipitation so much. These humans running around singing songs and slipping in the snow - they're just like my dear friend the Yeti.

Oh, and then it gets sad. Yes, I imagine the first Christmas after the war would be sort of hard to face, for everyone who lost someone in the war like the Weasleys did. I like the way you approached this, and how the Burrow looks the same as ever, but people aren't feeling as festive as the house is.

What is really lovely is the way you manage to give the story such a hopeful tone even in the wake of such sadness. There's still a hole where Fred should be, but there's also new faces in the family who have never known the shadow of the war, and it kind of brings everyone out of their grief for a little while - the hope comes from new things. Thank goodness for Teddy! It was such an adorable scene :)

This is a great story, and I love the combination of sad and hopeful feelings in it. Very well done.

I promised to meet the Yeti for tea, so I must be off!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Chapter 1

14th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

So, the first thing I notice here is your description - it's amazing!! In the first few paragraphs your words allowed me to clearly picture the scene in my head - I loved your description of the snow and the holiday season, as well as peoples' reactions to both.

I was definitely not prepared for the feels at reading the line "the first Christmas without Fred". :( I love Christmas and snow, so I usually associate those things with positive, happy feelings, and then coming into the reality of what this Christmas means for the family was just heartbreaking. And then, seeing Ginny look to Harry for answers about what grief feels like was just... gah! The poor Weasleys!

But Awww! I love the fact that little Teddy was able to brighten things up for everyone, even if only a little! I think having a baby around tends to do that most of the time, so that was very realistic and I'm sure it was a very welcome temporary relief for the whole family!

And again, your description! I could easily picture Hermione sitting in Ron's lap, the exchange between Molly and Ron and Harry... you made it SO easy to see the change in mood here, and that's amazing! You're very gifted with writing descriptions and emotions!

And your last paragraph is SO powerful, really, and I completely agree with it. Bad things happen, we lose people, but the important thing is to remember to keep fighting and know what you're fighting for. That's just so deep and thought-provoking!

I was sure when I read about it being the first Christmas without Fred that I was going to cry by the end of this. I was pleasantly surprised - it's given me a sense of peace and hope for the Weasleys. It's amazing!

This was a very VERY well-written piece, the description is amazing, and it flowed wonderfully. And this is going in my favorites right now.

Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

 Report Review

Review #4, by princesslily_36 Chapter 1

5th March 2016:
Hello Ineke! Ysh here for the review-a-thon!

So, my fingers were itching to go over to the Marauders tale, but in the spirit of diversity, decided to club into my first post-war story!

The opening paragraph instilled a festive feeling :) I don't have a white Christmas where I live (tropical sun :( ) but the idea of one always excited me!

Christmas without Fred, feeling the sense of freedom from Voldemort without havig Tonks and Remus to celebrate with.. So heart breaking. I liked that exchange between Ginny and Harry where she asked him if it very got easier. It jut struck me then that he had been through this kind of a loss with Sirius. Another pang just hit me *sniff*

The image of Harry playing with Teddy was so adorable, and Ginny knitting a hat for him was very Mrs.Weasley-and-Harry's-Christmas-sweaters-ish! Loved loved loved it! And seeing the whole family together for Christmas, it's just how I imagined the post-war Weasley's to be. And Molly is still the glue sticking them all together, isn't she?

The closing paragraph showed us how mature Harry had become... Despite the fact that the losses of the loved ones was hanging over them especially during the holiday season, Harry drawing inspiration from baby Teddy's happiness is so sweet! Great job!

XOXO
Ysh

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jayna Chapter 1

4th March 2016:
For the HPFF Review-A-Thon!

Hello Ineke! As one of the now three people sponsoring this review-a-thon, I thought it might be nice if at least some of the reviews were for you. So yeah, here I am!

Now I'm all in the holiday spirit, even though it's March now and will be over 9 months before the holiday season comes again. :p

One thing I noticed was that your third sentence seems to be a run-on one. I would definitely suggest separating it into two or three sentences instead of a single one that's almost the entire paragraph.

Aww man, here I was, getting into the holiday spirit and now I'm reminded of Fred's death :p I definitely like the contrast you've set up between the happiness of everyone else and the sadness of the Weasley's. It helps emphasize that this is the first Christmas after the war, but that it's also the first Christmas without Fred.

I also really liked the exchange at the beginning between Harry and Ginny. The brevity and simplicity made it all the more poignant and it helped make the whole thing feel more realistic. In general, I think that was a strength of this chapter overall. It felt so simplistic and reflective that it really helped get the point you were making across.

Overall, super sweet story and although it started off sad, it ended with me smiling at my screen. I think my favorite part wasn't really a part per say, but just the message you were trying to convey. Great job on this!

-Jayna

 Report Review

Review #6, by The Christmas Elf Chapter 1

23rd December 2015:
Hello Ineke

This was such a heartbreaking story. We always think of Christmas as a happy time, and it is of course, but for some it's also a sad time. Being with all of your family, you can't help but think of those who aren't there, but who should've been. I lost my grandfather the 28th of December a few years ago, and for my family Christmas is happy and sad at the same time, just like it is for the Weasleys.

My heart was definitely breaking for them. It must be hard when you lose someone so close, and then it's the happiest day of the year and you just can't feel happy, not truly because you've lost someone close to you. You capture this sad feeling, that is almost like when you're lost and unable to find your way back, so well. So good job!

But then Teddy enters, and things get better. It's crazy because it was somewhat the same for us. The year after grandfather died was actually my little sister's first Christmas, so we all made an effort to seem happier than I suppose we were because we had to make her happy. And that is what happens here as well. Teddy spreads joy and love, but they can't quite forget, and they shouldn't either, their loss. So it's just a happy-sad feeling, and you portrayed it well!

I was happy to see the relationship between Harry and Ginny. I actually love the two of them together, but I rarely read about them in stories. I don't know why, but I guess it's because I feel like no one can really write them like Rowling does. But you write them after the series has ended, at a time when they would be different from how they are in the earlier books, and I love how supporting Harry is. You can tell that they are in love, and it just makes me happy to see.

Also, I like the last sentence "it really was a joyful time", because I feel like it shows that none of them expected to be happy, but Teddy's helped them have a good time time despite their loss and how sad they really are. It was a really good ending to a really good story!

I hope you have a happy Christmas!

- The Christmas Elf

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jutta Chapter 1

21st December 2015:
Beautiful! I'm going to check if you have written other stories :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by The Basilisk Chapter 1

20th December 2015:
Hiss Hiss, guess who? The Basilisk, with a review.

This was a sweet little fic. I liked your portrayal of Harry and Ginny, even Ron, and the way they got through the first Christmas after the War. Loses are hard, and yet they're slowly learning to smile again, it is touching. I liked how little Teddy brought happiness with him and slowly everybody is starting to move on. The "it gets easier" conversation is very real.

All in all, beautiful little moment captured well in your writing. I had a good time reading it. Happy Holidays!

Hiss Hiss
The Basilisk

 Report Review

Review #9, by Marshal Chapter 1

14th December 2015:
This was a nice and sweet story. I like how you brought Teddy into the picture. It is true that a baby can distract one from a lot of things and he was exactly what everyone needed. He was also cute and adorable. You did a very nice job with the story.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ravenclaw_princess Chapter 1

9th December 2015:
How can I not read a Christmas story for the Ravenclaw Christmas gift exchange :)

The first Christmas after lose must be so hard. Christmas time is filled with tradition which makes the lose of someone at this time so much harder because all the things you always used to do will never be the same again. As much as they all want to be happy, it's hard for each of them in their own way, but at least they all tried to get into the Christmas spirit.

Then enter Teddy. It was pretty cool how he picked all of their spirits up a little bit so they could give him a wonderful first Christmas and also begin new Christmas traditions for the next generation. Harry's interaction with Teddy was extremely cute and I have to say I totally agreed with stuffed animals as a gift. I don't think I will ever grow out of them.

I would recommend getting a beta reader to check over this. It will help with some of the sentence structure which was a bit wordy at times, ie this sentence
"Though while many people were celebrating the fact that Christmas had arrived, whether it'd be because of the fact that they would receive presents, enjoy the company of family, or would be able for the first time in years to just enjoy the festivity without war looming over their heads, the oppucants of the Burrow were not in Christmas spirits."

Would read better along this lines "While many people were celebrating the arrival of Christmas, whether it be for the presents, the company of family, or to enjoy the festivities for the first time in years without the war looming over their heads, the occupants of the Burrow were not feeling the Christmas spirit."

While they all seemed to dread Christmas at the beginning, when the day arrived (and especially when Teddy arrived), they all seemed to relax and enjoy themselves. No doubt they missed those that weren't there, but rather than dwelling on what couldn't be changed, they made new memories.

This was a lovely little story and while quite sad at the beginning, I loved how everyone's spirits lifted and they managed to have an enjoyable day. Well done.

Merry Christmas
Jacqui

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login