Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Fortunate Ones
  
64 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HPheadgirl Chapter 6

12th May 2017:
My goodness, what an AMAZING story. So heart-breaking and sad though. WOW.

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much!! I'm sorry for the feels, but I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it! This is probably one of my favorites that I've written, even though it totally broke my heart, too.

Thank you for reading it and for reviewing!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #2, by HPheadgirl Chapter 1

12th May 2017:
Hmmm... You know, it's quite ironic, I was JUST thinking that there are boy-girl and boy-boy shippings, but no girl ones! AWESOME!

Author's Response: There really isn't enough F/F pairings around, and they're some of my favorites. I'm glad you happened to stop by this story! This one is really special and personal to me, so I hope you like it!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #3, by Toni Chapter 6

28th January 2017:
Oh wow. Brilliant sorry. I am now sitting with tears flowing down my face. Your Mary was brilliant. I loved the connection with the DH. Wonderfully written.

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! Mary became very dear to me while writing this, so I'm super thrilled that you enjoyed the portrayal of her here. ♥

If it makes you feel better, I cried while writing it, too. ;)

Thank you again for the sweet review and kind words. I truly appreciate it!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #4, by Felpata Lupin Chapter 6

22nd October 2016:
HPFT Team Werewolf Review!

Hi, Meg! How are you, my love?
I'm profiting of the event to keep in touch with stories... hope that's fine... :P Also, I'll try to review as I read, dunno what will happen. Bear with me if this comes out completely disconnected...

Okay, forget what I just said, I had to read it all in one go. And now I am just so... what have yoy done to my poor heart, Meg? I have tears in my eyes, I can't even...

The first bit, their final confrontation, was so harsh. But I suppose it couldn't be different. And I can't blame Mary for her anger and for feeling like Lily had only used her. So sad, but so believable and relatable at the same time. And I'm glad she realized how much she loved Reg at least, and that she decided to confide in him and that he was so supportive. I had no doubt he would be, of course.

I can't even begin to imagine what it must be like to discover from a newspaper that a person you've loved has died. Even worse, that dear friends have been killed betrayed by another dear friend. I could feel the panic, the confusion, the pain. You wrote it so perfectly, so beautifully, so heart-breakingly. And it's even worse to read it knowing the truth, but that's another matter...

And the funeral... did I do anything wrong to you, Meg? Why do you hate me that much? Why do you have to kill me with all the feelings? *cries* I feel so broken for everyone. Especially my poor Remus (I know that's not the main focus, but you know me...) How hard must it have been for him? Believing Sirius had betrayed them? He lost everything that night and I just want to hug him tight and never let go.

And Mary's words to Lily... I don't even know how to comment on that... So perfect, so heartbreaking. (Yes, I know I already said that a lot, but what else could I say?)

This was incredible, you are incredible, and I loved every single bit of this story, as painful as it was to read.

Love you!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #5, by victoria_anne Chapter 6

9th October 2016:
*takes deep breath*

*takes another because not ready no sirree uh why is this over*

*wah*

AHHH I'M JUST GOING TO SPEW FEELS.

Well hot damn I just love this story. I love Mary. I love how much she loves Lily. I usually don't really like reading first person stories but you've sucked me into Mary's POV so well I'm hanging onto every word.

*splutters* I mean, I'm so heartbroken that Mary is heartbroken but also kind of glad like she is that she has that closure, ya know? I think one of the appeals of this story is that it's just so real and raw. I even had goosebumps when Mary read the paper.

THIS: Sirius Black may not have physically ended Remusí life, but he sure as hell killed him. MY HEART.

AND THIS: It was a shame that when I finally gathered the courage to have it, she could no longer hear it.

Man I had to hold back tears. What a rollercoaster. Congratulations on finishing! I hope you're extremely proud of what you've written here, because you should be. It's an incredible story, by an incredible person. Thank you for writing it ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan Chapter 6

9th October 2016:
SEE ALL THE SHARDS ON THE FLOOR? THOSE WERE MY HEART. until you broke it with this chapter.

Their confrontation in Lily's house was... well, it was painful, but at the same time it felt so necessary. Mary couldn't possibly have gone on with all that unsaid, and I don't think Lily realized how strongly Mary had been affected by their breakup. It was important for both of them, to be honest with each other, even if it meant reopening really old wounds. And at the time it was sort of like closure for Mary.

I do like that it helped her redefine her relationship with Reg, and how she realized that everything she craved from Lily and had never received were things Reg gave unconditionally - I think it helped Mary realize she sort of took him for granted, and that was also really important. He is a nice guy and I like that Mary finally appreciated him. I especially love that Mary was able to tell him about her history with Lily - she allows herself to be vulnerable and stop hiding, and Reg was supportive of her and makes her feel loved.

And that was the last time I'd ever seen Lily Evans. Well, the last time I'd seen her alive. -- UGH just when I'm annoyed at Lily you drop THIS line. *SOBBING*

shackled and dressed in Azkabanís finest -- I know it shouldn't but this made me chuckle. Like, stripes are all the rage right now.

It was comforting to see that they hadn't managed to flatten his hair and it was just as ruffled and wind blown as always. -- this kills me. KILLS ME.

aaahh, her final conversation with Lily when it was too late... there are actual tears in my eyes right now. I have so many feels about this. I personally do think that Lily always did care about Mary, though probably not to the extent that Mary loved Lily, and not in the same way. And the fact that Mary only realizes it when it's too late, and their friendship has already fallen apart... that just makes it sadder. Just the thought that it turned out how it did when there could maybe have been a chance for them to reconcile, just breaks my heart. Yeah, it would have taken time and a lot of work, but. ugh. At the same time, they just didn't have a lot of time, and they spent most of it not talking to one another because it hurt too much (at least in Mary's case). Now I wonder what Lily's reason was. Because she wasn't thinking about Mary? Or because she knew Mary was hurt/not over her, and wanted to tread lightly and not bring up heartbreak for Mary again by being around her? Either way is sad. :(

this chapter broke my heart, even though I knew what was coming. But I loved it. I think that sentiment applies to the story as a whole, as well. I honestly loved this story so much, right from the very beginning. This was such a wonderful portrayal of these two girls, and through the lens of a ship I've never seen in any other story. It's so full of emotion and so real and so devastating. This is some of your most beautiful writing and you should be so proud. Congratulations on finishing the story!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by maraudertimes Chapter 4

18th September 2016:
Hel-Lo! Get it? Haha, I amuse myself sometimes! I am back to review away! :P

I'm very glad that Mary has Remus. It's very sad to read about how she's dealing with everything, retreating in on herself. But at least she has Remus to kind of knock some sense into her and not to take no for an answer! It's also really cute how they acknowledge that while they were dating they both had feelings for a same-gender friend that they ended up being with at the same time also. It kinda makes the whole 'figuring out who you are' quite realistic! And I love how they're technically each others support system.

Also, I feel so bad for Mary. Hindsight is 20/20 and I've totally been in that exact situation. It's always horrible to look back on something and pinpoint exactly what went wrong, even if you didn't realize it in the moment. The fact that it's about someone she loves just makes it even more heartbreaking. :(

And the scene with Lily! I absolutely can't. I just cannot. That's totally and absolutely heartbreaking. I understand wanting closure, but it physically pained me to read that scene. And the fact that Lily has fallen for James (even though she denies it) makes it even more devastating. Honestly, I think the holding hands might make it harder for Mary to let go, but I understand she needed comfort.

This chapter is so heartbreaking, I can't believe it! It brings me back to times like these, and although I love this story, and I love your writing, darn I wish I hadn't read this because *emotions*. But I'm also glad I read it because it's an amazing chapter. I loved the little quip about not wishing the feeling even on Snape - it shows just how devastated Mary is and also places light on just how much of a wonderful person she truly is.

I really loved this chapter and I'm so excited for the next one! Hopefully it doesn't breka my heart like this one :P
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by maraudertimes Chapter 3

1st September 2016:
I'm backkk! :)

This is a really cool thing to think of. I've never thought of a Mary/Lily scenario, but I really liked how you wrote it. It's almost as if they're friends, just exploring their sexuality with each other as they grow up. I know that to Mary that's not what it is, but to me, it seems like that's what it is for Lily. However, this does happen in a different time, so perhaps she did just want to keep things quiet because of the way people would treat her. Either way, this spells disaster for Mary's heart. :(

Oh goodness, the Slytherin boys are up to no good. It's absolutely awful what happened to her! No one should be so discriminated against! And Severus was also part of it because of what he saw? That's what I was talking about when I mentioned how people would treat them. But honestly, if he truly loved Lily he would want her to be happy! He wouldn't attack the girl that Lily is currently kissing goodnight!

Oh goodness. Here it is. The beginning of the end of Lily and Mary. 'James'. That one word and I already know what's about to happen. Mary is about to have her heart broken and Lily is about to realize her feelings for James.

This is such a good story and I'm so hooked. I'll come back and finishing reviewing soon (currently quite late where I am), but honestly, this is one of the best marauders fics I've seen that doesn't immediately start with Jily. And I love Jily. And even I love this Mary/Lily. So this is a big deal!

Again, great job Meg!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by maraudertimes Chapter 2

1st September 2016:
Hello! Here for the gift tag!

OMG!!! Okay, I loved how you introduced the concept of puberty and everyone changing, as it really help cement the fact that they are no longer children and have in fact grown up. Also, the little quip about Mary and Remus having a thing was a really smart way to introduce the fact that Remus has feelings for Sirius, so really good job weaving that into the story seamlessly.

I wish Mary could've told Remus as well. If only so that she has someone to talk to about her feelings and he has someone to relate to. But alas! I also would like to point out how strange but also how real it was that Mary seemed to just accept Remus's feelings and not her own. It resonated as a bit of internalized bi-phobia and, although that makes me sad, it's also a very real thing that many people deal with.

Oh goodness! Not the changing scene! Of course this would happen :P But I've done almost that exact same thing with friends, just not that last part. It really isn't an issue to girls who aren't necessarily super attracted to their friends, so I can understand why Lily wouldn't have a problem with it at first but Mary would.

Oh that kiss! I'm not sure if I'm happy for this or not because Mary did say she was fortunate to have been loved by Lily at some point, I just know that it won't be forever and I don't want Mary to get hurt. Oh Mary, Mary, Mary... :(

This is amazing and I'm definitely going to keep reading at some point (I have so much work these next few weeks but I'll be back soon!).
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by SunshineDaisies Chapter 1

17th August 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the gift tag thread!

I've been meaning to read this for ages, and I'm glad I finally got a chance to! I absolutely love the idea of Mary and Lily having some sort of romantic relationship, I think it adds so much to both of their characters! This is my feminist coming out, but Lily's story and character arc revolves so heavily around men it's like a splash of cold water to see her relationships with other women explored.

This was an excellent start to this story! I love how Mary is immediately infatuated (like, who wouldn't be honestly), but also seems a bit confused about her feelings. Certainly something an eleven year old would experience. Especially a muggleborn in the 70s.

You've also done an excellent job of introducing Mary. I've got a really solid picture of her, and she already seems tangible; even though we've only seen this short scene! I think one's first trip to Hogwarts and their sorting is such a crucial part of development. You can learn so much about a character by how they react to the castle. ("like something out of a fantasy novel." I lol'd.)

I'm super excited to see how this story progresses and how Lily's relationships develop throughout. Like really, I'm bouncing in my seat trying to piece out how Mary might play into Lily's relationships with James and Snape and what their own relationship is going to be and like

Meg

You have written this for my soul I swear.

 Report Review

Review #11, by victoria_anne Chapter 5

14th August 2016:
Oh no! The last one you have posted! I hope the final (still wah) chapter comes up soon!

Hm, Peter and Mary is interesting. I like that they've become friends, even if it was through mutual sadness.

Pulling this out because it's hilarious: Lily and James were busy publicly inspecting each otherís bodies in the common room. Bahahaha

OH WAIT.

Does she become Mary Cattermole?! Meg that is BRILLIANT!! What an awesome twist to include!
Argh but you can't leave it there! How does it end?!

Love it love it love it!

♥ B

 Report Review

Review #12, by victoria_anne Chapter 4

14th August 2016:
WOLFSTAR 5EVAAA ♥

*ahem*

Aw you've actually made me a bit angry at James, ha ha! I'm reading about poor Mary and thinking, "Just go away James GOSH!"

Oh and man I love Remus. Isn't he just the sweetest thing, ever?!

Okay Lily, you didn't just break Mary's heart - you broke mine as well!! :'(
You write their emotions incredibly well, everything feels so raw and real and haunting. This story is amazing. You're amazing.

Love B

 Report Review

Review #13, by victoria_anne Chapter 3

14th August 2016:
I'm enjoying this so so much, Meg. I absolutely love the Mary you've created. She loves so fiercely and deeply and (even though I said this in the last review) I really do love the way she sees Lily. It's so gorgeous.

And they have this little relationship! I love that! I love that they're able to experiment with each other, I think that's an important part of, well life, really.

But again, my heart goes out to Mary to love this girl so much but know that they're not actually together.

ARGH OH NO POOR MARY! I can't believe those boys would do that! But an attack on Mary was mentioned in the memory in book 5, if I recall correctly? (Awkies if not) I love that you included that little canon info though, and the situation around it, however horrible it is.

What another amazing chapter Meg. This ship is incredibly new to me, but I'm loving it the more I read.

♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by victoria_anne Chapter 2

14th August 2016:
Hey Meg!

I started reading this a while back, and I'm returning to it after a shamefully long time *hides*

Ah, the joys of growing into your body and self. I sympathise with Mary. I like how you put Remus through a similar thing, and that Mary is able to understand what he's going through as well. I also like how you included her feelings of jealousy, I feel that's a realistic thing to go through with the friends of the person you have feelings for.

Oooh Mary's got it bad!! But I adore seeing Lily through her eyes, it's beautiful.

OH THAT KISS! Omggg so romantic my heart is going to burst!!! Ahh!

Beautiful writing as always Meg! See you at the next chapter! ♥

 Report Review

Review #15, by krazyboutharryginny Chapter 2

11th May 2016:
Hi Meg! Here for our swap! :)

I can't believe I'm so far behind on this story! I need to catch up as soon as I'm done my Golden Paws reading and voting!

I really liked this chapter! It was so heartbreaking at the beginning, how Mary felt like there must be something wrong with her. It wasn't really surprising, but it was definitely sad. I'm really hoping that these events with Lily will help Mary see that there's nothing wrong with her at all!

I'm actually quite surprised by how much happened between them just in this one chapter! Based on the last chapter and the title, I was expecting a cute, chaste little kiss, maybe as a dare or something! I certainly wasn't expecting this! I'm really wondering where the two of them will go from here, and I'm so eager to keep reading and find out!

Also, omg! Remus and Sirius! Omg. I squealed a little. I love it!

This is another really great chapter, Meg! This story is awesome and I'm enjoying it a lot! :D I'll be back ASAP to continue reading!

Lots of love,
Kayla

 Report Review

Review #16, by TreacleTart Chapter 5

12th April 2016:
Hey Meg!

Here for our review swap! Ugh! Why do you do this to me? Why must you smash my heart to a pulp? Why can't Mary and Lily just have a happy ending?

So I really love that Peter and Mary become friends through their sadness. I really think that that's how some of the best friendships are formed. You can tell that they sort of understand each other in ways that the others don't.

One thing that I found really interesting in this is that I didn't actually hate Peter. He's one character that I can pretty much never really stand. This is maybe the first time that I thought he actually came across as kind and sympathetic. Kudos for that.

I think it's so bittersweet to see Mary end up with Reg. He's clearly so infatuated with her and while I'm glad to see how well he treats her, I also feel pretty bad for him. He's sort of getting the raw end of the deal here. He's got a woman who cares for him, maybe tolerates him at time, but who doesn't feel a spark with him. She settles with him because he's the safe choice, but in the long run, she won't be happy for it. It's a shame for both of them.

I definitely wanted to shake Mary when she made that comment about Peter and Lupin not being attractive. What an unkind thing to say to one's own friends, especially when they're trying to cheer her up/care for her.

I really like where you left off with this chapter. It's just the right amount of suspense and tension. I can't wait to see what happens and how things end with the two of them.

Thanks for a lovely read!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #17, by Felpata Lupin Chapter 5

20th March 2016:
I didn't notice you had a new chapter of this... I had to stop by here!!!

Wow, this was just stunning!!! You broke my feelings here, hon... What have you done?

Poor Mary... I'm so terribly sorry for her... As much as I adore James and Lily together, I'm sort of hating them for what they're doing to her right now... Well, actually that's not true... Like Mary said, you just can't hate James Potter!

So Mary McDonald is Mary Cattermole! Kristin did that in one of her stories... I love it!!! Reg seems such a sweetheart! Mary needs someone like him by her side! I hope she'll learn to really love him with time, I'm sure she will. Wish she'd been honest with him, though. He would've understand... But maybe it's better that way... I suppose he might've been hurt if she told him she still loved her...

Anyway... I really like that you brought in Peter. I guess they would bond over their feeling of loneliness... I really liked it! Poor Remus and Peter, though. They were trying to be there for her and she was so nasty to them. But I guess sometimes you hurt the people who love you without wanting to, when you are hurt yourself.

I'm curious and a bit scared to know what will happen during this encounter. You already told us it's not going to end well... I'm preoccupied... Kind, a lot... Wish I could jump into your story and hug Mary tightly! The poor girl...

Great chapter! Really, brilliant! Loved it so much!

Thank you so much for swapping, love!!!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #18, by MuggleMaybe Chapter 2

6th March 2016:
Back again for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

This chapter is SO. CUTE. The experiences are so new for Mary and Lily, and the excitement of this discovery and the shift between them really works. It's not sugary sweet by any means. I think the structure your using, with Mary remembering things more broadly and then diving into a scene, lends the story a sense of somber reflection that keeps the eventual end in my mind while I'm reading. It also helps that Lily is written so well here - you've really captured the essence of her personality as portrayed by JKR. With your own awesome spin, of course ;)

Your language is very evocative. I tried to figure out exactly *why*, so I could point to that strength, but I can't find anywhere to point. I just want to take the chapter as a whole and hand it to you and say "this is magnificent." You weave the world of the story flawlessly - I can picture every moment without even having to try.

Awesome writing, Meg *wub*

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #19, by MuggleMaybe Chapter 1

6th March 2016:
Hi Meg! I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

I have been meaning to review this story for ages. What a brilliant ship - I don't know why this isn't written more!

I love how tangible Mary's emotions are in this. There's that lovely, fluttery sense of desire, but tempered by confusion because she doesn't understand what's going on. I got butterflies right along side her, but it was sad because she feels like there's something wrong with her feelings. I like that you made her a Muggleborn, because it gives her instant common ground with Lily.

I know others have probably said this already, but I think Sorting scenes are hard to write in an original way. You did a great job with it though, because you made it about the characters rather than about the Sorting itself.

I'm already loving this!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter 5

18th February 2016:
Poor, poor Mary! I feel so bad for her. I just want to hold her close and hug her and tell her it will be alright, even if it won't. Broken hearts are definitely the worst. I want to know what happens next though. Will that be in the next chapter? Or will you skip ahead again? You seem to be skipping ahead in each chapter so I wouldn't be surprised if the next chapter is about James and Lily's wedding, or even James and Lily having Harry.

I must say though I was surprised you added the twist of Mary being with Reginald Cattermole! That would be really interesting if that is the smae Mary we see in Deathly Hallows, but I don't think we really have any way of knowing. But we do know Reg has a wife named Mary who's muggle born so there's always that possibility!

I hope the last chapter will be up soon! I can't wait to see how this ends, even though it's so sad and I doubt it will have a happy ending at this point but one can only hope.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #21, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter 4

18th February 2016:
Meg! This is such a sad chapter! I mean I knew it was coming... but wow. I feel so sorry for Mary to lose the one person she wanted to be with most. I'm so glad Remus was able to get through to her though and help her realize her situation before she really did explode from keeping all her emotions in. He's so sweet, that Remus.

And I'm glad she finally confronted Lily and now knows the truth. I'm very curious as to what is going to happen in the next chapter. I do hope Mary managed to find happiness in the future, someone who is willing to take the risks Lily wasn't. I'll definitely be reading on tonight to finish up these Hot Seat reviews!

Anyway, great chapter!
xxNix

 Report Review

Review #22, by victoria_anne Chapter 1

17th February 2016:
Hello there!

First of all, the banner and the chapter images are simply gawjus!

Ha ha aw look how early the toe-rag insult started! I love how you've written the world of magic shiny and new, through the eyes of an eleven year old. It's refreshing.

I can't wait to see how the relationships play out between the characters, especially Mary and Lily!

 Report Review

Review #23, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter 3

16th February 2016:
Back again with more Hot Seat reviews!

I love that Lily discovers the Room of Requirement! Especially the room where everyone hides everything! We never know for sure if the Marauders knew of the room's existence or simply could not plot it on the map, but I think it's interesting how you've incorporated that Lily instead had found the room, especially one that would play such a important part in Harry's time at Hogwarts.

Oh no! Severus, how could you? I guess it's true that the hate between them was mutual. Even more so on Severus' end if he saw Lily and Mary kissing. Because now he knows someone who's not him had snogged Lily.

I wonder if Lily knows Mary is lying. I wonder if she ever learns that Severus was one of the people who hexed Mary. Oh no! Is the scene where Severus calls Lily a mudblood coming up!? Sounds like it is. Oh, I can't wait to read it!

Great chapter, Meg!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter 2

16th February 2016:
Hi Meg! I am finally back with more Hot Seat Reviews!

I really enjoyed this chapter. I like how you open it by discussing Mary McDonald going through puberty and realizing the changes that are happening with her body and others. I also enjoyed the turmoil she has over being attracted to both sexes. I think it's a really realistic portrayal of any bisexual character could go through at any point at Hogwarts, especially the older generations like the Marauders where something like that may have been more uncommon and possibly frowned upon. And when puberty hits, most teenagers can't help but want to fit in and be like everyone else and when they aren't it can be very confusing and troubling for that person.

Mary and Remus had a fling! That's so cute! But of course, Remus loves Sirius. Although I do wonder is Sirius knows Remus loves Sirius? Or is he also hiding that fact like Mary is about Lily? I'm sad that Mary doesn't tell Remus about her own feelings though! Maybe it wouldn't bother her so much if she had one person to talk to about her feelings, who understands what she's going through. But maybe she was afraid to tell him because he's good friends with James who everyone knows is infatuated with Lily.

I find it interesting though that she sees Severus as a threat. Maybe because he was Lily's friend before she even met her. Or maybe because she thinks Severus might actually have a chance with her since Lily doesn't hate him the way she does James.

And they kissed! Ack! That's so exciting! I'm so excited for Mary! Even though I know she doesn't end up with Lily in the end, but still! She knows Lily has thought about kissing her, and now has trumped Snape by having kissed her!

I can't wait to read on to the next chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan Chapter 5

16th February 2016:
Can't believe no one's reviewed this yet. I saw you'd updated while I was travelling and I had unreliable wifi so didn't have a chance to read until just now and let me tell you OMG YOU ARE BREAKING. MY. HEART.

First, Mary is descending into depression and gah my heart aches for her because I can relate to her so well and it's not a fun place to be. AND THEN she becomes friends with Peter, and I already know this is going to break my heart later because this is Peter we're talking about, uggghhh. I absolutely dread what's going to happen later in their friendship. But for the moment, it makes a lot of sense. Mary feels forgotten as the love of her life just moves on and is happy, and Peter is without a doubt the forgotten Marauder, and they can bond over that. But really Meg WHY DO YOU DO THIS. I HOPE YOU HAVE SUPERGLUE FOR MY HEART (how am i less than 3 paragraphs in to this chapter and having this reaction already)

Omg also thank you for writing my headcanon in here in that Peter had a crush on James. !! I have always thought that he hung around because he had a crush on one of the other boys, but was in the closet.

ALSO MY HEADCANON ABOUT MARY MACDONALD AND CATTERMOLE BEING THE SAME PERSON!!! I once wrote a whole one-shot about her and Reg! AHH it's just so cool to see things in my head appear in someone else's story! WOAH. Great minds think alike? SORRY JUST REALLY EXCITED

Reg, in this story, seems like what Mary needs at the time, but I also get the feeling that he's kind of a rebound for her as basically the opposite of Lily. She seems bored with him sometimes as she compares him to the vivacity of Lily, and it makes me wonder if Mary and Reg were ever happy or if she just stayed with him out of habit.

Wedding invite - yeah, I can see how that would crush her soul. And I don't think Lily means to rub it in. As Mary points out after her initial upset about it, I think it's so that Mary doesn't just find out through the grapevine. And Peter and Remus visiting soon after, that was a really tough moment. By this point, given what she said about not telling Reg about her sexuality before and also how she lashed out at Remus and Peter in a really immature way, she seems like she's afraid to show her true self at all, not to anyone. She's so vulnerable here and it's evident in how she won't open up to her current partner about something so important to her, and how she's tense like a coiled rattlesnake that will jump out and bite if you try to get too close to it.

Oh, James. I love his innocence. I wonder if Lily ever told James about herself and Mary - I assume she didn't, given that she broke off with Mary because she was ashamed. So James just sees Mary as an old friend who he cares about, he's all smiles, and doesn't realize how much she's cracking under the surface. He very much embodies 'ignorance is bliss' in that scene.

GAH SHE'S ABOUT TO GO MEET WITH LILY. It's gonna hurt. So is whatever happens with Peter. So is this whole fic. But I love it sooo much, Meg, this is really an amazing story. I've been recommending it all over the place :P and having read a lot of your earlier work, To Prevent and SSS, this one is like, miles ahead in terms of writing maturity and powerful-ness. basically, I can see your progression as a writer and this is absolutely some of your best work.

you know i'll be back for the next chapter. with heaps of glue for my inevitable broken heart, or duct tape as everyone knows it can fix everything

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>