Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Afterlife
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Felpata Lupin Gelastic

21st January 2016:
Hi, Dee! I'm back! :D
First of all, I love the "word of the day" idea! Just great! I like Giles a lot!

Instead I really don't like Professor Savage... I didn't really like him in the first chapter either, even if he appeared for just a moment. I'm curious to know if there's more about him that we should know...

Professor Pinkton seems cool! :) And giggling potions seem a good way to start the term!
Binns' lessons are always so boring... But it's always fun to read about those.

I loved this chapter! So funny! Amazing job, as always! :D

Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Coccydynia

19th January 2016:
Okay 1) I LOVE Max and Giles. They're hilarious.

2) I was NOT expecting Remus and Tonks so soon! Oh my Gosh!! What is Teddy going to do?! And I was also not expecting the feels at seeing them again... How can you just leave me hanging like this Deee?!

I'M GOING TO NEED THE NEXT CHAPTER NOW PLZ.

NO really. DEE WHY ISN'T IT UP YET?!? (okay I'm slightly kidding, I know you're busy. But still).

Also how DARE you get me completely addicted to another of your stories?! ♥

Well done lovely!

PLZ update soon! *squishes*

 Report Review

Review #3, by Felpata Lupin Fidius Achates

19th January 2016:
Hi, Dee!
Here for your Hot Seat! (yes, I know, I'm super late... I'm sorry...)

I saw this on your AP ages ago and it always intrigued me but I never got the chance to stop and read, so I'm happy to have an excuse to be here now! ;)

And I must say, I loved this chapter!!!
Apart from the writing in itself (I love your descriptions. You make us see the scene so precisely without heaving the flow or making the writing too elaborate. How do you do it?) I just adore what you have so far!

I particularly loved the Puffstatic-ness of the chapter! For some reason I never write Puffs... I'll add it to my to-do list. :P Anyway, I love the three friends. They seem so funny together, and you can tell that they are very close! And I loved your description of the CR! I could feel the warmth of it! I want to be there!!!

I think I need to leave you know, but I will be back (hopefully soon). Thanks for the lovely reading!
Many hugs and much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Slubberdegullions

19th January 2016:
!! Dun dun DUN! I was wondering when Teddy would stumble across the ring! The plot thickens! Ooh, I wonder how long it's going to take him to realize what it is, and what will happen once he uses it! I know there will be a whole lot of other things going on between now and then, but I'm excited for all of it!

Teddy and Victoire are SO in love. At least that's what I'm reading into it. :P And I can actually understand both sides of their argument - I think the only reason their emotions got so caught up in it is because they're secretly in love. Or at least that's what I'm going to tell myself! XD

Savage really does sound like an AWFUL professor, but at least Teddy's detention is with Hagrid and not someone else!

Once again, you've got a very 'original series' feel here that I absolutely love, and I can not WAIT to see where things go from here!

Well done, as usual, and I'm off to Chapter 4 now!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Gelastic

19th January 2016:
Teehee! Oh no Teddy! Not on the first day of class! Oh my gosh, he seemed SO much like Tonks right there! ♥ That was absolutely hilarious! But seriously, not on the first day, Teddy!

Again, this feels SO much like the series to me - reading about the classes, the friends... GAH! You could be starting your own Teddy spinoff series here! It's incredible! And as soon as I finish writing this review, this is going in my favorites! HOW do you manage to do that in only 2 chapters, Dee?!? TELL ME YOUR SECRET!

Annnd I think that's all I have to say for now because I needs more! :P

Well done dear!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Fidius Achates

19th January 2016:
DEE! Hello there dear! I'm sorry I'm a day or two late with this, but HAPPY HOT SEAT! *Squishes*

Okay, so I knew I loved Seized... but I was still not expecting you to have me hooked in the first chapter of this story! I mean STAHP being such an amazing author already!! :P

This had such a "Philosopher's Stone" feel to it - and by that I mean that you managed to capture all the magic and mystery that I felt the first time reading about Harry travelling to Hogwarts. Even though this is definitely not the first time I'm reading about a start-of-term feast or people returning to Hogwarts, it really felt that way! I can already tell this is going to be just as epic and just as addicting as Seized is!

I think you've got a great little Trio set up here, and I loved the hints at Teddy/Victoire, I'm really curious as to how that will turn out. And reading your description of the Hufflepuff Common Room really made ME feel like I was at home, too!

Very intriguing first chapter dear! And now, if you'll excuse me.. I believe there are 3 more chapters I need to go read! ♥

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Coccydynia

16th January 2016:
Haha, extended Weasley family pranks. I bet George is so proud Fred's legacy is continuing with Freddie being such a joker. I'm glad Vic and Teddy put their fight behind them, and of course any scene wirh Giles and Max is fun to read. But of course, most of all i am excited about the end of the chapter! So Teddy has discovered the resurrection stone, and Lupin and Tonks materialised right in front of him. Ahh - it's really interesting as a reader because I'm happy to see Tonks and Remus again and meeting their son and just - this is so lovely, except I know what happens if you spend too long with the stone, and I know Harry would have wasted so much of his life in front of he mirror or Erised if Dumbledore hadnt told him not to. I know that important and exciting things are just about to happen and I cannot wait for the next chapter. This is such a great story!

 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan Slubberdegullions

16th January 2016:
Dee! Hi, I'm here for your hot seat and I am SO excited to be returning to this story. I must apologise in advance though for the quality of the review as I'm travelling and therefore writing this on my phone - I will try to catch all my typos but they do slip through!

So anyway, this is a great chapter and your characters continue to be entertaining. Poor Teddy, being mediocre at tranfiguration despite being a metamorphmagus - people probably expect a lot from him for transfiguration and i imagine he feels like he is disappointing Mcgonagall.

At least he didn't get too bad of a detention. I loved Hagrid's note to him - the 'hey, come round for tea before your detention' kind of hints that it will be pretty low key. :D

Oh no, that conversation with Victoire didn't go so well. I mean, what she said was a bit insensitive, but she didn't mean to hurt him and did okay with making up for it, but Teddy is just snappy and angry. Well, I can't say it's that surprising, given that he's the same age as ANGST HARRY from OotP. :p It kind of makes sense for him to react as he did, and since he and Victoire are so close I think they'll be able to get past that. But it does set up well for Teddy to use the ressurection stone as this conversation is fresh on his mind.

Speaking of which... aah! He found it! How much does he know about what it does, has he ever heard of it? I can't wait to find out!

I will be back later with more hot seat reviews for you, but I may be a bit slow about it due to RL. So, until next time!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Freda_and_Georgina Coccydynia

14th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the Hot Seat!

Since this chapter didn't have any reviews I decided to read all of the chapters and review this one.

I was intriged by the story summary and now that I've reached the point when Teddy sees his parents I'm like ah! I want to hear Remus talk to his son, I want to see Tonks loving Teddy, and I am curious how you're going to go from here. I also am curious how you're going to portray the afterlife; that's something that's going to be very important in this story. I also am looking forward to the conflict you're going to bring in.

Since the past few chapters have mostly been exposition; there's not much I can commment on those besides your fun characterizations. It's always interesting to read another new take on Hogwarts when the NextGen are going there. And Teddy as a Hufflepuff is new to me, usually he's a Gryffimdor because of his father, but then again (assuming Tex Tonks is a Ravenclaw), Teddy is related to someone (almost) every house.

Enjoy your hot seat day!
--Georgina

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ignis the Imp Fidius Achates

3rd January 2016:
Hello there! *cackles wickedly*

I've been hopping around the site looking for stories to read, and yours caught my eye. Exciting summary you've got there. Makes me wonder if we would get to see Tonks and Remus in the later chapters.

I loved your portrayal of Teddy Lupin - sweet, impish (I can recognize a kindred spirit!) and happy - a Hufflepuff through and through.

His relationship with Harry is almost patriarchal (like it should be) and shows Harry is doing an amazing job of being a godfather to Teddy. Its clear how Teddy looks up to him for advice.

Eager to read the other chapters, I'm skipping towards them soon.

Ignis the Imp

 Report Review

Review #11, by Late Late Toy Show Presenter. Fidius Achates

6th December 2015:
Unfortunately, due to time constraints and the sheer number of stories on this archive, I can't offer a review TO EVERYBODY IN THE AUDIENCE, but I do have one to offer you.

Teddy is a little old to take part in our show, at least as a toy demonstrator and too young to appear in the studio audience, but I hope he, and you, have a Merry Christmas. The show, after all, is watched by children and adults of all ages.

Believe me, the Toy Show would tell you all about manic, but I guess Platform 9 3/4s as the students are about to board the train might come close.

"No sooner had he finished appreciating the quiet, a steady stream of students began to filter in from the handful of walls that led to various muggle train stations up and down the country." This sentence seems to be missing a "than" after the word "quiet".

Love the reference to the gillyfish. Always good to hear about different aspects of the wizarding world to the ones the books focus on.

Max seems like a really original and specific character. Classmates of younger characters (I'm not sure Teddy really counts as next gen, as he is actually part of Harry's generation) are often quite generic or repetitions of canon characters. And I LOVE the part about him dying his hair to be like Teddy.

Must have been difficult for Giles' mother to explain Hogwarts to him. I'm sure he'd have had lots of questions and she would only have whatever answers his father had given her.

Hmm, Victoire's about 13 at this point, I guess. Still young for somebody two years older to think of dating. The age gap is closing though.

Poor first years. They might not even know what the feast is. And even worse, with no TV in Hogwarts, they miss out on the Toy Show.

Yeah, betting whether a stranger will or will not end up in a particular house gives the advantage straight off to the person who says no. Three to one against them being in that house.

And I'm intrigued by the man Teddy didn't recognise. I'm guessing he'll be relevant.

Well done on the sorting hat song, by the way. They are NOT easy.

*laughs at Giles* I must admit I assumed he'd just guessed lucky.

Professor Savage, eh? The name makes him even more intriguing.

Oh, I'd assumed it just so happened there were less boys sorted into Hufflepuff Teddy's year. After all, it's highly unlikely, there'd both be exactly a quarter of each year sorted into each house and that that half would be equally divided between boys and girls. But it DOES make sense that less children would be born in the middle of a war. And that also explains both of Teddy's dormmates being Muggle-raised. I suspect the proportion of Muggle born students in his year would be high, since Muggles would be just as likely as ever to have magical children.

Part of the Day Six Advent Calendar event.

 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan Gelastic

19th November 2015:
okay, I'm pretty jealous of Teddy if all he has to do to make his hair look good in the morning is just concentrate on what he wants it to look like. :P

Haha, Giles' word of the day makes me laugh so much! He's kind of like a walking dictionary, which I love for two reasons: 1) it's funny, and 2) it reminds me of the character in Buffy the Vampire Slayer, also named Giles, whom Buffy describes as "a textbook with arms". Did you do that on purpose? :p If not, it's a hilarious coincidence :D

oh and reason 3) it's educational! I love the chapter title - I'd never heard that word before. I feel like if nothing else I should keep following this story just because of the excellent words you choose as chapter titles. :P Then I can convince myself that reading fanfiction is an acceptable way of studying for the grad school entrance exams :p (Haha, don't worry, I'd also keep reading because this is an awesome story ;)

The potions professor sounds great! Though it does make me wonder how anyone ever gets anything done at Hogwarts if they're leaving class still affected by the potion and hiccupping/laughing all the way to their next classes! :p

Oh no, well that wasn't a good first day of Charms :-/ I kind of feel badly for Teddy, but not really. I mean it sucks that he got kicked out of class for the day, but he was kind of being a jerk to the new professor who hadn't really done anything apart from be strict. Ah well. :P I do wonder how it will affect Professor Savage's treatment of Teddy in the future, whether he'll be strict and fair, or strict and holding grudges (like Snape).

A great chapter! Keep up the good work Dee :)

Author's Response: Hello again!

I feel your pain, if only hair was that easy in the morning *sigh*

Alas, that is a hilarious coincidence, I never watched Buffy :p Giles word of the day was a last minute addition but it's really such a pain in my bum researching the words :p

Teddy is at that stage of being a teenager where he is full of teenage-y hormones and him making fun of Professor Savage's ears was just a showing off thing, he does regret it when hindsight kicks in. Silly boy!

I'm so glad you're enjoying this story, I'm pretty excited about it :)

Thank you for another lovely review♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan Fidius Achates

17th November 2015:
Deee ♥ hello! You're writing Next-gen, congrats! :D I must say, your summary is really intriguing and I'm so eager to see how Teddy manages to mess things up by playing with the Resurrection Stone. *evil laugh*

I like the introduction to your characters so far, as well - you've shown little glimpses of their personalities and it seems like they'll be a fun group. Also, I love that they're Hufflepuffs :D

You wrote a Sorting Hat song as well! I'm really impressed, because that can be a hard thing to do. I like it - it seems like it's just off the pages of the books.

I'm really curious about this new Professor Savage. I assume he's an ex-Auror, so probably Defence against the Dark Arts. Why is Neville terrified of him? so much to find out.

even though he had seen pictures of thestrals -- ooh, this just distracted me as I started wondering, what would happen if you took a photograph of a thestral? Would it be a picture of nothing to some people, and a picture of a thestral to others? /tangent Anyway, I'm assuming that Teddy is talking about he's seen drawings of Thestrals, right?

I'm glad I found this story today, it looks like it'll be great and I'm definitely going to watch out for your next update! :)

Author's Response: Kristin! Hi♥ Thank you! I'm really excited about this story, I'm glad you're intrigued :D

I've been dying to write a story with a Hufflepuff main character, now I have one with 3! I adore them, especially Giles :p

The Sorting Hat song was probably the easiest bit of this for me to write, you might have noticed I enjoy poems :p

Professor Savage is such a meanie, he's just one of those people that makes people fear him. Poor Neville :p

Teddy meant drawings of thestrals, maybe I should change that to clarify... I'm totally intrigued about the photograph thing now too!

The next chapter is up now, I hope you like it! Thanks so much for the review *hugs*

Dee


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login