Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
172 Reviews Found

Review #1, by princesslily_36 prologue.

26th April 2017:
Hey there! Here to jailbreak Mel for the CTF!

So, the summary was super interesting, and I'm in love with longer stories (there's just much more awesomeness there don't you think?)

Oohh a whole new wizarding school in UK! This sounds interesting! A Nott building a school? You have me hooked already! This is just so unique I'm squealing in my head. Your narrative simply FLOWS. FLOWS so easily you're painting a picture in my head as I read. I usually review as I read, but you just had me so hooked that I got halfway down tot he chapter and forgot what I wanted to say about the first half. But one thing jumped out at me was the totally wizard-like narration of this whole chapter. The comment on physics, that did it for me! Not being a fan of physics myself I am inclined to take the wizarding world's side in this. I'm more of a potions gal (chemistry ftw!)

Love the description of Leopold Johnes. I can totally picture him working under Percy. Also, is it just me or does Percy suddenly remind me of Arthur?

Ooh so many unanswered questions. Why is it weird? Who is in sixth year? What is in store for everyone? What has Leopold gotten himself into?

This has been a fantabulous read!! I have to come back for more (adds story to reading list!)

Cheers
Ysh!

 Report Review

Review #2, by melian prologue.

26th April 2017:
Hi Elisabeth! That was a really fascinating read!

I had never even thought of other schools in the UK other than Hogwarts. Of course there must be Ė it makes total sense, now I think about it Ė but because we only hear about the big schools (Hogwarts, Beauxbatons etc etc) my brain never even considered the possibility of smaller ones. I think thatís one thing Iím really loving about Capture the Flag, because it opens my mind to parts of the Harry Potter universe I had never even considered. You did this to me with Holyhead, too, so I suspect that the more I read of your works, the better my education on this sort of thing will become.

Anyway. Youíve done a really good job of establishing the sort of place Havershamís is. (Speaking of which, did you choose the name Haversham from Great Expectations? Itís fine if you didnít, but if you did it puts a different kind of sheen on the school, so to speak.) Iím very curious about the two kids in sixth year that poor old Leopold is going to be stuck with, but that will doubtless come up later on.

Speaking of Leopold, youíve done excellent basic character development for him. In fact, you imparted so much information in this first chapter that itís hard to believe itís not much over a thousand words. As a public servant myself I have known many people like him, departmental lackeys who only do whatís asked of them and not a thing more, and are perfectly happy to remain unaware of much of what their employer actually does. Like, managing schools other than Hogwarts, for example. His thirty-five year old self is going to be in for one heck of a culture shock, I imagine.

Great job!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #3, by AbraxanUnicorn epilogue.

4th January 2017:
I've had this story on my reading list for a while now, and I finally took the plunge and started it yesterday.
I confess - it took me a little while to get into it, but once I was in, I felt like I never wanted to exit. What can I say that will do it justice? Everything about this story absolutely rocks, from the originality of the setting, to the beautifully-constructed characters, to the intricate twists and turns within the plot. And you even managed to surprise me in the epilogue by putting Leopold and August together.

It's a masterpiece, it really is.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ImaRavenclaw seventeen.

26th August 2016:
Lucy, yay! She handled that in such a gangster way, I loved it, all of it. This was so good and Iím going to leave it there because I really want to read chapter eighteen.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #5, by ImaRavenclaw sixteen.

26th August 2016:
I see Lysander has started getting into some trouble. Itís a good thing Lucy found him when she did, as that kind of thing happens more often then most people think, and Lys was almost blind drunk. But the descriptions/story in this chapter were/was great, and Iím hurrying over to the next one. Another great chapter!

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #6, by ImaRavenclaw fifteen.

26th August 2016:
Another review for you, the fifteenth one I believe (Öin this story). I really liked this chapter, how Leopold admitted to not pursuing his dreams, and the staff of HWS convinced him to sit his DADA NEWT. So many acronyms in one sentenceÖ Also Harry Potter. Anyways this was a fabulous chapter (again).

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #7, by ImaRavenclaw fourteen.

26th August 2016:
Ahhh, another fabulous Essie chapter. That girl is awesome, even when sheís struggling. I know sheíll get through, sheís strong and she has great friends to help her get through.

Itís great that theyíll all be spending Christmas together! And I think itís really cool how you made Scorpius and Essie cousins. Does that boyfriend happen to be Albus Potter *winks*? You probably didnít even care about who it was though.

Thanks for another fabulous chapter, and Iím telling you: Your story is addicting.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #8, by ImaRavenclaw thirteen.

26th August 2016:
I am going to ignore the fact that I feel super weird right now (the David I mentioned earlier has an older brother named Matthew so I was just like, wacky coincidence). This chapter was definitely hard for David, but at least he has Lorcan, Lys, and Essie. Their friendship/love is really strong and great, I love it.

This wasnít one of the funnier chapters, but it was definitely an important moment in this story. I really loved it very much.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #9, by ImaRavenclaw twelve.

26th August 2016:
Another wonderful chapter, but you know that. It is now six in the morning. In case I havenít mentioned this, I printed this story to read without internet and Iíve penned all these reviews on notebook paper, so basically Iím just typing them up on my laptop and submitting them really fast, I donít have super human fast reading ability. Itís just because my home lacks internet connection.
Happy birthday to Lorcan and Lysander! Theyíre seventeen, yay! That was such a great heart to heart between Luna and Lorcan. I loved how you described the twins grandfather as well, as we know him from the books but not well enough (and heís one of my favourite HP characters, too!). All together this was another great chapter, and I must get to number thirteen now.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #10, by ImaRavenclaw eleven.

26th August 2016:
I think this is my favourite chapter yet. I spent about five minutes unable to cough because I was laughing so hard. Especially when Essie was being nosy about Lorcan and David. So funny. I must get onto chapter twelve before I lose my mind, talk in a bit. ANOTHER PERFECTLY AWESOME AND AMAZING CHAPTER!

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #11, by ImaRavenclaw ten.

26th August 2016:
Wow, everyone is so good at keeping secrets and cool under pressure. Definitely more on Leopold, and Percy and the Ministry. The Ministry is nosy, isnít it? Iím going to go read chapter to eleven now, if youíll excuse me. Another amazing chapter.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #12, by ImaRavenclaw nine.

26th August 2016:
Oh Essie, as blunt as always. That part really made me laugh, especially ďyouíre unnecessary.Ē ha ha. With the wards going up causing some introduction to the younger (excluding Essie) students, which was interesting and good. I love Essieís weird relationship with them, as sheís in a higher year but younger/the same age as most of them. Again, all was very funny and interesting, and I loved it (Iíve probably said that a million timesÖ)

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #13, by ImaRavenclaw eight.

26th August 2016:
Currently crying and wishing I hadnít continued. But this gives a bit of climax to the story, so of course I still like it. Poor David, I feel so bad for him. Especially since sometimes getting yelled at and thrown out is better then their sexual orientation being completely ignored or getting ďfixedĒ. Poor, poor David.

I still loved this chapter so much, as much as the rest of the story. Iím regretting not having continued reading this earlier. Really this whole thing is just fabulous!

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #14, by ImaRavenclaw seven.

26th August 2016:
Awww theyíre so sweet. I knew it, I knew it, I knew it! But the way they are with each other is like an old married couple, and it really is cute. I really love this story so much, thereís just enough humour, dialogue, description, character development, and story line to make it amazing and interesting. I love it so much, and if youíll excuse me I need to go read the next chapter right now.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #15, by ImaRavenclaw six.

26th August 2016:
Oooh, Lysander finds out. Now it is official, even though Lorcan hasnít said anything yet theyíre totally going to get together, if not in the next chapter then in a few. I have this gut feeling. But theyíre so good for each other anyway.

God this is all so funny, but serious, and really completely perfect. Perfect perfect perfection. Darling I love this! Iím going into the next chapter right now!

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #16, by ImaRavenclaw five.

26th August 2016:
Well, now that thatís done! Ahh, Leopoldís chapter. This was very interesting and good. Lorcan and Aspergers makes complete sense from what little we know about him, and you can also see the separate personalities between the twins. Lysander does most of the talking.

I laughed quite a bit when Leopold came to his revelation. Dave the Muggle simply has HMDD, but he doesnítÖ Ha ha.

Anyways, another wonderful chapter, Iím excited for the next one, so Iím going to go read the sixth wonderful chapter now.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #17, by ImaRavenclaw four.

26th August 2016:
A wonderful exploration of Essie! I loved it very much. And also David and feeling causing Essie to decide she wants a sense of morality and to stop being a Ďcold hearted B-wordí. Iíve forgotten to mention how funny yet serious this all is. Itís seriously funny. Iím loving it, youíre doing an awesome job and this review is short because I WANT TO READ CHAPTER FIVE!

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #18, by ImaRavenclaw three.

26th August 2016:
Ooooh, so far Iím half right on that prediction! We got more insight on David in this chapter. His feelings were so sweet they made my heart gooey. The way he feels about Lorcan will hopefully be mutual (I have a feeling it will), and his mum is a little pushy with her girl thing. I think itís really funny how she told him that she thought at one point that he was gay. Ha ha ha ha, Iím so totally not gay, Mum. His reaction to this was of course harsh, but oh well.

August Sparrow seems like an interesting character, I still have yet to figure out how his first name doesnít fit him. Maybe thatís just because it is 4:30 in the morning for me and Iím starting to feel slightly tired.

As usual I am enticed by your way with words. You blend your phrases perfectly, and your chapters are all filled with captivating story lines. You pick your words out wonderfully, and everyone is too cool. I want to know all the details, so Iíll leave the third lovely chapter of this book telling you that you did an amazing job (as always), and slipping quickly into the next chapter.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #19, by ImaRavenclaw two.

26th August 2016:
Back with another review on this story! I rather enjoyed getting to know Lorcan more in this chapter, as the last one was very much about Lysander and introducing Leopold and the reason heís here to the story. Also a bit more about David (who Iím no longer calling ĎDave the Muggleí, because David suits him better. Heís actually very much like a ĎDavidí I know.) Theyíre friendship is interesting, and Iím making a prediction (which teachers love but Iíve never actually done before except in English classes), these two are going to get together sometime before the end of the fic.

I loved the contrast you drew with the Lysander - Lorcan twin relationship. Born on different days, with different zodiac signs, and very different personalities. Interesting.They are definitely unlike any twins Iíve read in other fics, and youíve done a beautiful job portraying that.

Well, thatís all for now. Good job on this once again. Iím super excited to read the next chapter, so Iím going to go do that.

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #20, by ImaRavenclaw one.

26th August 2016:
I have no idea why it has taken me so long to come read this story, but Iím happy that Iíve finally returned after reading the Prologue and then not coming back for a few months. Since Iím here now Iíve decided to leave a quick review to support this lovely story before I move onto the next chapter.

I really love this idea of a school for more interesting and eccentric students. It is brilliant! I also love that you have made Lysander Scamander the main character. Though I donít get to use him often, I absolutely adore him.

Your characters all have quite interesting stories, something I really like about them. Essie, the twelve year-old ex-Slytherin genius. Dave, the muggle who got enrolled in a wizarding school unknowingly. Lysander, alternatively referred to as list and one of the vanishers of the gender section. Lorcan, whom we donít quite yet know much about. Leebs, an interesting headmistress so far. And Leopold, the Ministry official assigned to report on all of this madness.

The first chapter definitely sets the tone for what Iím sure will continue to be an intricate and interesting story. Cheers to your amazing work!

Yours sincerely,

ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore nine.

20th June 2016:
Well, I have to say, I was not expecting that to happen.

I mean, I'm kind of glad that it is happening and that the school is doing what it can to protect its students, and Dave will be able to stay with Lorcan and not have to deal with his homophobic parents. But I also feel like something is not going to go very well here and there's all sorts of potential for chaos and everything to go badly?

The wards going up seems like a kind of extreme reaction at first, and I didn't think that August was going to do that much to help when Dave first told him, but at the same time I'm glad they've done something. Because nobody deserves to have to go back to a "home" with parents who can't accept them for who they are, and at least the school is accepting and protective of its own.

Essie really seems to be in her element at the start of this chapter, and I think she'll do a good job of guarding Leopold (I hope). Even so, I think that Leopold being there is probably going to cause a lot of trouble. Maybe he won't realise at first that the wards have gone up, but he's bound to find out at some point that there's a Muggle pupil and the staff have just gone to perform an illegal memory charm on a Muggle and all of that is highly illegal and enough to get the school shut down.

Lorcan was so adorable ♥ I felt so sorry for him when he was convinced that it was his fault and he didn't understand why nobody was blaming him. I'm glad that nobody was, though, because it wasn't his fault at all.

I liked the ending of this chapter, too, when we saw that Essie was starting to feel a bit lonely and left out from the others in her school. It's definitely true that she has really different needs to those in her year, especially emotionally, and even if she's more mature than most people her age, she's still in a different position. I'm glad that Maisie has recognised that she might need someone to talk to, and I hope that Essie takes her up on that offer soon!

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore eight.

20th June 2016:
Nonononononononono.

Please don't tell me this is really happening, no.

I should have known that this was too good to last, because things have been going so well in the story to now and it was surprisingly simple and easy for Dave and Lorcan to get together. And then there's the fact that Leopold has helpfully not realised that Dave is actually a Muggle and he's at a magical school, and now I feel like everything is going to go wrong and I'm not entirely sure that I'm ready for it.

The first part felt kind of different to the second part of the chapter, and maybe a few more links there would have helped, if that makes sense? I think the broody walk in the rain fitted how Dave was feeling but it would have helped if you'd maybe mentioned those feelings a bit earlier, so he was trying to get away from the questions.

It's so brave of him to try and prepare to tell his parents, especially after the fact that he's heard his mum saying homophobic things in the past, so he knows there's not much chance that it's going to go well. I really wish there'd been someone who could have helped him and understood how he was feeling about it, but it is something he had to do on his own. Now I'm really regretting the fact that he didn't ask his sister Claire to come back for the weekend. I know it's something he felt that he had to do on his own, but surely the support from his sister would have helped temper his parents' reactions, particularly since she's a bit older?

It's not helped that he's been lying to them about having a girlfriend so they were probably shocked, but oh my god his parents' reaction is so homophobic and not okay and I don't know how they can still react like that because it's 2030 and they need to get over themselves and their prejudices. Even so, I know that there are plenty of people who can't come out to their parents at all because they know that the reaction will be a terrible one, and I know people with really awful stories about their coming out, so this is completely believable, if heartbreaking.

I'm so worried about what's going to happen now. If his parents really want him to leave the school, I don't see what can be done about it, because he's not meant to be there in the first place and he's not even an adult so I don't know what's going to happen. I just don't want all the characters to be heartbroken and I really help August can help ♥

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore seven.

20th June 2016:
*flails*

THIS IS ADORABLE.

Seriously, I love these two together so much. They're so cute and I'm glad that you didn't decide to be a cruel author (yet) and tear them apart before they'd even had a chance to be together. They're just really, really cute and I hope that they stay together.

Your characterisation of Lorcan is so realistic. I like how the style that you use when you write about each character is subtly different from others, and then when you write Lorcan in particular, it's much more logical because that's the way that he sees the world. I don't think you even realise how many unspoken rules we have as a society until you meet someone who struggles to understand them the same way a lot of people do (or at least I didn't) and how hard everyday life can be for them to navigate.

I loved how it was quite simple for Lorcan in some senses of the word, and that he knew how he felt about David and that he wanted to be his boyfriend, but he just wasn't sure how to navigate that because he knew he couldn't kiss friends the same way that boyfriends kiss. In the end, I wasn't expecting him to be the one to open up and say to David that he wanted to be his boyfriend, but it fit so well with the story and I loved how simple and natural it seemed.

Basically Lorcan feels a lot like a brother or friend right now and I keep wanting to give him hugs ♥ Relationships are confusing and stressful things for lots of people and it's no wonder he was so anxious about it. But I love the fact that him and David have come up with a way to work around it, and have a rule book for the two of them. David seems to understand Lorcan so well, and Lorcan really trusts him, and I'm so excited to see them together ♥

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore six.

20th June 2016:
Hello again!

It was so nice to return to Lys in this chapter, and so interesting to see the way that he's developing as a character after what's been going on in the last few chapters. I feel like he's definitely more disillusioned with the school here than he was when the story started, and that makes a lot of sense. Leopold's presence has made him question things that he'd come to accept as fact, and remember that there is a different way which might even suit him, as an extrovert, better. I think it's only natural that he's questioning those sorts of things and wondering about what he wants to do, though, because he's at the sort of age when you start getting restless about being tied down to what you've been used to all your life.

I really like the differences in the curriculum at Haversham's and Hogwarts. I know that part of the reason Hogwarts has such a magic-focused curriculum is because it was intended to be different to Muggle school, but at the same time it doesn't really provide for a rounded education or different interests. Health classes and different sports are such a good idea! (Although rugby with a school of 29 pupils must be interesting :P)

I loved Lorcan summoning the dictionary to prove a point about the definition of terrible :P That was so sweet, but fits in so well with his character.

So many good lines in this chapter! I want to quote them all back at you but it would take half the review and I suspect that other people have already beaten me to it. But I love the fact that Lysander was so accepting and encouraging to Dave, because even though he got to talk to Essie, it's a bit different talking to someone your own age about it. I really hope that Lys was right about it not being awkward if Lorcan doesn't feel the same (but mostly that he does feel the same)...

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodore five.

20th June 2016:
Hola!

It was really interesting to see a chapter focusing on Leopold, actually. I was hoping we'd get to find out more about him and what he's doing - because after all, his report is the basis for the whole story - so I really enjoyed this chapter. He's kind of an outsider to the rest of the group and still is, even after this chapter, but it was great to find out more about him.

I think there are a lot of people who feel like Leopold does at his age, to be honest. If you do well in school and get a "good" (safe) job, you're led to believe that you're going to do really well in life and be successful. But I think we measure success the wrong way, to be honest, and it's no wonder that so many people are unhappy by the time they reach their thirties because they've pursued what they think they should be doing rather than happiness. I feel like being put in a class with a lot of sixth years is going to make him face some truths about himself that he'd rather not face.

Yes, Lysander! That's so true about labels - I think that so many people who don't really understand concepts about gender identity/sexuality etc. say "we don't need labels for everything" because they don't get that the difference can be so hard for some people and finding out that you're not the only one who feels that way and you're not alone makes so much difference. I really hope that goes back to the Ministry and they can make some use of that, because it's true that they can save lives. Plus, once you have a label for something, it becomes real and people can make provisions for it and offer support.

Okay, I'm going to try and stop myself before I go on too much of a rant about education here, but basically I love the fact that this school has such an alternative way of teaching. There's no one right way to educate people because one size doesn't fit all, and these teachers actually seem to have understood that, at least.

Since Haversham's are meeting the requirements for the Ministry curriculum, I really hope that they don't get in any trouble and they can continue with what they're doing, rather than being shut down.

I'm glad that Leopold hasn't worked out that Dave actually is a Muggle, but the theory he's come up with to replace that and will be suggesting to the Ministry is actually a pretty good one. There's no reason that people with HMDD (I love that term by the way) shouldn't have access to an education that allows them to stay involved in the world they've been born into.

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>