Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Hunter's Moon
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Frankie05 Chimaera

16th January 2016:
Renee!

I am so sorry this review has taken me forever to get to! Life got extremely out of hand and I just am so sorry. But alas! I am here and I stinking loved this story.

I loved how you framed the whole story around the quote. I think this story was absolutely fantastic and before you even mentioned the quote, I thought to myself - "i be this is the one hell of a story" quote and it was.

Your characterizations of Lucy and the twins were perfect. AND i love how you still gave a shoutout to Percy for being pretentious (he's the worst in my opinion). But I loved it! I loved how you engrossed me in your story and how much thought was put into it!

It's going to make judging extremely difficult! But I'm glad you entered. It's a great story!

Good luck!
Frankie

Author's Response: Frankie! Hi!

It was actually crazy - this was for another challenge as well, and the prompt I got for that worked perfectly with my John Green quote. I mean, PERFECTLY! I almost feel like I cheated :P

Now I am trying to remember when I gave the Percy shout-out... I'll have to reread! I definitely did include some of him in Lucy's personality, or at least I tried to. I'm glad you liked this version or her and the twins :)

Thank you so much for this review. You are too kind! And thank you for hosting an awesome challenge!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #2, by PixiePaige Chimaera

20th December 2015:
This was a cool story! I like how you wrote Lucy and the twins. I wish there were more chapters...

Author's Response: That you for reading and leaving such a nice review! I don't really plan to add more to this story - it's just a one shot - but I do plan to write more about these characters at some point. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Felpata Lupin Chimaera

14th December 2015:
Back again for your late Hot Seat! :D

This was so funny!!! Ahahah!!! Well, not so funny for poor Lucy, I guess... but, well, she asked for it, didn't she? And everything went well in the end! :)

Lorcan and Lysander reminded me a bit of Fred and George, with the adding of their parents' creature-mania. Ihihih. And Lucy is great in her cursing herself for getting along with their craziness, but doing so just the same. :P

Her thoughts were pretty well done and hilarious. I chuckled more than once. A couple of examples are the following:

"I asked Aunt Hermione about this because she knows everything, and she said it was complete nonsense."

and

"It seemed I’d dug my own grave, and now I had to lie in.
I spared a moment to regret my choice of analogy."

Anyway, this was a really funny piece, and brilliantly written, but that's a constant of your writing, right? :)

Well done, and all my love!
Chiara

Author's Response: Yet another amazing review from you! You are spoiling me, really!

This piece was quite different from what I usually write. I'm generally nervous about writing humor, so I am THRILLED that this made you laugh! (That line about regretting the analogy is one of my favorites as well, to be honest.)

I had so much fun with these characters - thank you SO MUCH for reviewing their story!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #4, by HeyMrsPotter Chimaera

12th December 2015:
Hi, Renee! Happy hot seat day!

Clearly it's too early in the morning for me to be reading and reviewing because I started reading this and then thought 'hang on, I've read this before...' so then I looked to see if I'd already reviewed, and I hadn't, and I knew I hadn't beta'd this one, then I realised it was me who validated it :p

Anyway, I enjoyed this story just as much the second time reading it ;) I really love your twins. They're just the right amount of Luna without being overbearingly odd. I like that they want to carry on their Fantastic Beasts legacy. You've given such a good idea of their relationship with each other and Lucy in just one chapter, and I'm sad that this is just a one-shot because I'd love to read more of their friendship.

This was fun and light-hearted and Lucy's sarcastic inner monologue really made me laugh out loud. As with everything of yours that I've read, I loved this.

You are brilliant ♥

Dee

Author's Response: Hello love! Thank you for validating and reviewing my story! ;)

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed this! I actually liked writing these characters so much, I am planning to write more stories with them, though probably when they're older.

Awww, Dee! YOU are brilliant! *hug*

lots of love!
Renee


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan Chimaera

11th December 2015:
"Ah, HOT SEAT DAY, a magic beyond all we do here!" - Albus Dumbledore

Aw, bless the Scamander twins. They are so adorable in wanting to find new creatures. But a Chimaera?! This sounds like something Hagrid would consider to be a good idea. Aka, a bad idea.

Wow, what an encounter! Terrifying at the time, but I'll bet that's a story they tell for yeaaars. It's always that way, isn't it - the crazier and more intense the adventure, the better the story after the fact. And hopefully the Scamander twins learnt something about not going searching for a fire breathing beast without properly preparing for it haha. They were lucky to get away - good thinking on their feet. (Now they just have to work on the thinking before they get into situations like that :P )

So... what happened to the chimaera? I imagine the twins and Lucy didn't think much of it as they were far more concerned with being happy to be alive, but ... there's still a chimaera loose in the forest O__O Uh-oh, Hagrid's gonna go find it and try to adopt it, isn't he? :P

I liked Lucy's POV throughout, and how she is the voice of reason and being sensible, but still gets dragged into the twins' hare brained schemes with the effect that she is kind of essential to the escape plan! I bet she'll use this time as a reminder to the twins though, next time they come up with a dangerous idea and she's like "oh yeah remember that time with the Chimaera?" :P

two minor things I noticed that you might want to look at again, one being this typo: “Maybe it will bring us look on our quest.” -- I think you meant 'luck'
and elsewhere, Lucy mentions she's only eleven and then in the same paragraph uses Aguamenti, which is taught to sixth years - not a huge deal but if you ever go back to edit this, maybe that's a thing to edit.

Anyway. This was great! You're such a versatile author! I've read a really intense, serious fic by you, an artistic one that blew my mind, and this quirky and action-y one, they're all such different styles and that's really cool.

Well done and great writing!

Author's Response: Hot seat day is rather magical, isn't it? ;)

"You're such a versatile author! I've read a really intense, serious fic by you, an artistic one that blew my mind, and this quirky and action-y one, they're all such different styles and that's really cool."

^^This is easily one of the nicest things anyone has ever said about my writing. Thank you thank you thank you!!! *hug* &hearts

I was actually quite nervous when I started writing this story because it's so light hearted and action-y and I don't usually write this sort of thing. (My fics may tend to be a bit angsty...) I actually had a lot of fun with it, though. I'm glad to hear you liked it and especially that you liked Lucy as a character.

Your suggestion that Hagrid is going to keep the chimaera as a pet is BRILLIANT! Sadly, I don't think it would turn out very well. :P

Thank you for YET ANOTHER brilliant review!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #6, by Freda_and_Georgina Chimaera

11th December 2015:
That was very interesting. I really like your choice of characters and I also like how you portrayed them. My absolute favorite line was "I spared a moment to regret my choice of analogy." I literally laughed out loud after reading that. The first person was interesting and I enjoyed reading from Lucy's perspective. You made it all very believable, though I'm wondering where the teachers are in all this. How the heck did a chimera just appear in the forest without their knowing or their doing anything about it. Since this was a one-shot, I don't want to be too critical on the conclusion, but it did seem kind of strange and awkward. Sure it's great they're alive, but there's still a giant monster running around the Forbidden Forest! Again, since this is a one-shot, I don't want to be overly critical about that but I say it so you have it in mind as you continue writing.

But, overall, I really did enjoy this. It's nicely written with a good mix of action, wit, and plotline. Enjoy your hot seat day!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hi Georgina! Thank you so much for stopping by for my hot seat! *hug*

I had a lot of fun writing this story, so I wasn't too concerned about believability. (Except for the characters. I always hope to write believable characters.) You are certainly right that there is still a chimera on the loose and the staff have sort of dropped the ball. Then again, it's Hogwarts... the staff has dropped the ball on safety quite a few times. I'm sorry that made the story less enjoyable for you, though. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed it overall.

Thanks again for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Chimaera

6th December 2015:
Hello!!! I'm sorry about the wait for this review, but I am here now!

I love that Lorcan and Lysander are friends with Lucy, They all have the same first letter in their name like a little gang haha :D

Ooooh a Chimaera loose in the forest! That's scary, I hope that they try and find it :D

Poor Molly! I hope that secret didn't get around the school

I'm so scared about what will happen if they find the creature :S I hope that they don't get hurt!

Oh god! I really want to be friends with the twins haha they have such brilliant adventures!
Oh my! That was brilliant! I was on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading! Gah! I loved this!!!

Author's Response: Hi Tammi!

Thank you for the review - I'm so pleased you liked the story!
And I have to doubly thank you for hosting this challenge because without it I NEVER would have written this, and I really had so much fun with it! Happy belated Halloween! ;)

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #8, by TearsIMustConceal Chimaera

29th November 2015:
Hi Renee, i'm here with your review!!

First of all, let me just say that I have no idea why you have so few reviews on this one-shot – it's seriously amazing, in all aspects – I am so shocked and really think people are missing out on this!

Anyway, onto the story!

It's completely amazing – from start to finish, I was hooked and I just wanted to carry on reading, I just needed to know what was going to happen! I loved the start of this one-shot, you really set the scene for the introduction of the twins and Lucy – they're interaction is perfect and quick witted and it just seems so natural – you can easily feel their friendship in the first few lines of dialogue and it's lovely!

Your characterisation of the twins is so spot-on – there is this immediate realisation that, even if you weren't sure who the twins were, you would know they're related to Luna in some way or another and the link to Newt Scamander and Fantastic Beasts is very clever and original. I love the pair of them and I think it's quite easy to differentiate between the twins – Lorcan seems to be the joker, always teasing Lucy in some way whereas Lysander seems to focus on the adventure and the fun. I have never read a story involving Lysander and/or Lorcan but I must say, i'm glad that this story is my first experience of them! And as for Lucy, it's so refreshing to see a Lucy story where she's her own person and doesn't rely on her family or anything – it's just and the twins and it's the perfect friendship, her own little trio. I like how she's a little cautious but ultimately, she just can't resist and has to go along, despite her misgivings and worries. I think you've portrayed all of your characters amazingly and I would honestly love to read more of their adventures – their interactions are so fun to read!

One of my favourite lines has to be Their mum just wrote them not to treat fanged geraniums with such disrespect because they were very useful for identifying vampires. (I asked Aunt Hermione about this because she knows everything, and she said it was complete nonsense.) - it's so typically hermione and it really made me laugh, knowing she hasn't changed and still thinks Luna is a crazy, even after all those years!

Your pacing is spot-on – there is a good amount of build up and your descriptions of the scenery and the atmosphere really adds to the tension of what's to come. Your descriptions are amazing by the way, your words just flow perfectly and i'm extremely jealous about how easy you make it look! Your description of the meeting with the Chimaera is just beautiful – I could picture the creature vividly and felt myself wanting to see one for myself! But back to pacing and edge-of-your-seat-ness, it's all wonderful. You don't rush into anything, the action is spread across paragraphs and this really adds to the 'wanting-to-know-more' feeling that I had whilst reading it. And points for not dragging out the scene – I find action scenes particularly hard to write and struggle so much but you've made it look extremely easy so for my next action scene, I am taking tips from you! All the action is exciting and some parts of it really had me holding my breath, especially when they found themselves face to face with the chimaera!

I also loved how you managed to incorporate humour despite the fear of the moment - We swam in slow strokes along the shoreline. None of us mentioned it, but the thought of awakening the giant squid after what we’d already been through was more than any of us could handle – I don't know if it was meant to be humourous but I really found this part funny and it made me smile – the light-heartedness just seems to work so well and yeah, I loved it.

Overall Renee, your story is incredible and I really wish more people would come and read this because it's superb – everything you do in this, all the parts you included just flow and make sense and are beautifully set out and done. If you ever decide to write more adventures and shenanigans of Lucy, Lysander and Lorcan, let me know because i'll be first in line to read!

Good luck in your challenges and if you don't win, I might just eat my hat!!

Thank you so much for letting me read this, it's definitely one of my favourite pieces!

-Vicki

Author's Response: VICKI YOU ABSOLUTE DARLING!

I cannot begin to tell you how thrilled I was to read this review. You have completely spoiled me! Trying to think of a coherent response to your kindness is proving rather difficult. I'm just a puddle of gladness!

Ok, here goes...

I honestly hadn't though of Lucy, Lys, and Lorcan as their own trio, but you're completely right. And I'm so pleased that you enjoyed how they're characterized and the friendship between them. I was surprised how much I enjoyed writing their friendship - I kind of want to write more one shots with them because I really do think Lucy/Lorcan needs to happen. :)

That part about Luna and Hermione - I'm glad you laughed!

The paragraph you wrote about the pacing and description and stuff is SO KIND and I just want to quote the entire thing back at you. THANK YOU.

I did try to make this light-hearted, despite the fact that they nearly died. :P Thanks for letting me know that the humor came across - I am not very comfortable writing humor at all!

I am still in shock over how totally sweet you were about this story, even favoriting it and everything. Thank you so much for this brilliant review!

ALL THE HUGS!
Renee


 Report Review

Review #9, by princesslily_36 Chimaera

15th November 2015:
Renee!

I promised to be here for a review and here I am :D

I was so pleasantly surprised at the end to see my name. Awww, I didn't think I did much, and it was so nice to see you credit my name. You made my day (actually night, cos it's midnight over here!). Thank you so much for the credit :* :*

I loved reading this all over again. The dynamics between Lorcan, Lysander and Lucy is amazing. To think Percy's daughter is being such a daredevil is actually fun to read.

I laughed both times at the part about Luna sending the twins letters about treating fanged geraniums with respect. It was just so Luna, quirky, adorable and downright hilarious!

I loved the first person writing here, and your words... your words are amazing. You made me feel like I was going through the adventure myself. Especially when I read it this time around because I let the story carry me away. And I was blown away. I can't write adventure for the life of me, and I really really admire you for writing one that had everything - action, build up and a bit of drama. Especially towards the end when Lorcan yells "Jump into the Sodding Lake". It was such a Hollywood moment! (I don't know why but the image of Liam Neeson came into my mind at the time. I think because I saw Taken this afternoon, Lol!)

Lorcan and Lysander are so much fun in this. They almost remind me of Fred and George Weasley. Like if the spirit of Sirius got into them. It's probably their grandfather though :D

Love this story, and hope you win your challenges!

Lots of Love
Ysh

Author's Response: Hi Ysh!

Now that's nano is done, I finally have time to reply to your amazing review! Thank you!

Of course I put your name in for credit - you were very helpful and you deserve it! *hug*

I don't have a solidified head canon for next gen, but for some reason I always gravitate toward these three characters being friends, maybe because it makes sense to me that they might all be in Ravenclaw.

Lucy would be astonished by your daredevil comment. She doesn't think of herself that way at all. But she is braver than she thinks, as you noticed. :)

That bit about Luna and Hermione was SO fun to write. I'm glad it made you laugh!

"your words are amazing"
^^I honestly feel like this is the best compliment I could ever get. THANK YOU.

You know, if you had asked me beforehand, I would have said I couldn't write adventure. But then I wrote this, and it ended up being more that genre than anything else. So you never know. You should give it a try some time! :)

Liam Neeson: hahahaha! That's awesome!

I do think my version of Lorcan and Lysander was inspired some by Fred and George, partly just because of that playful twin dynamic they both have. But I think the Weasleys were in it for the mischief (the journey), while the Scamanders are more about the destination. Especially Lysander.

Thanks for such a brilliant review. You are too kind! *hug*
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #10, by NPE Chimaera

14th November 2015:
That was fun to read.

I don't mean that to sound patronising, it is actually a really underrated quality in most books to be honest.

It also flowed really well.

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for reading and taking the time to review! I don't think that's patronizing at all - I didn't intend this story to be anything more than fun and exciting. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login