Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Eidolon
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimes Pink Silk

19th September 2016:
Hi there! I am back, back again!

Okay, so this was a bit weird at first because it's so vastly different from the last chapter, but I really like it! I was a bit thrown off at first with the word 'they' because I thought perhaps there was another party watching the scene, but then I realized what was happening and everything came together beautifully. I reread the first few lines just to understand them a bit better and I kind of love that you don't really explain the word 'they', it's just there.

I kind of understood that Cato was hurt from what you'd written already, but to know the exact injury is really heartbreaking. I am a football/soccer fan, and I know several people who've torn their ACL and/or worse, so it's really disheartening to read about such a traumatic injury, since an injury that ends a career is something I'm too aware of.

Scorpius seems like a very good and patient healer, but I can definitely see where his overbearingness could get annoying. But he seems like he's just trying to do his job and keep Cato safe and on track to heal.

And Cato, oh I feel so bad for Cato. The Golden Quaffle (I did enjoy that nod to the Ballon d'Or by the way), totally was in their grasp and they kind of blew it. I'd love to figure out what exactly happened in that accident, although it would probably break my heart. And the fact that Cato has to do all the interviews and Oliver is telling them to say that they don't know what they're going to do, also breaks my heart.

It hurts to see an amazing athlete reminisce about their lost career because of an injury, but you do it magnificently. I can only hope that something can be done to give Cato something else to do, to live for, because at the moment it hurts to see them in this amount of pain, both physically and mentally.

But this was really well written and hopefully a new chapter will be soon? Thanks!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by maraudertimes Yellow Cotton

18th September 2016:
Hi hi!

I love this interpretation of the NextGen! I'm somewhat of a sucker for it, so I've read a lot of it, and this is honestly one of the most intriguing adaptations of it I've ever seen. It's cool to see a NextGen character that is mostly removed from the family of their own accord. I've read quite a few where they don't enjoy the fame, but to leave and cut contact for six years? You've really intrigued me! I wonder what happened!

James and Anatole seem to have a very happy relationship. Very close, yet they seem separate in all the ways that matter. I feel like their each others support system but not each other's worlds, which is pretty important in a relationship. I wonder if the rest of James's family knows about Anatole, if perhaps that's why he's stayed away, some sort of prejudice, but I'm not too sure as it seems like Anatole is just for James.

The letter that Albus sent to Teddy was cutting and beautifully written. It shows in detail how James's distance has hurt the family without actually showing it. I thought that was a really cool way to do it, and I applaud you for that! It was also really heart-wrenching that Ginny had written the invitation and Harry had thrown it out, as it shows that even James's parents have given up on him coming home.

The end was really nerve-wracking. I thought someone was going to recognize him and then they didn't (well not at first - also can I say how much I loved your use of parentheses?). It was like I was there with James, hoping with all my heart that no one would recognize him, which truly speaks to your ability as a writer to truly draw the reader in! And then when his uncle saw him! I thought it was over, but alas! He jumped up the stairs and away from awkwardness (to be fair, I would've done the exact same).

This is such a cool concept for a story and I'm super looking forward to reading on later! Thanks so much!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Pink Silk

19th June 2016:
Hi again!

Well, I suppose I should have known that you would leave me hanging on all of the questions the last chapter made me ask, and introduce something completely new. You are a cruel, cruel author :P Now I'm asking double the questions and want to know how on earth Cato is connected to James or the Potters/Weasleys and what on earth happened. I'M SO CONFUSED.

I think you did a great job of writing Cato as a gender fluid (maybe agender?) person and using the pronouns they/their instead of gendered pronouns. Sometimes it can be a little confusing to read, and authors slip up, but you did a great job of staying consistent and clear throughout the entire chapter.

I'm so intrigued about Cato, though, and what happened to them. I've worked out that they're somehow related to Scorpius (I'm assuming that on the basis of the surname Greengrass. Maybe a cousin?) and that they were injured playing Quidditch, but past that it's all questions. I think including the medical report was a great idea because it showed the severity of what happened to them, even if I didn't understand a lot of the terminology because I'm stupid :P Seeing that medical report and then realising how talented a Quidditch Player Cato had been made me feel even more sorry for them, though. This injury has taken away the future that they dreamed of and should have had, and that must be so upsetting and difficult to deal with. It's no real wonder that they're fighting so hard to recover what they can and deal with the pain as far as possible. Someone like Cato is clearly a perfectionist and full of determination, so it makes sense that those qualities would apply to the recovery too, even though it must be really difficult to process that they're not going to play Quidditch again.

I'm really intrigued about the Quidditch accident, though. Maybe I'm overthinking things, but I feel like it has some kind of significance to the story as a whole or you wouldn't have included it. I know that Albus plays Quidditch so I'm wondering if he's involved somehow, or if it's connected to James? I'm basically just full of questions and now I want to read even more. Guess who's going to have to poke you for more chapters of this novel, too? :P

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore Yellow Cotton

19th June 2016:
Hello again! I can't believe that this is another story I haven't reviewed yet, but it seems that I've been massively slacking and have missed a lot of your stories. I hope you don't mind that these reviews may be a little shorter than usual while I try and make up for it!

I love this story so much already. Of course, it's written by you, so it's not that much of a surprise, but there's so much here in this chapter that has me asking questions and wanting to know what's going to happen next. You always manage to pack so much into all of your chapters, and for the opening chapter of your first next gen story, this is amazing. I was gripped from the first few sentences and I'm so, so intrigued about this.

One of the first things that struck me, particularly in the opening of the chapter, was the description. The imagery here was so lovely and beautiful, and it felt almost poetic with the way that you described the wine and the meal that they were having. There was a dreamlike quality that contrasted with James's return to England later on, as though his life in Switzerland is calmer and removed from his old life.

I'm so intrigued about James's job, and how he ended up in Switzerland, of all places, and how he's kept that hidden from his family. His relationship with Anatole is intriguing, too - they clearly know each other really well, and seem to fit together, but I can't help wondering what's going to happen to them in the future since James has decided to go back?

Why did he leave? I'm so curious about that, I can't work out whether it's because something specific happened or if he'd just had enough and decided to cut himself off from his family. I really can't wait to find out more about that, because his family are clearly hurting from his absence and want him there with them. I really liked the way you used the news about Albus as a way to bring James back to his family and the fact that we got to see Albus's perspective here, too.

Ooh, James was recognised! I'm not surprised, to be honest, because I feel like he must be quite a recognisable face to a lot of people, and there must be quite a high chance of running into a family member in the Leaky Cauldron if you're a member of the Weasley family. I'm really intrigued to see whether there's going to be a meeting with his family after he ran from his Uncle George, and what's going to happen next. I'm loving this so far ♥

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #5, by banshee Yellow Cotton

9th March 2016:
Hey Laura!

Man I will say, that summary on the banner dragged me in.

Every time I read your writing I just fall even more in love (and an insane amount of jealous) at your ability to write descriptions and create pictures for readers. You create this gorgeous imagery in the opening about the wine, and it just has a way of pulling me right into the story.

It's definitely got to be hard growing up in the Potter/Weasley family. I love that you brought that into play here; it's not just one big happy chaotic family.

Side mention, your ability to world-create is astounding. I always admire in fan-fiction when the author takes the time to create jobs and hobbies and things for their characters. Who would even think of translating magic from Hieroglyphics? SO COOL.

So, normally I like to go through and review as I read, but I sort of got sucked into this and now I'm at the end. So let's talk!

James. First born James feels like he's the family disappointment (god haven't I been there) so he disappears. I really liked the part with Albus' letter. It really gave us some perspective into the family and a bit of an explanation on why James left, and what might be happening in the family without him there. Poor Ginny.

But you sort of just want to shake him, because how should he live up to his family's past? His parents did so much, and that shouldn't be something he has to try to meet up with. Even if it seems as if Albus is doing just that.

Anatole is lovely. It's really nice that James has her in his life; he really seems like he (feels like he) can't be supported for being average in his family, so it's good that he has someone that he feels comfortable enough confiding in.

I can't possibly say this enough, but I admire your writing so much. You've got such amazing talent.

Thanks so much for the review swap! I'm definitely looking forward to seeing what you plan on doing with this story.

Julie

 Report Review

Review #6, by RavenclawFTW Yellow Cotton

27th February 2016:
Oh my God, Aph, will I ever find a story of yours that I don't love?? The day has not yet arrived!! I'm so glad you agreed to swap, because I might not have noticed this story otherwise, and I am so excited for it!! As you probably know, Next Gen is my jam, and your writing is my other jam, and the two combined are awesome!! Ahh I'm so excited!

First off, your James is SO INTERESTING. OMG. OMG. OMG. I can't even contain how awesome he is already, and how great your take on him is. I've read a lot of James II in my time, and this is such an incredible start!! People really like to make him resent his family/father, but you have taken that to the extreme in such a captivating way.

I was hooked right from the beginning, and the way you wove the details of his life into the story before outright saying anything was so wonderful-- like the babble of languages, and the various meanings of red before it was totally confirmed that it was James, and the "Centre." You've already painted such a clear image of it all, even as so much is left mysterious! Ah I don't think I'm making sense, but this chapter was a perfect mix of introduction and mystery.

Then your writing! Ah your writing is always so incredible, and the descriptions in this chapter are no different. You made them eating bread seem like the most interesting thing in the world! You're so, so, so talented, and the way you bring words together to paint novel and evocative imagery leaves me in awe. You spent like six paragraphs talking about wine, and it was so beautiful and incredible and I want to know how you come up with these things!!

The voice you've crafted for James is so interesting-- he's obviously working through a lot of things (or rather intentionally not working through them), and he seems so fascinating. The way you combine characterization and details in his voice is really remarkable, and I can't wait to see more about him!!

I'm also so excited to see you take on Next Gen-- I love Anatole already, and I'm really glad that James has found somebody to support him-- and I'm really excited about what you've already done with it here. The paragraph about James blending in as a tourist was fabulous, and the hints of post-War life you've woven in are really intriguing.

I also loved including Albus's letter-- it was such a great way to include more clarity and definite fact to this chapter without breaking James's mysterious and sometimes vague voice. I can't wait to see more of the Weasley-Potters and your characterizations of them! And the PS of Albus's letter...oh man. This family has some huge issues, and I can't wait to know more about them.

And then! Adaptation of Dorian Gray?? Sign me up!! I love Dorian Gray and I'm so excited to see how you tie that into this!! God, Aph, this is such a great chapter, and I really, really hope you update soon!! :)

Thanks again for the swap! Your reviews are always wonderful, and I love reading your stories! :)

--J

 Report Review

Review #7, by ravenclaw_princess Yellow Cotton

23rd December 2015:
Merry Christmas. Here is a gift for the Ravenclaw gift exchange.

I can tell this story is going to be full of angst and family drama. It took a little while to narrow down the protagonist but all was revealed in the end. James has a lot of anger and resentment towards his family which led to him running away. While he alludes that is is because of being in the spotlight, I doubt this is the full story. His wounds run far too deep for this to be the reason. He hasn't just run away from the spotlight, he has run away from his family and all contact so something must have gone down and I can't wait to know what.

I feel that James may never have lived up to his families/fathers expectations and this started to cause a rift that grew larger and eventually became unbridgeable. Maybe they never tried to understand him and what he wanted and it's only since running away and making his own way in the world, that he has started to find his own feet. While he doesn't want to think about them, he hasn't written them completely out of his life, which is why he does go back to London. But the longer he was away, they harder it was to return and know what to say, and then it just becomes easier to keep away. I imagine there will be fireworks when they see he's returned.

Albus' letter was a nice way of showing the other side of the story in a quite a succinct way. It sound like Ginny has really been suffering since James left and no one really knows what to say or do about him now. He may not be there physically, but his presence lingers on.

You're a beautiful writer and your use of metaphors and imagery are enviable. The start with the metaphor on wine to blood to family was a seamless transition of thoughts. I also really liked the image of "cauldrons hopping back into stores with clunking, clanging steps." Its a small detail but helps to create such a rich atmosphere.

Well done. I can tell this is the beginning of a great story with some really interesting characters.

Jacqui

Author's Response: Hey there, Jacqui! :) Thank you so much for dropping by!

Yeah, I've always wanted to write something family-centric, since I finished my Black family-centric murder mystery, and Next Gen just seemed so good for it, given all of the new characters and relationships and so on :) I kinda wanted to keep James' identity a little bit secret at the beginning, so I'm glad you liked it - and yeah, it's definitely not the full story. It's a big, emotional thing with James, and it's been going on for a long time - it's lots of fun to write, if it does make you appreciate family a lot :P

You're definitely pretty much spot on with most of that! ;) I think James kinda finds that its harder to just leave and cut all ties than he thinks, you know? Like, I have family who that happened to, and it was never easy, or simple, so I kinda wanted to portray it like that in this, too. It's definitely going to be an interesting meeting, though! :)

Ah, thank you! :D Yeah, none of the pov characters in this are really entirely reliable narrators - they all have their own specific points of view and so on, so they look at things very differently. But yeah, I liked giving a glimpse of the family's situation since he left, so I'm glad you liked it too! :)

Gahhh, thank you so much! :) I really love writing description but always worry I go seriously overboard on it, haha, so I'm so happy you liked it in this!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - it was such a lovely gift to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by ascendio Yellow Cotton

20th November 2015:
Hello, Laura! I'm Mo, here from the review swap.

Already I'm dazzled over the opening line. It crafted this specific image in my head. Moving on - and echoing what the other reviewers have already mentioned - it was genius to transition from the red wine to blood, and then from blood to family. This was a darkly beautiful opening, and the experimentation with the parenthetical asides is inspired.

(I like this line: "...far too aware of Anatole’s gaze from the other side of the table, patient and concerned, just waiting, as he always is, for the problem to reveal itself." This whole section feels steeped in culture, from the different languages to the food and wine.)

I really want to know who this protagonist is. He's shrouded in mystery but it's obvious that he belongs to the Potter-Weasley clan. I wonder why he's trying to get away from them.

Ah, okay, it's narrowed down to either James or Albus. It's troubling that either of them would feel this way, but at the same I know where he would be coming from - living in the shadows of family members who have done great things while he has no real distinction, just shares the name.

I’m curious about this Anatole character. I wonder how James/Albus came into contact with him and what their relationship exactly is. They seem to be very close friends.

Onto the letter... It's James. Echoing what another reviewer said, I love that he’s the “black sheep” instead of the athletic, popular son like in other fics.

I really felt Albus's pain, and their family's pain. They want James back, even though he doesn't want to be around them anymore. You've introduced this complicated situation, and it's heartbreaking. I don't think it's possible for me to even lean towards one side, and that feels very true to real life struggles where there's no definite "right and wrong" - just sides.

(This line stuck with me: "I want to recognise him, you know? But I’m not sure if I will now.")

This was a great start to the story. In just the first chapter, you've managed this wonderful complexity and darkness, and I'm interested to see where you'll be taking the rest of it. Your writing has tons of style - rich and fluid, distinctly European in a way.

It's also interesting to learn that this is an adaptation of Dorian Grey. I'm not completely familiar with the work, so I'd love to know where you've added the subtle details, etc.

 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan Yellow Cotton

4th November 2015:
Hello! I'm here with your requested review, and this is such a great way to come back into reviewing after a long time away because your writing always blows me away.

I'm really intrigued by your banner and story summary already. And then that first line GAH. teach me your ways. Your descriptions are some of the best I've seen on HPFF. The transitions throughout that whole first section are incredible, from the wine to blood to thinking about his family. And all the while no name is mentioned and I was so curious who it was that left their family - James or Albus? And why? The hint is there that it's related to discomfort in the spotlight, but I feel like it's something more as well, given the note that the narrator makes about his and Anatole's demons - it implies that there's a deeper thing going on there than just running away from fame. But I don't know. And that's what makes it really interesting!

The letter from Albus is heartbreaking. As much as James is hurting, his family is hurting just the same because of his absence and silence, and just, wah. I can see the reactions you described as being quite realistic to HArry's and Ginny's personalities, and even though Albus himself hasn't made an appearance yet apart from his letter, I feel like I know him pretty well just from that. Excellent characterisation all round.

(A note on the letter though: I want my family to happy for me at that party -- I think you left out a word, "I want my family to be happy")

And then James' return. I'm happy he returned, and maybe he can begin to mend things with his family, but gah is this a heartrending scene, how he's trying to be anonymous, and he hates that people are sad/angry/happy about his return. It's a very emotional scene there at the Leaky Cauldron and I kind of just feel badly for everyone involved!

So, to your areas of concern! I love that you've started writing a next-gen. So far, it stands out already as a really powerful start with interesting themes emerging. I do like your characters so far and I'm mostly just curious about why James left and hope that the back story on his disappearance and subsequent avoidance of his family is revealed soon.

I also want to point out the interesting stylistic thing you did with the parentheses - it seems like most of the pieces about James' feelings or emotions are separated away into these parenthetical asides, and I have a feeling it is a reflection of how he compartmentalises things and kind of draws away into his head - or just some way that what's going on inside his head is different to what's going on outside. At least that's the impression I got after this first chapter - I'll be interested to see how his characterisation continues to develop and I'm sure I'll keep watching those parentheses :P

This is a great start! I'm really curious to know where it goes from here. Thanks for requesting this!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart Yellow Cotton

31st October 2015:
Hey Aph!

I'm here for our review swap. My apologies for taking a bit longer than usual to get here.

Truthfully, I was really excited when you announced that you were going to write some Next Gen, but also a bit skeptical. I mean Gellert and Albus are your wheelhouse and you write them so well, so it was hard to imagine what you might do with the Next Gen kids. I have to say that I'm rather pleased with the start. We really only get a chance to know James, but what we saw of him was very intriguing. I really want to know why he took off and moved away. Was it something the family did? Was he just tired of being famous? There's so many different directions that you could go with this.

I loved how you explained how James' absence affected the family. I could imagine Ginny being tearful and Harry having a hard time. They seem the types to really want a close knit family. And Albus' reaction and desire for his family to just move on seems accurate as well. Good job!

I have a feeling that this whole family get together is going to turn into a fiasco for James, but at least it will make his poor parents feel better. I just can't imagine why he'd take off like that.

The only little bit of cc that I have is that the first person present tense took me a while to get used to. At first it was a little tough, but as I kept reading it sort of grew on me.

ALl in all, I think you have a really interesting start. I have enough questions to keep me reading, but enough was answered to not leave me frustrated.

Good job!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi there, Kaitlin - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

No worries about taking time - RL can get in the way; it happens to all of us ;)

Yeah, don't worry about it - I was so nervous myself about writing Next Gen because it's something I've never really done before, but hopefully its okay? I'm so glad you like it nonetheless - and James is a character I've sort of had brewing in my head for a while, so it was nice to finally get him down on paper, and it's so great to hear other people find him interesting :)

Yeah, it was a strange scene - sort of both hard and easy to write, because I have family we don't talk to myself, so it didn't exactly hit home, but I could draw on experiences and try to work out other people close to me's experiences with similar things, and it was a really strangely effecting thing to do, you know? But yeah, I'm glad you think it worked out! :)

Hehe, well, that's next chapter's issue ;) And it'll all come out eventually - it is meant to be revealed, so no worries!

Yeah, I think it's one of those tenses some people really like or don't like, you know? It just suited this story for some reason, I can't really explain why, but I tried writing it in past and it didn't work, so I switched it and it seemed to flow a lot easier :/ Hopefully it keeps on growing on you? :P

Thank you so much for the lovely review, and I'm so glad you liked this! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by krazyboutharryginny Yellow Cotton

29th October 2015:
Hello! Here to leave my review for our swap :)

This is kind of one of those stories where I go to write a review and just don't even have words for how wonderful it is, and just end up kind of squealing and gushing...

Your use of language is absolutely STUNNING. I'm in awe. Your descriptions are beautiful and very evocative. Using the description of the red wine to transition into talking about blood, and then from talking about blood to talking about family, was completely brilliant and had me hooked right away.

This is such a sad story because it's so real and so complicated. You can definitely understand James' reasons for leaving (more on James in a second), and at the beginning you don't really fault him. You can tell how resentful he is and that he has really been hurt, intentionally or not, by his family. Then you get to Albus' letter, and you realize that his family hasn't intentionally done anything to hurt him, and that they're all hurting too - that his leaving has profoundly affected their lives and their relationships - and it's just heartbreaking, because there's no "right answer" to the problem and no easy solution.

I was very relieved and happy that James decided to go to Albus' party, especially because of how Albus said in his letter to Teddy that he would give up if James didn't respond. But then he just seemed so miserable, not even a little bit excited to see his younger brother, and everything was so tense with Hannah, and then he ran away from George and... :( I don't know where things will go from here, I really don't!

Now, I said I had more to say about James, so here it is. I was really not expecting it to be him. Reading the whole first chunk, I thought it would be Albus. That's always how it is in fanfictions - James is the wildly popular older brother and Albus is the black sheep of the family who ends up bitter and resentful. I suspect this was somewhat intentional, judging by your careful avoidance of names in the text and the summary. When I realized it was James, I was actually really excited because I don't think I've EVER read a fic that placed James as the black sheep, or where he was an academic, before this one.

So yeah, TL;DR- you have an incredible way with words, you've very effectively tackled something painful and realistic and complicated, and you've done something really unique with your characterization. This is just absolutely amazing and I hope you post a new chapter soon!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #12, by Felpata Lupin Yellow Cotton

25th October 2015:
Hi!
Here for our swap! :)

This was really a fascinating start for your story! I loved it, especially your writing style, so evocative and powerful. Your way of carving words denotes a great writing maturity (erm... ok, I'm not sure if this last sentence actually means something... Hope you get what I mean...)

James is surely an interesting character, if not totally agreeable... I must say that I have trouble to understand people who decide to cut off any family ties... I wonder if James ran away only because he felt suffocated by his father's celebrity or if there's more to it...

I enjoyed a lot Albus' letter to Teddy. It broke a bit the tension and the much darker tones of the rest of the chapter, plus it gave us a different take on the Potter family. It's clear that, despite James' bitter feelings and the fact that he's disappeared for so long, they still care for him a lot, which is refreshing.

It was to be expected that someone would recognize James, even if it was quite an unfortunate occurence to meet one of his uncles so soon... I wonder what will happen now...

Interesting job so far, and once again congratulations on the incredible quality of your writing!

Much love,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hey there, Chiara - thank you so much for stopping by! :)

Thank you! :) I'm so glad you liked it - it's a huge step away from my comfort zone into things, topics and eras and characters, I've never done before, so it's new and exciting, but also terrifying :P The style is different, but probably the most familiar part of it, so I'm always so happy when people like it because I know it's kinda different? :) And no worries, I understand - thank you!

Yeah, I think it's something a lot of people find very hard to understand, depending on their situation and so on, you know? But I have family who we've cut off and so on, for various reasons, and I kinda wanted to show that it's easy to think you can, but not at all easy to do - and sometimes it's not necessarily as serious as it feels. Emotions are strong, and all that ;) But yeah, it'll definitely be explored more later on!

Thank you! It was a lot more fun to write, but a lot harder - I'm really not used to writing letters, haha, story-wise or otherwise, so it was very odd to do, so I'm so glad you liked it! And yeah, the love is still there, there's no question of that :)

Haha, oh it was always going to happen - he has far too much family, and too many family friends to avoid it for too long ;) As for what happens next... next chapter (hopefully soon?) ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was such a great thing to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by princesslily_36 Yellow Cotton

25th October 2015:
Hey! I'm here for the reivew swap!

To start off, I simply love your writing style. It's just how you stayed in present perfect, without getting your tenses mixed up is amazing! I get my tenses mizxed up when things get tricky.

Second, I admire your descriptions. I love the way you brought out the whole scene alive, when I was reading I could almost see it play in front of me because the whole thing was in present perfect as well. It was all written in third person but felt as if we were seeing the whole thing from James' perspective. That effect was wonderful.

Coming to the story itself, you did a great job bringing out the charecterization of James II, his confusion and the reason he wanred to break away from the family, the pressure he was feeling mounted up till Albus' letter.

Overall, it was a really good chapter and there is not much CC I could give here. Great job :)

Cheers,
Ysh

PS: I think you'll find my genre a bit too lighthearted after this one :D

Author's Response: Hey Ysh! Thanks so much for stopping by - and for the swap! :)

Thank you so much! :) It's a strange tense to write in, but it seemed to suit the story, so I just sort of went with it :P I do get tenses mixed up, though - it's the only thing I edit for, haha, so you're not alone in that ;)

I really loved writing the first scene - it was so fun to do, even more so because it was about my third try to actually start this thing, so when it worked it was so great :)

Thank you - I'm so glad you liked them! :) I really wanted to make James different from how he's usually portrayed, and this idea let me do that, so I sort of ran with it :P It's kinda tough for him - a lot of pressure and expectations and spotlight, but I know his reaction isn't exactly perfect, so I'm glad you like him :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review - and for the swap! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login