Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ignis the Imp Of Mince Pies and Angels

9th January 2016:
Hello there!

I was wandering this site searching nice winter stories and I found yours.

I was amazed by your imagination. I haven't read such a heartbreaking story before. Poor Severus. How could his father react to his son's efforts so badly? You portrayed his father as an egocentric and a short temper. I can imagine how you captured his character from J.K.Rowling's work.

Eileen was a good parent. Though they couldn't have a Christmas tree, she reassured her son that she would make Christmas dinner. Seeing Eileen prepare dinner, humming, Severus must have been happy until Tobias came home. It's heartaching for a child to see and hear the quarrels between his parents. You captured the hard moment through his eyes very well.

For kids, collecting sparkling beads are treasure and his effort to make the tree should be praised. It's sad that Tobias couldn't understand his wife and his son, which reminded me of Dursleys. The poor boy's creation was denied. Though the last scene was sad, each description is so powerful and beautiful.

Thank you for sharing one of your impressive stories.

Ignis the Imp

 Report Review

Review #2, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage Of Mince Pies and Angels

14th December 2015:
Oh my god, this is such a heartbreaking story! I love the fact that you choose to show a side from Severus that is not shown often - in fact, that has only been shown in brief parts of flashbacks, and not even all of them. He can be nice and caring if he wants to. He has learned to be careful from a young age on and just the relationship between him and his parents is absolutely fantastically written. I haven't seen many stories which tackle this - at all, really, and I am really happy you've shown how horrid it can be to live in such an environment, and what such an environment can cause to how you have to live. Like the grease on the linoleum etc. I also love the fact, no matter how sad it actually is, how is other present didn't survive it either. No matter how hard he tried to make it work and how long it took for him to make it... it all fits to the story, to make that one fail as well.

Needless to say, I really love this story. Absolutely well done, and happy holidays to you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Marshal Of Mince Pies and Angels

14th December 2015:
Rumple,

You were first to respond to my challenge so it seemed fitting that you were the first I left a review for. Seeing who it was that this story was about I got a little excited because I really like Snape. Yet the story was so sad. It shouldn't have surprised me that it was as sad as it was I knew it was coming but in the end I couldn't help but feel crushed for little Severus. Poor guy.

It is rare for me to get a clear image of setting when reading but you painted a very vivid image in my mind and I could literally see everything playing out in my head! Honestly a lovely job Rumple!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ABlack Of Mince Pies and Angels

11th December 2015:
Ugh! You are breaking my heart, Rumple! I just want to gather up Severus in my arms and protect him. Or maybe shake Eileen to defend her son. Or at the very least, beat the crap out of Tobias. You achingly capture the atmosphere of the broken household Severus grew up in. It's too easy to imagine how he became what he did.

I have to point out your lovely dialogue like “manky proxy piece-of...” and “if you had been a normal munter”. I could feel Severus cringing at the words.

Overall, this was heartbreaking to read. You did a wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshp Of Mince Pies and Angels

19th November 2015:
Hey Rumpel.

Aw, this was so very sad. My heart broke for poor Severus. The ending =( Why must you do this to me? *cries and hugs little Severus*

Christmas is such a happy holiday, and to see little Severus have had such a miserable experience with it, was just very sad. You portrayed his character very well. I could feel his emotions throughout. The narrative worked well with the theme of the little child.

When he was preparing the Christmas tree, that was very sweet. I wanted his parents to appreciate it. His father's reaction to it was just horrible. I feel so bad. And his mother, not being able to do anything. *cries more*

The ending really broke my heart though. The beads falling out felt symbolic to his life or his childhood shattering. Poor little kid. *cries even more*

All in all, you wrote a beautifully tragic one-shot. Your characterisations, descriptions, and overall theme was superb. It made for a moving, powerful read. Loved it.

Much love,
Angie
(AditiDraco95)

 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Of Mince Pies and Angels

25th October 2015:
Hello! I'm sorry that it's taken me this long to get to the reviews. I can only apologise.

You use really lovely descriptions in your work, and it worked fabulously to set the tone of the story.

I love Christmas so much, so I love that this is a Christmas story. I can just imagine Severus looking out of the window and staring at the lights. I feel sad for him though, I want him to have a good Christmas, and I don't think he will because of his dad.

It's obvious how much Severus loves his mother, and I can't help but wonder why they can't have a tree this year, I assume it's the cost of it? But I think it's so adorable that he wants to do this to make his mother happy.

Severus is so sweet in this and I spent the entire time that he was decorating the hanger, worried that his father would come and ruin everything and wake up.

I hate his dad so much though, he's so mean. I wish that it was a happier ending though :(

You done a fantastic job, and I love reading your writing because you are such a fabulously talented author.

 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins beard Of Mince Pies and Angels

15th October 2015:
Hey,
I'm finally here for our swap.

This started out so sad, so heartbreaking, and then it turnd sweet and beautiful in the middle only to crush my hopes again in the end. And the worst part is: I kept telling myslef "Don't get your hopes up. Tobias won't like this." but I still did and I was so sad when Severus' Chrismas Tree ended up causing so much pain rather than the joy it was meant to bring.

This is so believable, something that I can really see happening - it's like a window into Severus' head. He didn't have a lucky childhood and then he didn't even have real friends at school. That makes me so incredibly sad. Poor, poor Severus. And he still turned out to be the bravest man.

Your story gave me so many feels, I don't even know how to deal with them right now.

I love the way you describe how much effort went into decorating the tree and even more so into making the necklace. I wish Eileen had seen it.

This was beautiful. Thanks so much for the swap

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #8, by daliha Of Mince Pies and Angels

13th October 2015:
Poor Severus.

I had never read a story about Snape before his time at Hogwarts, this was brilliant, you managed to portray Snape as a child without him being OOC.

I loved it :)

Author's Response: Oh hello!

Aw *blush* thank you so much! I agree, poor Severus.

Thanks for the lovely review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Northbound24 Of Mince Pies and Angels

7th October 2015:
This oneshot is so believably tragic for the young Severus Snape. I aren't a Snape fan really but the insight we saw in Deathly Hallows and HBP allows us writers to explore the full horrible dynamic of the Snape household.

The most powerful scene wasn't a devastated Severus desperately wanting one happy Christmas but the last line of Tobias' because it embodied so much hatred at this poor woman who'd had the misfortune for falling for this abusive monster for her supposed flaws that their son apparently inherited from her because Eileen wasn't 'normal'.

Brilliantly done.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella Hunter Of Mince Pies and Angels

6th October 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and it's been a while! I can't remember the last story that we swapped on but it's nice to be back. :D

OH, the feels. I was so happy to be reading this because I was certain that it would have a happy ending but my heart wasn't ready. I think that writing about Snape as a child makes people a little uncomfortable because we all know that he came from an abusive household. That's not easy to write either but I think that you did a good job here, you didn't blanket the entire one-shot with the violence but had enough of it that we were sympathetic for Snape and his mother. I was really upset about how he was being treated but what I like here, is that Snape actually has a touching amount of optimism. It's certainly not what I would have expected and it makes me even sadder to know what happens to him later. What I thought was great though was his love for the holidays and how dedicated he was to making sure that his mother was happy. When he made that Christmas tree and put his whole heart into it, only to get his father's wrath later.my whole heart just melted into tears. I think the very ending though was just so gut-wrenching but I will say that it was one of the most beautiful things that I've ever read. :)

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login