Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Blue Eyes
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dinthemidwest St. Valentine's Day 1995

29th May 2016:
You captured Angelina & George perfectly... The dialogue was great-I'm glad I stopped & read this one!

 Report Review

Review #2, by bigblackdog St. Valentine's Day 1995

6th March 2016:
(hpff review-athon!)

OOO RENEE you've done it again!

how do you even manage to capture so much intensity? i swear my heart was actually racing right before they kissed!

i think these lines represent everything i love about this one shot: "Fredís eyes always seemed to laugh, blue like the sky. Georgeís eyes spoke of something else. They were blue, yes, but like the ocean."

all your writing makes use of some gorgeous descriptive language and metaphors that give me a lot to think about and depth of understanding about a character or a situation but don't beat me over the head with their metaphor-y-ness.

i love that this story fits in with all the canon. the setting of the triward tournament lends so much reality to their conversation, and the switch from fred, who takes her to the yule ball, to george, who she marries, was beautifully filled in this story.

and sweet marmalade, can you write a kiss scene!

xo elise

Author's Response: Hello dear!

Thank you for including me in your review-a-thon reviews!

I didn't know I had captured "so much intensity" so I can't tell you how I did it. But, I'm SO pleased that you think I have! A first kiss needs a proper build up ;)

I actually wrote those lines first out of the whole story. It's so cool that you picked them out as a theme.

I sometimes worry I write /too much/ description. Thank you for saying it didn't beat you over the head. And thank you for calling in gorgeous! *blushes*

Yeah, I tried to make this work with cannon (canon? cannon? I never know :P) as much as I could. Thank you :)

Oh, yay! I'm so glad you like the kiss!

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I put off answering it a little because it was so fun to keep rereading, haha!

lots of love!
Renee


 Report Review

Review #3, by dreamgazer220 St. Valentine's Day 1995

17th February 2016:
Hey there!

Jill here for our Hufflepuff Review Exchange! It's so ironic that we were paired together because I've been meaning to read this one-shot for a while, but I just hadn't gotten around to it yet - and now I'm so glad I did!!

This was so adorable. I loved the way you wrote Ang - she was so relatable, especially in the beginning. I loved how she went from not wanting to be upset over Fred being late, but he is her boyfriend and so it was totally understandable and I'm glad that she could admit it to herself. I also really loved that she's the kind of girl that wouldn't stand for that sort of thing for that long, so I'm glad you didn't make their relationship out to be much longer than a few months.

AND GEORGE! He's just so adorable and fluffy and I really want to hug him. I'm so glad that he was there for Ang to help lift her spirits - amongst other things ;) And their kiss! It was so sweet but some of the language you used here - I really loved the "her body was on fire" line - made it clear that there was something already brewing between them.

And Angelina reflecting on how she views both of them? Wow! Originally I had wanted a little more on the differences she saw between them, but then we get to your sky and ocean metaphors, and how she wants the ocean instead of the sky. And this line: "His gaze made waves crash within her." Simple but so powerful! It tied in really nicely with the end.

One thing I would have liked to see a little more is at the end with Fred and Angelina - it just seemed over so suddenly, which I totally get for the purposes of the one-shot. I guess I just have a vision in my head of Fred maybe wanting more of an explanation, maybe fight a little harder for her, but I'm really glad you didn't make the breakup about the kiss or George at all - really well done there.

Overall this was such an adorable one-shot, and it definitely made me see how George and Angelina could have ended up together, which always made me a little uneasy in canon.

Thank you so much for the exchange!
I'm so glad I got a chance to read this!!

Keep up the great work!
~Jill

Author's Response: Hi Jill!

I'm surprised and very happy that you'd been meaning to read this story. I mean, really??? You had? That's awfully nice of you! :) *hug*

I suppose, despite her reflection on beauty being in the eye of the beholder, her realization that they're different people is relatively superficial here. I mean, I do think she sees that Fred and George have difference in their personalities. That's kind of the whole point, and now that you mention it, I wish I would have delved more into that... darn you for giving such good crit! ;) No, I'm just kidding! Thank you! That's a GREAT observation, even though you kind of let me off the hook.

I'd never written Angelina before, and I'd only written a VERY angsty George, so this was quite a departure. I'm always thrilled when readers like how I wrote them. Thank you!

I will never get how two teenagers going on one date somehow created this great romance between Ang and Fred in the fandom. But, that's alright. I have this little head canon of my own to dismantle it. :)

Thanks for the great review swap!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #4, by princesslily_36 St. Valentine's Day 1995

13th December 2015:
Hey Renee!

Here I am. Thank you so much for sharing this link with me. It was so beautiful :wub: There are so many things I liked about this story:

How you brought about Angelina's conflict where she switches from Fred to George and reflects on them. How she seperated them and sees their unique souls as opposed to their identical exteriors. It was gradually mentioned, and not at all abrupt. The whole transition was so believable it has almost become headcanon for me :D

The first kiss as such. I love how you brought that about, and the words you used to describe it. Set my heart racing slightly. If you'd entered it in the contest, I can say without doubt you would have been one of the winners :D

The fact that you put the seed of their relationship right from school, and not after Fred's death like most people did. I like the timeline, right after Yule Ball, where it could be justified.

Wonderful story. I love the genre and your writing is amazing. Please do share if you write again along these lines

PS: I still love the Lucy Lysandar Lorcan adventures, hope you write more of them!

Love,
Ysh

Author's Response: Ah, Ysh! I'm so glad you stopped by! Your review put the biggest grin on my face - like, how are you SO NICE?!?

--> "I can say without a doubt you would have been one of the winners"
UM OH MY GOSH THANK YOU! I've read the winners and they are DIVINE! What a generous compliment! And I can't believe this swayed your headcanon! That is beyond amazing!!

Thank you so very much for reading this and leaving such a lovely review!

xoxo Renee

p.s. I have a Lorcan story in the pipeline :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan St. Valentine's Day 1995

12th December 2015:
"It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget THAT IT IS HOT SEAT DAY!!!" - Albus Dumbledore. Obvi.

Aw, I really liked this. I think most George/Angelina fics I've read are about them after Hogwarts, which means they're usually quite angsty because it's after Fred's death. So I appreciate in this one that it's still got the very magical setting of Hogwarts and even has the triwizard tournament in the background, making it feel like a missing moment.

I really like how you wrote Angelina in this - her irritation at being stood up for her date, and the sort of resigned discomfort she felt sitting all alone surrounded by couples. And I absolutely loved her little adventure with George afterwards, going to get all the sweets imaginable and have a wonderful afternoon together despite how the day hadn't started out well. Their natural chemistry is pretty obvious.

And I just loved the differences you pointed out between the twins, and how you described them as the sea and the sky - it's just so metaphorical and I love it :D I think it makes a lot of sense too, as on the surface Fred and George are very much alike (being identical twins), but upon getting to know them better, the differences show up more in their personalities. Fred, the louder, more transparent one who's just so light and unencumbered, like the sky, versus George who is more sensitive and deep, a bit more mysterious (I was going to say thoughtful but he did kiss his brother's girlfriend, so... :P )

I do feel kind of bad for Fred though - what with his girlfriend dumping him for his twin brother. He took it well, but, I mean, it is Valentines Day and it probably sucks to get dumped on that day. Even if you don't tell your girlfriend you have detention. I have a feeling this day will be a secret George tries to keep from Fred as long as possible.

Ah, young love :p

This was a really lovely one-shot and it felt realistic. I loved how you wrote all three of the characters. And yeah, regarding what you said in your A/N - its nice to think that there was something going on between them before Fred's death, and this definitely makes George seem a lot less of a consolation prize.

Well done on this, it was a great read! ♥

Author's Response: Before I actually respond to your review, can I please point out that you wrote FIVE REVIEWS on my stories in ONE DAY?!?!?!? You are such a CHAMPION! *hugs forever*

It's true, it would be sucky to get dumped on Valentines Day. I do feel bad for Fred! However, I never imagined Fred and Angelina as being in love. For me, their relationship was the sort of fun but not-so-meaningful relationship that a lot of people might have at that age. And I think George knows he cares about Angelina more than Fred does, he was just a little slower to make a move. I think Fred will understand, even if George wasn't being a great brother. But that is just my head cannon around this story. :P

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It's great to hear that you thought Ang and George showed compatibility and especially that you like the way I wrote Angelina.

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for writing me so many super amazing reviews for the hot seat! You're the greatest!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotter St. Valentine's Day 1995

24th October 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a great story! I loved it! I don't read a ton of stories that focus on George and Angelina, so I really liked that you chose to write about them.
I felt so bad for poor Angelina because Fred didn't show up for their date on Valentine's day of all days! But then she ran into George and I knew that things would be okay!
I thought it was so great that she and George just walked around Hogsmeade together and went to Honeydukes and had fun. I loved that they were just having fun eating sweets by the fire when they kissed. It just felt so natural and real.
I was a little afraid that Fred would walk in on them and get really bad but was so happy and relieved that things didn't go that way. I also really liked that she and Fred could agree to be friends.
The comparison of Fred to the sky and George to the ocean was gorgeous. It showed their different personalities and the different relationships they have with Angelina, even if they're so similar physically.
I loved this story, and am so glad you asked me to read it! Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: CASSIE! Hello, sweetie!

I am so very glad that you enjoyed the story, and I'm glad you liked the ending because I was afraid people wouldn't find it believable.

Thank you so much for your compliment about the ocean/sky part. That was one of the first lines I wrote. :)

As always, your review was super kind and the swap was brilliant. *hug*

lots of love,
Renee


 Report Review

Review #7, by ScorpiusRose17 St. Valentine's Day 1995

11th October 2015:
Hi Renee!!

I am here with another review for you!!

I wanted to start off by saying thank you... Thank you for not making this George and Angelina story the stereotypical she gets to be with George since Fred dies story. Like you said in your A/N: You don't want him to be a consolation prize and I couldn't agree with you more. Also, George isn't doing her a favor either just because his brother dies.

This was great to see how there relationship could have begun even with Fred alive. I have always been curious about the relationship between them and how it developed. I wonder if George ever had any girlfriends other than Angelina? He always seemed sort of like the third wheel in the books.

I liked how you described the scenes and their feelings/emotions. I like that they feel real and that you can relate to them on certain levels. It sort of draws you back to that first love moment we all usually get the chance to experience. It makes you wonder and feel in ways that you didn't know possible at the time. I like how you take the two identities of Fred and George and split them up as sky and ocean. They can both be limitless, but in all terms of seriousness the ocean holds more secrets and more depth to discover than the sky. Maybe that is why she is so intrigued since she doesn't know the future outcome of the boys.

You did an awesome job and I look forward to seeing how you do in this challenge!! :)

Keep up the great work!!

-Jenn

Author's Response: Hi Jenn!

You know, it's interesting - I did an online quiz once where you have to name the top 200 characters in the series based on number of mentions, and Fred is mentioned 920 times, while George is only mentioned 821. I was so surprised because I always thought of them as a set, but after that I began to think of George as the quieter one, the more cautious one. So I guess I agree with your observation about him seeming like the third wheel.

I think my head canon is that George had other relationships, but no other serious relationships. But that's just me, of course!

I'm so glad you liked how I wrote the emotions and found the story relatable. Thank you!

Thanks so much for this amazing review! I always love hearing your thoughts!! *hug*

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella Hunter St. Valentine's Day 1995

11th October 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums and I'm here with your review and I also wanted to thank you for the kind words that you left on my review. They made me feel so much better and you're a real jewel!

Ah, so many feels. I really enjoyed this! I think that you wrote this so well and I can't find a single thing wrong with it. There was so much heart here and what I really loved was that you could practically see the love in the air. I think that you wrote Angelina really nicely, she has some aspects of being a typical tom boy but you've given her a softness that came across really well. I could only imagine how distressing it was to be at The Three Broomsticks alone, waiting on a date that was never going to happen. On Valentine's Day. I was actually dumped on Valentine's Day so I think that you wrote this really realistically and her thought process was very easy to follow. I like how during this entire thing she keeps saying that she wasn't the type of girl to fuss about boys and I wonder if she thought of herself as unromantic? I think that was an interesting little character trait to note because she experiences genuine romance not too long after. What I really loved about this was that you didn't rush into anything and you made a point of saying that Angelina could tell the difference between the boys from the beginning. It was easy to see why they were all friends and can we just talk about how adorable your George is? OMG. He's everything I want right now, I think that his shyness and warmth came across so wonderfully and I actually thought that the attraction between he and Angie was genuine.

What I certainly loved was that Angie had kind of a shock over noticing the difference between the two boys. There are so many similarities between them but she saw for the first time that they weren't the same person. I could gush and go on and on and on about this but I really love it. My favorite line about this though is at the very end and it really, really makes me want to read on so if you get a fresh chapter up, let me know!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

I'm glad my comments on your blog were helpful in some way - reading about things like that always upsets me, even though it does not surprise me. I'm very glad you brought it up, though, because it is super important!

I am trying to find a way to start responding to your review of the story, but all I can think is that it is just such a sweet, amazingly kind review and so THANK YOU for that!! I feel like you read this exactly the way I want it to be read. I hadn't thought about Angelina considering herself unromantic, but that's an excellent point. She just doesn't see herself in that light, in part because her prior relationships really haven't been very romantic.

This was actually written as a one shot and I never planned to continue it. But your review is so sweet, it makes me want to write more about Ang and George. I guess that's yet another thing to add to my constantly growing "To Write" list ;)

Thanks again for the amazing review!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #9, by BellaLestrange87 St. Valentine's Day 1995

9th October 2015:
Hi there! I'm here for our review swap (and I'm sorry for being so late *offers chocolate*)

I love your description of Angelina here. She sounds like she's trying to convince herself that she doesn't care about Valentine's Day, and isn't doing a very good job. The little details you added were very well done - things like Madam Rosmerta paying for her drink because she'd been stood up, and how George checked her out.

It sounds just like Fred to get detention with Filch. I'm glad that George was there for her, though, and that she wasn't completely abandoned or anything.

The gradual build-up of their relationship in this story from friends to lovers. I know in your author's note you said that you wanted George to be more than a consolation prize for Angelina, and you really succeeded here. Everything in this story is perfect - it's definitely going on my favourites list.

Thanks for the swap, and I'm sorry I was so late with mine *hides*

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi Olivia!

I am so pleased to have a review on this story! Especially such a lovely review! Thank you!

I really tried to make Angelina a nuanced person with conflicting desires, and her reluctance to admit that she did want some traditional romance was part of that.

"Everything in this story is perfect - it's definitely going on my favourites list."

^^ UM, SO, YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY THE SWEETEST! :hug:

I really enjoyed swapping with you, dear! We should do it again soon!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #10, by Felpata Lupin St. Valentine's Day 1995

4th October 2015:
Hey, Renee, darling!
Here for our swap!

I was a bit unsure about what to pick, but since this had no reviews yet, I thought to give it a try. And I wasn't disappointed!!! :)

What I really adored in this was your writing style! Just fabolous!!! Your descriptions were wonderful, especially in the differences between the two brothers. I loved the image of the blue eyes, the quiet limpidity of the sky opposed to the deepness and strenght of the ocean. It's so poetic.

And I just loved the way you wrote the moment before the kiss... "and she was still. He was still. They were still. The castle, the world, the universe was still around them, and in the perfect stillness their eyes met." It's just so beautiful, so perfect!

I must admit I felt a bit sorry for Fred. He didn't seem to take the break up so bad, though... But it might've been only facade... I kind of wonder what happened next?

Anyway, I loved what you did here! I loved that you showed that she chose George, that he wasn't a "consolation price" like you say in your AN. It's a great perspective.

This was a really beautifully written and constructed piece, and I just loved how you built the romance in here! So sweet and vivid and heartfelt! Just wonderful!

Good luck in the challenge! A huge hug!
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi lovely!

Thanks SO much for reviewing this story! I was really looking for an opinion on it. I'm glad you weren't disappointed! Thank you for your very kind words!

I feel a little sorry for Fred, too, but I also think Fred was never really serious about Angelina. He liked her, but (at least in my head canon) he wasn't really in love with her. They were just kids - there's nothing wrong with a fun relationship like that. However, I don't think it necessarily implies any deep feelings or commitment.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thank you SO SO MUCH for the lovely things you said. You are the sweetest! :hug:

xoxo Renee


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login