Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Glimpses of Battle
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jenna Choices

18th September 2016:
Hi, just reread some of this, i really love this fic, hoping for an update soon

 Report Review

Review #2, by Morgan Choices

18th July 2016:
This chapter sounds so realistic like from someone's real life except with all the magic involved. You're choice of words seem on point, and I could just imagine myself in the room under an invisibility cloak watching this scene unfold! I really hope Harry sees some sense; he definitely deserves some happiness after everything he's done.
This whole story just tugs at my emotions, and has made me cry so many times. There are some occasional spelling error that attracts my attention and fragments the flow, but not majorly. You're writing style is really unique, and I think that's part of the reason why I've enjoyed reading this so much.
Keep up the awesome work, and I hope the next chapter is coming up soon!

 Report Review

Review #3, by RoseVaughan Light and Dark

7th June 2016:
Oh heavens, this chapter nearly broke me. Using the stone for George to say goodbye was a beautiful touch.
Am glad I'm picking up this story with so many chapters published as am looking forward to reading the rest in quick succession.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Mia Choices

31st May 2016:
The dialogue is really impressive in this chapter, I'm glad that even though Harry is being sort of unresponsive, that this healer is at least making some break throughs. Great chap once again !

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jutta Choices

24th May 2016:
This has to be one of your best chapters yet! That dialogue provides such a clear image of the inner turmoil Harry experiences. If I'm correct, Harry had started to resign to the fact to not do anything to get 'better'. He started to push everyone away because he feared that his friends (Ron & Hermione mostly) would walk out on him, not wanting to be bothered with his care.

And I like Toren and her no-nonsense attitude. I think that will work the best with Harry, our frustratingly stoic and stubborn hero.

As always, I can't wait until the next one! X

Author's Response: Thanks! You're just on point. Though his resignation is more to do with the fact that he's IN the ward. It's all a matter of trust, really.
Hope to have the next one up by next weekend. I'm glad you liked it! And thanks for reviewing, as always :-)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jutta Don't Leave

18th May 2016:
Thank god there is a sensible nurse around! And you are right, if there is no legal context or guardian involved the choice of continuing treatment can be the patients. But often they do not experience it like that, or they do as family, nurses and doctors say. Although that is highly dependent on the diagnosis, of course.

Anyway, on topic: I hope Harry will find the littlest flinter of strenght to ask for help and tries to make his demons understandable. I look forward to what you have in store for us next!

X

Author's Response: I hope the next chapter'll make sense to you. It's a bit analytical, and I hope I'm not making to many strides in one go. Anyway- I'd love to hear what you'll think (it should be up in a couple of days).
I think asking for help is a big issue for Harry- but I also think he's been getting better at it throughout the story. The very fact that he agreed to live with Ron and Hermione- even if he told himself it was for their own peace of mind- was a huge step forward for him, and he does take their concern for him more calmly than he did before. As always, I think, with these kinds of stories, asking for help is one of the major themes. And Harry's... we'll. He's Harry. He's about to make some major strides, but obviously, the way's still pretty long.
Anyway- thanks a lot for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Mia Don't Leave

16th May 2016:
Another great chapter! I thought the beginning bit was nice and well thought out, it's fantastic that you're delving deeper into relatively insignificant/less important scenes in the HP series and I loved seeing things from Hermione's perspective, how she can see right through Ron and Harry and correctly interpret all their little facial expressions and quirks. The scene with Neville was really heart warming, I think he dealt with the situation really well. Thanks for updating so on time, I love keeping up with this fic :)

Author's Response: Next one's in the quo.
I really like writing scenes from the books from other people's POV. One of my favorite things about the books is that we only get to see Harry's side of things- which is great, since we sort of get to know exactly what he feels like, are surprised along with him, betrayed along with him, excited, etc- but it's also a big downside: we never see Hermione and Ron's relationship without him (even though it obviously exists, they spend summers together even if he'd not there), we don't see their own struggles, and their fears etc. So it's really a big part of the decision to have Glimpses at all- to sort of dig deeper at what these characters are feeling that Harry would never know, and usually completely misread.
I'm glad you're keeping up with it still. :-) I've got a bit of mad editing to do (rewrite some major things that have fallen out of sync with additions I've made), but I hope updating will be as regular as possible :-) Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jutta Closed Ward

9th May 2016:
Horrifying. The only word I can use to describe it. Ugh. It makes me mad.

I've worked at a psychiatric hospital before and helped clients with their everyday tasks, so I've experienced first hand how vulnerable they can get. So, reading someone like this sodding Melory makes my blood boil. Even though it is just a chapter from your story, for others out there it's their thruth. Some people who are supposed to be protecting and helping the sick are actually sicker than them. Infuriating.

Anyway, can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Vulnerability is the word, isn't it? And Harry's exactly the kind of person who would not be able to deal with it very well. I think being in a ward is going to be a big issue for him, being used to doing things on his own, without help, especially from strangers.
Anyway, I'm kind of glad to have a reader who's worked at a ward. I'd love it if you could correct me where I'm wrong :-)

As always, thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rougaroux Closed Ward

5th May 2016:
You are phenomenal at keeping these characters 3D. I've noticed that in many chapters there are several typos- I imagine autocorrect or voice to text could be the cause. It can be distracting, but it's also a very minuscule thing. However, you're doing amazing at these cliff hangers and know how to keep us wanting more. I can't wait to see where this goes!

What I'm loving is Harry's internal dilemma: having every intention of committing suicide and being stopped by an almost fatal incident. How can he convince others that he didn't actually try to commit suicide? How can he earn their trust back so that they believe him? (Probably by... Not trying to commit suicide again.) It all so emotionally in-depth and challenging, even for the reader.

Thank you for continuing this story. It's givin' me life.

Author's Response: Didn't he try to commit suicide?
:-)
I think trust is really a big issue here. It's a major plot point, so I'm glad you see it'd make sense for it to go that way. Especially, I think, trust would be an issue for Ron- who is, as we know, rather incapable of handling his personal dilemmas very well. Additionally, I think, Harry's going to have some serious questions he'll have to answer about himself. The reasons he has for doing things, and the reasons he tells himself he has, which I think aren't always the same thing. I hope I'll be able to portray this both within the ward and outside of it, in the coming chapters.

I hope you like them! Thanks for taking the time to review :-)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Burli Closed Ward

3rd May 2016:
I really like your story. It is so atmospheric and tense and it gives me the feels. Keep up the good work. Can't wait for the next one.

Love,
M.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope it continues to do so. That's sorta what I'm going for :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Juliette Harbor Closed Ward

3rd May 2016:
This is terrible! Someone needs to rescue Harry! I hope it's Neville who comes barging in. He could have talked with Ron, Hermione and Ginny about it, and then snuck into Harry's room while visiting his parents. Or maybe Kingsley could get involved. I really do hope Harry doesn't have to stay in there for long, and I really hope Hermione isn't claiming that the healers are doing the right thing either. I feel like she's someone who believes someone with more knowledge and experience should make the final decision, but I think once she sees what their doing, she'll definitely want to get Harry out. I just can't stop thinking about poor Harry. He doesn't deserve this, not after everything he's been through.
When the nurse forces the potion down Harry's throat, couldn't she also have used magic to and not that other contraption that sounds really painful?
I love your writing style. The sentences are short and choppy, but long at other times, which just makes it all the more realistic. You really do bring the characters to life, and I think it fits with their personalities quite nicely. I only wish the chapters were longer, but that's only because I want to read more. This is one of the most realistic post-hogwarts story I've ever read. It includes just the right amount of the magical world with how people in real life act after a traumatic experience. Although I have never had a traumatic experience or been through a war, I think the characters' actions are pretty consistent with those that have been through a troublesome period.
Please keep updating whenever you have time, but don't keep us waiting too long!

Author's Response: Hey,
I deliberated a lot about this entire plot point at St Mungos. It wasn't part of the original story line, and I think it's really very complex. Because on the one hand, Harry's situation is one which requires professional help. On the other hand, I really can't find a way for him to gain a lot form a closed ward- because being a celebrity, being everybody's savior, will always be there to stop his getting better at such a place. Especially since I think part of the problem Harry has initially is that he still sees himself as serving a purpose, being a light.
So, this was all very complicated for me, and I initially planned to bypass it all together and avoid the issue by not adding scenes from a closed ward. But they seemed necessary. I tried to find some sort of balance. I think that part of the idea is that Harry- being a private person, being very independent, having handled things mostly on his own for most of his life- would find it very hard, to accept help from anyone. I also think it would be hard for the staff to see him as anything other than a savior, and act in any other way, and let their infatuations blind them to what he really needs. But only the bad doctors.
Sorry this is a little confusing, as I said, I think it's a pretty complicated situation. There are two more chapters in the hospital, and after them, I'll make my meaning plainer :-)

Regarding the device- I'm not sure it's very painful at all. Not more then cutting open your hand and connecting a tube to a blood vessel. It's just different, and scary to someone who's not getting information about it, as patients often are when placed in hospitals without prior notice. I think it has more to do with Harry's fear and confusion, then actual pain.

I hope you like the following chapters (and that they make more sense then this, anyway... :-) ) Really soon, we'll be back to Hogwarts.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jutta Snake

27th April 2016:
Shivers down my spine, I'm telling you... Brilliant chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you had the two chapters to sustain you :-) Next one's coming as soon as it's validated... It's sort of a new plot line, wasn't in the original draft, some I'm somewhat concerned, but we'll see what you guys think :-) Thanks for reviewing (twice!)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Jutta  Horcrux

27th April 2016:
God, bloody hell... I did not see this one coming.
So glad there is another chapter already, 'cause
I'd be less than amused if there wasn't.
You're a brilliant writer, by the way. Have I said
that already? X

Author's Response: I read your "bloody hell" in Rupert Grint's voice. Is that strange?

 Report Review

Review #14, by KLB1234 Snake

24th April 2016:
Love Love LOVED this chapter. I know it was short, but I think it was a good length. It was a really clover way for him to realise the state of things. Reminded me of the scene in the movie 'A Beautiful Mind' where he realised the people that he was imagining had never got any older even though they had been in his life for decades.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! The next chapter is new. It wasn't in the original plot, so I'm a bit skittish about it's belonging. Hope it'll fit in.
Thanks for reviewing continually. It's really quite great of you :-)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Sammy Snake

24th April 2016:
I really love you story, please update :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Update in the quo :-) Hope you'll like it

 Report Review

Review #16, by jenna  Horcrux

14th April 2016:
Wow...So I guess we're at rock bottom. It's just so sobering to see that Harry begins to feel at peace when he decides to take matters into his own hands. I don't think he even really believes the premise that he's operating on. I'm thinking,yeah he should have been at St.Mungos like yesterday people! This has turned into one of my favorite fics, I can always tell , when I'm constantly going back and rereading various scenes. Again, great work!

Author's Response: It means a lot to know you like the story enough to reread parts of it :-) I do that with my favorites, as well.
We have reached rock bottom, that's a good description. Fortunately, there's only one direction to go from here on out...
I've deliberated a lot about St. Mungos, and I've yet to really make up my mind. I'm sincerely not sure which is better, familiar places surrounded with loved ones, or professional places surrounded by strangers (that can help you, but still). I think Harry has an additional problem, being a celebrity. I'm not sure yet what I think about it. We'll have to see. :-)
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by KLB1234  Horcrux

11th April 2016:
I am still hanging on every word. Amazing chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks :-) I'm really happy it's keeping you interested, and I'll have something up really soon, I swear :-)
We've passed sort of a turning point in this chapter, and the next few are going to be a little different from what had been so far. I hope you'll like it and that it'll keep making logical sense. As always, thanks for taking the time to review :-)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Rougaroux  Horcrux

6th April 2016:
I'll be honest and say that I don't have a lot of time to leave you a good, solid review. Hopefully I can review another chapter properly.

What you've best captured in this story is how real PTSD is and how it can seem to change a person. In this chapter you've once again captured mental illness (I.e. Suicide) accurately and compassionately.

You write incredibly well, with fantastic description and an understanding of your characters that many authors lack.

I have noticed that your stories primarily focus on grief and trauma. This is a part of Harry Potter that often goes untouched in fan fiction. Healing from trauma is hard-- I say this as someone who has started trauima therapy-- and watching a character I identify with and love show signs of healing (admittedly, he does relapse) gives me hope in my journey as well.

Thank you for writing this important story. It's a story I didn't know I needed to read.

Author's Response: Hey,
I think grief and trauma are some of the most prominent features of the Potter verse. And they're also the ones, as you said, people tend to ignore. OOTP and DH are probably the most controversial of the seven, and the reason, I think, is that they especially center around exactly these topics. Accordingly, they're my favorite :-)
I'm really happy you thought the story portrays PTSD and mental illness in general in a realistic way. I think my main goals in writing were these: making the struggle convincing, and making the characters both realistic and true to themselves. I think Harry was not only destroyed after the war, he was destroyed throughout it, and I think that in DH we saw this most obviously in the way that he acted and the way that he thought of himself- as serving a purpose, as completing a mission, as acting out a role for the greater good. And while Harry's built as someone who'd do that, I think it was never the thing he would have wanted. But his entire life- including life at the Dursleys- led up to it, and when it was over he would have spiraled out of control.
This chapter was sort of a turning point. We're heading towards brighter days with (as you said) relapses. These will be hard on all the characters, and I'll have a chapter up real soon, just as soon as I finish tweaking the last lines of dialogue. I hope you'll keep enjoying the story, and that it won't slip away from realistic portrayals (if it does, I'd love to know :-) )
Thanks a lot for reviewing, these long ones are the best :-) It's great to know someone's taking something from this. :-)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Julie  Merry Christmas

1st April 2016:
I really am enjoying this story and I hope you update soon! I read this chapter a couple of days ago, and as I look back at it now, many of the characters have changed to creatures and I discovered that it's because the site is now based on Fantastic Beasts. Will you still continue writing this story? I really really like this story, but I'm not very fond of the story changing to match the Fantastic Beasts theme (I don't know if it's your doing or the website's doing that changed the characters to match Fantastic Beasts). I feel like changing it doesn't make as huge of a message as before when the names were still the ones JK Rowling used. I will most likely continue to read it, but it'll be harder to follow because I have to associate characters with different names or descriptions.

Author's Response: Hey Julie, I'm glad you liked the chapter.
I didn't change the characters- it was an automatic thing the site itself went through (HPFF) and I have a hunch that it has something to do with April Fools... :-)
Hopefully by tomorrow the original text will be back to normal :-) Our site managers are rather whimsicle...


 Report Review

Review #20, by jenna Forward

21st March 2016:
I've so been waiting for that scene at the end! I'm thinking, -"yeah guys just keep flooding him with images of LIFE, and moving on, ect", it was pretty poignant, thank you.

Author's Response: I like that scene, as well. :-) I think Ron, Hermione and Ginny are beginning to understand the direction they should be taking with Harry. Glad it makes sense to you too...


 Report Review

Review #21, by anonymous Talk

18th March 2016:
Nice going! Quiet Interesting :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Hope you like the rest :-)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Jutta Talk

17th March 2016:
You're such a great writer! I do hope things will get better eventually, but that's also because I'm a sucker for feel good stories. :-)

I'm looking forward to what you've in store for us next! X

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm trying to balance the angst with some happier moments, but it'll go slowly. After Christmas, though, there'll be a change of pace...
Thanks for reviewing. :-)


 Report Review

Review #23, by KLB1234 Breakthroughs

3rd March 2016:
I was worried you had writer's block! I am so relieved to see this update!

Hagrid was a great choice. I had never thought of it, but it is so obvious now that I have read it that is he perfect. He has seen everything, he even knew Riddle as a kid, of course he would understand.

I really liked this chapter, even though it was a shorter one. Wel l done :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I kinda loved Hagrid here too. I'm trying to figure out a way to make him a bigger part of the rest of the story, but it's a bit full as it is, so I may have to just make him a guest star in opportune moments. :-)
Next update will be longer and also sooner if all goes according to plan (which it will). Hope you like it as well! Thanks for the review :-)


 Report Review

Review #24, by jenna Breakthroughs

2nd March 2016:
Once again beautifully written chapter. Again you make me want to hold Harry and rock him to sleep, lol! For Harry his friends are his light, and if he let's them they can help him steer his way through this. Waiting for more!, but no pressure

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you're getting the metaphors, I was afraid they weren't coming off all that clear :-) The next update- I swear- is not going to be as late, because all I really need is a free couple of hours to put together all the random scenes I already have written into some comprehensive plot. And then I can post it. And after, there's a few chapters already written- so updating will be faster and more steady.
Thanks a lot for the review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Msmimipi Breakthroughs

1st March 2016:
I almost gave up on checking if there would be a new update, but I#m glad I didn't. This chapter made me cry. You bring to life what I always imagined would be happening to Harry after the battle. I like that you show that all these years of fighting against the Dark did leave Harry scarred and hopeless. Not everything was well right after that it took some time. I love your story so far and I really hope I'll be able to enjoy many more chapters (please don't let us wait so long again, because I really thought you had given up on the story)

Author's Response: It's very unlikely that I'll give up on the story, since it's finished on my hard drive. What I really need to do is stop adding extra plot points the require rewriting finished chapters, thus concluding in my having to find time to rewrite said chapters, and resulting in slow updates... sorry! But I'm trying to steer away from them. (Even though Hagrid's scene wasn't in the original outline, and I kind of love it now, so I can't really say I'm sorry I took the time to write it.) (despite the unfortunate effect on my GPA.)
Anyway- thanks a lot for the review! I'm so happy you like the story, and that you feel that it does justice to the characters. I think it was a bunch of time of reading the seventh book before I realized the effects that would ensue- and my fingers tingled with writing of them. :-) Harry's an incredible character for this sort of story because we've already seen his PTSD in the series- the fifth book.
Anyway, thanks a lot and I hope you enjoy the rest as much :-)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>