Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore An Important Question

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again, Kapa!

Oh my goodness, I love Teddy Lupin so much! I don't know why I have such a soft spot for him - maybe it's because he's had such a horrible start to life with his parents dying in the battle, and maybe it's because he's a Hufflepuff, or maybe it's just because he's called Teddy... anyway, I'm so excited to see some stories about him on your page, and that I get the chance to read them!

This was absolutely adorable to read! I honestly loved the way that you wrote it, because you really captured that childlike innocence that comes through and would be there because Teddy has only been at Hogwarts for two days. Then you've packed so much into this short letter - he's writing to Harry, and he knows that there's the fame to Harry's name but it's still weird for him to go to Hogwarts and know so many people with that name there, too.

I loved his lack of prejudice too, the way that he doesn't discriminate or see a difference to the people whose parents were Death Eaters because of his own family, and how he has the likes and dislikes just like any other kid. Also that he's young enough to still sign the letter 'Love you!' without caring what people might think. This just put a massive smile on my face, thank you!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lady Asphodel An Important Question

28th April 2017:
Haha - the ending where Teddy names all the names he wanted Harry to say hi to until he realized that there were too many to name had me laugh. That was good.

So this is about Teddy's beginning his little journey at Hogwarts now. I imagine Hufflepuff is another good house - similar to Gryffindor, but like Teddy said more 'cozier' - I mean - I wouldn't know because we don't really know it in the books or movies... unless you go to Pottermore... well, that only leaves me - hehe. I'm sure though that Harry won't be disappointed at all of Teddy being a badger.


Five Harrys, huh? That's funny and cute too. That is something cool that you added in there because naturally, there are schools, and sometimes even in classes, where you have students who share the same name.


I love that Teddy defended the students who have Death Eaters for parents, and interesting name you created for the kids... it is mean and I imagine something like that happening to those kids, even though like Teddy said, it isn't their fault that their parents chose to serve Voldemort, and he used a perfecr example of using his grandmother.


Aw - it's good and sad that you mentioned how Teddy would be bothered by his parents' death taking place where he has to go to school - even though a little bit. Even if he didn't get to know them, it's still unsettling. And he's worried about being where they died. Aw. So sad.


But I can see that Teddy is enjoying himself and he assures Harry in his letter - try to tell him not to worry about him.

So yeah, this was a really nice one-shot!


(Attack - CTF: Gryffindor)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jayna An Important Question

5th October 2015:
Hi Kapa! I realized that I had missed your second entry, so here I am! Thank you so much for taking the time to enter my challenge!

You always manage to add a certain creativity to your writing, and in this piece one thing I found very interesting and out-of-the-box was the mention of how there are five Harry's. It makes sense, but I had never really thought of that. I also never wondered about how Teddy would feel about spending his years in the same place his parents died. Another thing that was good about this piece was how I could kind of sense Teddy's personality through the way he writes, and that was nice. Overall, you covered a lot of interesting topics in a very short story, so congrats on that.

However, I feel like even though you touched on many subjects, the whole story had the feel of a long ramble and there wasn't really a clear plot to it. Another thing was that although you touched on many subjects, you didn't go very deep into any of them, except maybe the one about how his parents died in Hogwarts. Overall, it was still a fun story to read, but perhaps you could go more in-depth. However, I do understand it was only supposed be 500 words, so (just a suggestion) perhaps you could expand it into a series of 500-word letters? I dunno, that's just my opinion.

Overall, this was still a fun story to read and congrats on winning best new author!!!

-Jayna

Author's Response: And hello again, Jayna! : )

Aw, shucks, I do try my best to be creative with my stories. I feel Rowling has given us a world that is so overflowing with creativity that it would just be an utter shame to not try to play around with that sort of creativity as much as possible! As for the five Harry's I definitely felt pretty smug when I came up with that. Teddy’s class is the one with most children born actually during the second war, and naming their sons 'Harry' was in my mind a way to keep hope alive. (I think I got the idea from the episode in ATLA where a family of refugees names their newborn daughter 'Hope'.) (Now I wonder what they would have named their girls...)

The thing I experimented with for with this story was actually to have more of a 'guiding idea' than a 'plot' per se. The guiding idea was the thing about how Teddy had to basically live his whole life for several years at the place where his parents were killed, and how the whole school is now a former battleground. And I wanted to filter it through the language and conceptions of an eleven-year-old. I actually think of it more like a character study of Teddy than a 'story', you know. So it's great that you say that his personality comes across, that was exactly what I was aiming for.

As for not going in depth, I was trying to put myself into the mind of a child who really only wants to ask one super big and hard question but doesn't want to make a big deal of it (even though it totally is and everyone would understand!) and therefore he mentions the other things more to fill out the letter...

But I totally get what you mean. I once planned to write a fuller story about this same Teddy and the struggles that are kind of hinted at here, but it's currently been side lined by other projects. I still have a lot of love for this Teddy, though. He grows up to be an actor! I really like your idea of adding more letters, but I don't think I will. While this was a fun experiment I feel more comfortable sticking to more traditional narrative structures in the future.

Anyway, thanks for this review, and thanks again for the wonderful challenge, and aw, thanks for the congratulations. By now it has actually sunk in that I won, but it still puts a wide smile on my lips when I think about it. : D

/Kapa


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dirigible_Plums An Important Question

14th September 2015:
Hey,

It's Plums here with your requested review. First of all, let me congratulate you for pulling off a micro fic because God knows I could never do that. I put too much into my descriptions, but you've managed to make it work :)

So in the areas of concern, you listed some doubts about whether the letter sounds like an eleven year old has written it. I think you're perfectly fine in that respect. It has the slightly sporadic narrative that an eleven year old's letter might have and a certain awe in it that a first year would definitely have in their first few weeks at Hogwarts. Pair that with the colloquial language and I'd say you needn't lose anymore sleep on it :)

Of course, I feel so sorry for Teddy. I just want to walk up to him and give him a big, old hug. Like he said, no matter what you say, it'll always be hard to stand in the place your parents were killed. And the fact that he tries to play it off breaks my heart. You can really see the nature of Teddy in the letter - he trusts Harry enough to want to confide in him, but he wants to also show that he's brave and that he'll be okay. He really does look up to Harry. So yes, I'd say that the style does pay off - it makes it more personal which I feel is really important with this one shot.

Just as a sidenote, I have seen a couple of mistakes about, though not too many. For example, "hes [he] asks a lot of questions". Another thing to just check up on is whether you've included a comma before each 'but'. You have on half of them, but some of them have been missed out on e.g. "it sounds cool but a little creepy".

I hope this helped :)

Plums xo

Author's Response: Hello there, Plums, and thanks a bunch for taking the time to review this! I'm sorry my response is less timely, haha!

I actually find it far too easy to write micro fic - meaning that I force all my plunnies into this ridiculous shortness instead of letting them expand to a fuller length. Oh well. This story was actually even shorter in its original form, and I had to add to it until it was 500 words for it to be viable for HPFF. But thanks for the compliment, I actually am happy that I can pull off micro fic even though I wish I could pull off long-fic as well.

It's great to hear that the language choices and the phrasing works for an eleven-year-old at Hogwarts for the first time. I worried about this because I actually edited this story to be more grammatically correct and structurally complex when I rewrote it for HPFF, and I feared that this made Teddy sound older than his young age. It's a relief to hear that this fear was unfounded! : )

Aw, yes, Teddy could definitely use a hug here - I'll make sure to give him one from you! : P And thankfully he has a lot of adults that love him and have bosoms available for hugging - Professor Longbottom, for example!

I'm happy that the whole 'trying to play the important question off as something minor' thing worked for you! That is definitely the 'heart' of this story for me, and really does say a lot about little Teddy's personality. It's good to hear that the style of the story helped sell this aspect of it, too. : )

I've changed the "he's asks" thing, but I'm letting the missed commas stay as a testament of the grammatical challenges of writing as an eleven-year-old. I think there's a sense of childish rush in a phrasing like "it sounds cool but a little creepy" that I find a bit charming. But thanks for pointing it out anyway! I'll give it some more thought, and some day I might actually change it, if I decide that would make the story work better. (Maybe I could take out all the but-related commas...?)

This definitely helped reassure me that this story works, and I'm so happy you liked this little mouthful of a story. Thank you!

/Kapa


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dojh167 An Important Question

14th September 2015:
Aw, Teddy is so sweet. He has such a cheerful and child-like voice.

The part about the Harry who was sorted into Slytherin was both realistic and made me kind of sad. As did the thing about "Deathie Kids." It's sad to see the inverse of mudblood bullying happening. I like that Teddy defends them, and I hope he can do some good over his time at Hogwarts.

I like the idea that Hermione would have read Teddy The Hobbit. However, it sees less likely to me that Harry would have read it as a child. I cannot imagine the Dursleys letting Harry get his hands on any stories that involved magic.

In "Hes asks a lot of questions" he's should be he

Patchwork quilts made by Helga that never age? That is the most Hufflepuff thing ever!

Teddy's comment about going to school where his parents died is very heart-wrenching. I'd never thought about it like that before, but there must be so many children who have that trauma. Though most of them would be older than Teddy, so it's possible he could find some support among other students who have gone though the same thing.

I was a little unclear on the emotional intent of Teddy wanting to know exactly where his parents had died. The comment itself seems so detached, that it's hard to tell if having this knowledge will bring him more or less pain (of course it would do both, but I think it would help the story to know which he expected it to do).

Hehe, I like the list of everyone to say hi to. XD

I'm glad I found time to stop by and read this! It was very sweet.

Sam.

Author's Response: Aw, Sam, it's always a pleasure to get a review from you! The reason that I have let my unanswered reviews build up since September is actually partly that I wanted to get this response right and not rush it - but I have to admit that simple procrastination kicked in at some point and here we are at the end of November!

Oh well, better late than never, as they say.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed this, and it's great that the child-likness of Teddy's voice came across - that was one of the most important things for me when I wrote this piece. When I edited it to put it up here at HPFF I actually took out some misspellings and made the sentence structure a little more complex at places, and I worried that that would make Teddy sound too old, but in the end I hope it just improved the story without detracting too much from Teddy's child-likeness.

I definitely think that Teddy will do everything he can to counteract the whole 'Deathie Kids' thing, and by the time that Scorpius gets sorted into Hufflepuff (in a story in the same continuity as this one that I'll put up later) it's more or less gone, so that's good. And I can assure you that the Harry who was sorted into Slytherin ended up being very happy with his House!

I don't think I said that Harry read The Hobbit as a child? I meant to say that he and Hermione took turns reading it to Teddy - maybe because Teddy got impatient and wanted to know what happened next when Hermione wasn't available? I agree that the Dursleys most definitely wouldn't have let Harry read such a horrific story under their roof!

As for the detached way Teddy phrased his 'important question' about exactly where his parents died... well, that's actually by design. I imagine little Teddy wanting to know this so badly, without quite knowing why himself. And I think he really wrote to Harry pretty much just to ask this, but he doesn't want to seem too eager so he writes this whole little happy letter... and then he phrases the question as un-emotionally as he can because he doesn't want it to seem like this big thing, even though it actually is. So that was my thinking behind that phrasing, at least, but I understand that it might seem a little weird.

I fixed the little typo you found, and I'm glad you liked the patchwork quilts (it's great to get the stamp of approval from an actual Hufflepuff!) and the list of people for Harry to say hi to!

: )

Hoping to find the time to review WIGOWY again soon,
Kapa


 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMolly An Important Question

14th September 2015:
FireOpalQueen,
The title caught me. I'm very glad I did. This was just the perfect letter for Teddy to wrote and Harry to get. I could see Harry worrying himself sleepless, over his godsons' foray into Hogwarts. If there is ever a reason for Harry to get to Hogwarts, it would be best for him to show Teddy where his parents lost their lives.
FoM
PS This was really good.

Author's Response: Hello FriendofMolly (nice username, btw!), and thank you for the review!

I'm actually not very happy with the title of this story - I think it's a bit bland - but if it's what drew you in it can't be that bad, yay! Sometimes being straightforward is the way to go, eh?

I'm happy you think this letter makes sense for Teddy to write to Harry. And I agree, the best thing Harry could do would go to Hogwarts and show Teddy himself where Tonks and Lupin died - and I'm sure he will! Not least because he's so worried about Teddy and would take any chance to go visit him, haha!

Thank you again, and I'm happy you liked this little story. : )

/Kapa


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne An Important Question

10th September 2015:
Aww Teddy is writing a letter home to Harry, he's so adorable! I'm so glad that he's really happy in Hufflepuff, and I don't think that Harry will be disappointed at all *hugs Teddy* He's so adorable!

SO MANY HARRY'S! I bet there are so many children called Harry in that school now :D More Harry then anything else I reckon haha

His so happy and it's so lovely! You've done a wonderful job at capturing his happiness and awe at being at Hogwarts. He just seems so excited and I just want to hug him and squish him!

This was such a lovely little one shot and it made me so happy to read! Keep up the amazing work!

Author's Response: Thank you for this cute little review, Tammi!

I'm happy you liked this story and thinks Teddy is adorable. He's definitely super happy and as you say in awe at being at Hogwarts... but I also think he's projecting a bit more happiness than he feels, so Harry won't worry about him. I think the reason he wrote the letter the way he did

But it's also definitely true that he is happy and excited and adorable and I'm glad you took extra note on the happier parts of this story because it's definitely a happy story too and I'm glad it made you happy! : )

And let me just mention how in awe I am at the amounts of reviews you leave on your 'sprees'! It takes me so much time to just get one review - or a review response, heh... - together, I can hardly believe you, haha!

/Kapa


 Report Review

Review #8, by May An Important Question

9th September 2015:
I loved this story about teddys first letter to Harry

Author's Response: Thank you, May! : )

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login