Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for found wanting
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roisin vii.

6th October 2015:
OK back sorry it took me so long! I read it back when I reviewed the last chapter but was too sleepy to leave a coherent review, so I'm going to go through again now to leave "as I (re)read" feedback :)

Oof, Liberty's backstory sure is tricky, and I definitely feel for her. The whole idea of her two sisters is really great, because they do a great job personifying the two directions tugging at Libby. And this line is really interesting and telling: "Theo was also in my brotherís year: the reason I gave the vacancy serious consideration, and the reason I said no."

Oh MAN, and Emily has quite a lot of her own drama as well :(

You've really done a fantastic job creating such a rich story, with so many layers. Reading this I got completely absorbed and almost forgot about the Renunion framing device, and all the hinted-at drama going on there. I'm so curious to see how it will all end up playing out/getting revealed/connecting!

xoxo
Roisin

(Also I realized I failed at the "as I go" feedback thing--but I just got all absorbed again and forgot to stop and leave feedback!)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Roisin vi.

3rd October 2015:
Hello Isobel! So I've read the first five chapters and figured I'd start reviewing here, as it doesn't have any yet.

First off I have to commend you for how FAST you've written all of this! It's truly very impressive, especially as the plot and characters are so fully realized! There's a lot of detail and thought throughout that I really commend, and I think it was a good choice to kind of follow the characters where they went [even when that meant parts stretching longer than you'd intended] :)

Starting this chapter, the thing I keep thinking is 'UGH NO MAE WHY?!?!' I really REALLY like her character so it's really scary to know that something bad is going to happen!

Oof, I really like the opening of this chapter. It's such a stark contrast to the hopeful/joyous ending of the last. and WHAaAaA? Very curious as I find more about Holly and Libby's history!

And talk about DRAMA. Oh MAN, there are so many moving parts here! You've crafted a very engaging and compelling story with all this :)

Caught one wee error: "And not did you break my heart, but you betrayed Mae." I think you're missing an "only" in there ("not only did you break...")

Great work with this! On to the next!

 Report Review

Review #3, by manno_malfoy i.

25th September 2015:
Hello! So I've seen this story mentioned a few times on the forums and I thought it sounded interesting!

This chapter is really, really short, but it works somehow. It's practically a pretty invitation that hooked me right away. I think that idea of a reunion is quite cool; I haven't read a story about one yet.

The opening paragraph is written beautifully and it's captivating. It sets the scene quite perfectly, then in comes a mysterious character, then we're given a hint about the premise of the story. So yes, all the elements for a great first chapter are here, even though it's short! So well done with that.

I found Holly interesting too. You've described her really well, I could see her in my head. I'm intrigued to see where you take her and this story next. :D

-Manno

 Report Review

Review #4, by miluv x.

22nd September 2015:
hey!!! i think continuing this way is definitely a viable option, because while it's a little jumpy, the story is too gripping for me to be okay with slower updates haha!! but, if u think editing would benefit the work enough to outweigh that, then by all means because you know your work best:) i just love this story and can't wait to read the next chapter no matter when it comes out, so take your time if you need it. can't wait till the next one (clearly LOL), talk to u then!

 Report Review

Review #5, by ScorpiusRose17 v.

21st September 2015:
Hi!

I am here with your review!

I feel like a complete dunderhead because I messed up the reviews and wrote part of chapter 5's review in chapter 4, so the part I left out of Chapter 4 will be included in Chapter 5. I hope that wasn't as confusing as it sounded when I was thinking it out. So please forgive me!

Chapter 4 is missing this: I really liked the way that you included subtle things. Like the boxing up of belongings that Mae was doing or even the mention of McGonagall making sure that the preventative measures for the staircases did their job.

Back to Chapter 5:

I LOVED the graduation ceremony! I think I was more excited about Mae getting to participate because McGonagall again made sure that no witch or wizard was left behind. I am sad that she is leaving and I had tears in my eyes when Emily and Teddy were giving their speeches. I don't often tear up, but it was truly moving especially when Teddy talked about his parents.

I love the group of friends and I could totally feel their excitement as they ran out of the Great Hall and into the rain. It was fun, spontaneous and wet. Hahahahaha. I am a complete sucker for all things sentimental so when you mentioned that they were originally supposed to take the boats back that they had taken in first year was something I loved. It was a minor detail that felt so right.

I thought the characterization was well done. Especially since you now have more characters coming along. Each one of them felt real and individual to me and didn't blend in a bunch and lose themselves.

The plot was there, but I don't know if I can say as strongly as the previous chapters. It isn't a bad thing. You added other things to it.

As for how you chose to write this... I think it's great. It really comes across as well planned even if you are just writing it as it comes and not thinking a ton about how this inter works with this and so on. It feels more natural as I read it.

Well I hope my reviews have been helpful. I have sure enjoyed this story and I look forward to reading and reviewing more of it! Keep up the great job!! :)

-Jenn

 Report Review

Review #6, by ScorpiusRose17 iv.

21st September 2015:
I LOVE this chapter!!

I really enjoyed getting to see the interaction between Holly and other people they went to school with that haven't made their appearance in the story until now except by just the mention of their names.

I liked the way that Professor Sprout talks to all of her graduates before they leave. I felt that it was a nice touch and fit her character well. I so could not say that for the others... well maybe Flitwick and McGonagall, but I would be questioning Slughorn.

Mae is quite the interesting character and I really enjoyed getting to meet her and seeing what her character is like. I really enjoyed her background information and how she has struggled to be who she is despite what other think. I thought that was a very fresh character trait and really look up to Mae for it. I just wish that the stuffy board of Governors would not be so stuffy and catch up with the times... maybe they will?

The characterization is great. As a I mentioned above for Mae and Professor Sprout. I also like getting to see more of who Holly is and what makes her tick. She is insanely uncomfortable with Joe. Holly just feels so real and relatable. It really helps being able to connect to the characters which you do a wonderful job of fleshing them out.

The plot is in full force here with a sort of side line memory thing going on which helps strengthen it. Again, you leave this open at the end to really draw in the readers which is nice because it makes me that more excited to find out what is going on.

Your description, which I didn't mention in my previous review was great in both chapters. You really have done a great job projecting what you see in your mind to words so the readers can picture it just like you have. Maybe with some minor variations.

I look forward to reading the next chapter!!

Keep up the great work! :)

-Jenn

 Report Review

Review #7, by ScorpiusRose17 iii.

21st September 2015:
Hi!

I am here with another review for you! :)

Well this is tense... I am curious where this discomfort is coming from. I know that will probably be revealed in chapters to come, but I can feel the tension coming through the screen as I read.

I like that they are sort of challenging to one another. Holly seems really eager to have nothing to do with Liberty and vice versa. The characterization between the both of them is great. Holly seems like she is willing to move on and live. Where Liberty seems more likely to hold a grudge.

The plot is really building here and I like that you leave it open at the end to really draw in the attention of the readers. It's not too little or too much it is done just right.

You mentioned in your concerns that you were worried if this approach of just writing to see what happens works or not. It does. It makes the story seem so much more realistic. You're not over thinking it and you are easily letting the characters speak through you. Something a lot of people force and it doesn't come off well. This is the polar opposite of that and works really well through the three chapters I have read and reviewed.

I am really looking forward to seeing what happens next. I feel like there is so much more yet to be revealed and I am honestly quite excited to know more!! :)

Keep up the great writing!

-Jenn

 Report Review

Review #8, by ScorpiusRose17 ii.

21st September 2015:
Hi!!

I am here again with another review!

Liberty... She seems like quite the spite fire. I don't know if that is from her background and wanting to distance herself from it or if she is naturally just more feisty. It works, don't get me wrong. It is just nice to see a character with some character. :)

You did a fabulous job of characterization in this chapter. There are still questions about who and what is going on with Liberty which is great because it really leaves me wanting to find out what more could there be to the layers of person she seems to be. I can really understand her a bit better than Holly. Maybe that is because she has a longer opening chapter to her character than Holly has had yet. Her parents are really uptight. I would be just as upset as she is.

The plot is growing throughout this chapter and I am really eager to know more about why they are edgy about this reunion and what possibly could happen.


I really liked this chapter just as much as the first! I can already get a sense that there is some discord between Holly and Liberty here at the end and it has me really wondering what on earth could have caused this. They are cordial to one another, but then again most people who are acquaintances do.

Keep up the great work!! :)

-Jenn

 Report Review

Review #9, by ScorpiusRose17 i.

21st September 2015:
Hi!!

I am finally here with your review!

This is an interesting opening! I am curious to know what is going to happen at the reunion because lets face it, the magical world does everything better then the Real World does so this is bound to be completely epic! :)

I thought the characterization here is well done even though the chapter is shorter than the others. I am really able to get an idea of who Holly is or is being... if that makes sense. The plot is already present and leaves me wanting more.

I really enjoyed this opening chapter and I look forward to finding out what happens next. LOVE her name by the way! Quirky people are so much more fun! ;)

Keep up the great work!

-Jenn

 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne v.

17th September 2015:
You've been updating this really quickly! Which I know because you've told me, but it was still a shock to see how far behind I was when I thought that I had caught up :P

Is that an ominous sign that it's raining? I'm going to say yes! I would so try and steal the blankets, although I bet there' some sort of spell on them to stop people stealing.

SO THEY CAN STEAL IT?! STEAL ME ONE! I NEED IT IN MY LIFE!

I wish that Mae could be at her own graduation! I'm excited about graduation because I've never given it much thought at all.

Oh McGonagall, finally retiring, and I know it's going to be in style! It's the only way McGonagall knows how!

YES! SHE CALKED MAES NAME! BECAUSE SHE'S EPIC! AND I REMEMBER WHAT YOU TOLD ME AND I'M SO HAPPY THAT I GOT TO READ IT!

Oh my god! Them addressing McGonagall in their speech made me cry! It's so sweet and adorable!

And they're rowing! Awww they want to do the old tradition! and I love them singing the Hogwarts song.

Anyways! LOVED THIS! CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE OTHER CHAPTERS!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLane iv.

16th September 2015:
Wow, they mark QUICKLY. I guess there are only 40ish wizarding kids taking the N.E.W.T.S., as opposed to the tens of thousands doing the Leaving. The Leaving results come out mid-August here, two months after the exams end and the Junior Cert. results (our sort of equivalent to the O.W.L.S.) only came out last week, three months after the exams end.

The Graduation Masses here take place even before the exams, never mind the results, which makes the title kinda silly.

The rules about entering different houses seem to have relaxed since Harry's day. I can't imagine anybody getting permission to enter another house in canon.

Yeah, Joe is nasty.

And I LOVE the way the magic enchanting Hogwarts is attuned to how somebody identifies themselves rather than how they were assigned a birth. It makes sense that it would really.

Pity the Governors aren't so enlightened.

 Report Review

Review #12, by MargaretLane iii.

16th September 2015:
Wouldn't Teddy be about two years older than Victoire? He was definitely born before there was even any indication Fleur was pregnant with Victoire. Although I guess one of them could be bringing the other as a guest.

George and Angelina must have gotten together and had a child quickly in order for Fred to be 17 in 2016. Though I guess they could have been dating before the Battle of Hogwarts and Harry might just not have known. He probably wouldn't, really.

Gosh, no WONDER they are a little anxious about the reunion if one of their close friends has since died.

Interesting that they use e-mail, but I guess it makes sense. After all, it's SO central to life now than Muggleborns and probably even half-bloods would start Hogwarts familiar with it and while electronics don't work at Hogwarts, they probably would in an ordinary wizarding home that didn't have the same level of magic in the air.

Oooh, wonder how they betrayed Mae.

Like the fact Holly is an Auror. Male Aurors or Auror trainees seem to vastly outnumber female ones in next gens, for some reason.

And I wonder why Holly changed so much. It sounds like maybe she had a rough time after leaving school.

 Report Review

Review #13, by MargaretLane ii.

16th September 2015:
Liberty...another unusual name. Actually, though this is a complete aside, the IRISH word for freedom is a reasonable common name. Saoirse.

I wonder why her parents are so anxious for her to go to her school reunion. After all, there's nothing wrong with moving on and making friends with people you've more in common with rather than those who just happen to have been born within 12 months of you once you leave school. There's no reason she should ever go to a reunion unless she particularly wants to.

And hmm, her birth family. I wonder is she the orphaned daughter of a Death Eater. Or maybe the daughter of a Death Eater in prison. The dates fit. Though of course, considering her name, she may have been born after the Battle of Hogwarts.

They DO seem to treat her like a child. The rule about not walking to and from the bus stop at night is reasonable enough, but thinking they get a vote on what she WEARS and deciding whether or not she goes to a party with people she hasn't seen in years.

And I wonder why she seems to think they COULD make her attend the 10 year one. This one, fair enough. She's what, about 22 or 23. If she's still living at home and her parents are overprotective, it's not too surprising they might have some say in her life then, but in another five years, when she's approaching thirty? That seems less likely.

Hmm, it sounds like something happened between Holly and Liberty in the past and it must be pretty serious, because it's obviously still causing awkwardness even though they are way older and a lot of secondary school conflicts would seem pretty minor from the point of view of a 23 year old.

 Report Review

Review #14, by MargaretLane i.

16th September 2015:
Here for the prefect's review exchange.

This is sort of an interesting idea, having a group of students from Hogwarts meeting up a few years later.

I really like the introductory paragraphs. They set the scene so well and also have me wondering who this mysterious stranger is.

Hmm, I would thought by today's era, Muggle fashions would have become more common as the Hogwarts students in canon already seemed more familiar with them.

Hmm, that part about not wanting to "face" the reunion is kind of interesting. Sounds like they're not too enthusiastic. But in that case, why go? Hmm.

I don't blame her for not liking the name "Hollywood". It wouldn't exactly let her blend in and as a teen, that can be important.

Oh, sounds like Slughorn is still teaching. Well, he didn't retire until the end of Albus's first year in my version. He must be pretty old by now though.

It's just like him to organise a school reunion.

And hmm, they WEREN'T expecting Holly to turn up. Sounds like there's definitely something going on there.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Gabriella Hunter iii.

13th September 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and excuse the lateness! I also think that we had a double-swap a while back but I never got your reviews. You vanished into the abyss! :o

I am really curious to know more about Liberty and Holly's relationship. There seems to be quite a bit of awkwardness between them and I get the feeling that the past hasn't been kind to them. It's clear that they haven't talked to one another in a while and I have a feeling that something dark must have gotten in the way of their friendship. Mae's death is something that I think might hold the key and I'm curious to find out more about that and how the group has changed. It's obvious that neither Liberty or Holly are the same as they once were but I get the feeling that it was pretty drastic, especially when they commented on it more than once. What happened exactly? Has the entire group become fractured and out of synch? Is there something more going on that I'll have to wait and find out?! No!

I am eager to see how Teddy interacts with the girls and I'm also wondering why everyone else is so late. Did they set Liberty and Holly up or just decide to go the the castle on their own? Cold feet? I want answers! I don't really think that Liberty or Holly are going to really talk about what their relationship is and I am not sure what to think but I'm really antsy for the next chapter. Be sure to re-request this soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #16, by alicia and anne iv.

10th September 2015:
I really love that her name is Hollywood, it's so unusual!

I love that they've spent their time drinking moonshine hahaha, it makes it sound like they've been in prison!

Oh Spencer! That doesn't seem like Muggle Studies revision to me at all!

I understand entirely why that fight broke out, I would end up getting involved in that fight too, waving my 'Harry is amazing' banner!

Oh Mae! *hugs her* McGonagall will help you! Those board of governers are big ol meanies!

McGonagall is the best! And I will fight anyone who says differently!

And her charm on the door is pure genius! And Joe needs a punch to the face!

I love the flashback chapter and how much it explains about the backgrounds of everyone, but now I'm sad because Mae, she seems so awesome and I'm sad that she's dead and I don't know why?!

Can't wait for more Isobel you beauty you! LOVE YOU!

 Report Review

Review #17, by alicia and anne iii.

10th September 2015:
Ok, I am definitely shipping, even if you don't mean me to. Because there's a hitch in her throat and I know there's more to that!

Oh no! And now I'm sad :( What happened to Mae?

Okay, now I'm feeling weird about shipping them if something bad happened years ago. I think I'm just shipping people as soon as I see them. I have a shipping heart and you have wonderful characters I want to ship. I SHIP EVERYONE!

I really love that Rosemerta doesn't charge her for drinks :D

Okay, I'm shipping still :P

Keep updating this wonderful story lovely!! Love you!!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by alicia and anne ii.

10th September 2015:
You're making me really want to write a reunion with Harry and that lot, so thanks for the plot bunny :P I'm expecting you to make me write it haha

They must not have had a good time at school if they would rather wait until everyone is dead.

Hahah I love that Liberty's father likes how she's dressed :D

Why has she got a curfew if the others didn't? Mmmm very interesting.

I do really love how you keep referring to the letter and how they're feeling about seeing it.

Ahh! So that's who it was in the previous chapter! Ah! I need to read more! I'm already addicted to this and your beautiful writing Isobel! :D *hugs you so tightly*

Is it bad that they've only just seen each other again and I'm shipping Holly and Liberty?

Can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #19, by alicia and anne i.

10th September 2015:
ISOBEL!

I am quite excited about reading this, especially because of how much you've told me about it. :D

Oh man! That description has now made me want a butterbeer! We need to go back to the studio tour so that we can have another one. Don't you agree? :D

Ahhh! Who is this that has spoken to her at the end? And why is she not really happy about going to the reunion?

I NEED TO KNOW MORE! SO I AM GOING TO READ MORE!

Loving it so far bestie!! :D I'm so glad that you've started writing again. :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by TreacleTart ii.

6th September 2015:
Hi Isobel,

I'm here for our review swap!

At fist I thought this was going to be a flashback to how Holly ended up in Hogsmeade, but I realized quite quickly it was a whole different character.

Let me just say you nailed the frustrated twenty three year old still living at home. When her mother was going on about her outfit, I was getting annoyed for her. I mean twenty three is certainly old enough to decide what you're going to wear. And then there was the curfew. Again, she's twenty three and perfectly capable of deciding what time she should come home. I could totally understand/relate to her frustrations.

I was intrigued by Liberty's choice of outfit. The skulls and all black with just a dash of purple does seem to sort of evoke the Death Eaters a little bit, but I have to wonder if that's become sort of a trendy/edgy fashion statement since the Death Eaters have been gone for awhile.

It was nice to see little snippets of information that sort of gave us a feel for how things developed after the war. The little section about Seraphine and Esther and their choices in regards to their parents makes me wonder if there is some sort of post war hostility towards the children of Death Eaters. On one hand, I suppose that would be natural, but on the other hand it's a bit unfair since none of the children are responsible for their parents crimes.

I was intrigued by the two chapters ending in the same way. Liberty clearly is feeling some mixed emotions about Holly and I have to wonder why. If the residual feelings from whatever caused the problem still exist five years later, it must've been something pretty serious.

I'm really curious to see where you take this and to get to know all of the different characters that seem set to be introduced. Like I said in the last review, I still haven't quite gotten a clear direction of what's next, but I think that's good because now I'll have to be back for chapter three to find out!

Good job!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #21, by TreacleTart i.

6th September 2015:
Hi Isobel,

I'm here for our review swap!

This was a nice little introduction to your fic and I'm really curious to see where it goes. Honestly, I have no idea what's going to happen next because we really just barely get to know Holly and a few little facts about her backstory.

I have sort of a love/hate thing with the idea of her name being Hollywood. I dislike it as a name, but I love that her mother gave her a name that she dislikes. It sort of gave me an immediate impression of who her mother is.

I adored the way that you used description in the beginning of this. I'm super big on setting scenes myself and I love when a writer makes me not only visualize the scene, but feel things like the warm summer breeze or smell the butterbeer in the taps. You really did a great job here.

It was interesting to lull the reader into believing that Holly is there for a reunion only to find out that she originally planned not to go. I wonder what changed her mind and why she didn't want to go in the first place?

In terms of constructive criticism, I would say that this is just a little bit short for my taste. I wish I got just a little bit more of what was going on. Maybe a sense of Holly's feelings towards things.

All in all, I felt that this did what an opening chapter should. I know who the main character is and I have enough questions about her to keep me reading to the next chapter.

Good work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #22, by Gabriella Hunter ii.

6th September 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie again stopping by for our double swap! I am really disappointed that there aren't more chapters for this. When you get chapter three up, be sure to put it into my review thread because I really want to know more about your characters. :D

Liberty sounds exactly like me at this point. I think that it's such a breath of fresh air to have a character who isn't quite sure where they're going and kind of stuck. I think that happens to everyone at a certain age and there's nothing really wrong with that, though I do like that you highlight the downsides to living with overbearing parents. Well, I wouldn't say that Liberty's parents are overbearing but they do give me the sense that they kind of hover around her a lot, perhaps overprotective is the word I was looking for.

Gah, I felt badly for Liberty. I know how she feels and I seriously couldn't stop myself from cringing a bit at some of the things that were said because I've felt exactly the same. It's really curious to me that she's adopted too, that was a nice little detail (And her invitation not really being like everyone else's) that you smoothly weaved in. It wasn't heavy handed at all and it makes me wonder who her biological parents are (Crabbe?! Crabbe? It must be his remaining family because he uhm, got ate by fire that one time) and more about her sisters. Are they blood? Adopted along with her? I'm curious. I do wonder what the bonds between them all are.

Teddy's name was mentioned! He's Lib's best friend! YES. Possible romance after a year of not seeing one another...? C'mon.don't get my heart all fluttery for nothing!

Also, Alfie Cattermole. Great detail to canon right there. :D

I wonder what Liberty's relationship with Holly is and what has made her so worried upon seeing her. Did they have a falling out? Hm. I'm so curious and this is so nicely done, I don't have any CC's! ;)

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #23, by Gabriella Hunter i.

6th September 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swap! I'm sorry that I didn't get to this yesterday, real life stuff got in the way. I thought that I'd find time to finally get it done now, which is exactly why I am so excited!

So, I have no plans at all to go to my high school reunion. It's actually in about four more years but I've already got the perfect excuse lined up. Hahaha. I find it really unique that you're starting this story off kind of in what someone else might have used for the middle part of the story. I like here that we're thrust right into it and I have a feeling that your characters are already developed besides Holly and I adored the way you described the setting. It's all so pleasant in my mind and I like the image of Holly not quite fitting the mold too, it makes me want to know a lot more about her. Is her mother a famous actress? Is she a performer of some sort? She must be with a name like Hollywood but maybe that's just me. Hm.

I have so many questions about where she comes from and who her friends are. They didn't want to face the reunion alone and I wonder why, is it because of bad memories or the fact that something else is going on underneath it all? I am really curious! :D

This chapter was so short that I'm going to immediately devour the next! See you soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

Thanks for swapping with me! And no worries about the delay, it's totally cool. I know how much real life can suck sometimes, haha!

Hehehe. I have no idea when mine is. I don't think I actually have one. Or maybe I just don't keep in touch with how my school is doing and that's why I don't know. Either way, I have no intention of attending it. And wow, that's kind of unexpected, because I honestly did not see any other way of beginning this story. I guess the mystery lover in me didn't want to go through examining Holly's feelings before she visits the pub. Holly definitely doesn't fit the mold. And nope, her mum's not an actress -- but very much a drama queen. LOL.

I hope that as the story progresses, your questions will be answered!

Oooh, yippee! Your next review was so lovely that I'm happy you wanted to continue!

Isobel ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by writeyourheartout i.

3rd September 2015:
I'm so proud of you, Isobel. ♥

And this is just fantastic. (No surprise there, though.) I don't understand how every single thing that you write is always, just, so many levels of original, and something I've never before seen get tackled on the site.

Also you didn't edit this? Are you kidding me? Stahp making the rest of us look so bad with your effortless talents. Have you any idea how much the normal person struggles to be half as good a writer as you are? Don't answer that. Cause no, you don't. You lucky, talented little brat, you. ;)

This is just a short and sweet little introduction, but already, I am yours. You have me. (Is it just awful that I very badly want to write a reunion fic now? What have you done to me? Devil woman! But for real, your writing inspires.)

Descriptions are something you've always shined at, and it's no disappointment here, either. Those opening paragraphs are so lovely. It literally takes me months to force anything even remotely on par with what you did in, what? A few hours? Since we spoke this morning? And - again - without any editing?

I hate you.

I mean, I love you, too. But I hate you.

Moving forward.

Who is this Hollywood Bliss person, hmmm? She's already a very interesting, rather mysterious character! I'm excited to see the further role she plays! She really stands out as an OC already, just the way you introduced her, with her unique Muggle attire and well-known mom and fun name/name-exchange.

Also, who's the voice at the end?? Why'd you end it there? Shouldn't have told you to post at only 573 words, should I have? Or else we might know already! LOL Walked into that cliffhanger, I suppose... -le sigh-

This really is an excellent intro. And the summary! I am in love with the concept you're playing with for this! I sincerely cannot wait to see what unfolds! Especially with the list of characters I see will be popping up later! Can't wait to see what role they play here, too! ^.^ I'm only a bit nervous that as this story continues, it will probably make me cry, because it says Angst, and I'm imaging that based on the summary, some of these characters whose lives we'll be exploring will probably not have accomplished all they'd planned to in the five years since graduation, and ugh, can I relate to that. But here's hoping that even if that is the case, they all get their happy ending. And you and me, too. Cause this is just the bad part; the down times. We're just getting the bad out of the way now to make room for all the good. ♥

Great job, Isobel. And thank you so much for the dedication. I won't lie, I literally started bawling. You know how emotional I am this week. This is about the eighth time I've cried today. It made my heart swell to both see you back writing and posting, and to know that I had some kind of impact on the why. Cause I may not know how to help me right now, but it makes feel better knowing I could at least help a friend some. *hugs*

Love you. You're brilliant. Don't ever doubt that.
xTanya

Author's Response: Awww, Tanya. I'm so proud of you too. ♥

Haha. Personally, I don't think so, but hey, whatever floats your boat. ;) I could say the same thing about your stories! But for me, I think it's more a case of writing what I'd love to read.

Haha. Wait until chapter nine. That's a perfect example of why I desperately need to edit. I'll answer it anyway: yes, I do. Because I am not as good as you think I am, although your compliments are, as always, immensely flattering. *wub face*

WRITE A REUNION FIC. I DEMAND IT. *lightbulb moment* OMG WRITE GEORGE AND JO'S REUNION!! Aw. Thank you. *cackles evilly*

Everyone talks about those opening paragraphs, heh. Truthfully, I think it's all the talent that never got used accumulating and pouring itself into those two paragraphs. And yup, yup -- and again, yup.

I love you.

I mean, I hate you, really. But I love you. :P

You'll just have to keep reading to find out about Holly! I'm so pleased that you like her, though! And I'm happy you enjoyed reading her introduction!

You will know the voice when you get around to reading chapter two. ;) LOL. Yep. And I ended it there because chapter two was another 2k and I needed to push myself into actually, you know, putting something up on the archive.

Yeah. In essence, this story is you and me and all twenty-somethings whose lives didn't go to plan. ♥ You're correct in thinking that angst plays a major role here, and as for happy endings... This is me we're talking about ;)

You are incredible, and amazing, and you 100% deserve this dedication. I'm sorry I made you cry, but I hope this story cheers you up (or, a more accurate statement round be, helps to distract you, I guess) and you definitely helped me. LOTS. *hugs*

Love you too. Don't ever forget how special you are. ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login