Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Embracing Death
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan Embracing Death

16th July 2016:
Another one for the hot seat!

Wow, this was... I don't know what I expected, but it wasn't this. I really loved it though once I figured out what was going on. I've been kind of getting more into AU lately and this was a really interesting, dark, horrific view into what the world would be if Harry had lost and Voldemort triumphed. Scary place.

But so well written. Like, I can't even imagine how broken and empty Hermione would have to be to agree to this in the first place and literally go back in time to seduce Tom Riddle (and kill him, but honestly killing him would be easier I think :P ) Even if he thinks she's someone else. She's got to be so desperate. And based on the snippets of what the post- war world is like, the torture and Hermione watching everyone she loves be destroyed, I can see how it would have gotten her to actually go through with it. She's sacrificing herself, because she has nothing left anymore, just to make sure that this never happens. I feel like I just got punched.

Though then, she's rewritten the future in a way she can't possibly know what she created instead. :O

A great story - so chilling and really showcases the psychological horror of the war. Nice job.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Ah, you've found one of my darker tales. You're not alone in thinking it's not quite what was expected. A friend challenged me to write a Hermione/Tom Riddle one-shot and this is what she got.

*snickers*

Hermione is not often depicted this way, but that's how my somewhat twisted muse insisted she was. The barren landscape of her mind was not a pleasant place to be taken. In a sense, Hermione is as dead inside as her body was after Snape's spell.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for leaving such a lovely review! It means a lot because this story is often overlooked.

*hugs*

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #2, by TheEmotionalTeaspoon Embracing Death

20th March 2016:
Hello!
I'm really impressed by how much you portrayed in so few words here! You worked in just the right amount of context so subtly that I really had quite a full picture of the alternate world Hermione had experienced by the end.

You have a really good voice for dark fiction, I think it's because you seem to know just the right amount of details to give to paint a really bleak picture without overworking it and seeming like you're trying too hard (which I think is a trap I've fallen into a few times haha). The sort of hollow way you approach Hermione's character at this point in her life is exactly how I imagine she'd be; I don't think she'd have much time to feel sorry for herself, but she'd clearly be changed. I think your portrayal of Tom is also on point, I could really hear his creepy voice in that first line of speech.

(On a side note, at one point this reminded me of a video I saw on YouTube of Snape getting hold of a timeturner and standing around for hours turning it back 500 times so that he could kill Voldemort, only to be distracted by Ron and Harry and lose count...I hope that mental image makes you laugh as much as me!)

Katy

(Hot Seat Slytherin Review)

Author's Response: Hey there, Katy!

I realize it's been a while since you left this lovely Hot Seat review. I'm trying to get better at promptly responding. :P

Anyways, this is actually an old-shot written in response to a friend's challenge. Hermione's mental landscape at this point is very bleak - she's witnessed and been victim to so many terrible things. The only thing she's clinging onto is the chance to kill Tom before he becomes the monster that destroys all she holds dear. So I'm thrilled that you felt that bleakness in both the description as well as her actions.

And I've never seen that video, but it sounds like something I would love!

Thanks again for the review.

*hugs*

~Alexis



 Report Review

Review #3, by Gail Welin Embracing Death

6th March 2016:


(HPFF REVIEW-A-THON)

Alexis, that was terrifying, thrilling and mind-blowing! It was confusing at first but as soon as I understood this was Hermione, I shuddered for her. I mean, even if he's not Voldemort yet, it's Tom Riddle and he's still a creep (and that's an understatement).

I think what scarred me the most (and the list is long, lemme tell you) was that Hermione is so dead inside she doesn't even feel joy or relief when she kills him (brutally yet not with emotion but with the determination of seeing him dead). And her state of mind is understandable, considering..
I'm amazed by the horror you described the acts - you didn't even go into details and I'm already covered in goosebumps.
This is so brutal and bloody yet gratifying - not only is Tom Riddle the root of evil, but after reading about what happened to all before Hermione "travelled back" there really was no other option.

You have covered so many aspects, answering questions I hadn't even started asking myself in wonderfully subtle ways! What happened to get Hermione to do this, who helped her, is her body safe, who is she in, why the heck is she doing that? And then there's that "oh" moment. Not an "oh I get it" but an "oh wow..." moment. Hermione basically sacrificed herself for the greater good.

(And now I want to read about that AU world where Tom Riddle was murdered by his classmate Lilith!!)

Nice (dramatic) touch with the Basilisk :p
[10/10]

*Gee

Author's Response: Hey there Gee!

I wasn't expecting you to visit my corner of the dungeon. And you picked one of my darker tales, too. Yes, Hermione's deadness inside was pretty bad. What she suffered before left her with such an internal barren landscape that going back in time - even if it meant dying - didn't matter. She had just one goal in mind: destroy Tom Riddle before he became Voldemort, before he could kill her friends.

I'm thrilled you enjoyed the tale, Gee, and that you reviewed it for the HPFF Review-A-Thon! Thanks for stopping by!

:hugs:

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #4, by Marshal Embracing Death

24th February 2016:
My kitchen is clean so I can get to your reviews that I owe you. :-)

Anyway reading this story gives me a deep shuddering breath. I love how dark and 'wrong' you write. I mean what happened and happens to Hermione is so wrong. You just capture and ensnare a reader and I love that about your writing. Really the way this played my word.

I'm kind of in that point of having no words to say and yet able to ramble on and on about the same things of how much I liked this read. I don't think I write dark that well but oh do I love a dark read. Honestly a lovely and dark piece and while I enjoyed the read I'm glad it isn't what really happened if you know what I mean.

Anyway I'm going to cut myself off before I go down a spiral of rambling love and adoration and say that I really enjoyed this and am looking forward to the other 8 reads and reviews.

Author's Response: I wish my kitchen was clean! I swear the dirty dishes multiply when I'm not looking. :p

I'm thrilled that you loved how wrong this story was. Because writing it was like visiting some barren landscape. All hope is dead, Hermione's original body is dead and now all that's left is her soul inhabiting the shell of another as she prepares to kill Tom.

I was so glad when after I wrote the last sentence that my muse said 'full stop', as in 'that's all there is, nothing more.' I can't see writing anything further in that particular vein.

Thanks for the lovely review, dear!

:hugs:

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Embracing Death

23rd January 2016:
Hey Alexis, Don't mind me I'm just here for our swap.

I've never been one to leave long reviews and I'm super exhausted so I'm going to keep this short. I really liked this story. It was an interesting take on a what if Harry died scenario. I'm glad you made Hermione be the one to kill Tom. Its poetic justice I think to in the end be killed by someone who is the exact kind of person you hate.

I think you have a lovely gift with the way you tell a story. I liked how you put in all the background information and told why Hermione went back in time and what her motivation was behind her actions.

Overall Great Job and I'm off now to get some much needed sleep.

Tasha

Author's Response: Hey Tasha,

Short and sweet reviews are awesome. I'm glad you enjoyed the tale. I tried to keep the background information and description to a minimum, sort of a reflection of how barren Hermione was on the inside. It was a delicate thing, not going overboard yet giving enough that how and why Hermione was there made sense. Certainly there is something to be said for it being Hermione to ultimately bring down Voldemort, her being a filthy Gryffindor mudblood and all, but also the manner in which she did and the courage she displayed. (Plus, I got the opportunity to fix the idea of Severus' death - lol)

Thanks for the lovely review swap. Get some much deserved rest!

:hugs:

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #6, by princesslily_36 Embracing Death

16th January 2016:
Hello again,

Wow, that was dark, and chilling! You just have a way of transporting me into the midst of your stories.

Have I told you how much I love the way you write love scenes? Because I do, really do. A world where Voldemort triumphs is dark indeed! Harry, Ron dead? Ginny tortured and killed? It's so horrible. Not to mention we will never have our ScoRose or James Potter (II) to write about!

Your Hermione here is nothing short of perfect. I like how you've written her - rational and clear headed with only her goal in mind. I see that this is AU, but I'm confused here - do the horcruxes exist or not? And, how would the timeline work if Tom Riddle (not Voldemort) died? Wouldn't future be changed so drastically that maybe Snape and Lily end up together? Time travel has always intrigued me.

See you in the next review :D

XOXO
Ysh

Author's Response: Hello Ysh!

I see you've begun to creep into my darker tales. This story I think of as the bleak/PTSD version of Hermione. She's suffered so much that her internal landscape is desolate and barren, even in the midst of her having sex.

Your question about Horcruxes is a good one. The timeframe here is just right before the creation of the diary, so no, there are no Horcruxes. In killing Tom at this point Hermione has indeed altered the future. Because I'm such a die-hard (pun intended) Severus fan, I'd like to believe that eventually would have ended up with Lily ... but that’s just me. :p

Thanks for dropping by and reading this dark take on Hermione.

:hugs:

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #7, by The Basilisk Embracing Death

11th October 2015:
Hello, It is I, The Basilisk, stopping by for a review. I hear that you wanted to know who I was - my dear, my identity will not be so easily uncovered - but I figured I'd give you a little review present. (Yes, despite being a centuries-old cold, poisonous snake, I can be very generous).

My first word after finishing reading this story was "Wow." You totally nailed the whole Hermione-going-back-in-time-to-kill-Tom thing. Your characterisssation of her here is perfect. She is not fiery, she is not passionate, she is simply cold, detached, and determined to do what she needsss to do. It makes sense after she's endured so much, seen her friends die, lost so much. It makes sense that she'd take up this asssignment even if it was a death wish. She is not afraid of death, especially if it means righting the many wrongs (i.e. killing Voldemort), and that is her personality which you've stuck by. Great job there.

The dessscriptions are brilliant in my opinion. For such a short piece, it conveys a lot. There is the right amount of thought-process, action, and imagery woven into the narrative. The story almossst gave me chills, which is saying something because I'm such a scary creature myself.

I was sad to see that a fellow brethren was the one who killed Hermione, but alas, he was only following orders given by a forced massster.

Anyway, it was a great one-shot all in all. I loved it. Your characterisation, concept, and overall narrative was all perfect. I'm pleasssed to have stumbled across it. Good job!

Hiss Hiss,
The Basilisk

Author's Response: Dear Basilisk,

I am so honored that you have deemed to visit this lowly Slytherin's corner in the archive dungeons. Your review warms my heart.

This story was my attempt to convey a damaged Hermione, one who suffers from traumatic effects of all she had endured. She was forged into a weapon through the very torture that her captors thought to break her with. Your fellow brethren merely showed Hermione mercy in the end.

Thank you for taking the time, oh Basilisk, to read this tale and to leave such uplifting words. Know that I will alway cherish them.

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins beard Embracing Death

17th September 2015:
Hey,
I'm finally here with your review!

Quite frankly, I don't really know what to say. AU has never been my forte. The books - the canon - are my bible and I never stray far from that.

I think your writing style is good. The story flow is smooth, the plot is easy to follow, there is a bit of description there (this is probably the one point we all still need to work on)...

I can wholeheartedly say that I would have never come up with a story like that, or read it if I stumbled across it, but I always leave the reviews I promise.

The one thing that makes me wonder: Tom Riddle already has at least one horcrux at age 16 when he talks to slughorn. How old is he when he starts sleeping with (~/raping) girls? Because Hermione could only have killed him with a hairpin if he didn't have any horcruxes then. I know this is AU, but age kind of always gets to me.

Please don't be offended that I'm not gushing and praising this story - it is just not what I usually like to read. It is still a well-written, well- thought out story and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes reading dark AU.

Well done on one of your first stories. If you ever write something that isn't AU, let me know. I'd like to check it out.

~merlins beard

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thanks so much for stopping by. Please don't worry about offending me. I rather enjoyed your candid review and I appreciate the time you took out of your day to leave it.

You're absolutely correct that Hermione wouldn't be able to so readily kill Tom if it took place after he created his first horcrux. In my mind she went back to just before then.

AU is pretty much my exclusive area in JKR sandbox, so to speak. Perhaps, though, we'll cross paths again sometime. Thanks for keeping your promise to read and review.

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Embracing Death

10th September 2015:
Oh, now this is a really interesting start and I am instantly intrigued! Who is she? Why is she keeping up this appearance? Why has she changed? So many questions :D

Oh! It's Hermione! Haha I didn't read the summary when I clicked on this. Oh! I wonder why she's gone back in time?

Oh no! Harry and Ron are dead? Oh no! This can't be! Ron's is so devastating and I can't believe that happened to him :( Poor guy!

Oh! She's taken on the body of someone else! Oh now this is very intriguing.

Now I wasn't expecting this at all! Wow! This was so dark and ... yes! Tom is dead! This is good! I am so glad that he is!

This was a really powerful one shot, and you've told so much in such a small amount of words. An absolutely wonderful job!

Author's Response: Why, thank you! This was an interesting little tale to write. Completely not my typically style but challenging. Given the right circumstance, I wondered if Hermione would kill Tom Riddle in cold blood, even if it meant dying? That's all it took, and my muse was running off with the idea of embracing death.

I'm glad you enjoyed my dark glimpse into Hermione. Thanks for the kind review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ydnas Odell Embracing Death

8th September 2015:
Awesome idea, brilliantly done and without a single grammar error I can find, which is rare on this site. I'd add more detail, but I've read Oregonian's review and I find I agree with every point. Oregonian is right about Hermione being 'steely' and I think you thought out the plot very well. For instance, the idea of a potion master without anti-venom on him at all times was a flaw in JKR's writing that I never thought of, but you hung this story well on that loose nail.

But -- and this isn't a criticism - but maybe you should try this same general plot again with other characters. Ginny, with her history with 'Tom" comes to mind. Maybe even Luna or Susan Bones.

Again, well done!

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. This story was written quite some time ago, just after DH's book release. Severus Snape is my all-time favorite character. I just couldn't see him without an anti-venom, not with Voldemort's fondness of Nagini. That one line was my response to how JKR wrote him off.

As far as not finding any grammar errors, I simply can't take credit for that. I had a lovely beta assist me all those years ago, but time and a faulty memory has taken her name from me. If I ever find out who was my beta at the time, I'll add them to the footnotes.

Thanks once more for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Oregonian Embracing Death

8th September 2015:
Hi Alexis,

I really like this story. In barely a thousand words you have told an entire story, with all the bits of information that allow us to connect all the dots and see what the situation was and is. And yet it doesnt seem like an info-dump at all (hooray!) because you parcel out these clues one at a time, in places where they really fit. Now that is a skill I wish more authors had!

You have managed to show your main characters feelings and moment-by-moment experience clearly and forcefully without being overly dramatic, and I thank you for keeping the angst under control. The story is so much clearer, neater, cleaner, more focused, when its not overlain with too much angst. The situation is already so dreadful that it speaks for itself.

I liked the imagination shown in this plot. There are various Hermione-goes-back-in-time-and-meets-Tom stories, often including and-falls-in-love-with-him, but I prefer the steely-eyed, nothing-left-to-live-for suicide warrior in your story. Thats the Hermione we know and love.

Good job.

Vicki

Author's Response: Hello Vicki,

Thank you for such a detailed review, and for my first review ever at HPFF. Quite the welcome, indeed.

This story was written ages ago at what now is a ghost-town of an archive. It was in response to a challenge and the only requirement (that I can now recall) was it had to be short. I went in to the writing of it from the perspective of making it as barren as Hermione's soul. The chance that was offered was a death wish but after suffering what she had, what would death matter? Wouldn't she view it as salvation, instead?

I had wanted to convey all of that but without burdening the story, so I whittled away at it. A few weeks ago I dusted it off my virtual shelf and at the insistence of a Validator, whittled a little more. Could I make this description more precise or that action have more than just face value? Could I portray the horror she endured at Bella's hands while contrasting it with what Tom was currently doing, what Ron never got to do with her? Overall it was a refreshing break from my usual style of writing.

I'm glad you liked it and sincerely thank you for your kind words.

~Alexis


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login