Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for 'Dromeda
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Nina 'Dromeda

27th January 2017:
I'm very intrigued by your story. Lovely work. Love to read more

Author's Response: thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Basilisk 'Dromeda

20th December 2015:
Hello, my dear. It is I, The Basilisk, come here to grace you with a review.

What a lovely little one-shot. I absolutely loved reading it. Your characterisation of Andromeda is beautiful. I like how she's somewhere in between - the haughty pureblood and yet a kind hearted woman who doesn't share her family's beliefs.

Little details like Sirius being her favourite cousin, her thinking of drifting away from her siblings, her being sad at being treated weirdly by the other members of the school - they all fit like pieces of puzzle for her personality and I could connect with her (which is of course saying something since I'm a centuries old non-human creature).

Your portrayal of Ted was very refreshing. He definitely brought "newness" to Andromeda's life. His carefree attitude, his way of talking, and rugged good looks, I loved it. He sounded free and relaxed, just the type of person Andromeda needed.

The ending was too adorable and if I had lips to smile, I'd have smiled. Great read! The narrative flowed smoothly and the descriptionsss were nicely done. I enjoyed it!

Hiss Hiss,
The Basilisk

Author's Response: Hello! :D or should I say HisS?

Aww thank you so much! I glad I made you feel human things! Next time you feel a bit murderous just re read to calm yourself and find your heart again? ;)

Thank you for the lovely comments! :)

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by princesslily_36 'Dromeda

28th October 2015:
Hey! It's princesslily32 from the forums here for our review swap.

Sorry about the delay, something suddenly came up and it was unavoidable. Plus I was excited to read your stuff seeing as you're a fellow marauder era fan.

Initially I was so intrigued by your kings and queens fic, but I wanted to do ull justice to its 27 chapters, and so here I am.

First off, I like the way you started off, giving us a feel of the Black family through Dromeda's eyes. We hardly get to see much of her and what she felt. I like how you brought about the fact that she and Bellatrix were close at first instead of just jumping to hatered like most people assume.

Ooh I always assumed that Bellatrix (Like Sirius) was the stunning one of them all, and that it was super tragic that she became evil (She too, like Sirius, bore signs of having been remarkably handsome in her time - or something to that effect by JKR). But Narcissa being the best looking one puts a diferent spin on things!

I can totally picture Narcissa and Bellatrix being disdainful of Andromeda because she was different from them. And I like how you brought out that Andromeda's struggle to speak her mind came from the fact that she was still in Slytherin while Sirius, a Gryffindor, was brave enough to do so.

I can see how Andromeda, being the middle child, would be grappling with the reputation that Bellatrix and Narcissa created before and after her. I like the way Ted didn't treat her like others, giving her a chance to be herself with him in the future.

I really do hope you plan on expanding this, because it seems like it could be part of a really cute series :D

Now for some CC,

I liked your descriptions because of what you said, and also it is very similar to how my style of writing used to be. However I got one CC from a shadowkat on the forums who told me to work on them, to SHOW rather than SAY. To describe without being explicit. Your story could have been much deeper if you had done your descriptions that way. It's just something to think about.

Also, if you were a little concerned about authenticity, Andromeda had left Hogwarts when Sirius joined, Since Bellatrix was born in 1951, Sirius in 1959 and Dromeda somewhere between 51 and 55. These are pottermore/JKR info that I collected for my story. I don't think you need to change anything in your story as having Sirius and Regulus around is pertinent to Andromeda's thought process. Just thought I'd mention it :)

But I should say I really loved it, and I'm definitely going to do justice to your other story when I get to it :)

Author's Response: Hey!

thanks for the review!
I'm glad you liked it! I love focusing on minor characters! :)

Yeah I'm not a fan of the whole 'they always hated eachother' because people aren't born with hate (well maybe Bellatrix was...)

I am planning and expansion of it, I have another fic called 'A charming year' which is this carried on if you are interested! :)

Ahh thanks for the CC I'll work on that :)

And yeah my version is AU cause I like using all the characters and stuff that people are familiar with rather the making a load of OCs :')

Thanks again for the lovely review! :D

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Northbound24 'Dromeda

10th October 2015:
An enjoyable read this one. The Andromda and Ted Tonks relationship is one which doesn't really get any context in canon bar the fact the two are Tonks' parents and Ted was muggle-born so the origins of their relationship is up for grabs in fanfic terms.

Ted's casual characterisation really contrasts the 'proper' way Andromda behaves because you easily imagine Ted as a humble lad who has next to no social graces with his swearing and making some kind-hearted fun at Andromda's expense.

The 'Whatcha' greeting was a fun little nod to canon. You can't imagine Tonks picking that verbal vic up from her mother can you really.

So an enjoyable little one-shot with some fun characterisation.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I totally agree that they don't get enough mention in canon!
I was going for that contrast so I'm glad you got that! :)
I enjoyed making him similar to his daughter, thats definitely where she would have got it from :)

I'm glad you liked it! :)

Thanks for the swap! :D

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heaven 'Dromeda

27th September 2015:
Heya! Here for our review swap :D

I've been on a recent Andromeda/Ted kick, so this caught my eye instantly, although I was very tempted by your Regulus/Mary one-shot too because REGULUS. It is difficult to resist a Black brother :P

I really liked the way you focused so much of the story on Andromeda's feelings about her family. She doesn't fit in, but doesn't go the typical teenage angst route (*cough*Sirius*cough*) but just accepts it and rides it out. Her love for them is clear, even though she knows that they know that she doesn't fit in. I think it shows a real maturity to her character, which was really nice to see.

Does Andromeda have any friends at all? She seems to spend most of her time with her sisters and their friends, and the rest she's like this super quiet person who studies all the time. What does she do for fun? Is she a knitter? Embroidery? Painting? Ceramics? (CERAMICS!) You mentioned that you're planning to continue this story (yay!) so I'd love to see more of Andromeda in her down time.

Haha, I really liked Ted! He's very much like his daughter (I can see where she gets it from). He's just like this chill guy who is very smug about making a pretty girl smile. Too cute! I'm excited to see their relationship grow! I think it'd be cool to see something written from his point of view, actually...

Overall, this was just a very enjoyable one-shot and I'm excited to see where this may lead in the future. Thanks for the lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hey! :D

Andromeda and Ted are my babies, I love them! and it definitely is hard to resist black brother ;)

I'm glad you liked that aspect, I think its so important to include because its a massive thing to leave your family, so I wanted to establish their relationship to emphases how tough it will be for her!

In my eyes she has a very small group of friends which are mainly her sisters and other Slytherins (that have been pre approved by her family). She's a character who is sheltered from the real world, but is also fascinated by it! :)

I'll definitely make sure to include that for you! :)

I LOVE Ted! And yes he is definitely like his daughter! I will be doing some Ted POV so don't worry about that ;)

Thank you for such a lovely review and swap!

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm 'Dromeda

19th September 2015:
Hey! I am so sorry for how long I've taken, but I'm finally here for our swap!

I absolutely ADORED this! Like completely fell head over heels in love with, I want more, please oh please don't let this end as a one-shot! Your characterization of Andromeda was fantastic! Not only her, but the rest of the characters as well. This was just all so, so well done!

I liked how you made Bellatrix seem almost human in the beginning. We see in cannon - with her and Narcissa - that she is almost decent with family members that she loves(?) and you did a great job of showing that side of her with Andromeda on the train.

I really loved how she battled internally with the love for her family and her beliefs. You could really see how torn she was and how afraid she was of being ostracized like Sirius had been. I imagine that would be a tough and frightening position to find yourself in.

It was cool seeing the whole spat in the Great Hall from the eyes of an observer. I thought it was funny how she didn't even seem to care and just let them all carry on with it.

She was a fantastic character though. Definitely a woman who was strong and wanted to make her own way in the world. I love how she didn't want to depend on a man for anything and wanted to study hard and have a career in the ministry. She was someone you could respect and look up to. Yet, she did still have a few snooty tendencies. Like when she first met Ted. ;)

Can I just say how much I adored that you didn't have it as a love at first sight type thing. That she was kind of snippy with him and he didn't take it from her and basically made fun of her a bit. I did feel bad afterwards how she was thinking of how no one would give her a chance just because of the family that she came from. That must be disheartening to have people not even try to get to know you and be intimidated by you because of your last name.

The ending of this was so, so cute! No wonder she fell for him! This cute boy who treated her just as he would anyone else. Something I'm sure she always wanted to happen. It was so adorable!

I so want to read more of your Andromeda and Ted! I love your take on them and I'm so sad that this is a one-shot and not longer. I want more! :p

Really, really great job on this. I loved it!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hello! :)

This was such a lovely review, oh my goodness! Thank you so much! :D

There will definitely be more! The black sister are my favourite to write! :)

Thank you! I work really hard on my characterisation, and I did that in particular for this one shot! :)

Bellatrix is one of my absolute favourite characters and I really really believe that she would have been normal on the outside before she wet to Azkaban, especially with her friends and family!

Definitely! I think she must have been just terrified and really lost, I think thats what draws her to Ted in a way, he shows her normality and safety :)

YEah I think Teromeda was definitely a work in progress romance! HE wore her down and she evetually opened up to him :)

I think he completely literally shook her world up by treating her normally! She was just taken completely off guard which is why she took notice of him, plus he is rather adorable ;)

There will be lots more Andromeda and Ted! :D don't worry just keep an eye out ;)

Thank you so so so much! :D

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell 'Dromeda

5th September 2015:
Hello! Penny here for our review swap (and also because I want to be. I've been meaning to pop back over here),

Me again :) So, I was going to go read more of Kings & Queens , but then I saw that you had a Tedromeda and, girl, that is my OTP! So it was immediately clear that I had to come check it out!

So, the thing I'm most excited about--after the fact that this is Tedromeda!--is that it runs alongside Kings & Queens. Like, it seems like it'll be on the same timeline? I LOVED that! It was just a fun little thing, to see the first scene of your other fic through Andromeda's eyes. And it makes me even more eager to read them both in conjunction. (If there is gonna be more. There's gonna be more, right? I know it's a one-shot, but I'm really hoping there's along this line, because you did mention a series *gives puppy eyes, politely requesting more Ted/Andromeda and general Black sister interaction*).

I definitely already feel bad for Andromeda. It's sad to think that she's always felt like she and her sisters were on the same page and weren't buying into the Pureblooded line, but now she feels them drifting away. I like how you have written her as being openly affectionate towards Bellatrix. That's something a bit different than what I've seen, but I like it. It makes what's going to happen in the long run much more tragic.

The other interesting thing that you did here is make us question the narrator. Andromeda contends that she isn't like her sisters--that she's not cold or snobbish. And, indeed, when it comes to her beliefs, it sounds as though she's not. However the way she speaks to Ted, while understandable, sounds plenty cold and plenty uppity. I like it, because it gives us the idea that perhaps Andromeda does not see herself as clearly as she thinks, and perhaps she could have friends outside her family if she'd loosen up a bit. It keeps Andromeda from too perfect.

I loved the idea that he'd say her name wrong and then keep saying it that way, and that would be the source of the nickname. I wonder if it'll irritate her, at first, if he continues doing it. That would be cute.

Aww, and she already likes him, at least a little bit! She finds him attractive, anyway. The Tedromeda sparks are stirring! Hooray!

I loved that bit about James and Sirius writing frantically, parchment against the wall, as they tried to finish their essays. It was a good picture.

Something about ‘Ted, Ted Tonks’ drew her to him.
--I just really liked this. The way she thinks of his name in the same way he said it is just a super-cute touch!


CC:

Okay, so I went ahead and tried to pick out the misspelling stuff that I saw, in case that was helpful. If you don't find it helpful, feel free to ignore it! I just pretty much always give CC, as a rule.

but Black family ruled through
--I'm thinking there should be a 'the' before "Black family"

Bellatrix was beautiful there was no doubt about it.
--There ought to be some kind of break between "beautiful" and "there". Maybe: "Bellatrix was beautiful, there was no doubt about it," or "Bellatrix was beautiful – there was no doubt about it."

for months now she wanted to fix it.
--In this case, since "for months now" includes the past, I think it might be better to say "she'd wanted".

which flashed passed the carriage windows
--In this case, I believe "passed" should be "past". Which seems odd, the more I think on it, but I still think that's the case. It's some kind of preposition-type-thing.

That was until the content peace of their compartment was interrupted by the scrapping on the door sliding opened against it’s rusting hinges.
--I think "scrapping" should probably be "scraping", "on the door" should be "of the door", "sliding opened" = "sliding open", and "it's" = "its".

to the heart, in which her sisters were treasured above all else in: Lucius Malfoy
--you may want to delete that "in" before ": Lucius"

who so affectingly doted on Narcissa.
--affectionately?

the LeStrange’s
--You don't need an apostrophe for the plural of LeStrange. Just LeStranges.

Andromeda could tell were this conversation was headed
--were = where

She to was eating a dainty salad,
--I think this should be: "She, too, was eating a dainty salad,"

who he know lived with
--know = now

One thing--typically, the Death Eaters refer to Voldemort as 'the Dark Lord', rather than just 'the Lord'. That has such a religious connotation that it made me laugh, which drew me out of the story for a minute.

Oi Ted, common mate!
--It seems like this is meant to be "c'mon" rather than "common"

"The included you Mr Black!
--Seems like this should be, "That included you, Mr. Black."

Andromeda wasn’t too phased by this
--this has gotten me, too! This word! Ugh. But in this case, it's spelled "fazed" rather than "phazed".


I think you've got something good here :D I like the way you've weaved in that same idea of reputation from your other fic--that seems to be a theme, and obviously a big deal to Andromeda, as she seems very hemmed in by her family's reputation. That's something I hadn't really seen before, and I liked it! And on the whole she and Ted just looked like they had so much cutential (cuteness + potential. It's totally a word. I made it up 2 seconds ago)! There's that whole initial misunderstanding, and Andromeda is a bit cold (even if she's not totally wrong) at first, and Ted's a bit of a prat, showing off for his friends with his sassy retort. But you can tell he's a good guy, because he comes in with a sincere apology right off the bad and is immediately friendly. And he sees himself as melting the icy walls, and she sees him as the first person who's even tried, and I am all for it! Good job!

--Penny

Author's Response: Penny! :D

Tedromeda is my OTP too! They are just so perfect! I adore them :)

I really wanted to write it alongside so that I could explore different perspectives of the same events, which is really fun :) Especially with the Black Sisters! I love them, they are such an interesting family! haha, yes there will be more Ted and Andromeda! ;D

Yeah I think her relationship with Bellatrix is something that a lot of people just assume was always bad, but I just can't believe that!, I actually think out of all three, they were probably the closest, as they had known each other the longest. For me they have an unspoken bond which is really tragic when it breaks! Tbh, I think there is probably a tiny part of the sane Bellatrix that will love Andromeda as well :')

Yes I'm glad you caught onto the questioning thing! I wanted to do that because it's such a shock when he literally knocked her over and she has no idea how to react to someone like him, so she instinctively just resorts back to her pure blood upbringing on how to deal with it. I think she probably thinks that he doesn't like her and judges her like everyone else, so it's kind of a defensive thing as well.

The little interaction with the two at the end is just my favourite! They are so adorable, I couldn't help myself. I'm so excited to explore them more! :)

Hahaha Cutential is a great word!! :D and definitely describes Tedromeda!

I'm so glad you liked this! It means a lot! :D

Thank you for such a lovely review!

Katie :)

Ps I'll totally get to those changes!! thank you so much for suggesting them it's really helpful for me cause I find it tricky to see them when I proof read!


 Report Review

Review #8, by MuggleMaybe 'Dromeda

5th September 2015:
Hi Katie!

I've been reading more about Ted and Andromeda lately. They are a fascinating couple, and I think you captured the tension inherent in their relationship very well.

I really like the way you've written Andromeda as loving toward her family but also disturbed by their increasing fanaticism. It's interesting that she already knows she disagrees with them, but doesn't openly admit this - I wonder if she feels guilty for lacking the bravery to act on her principles the way Sirius did? (Of course, she eventually does gain the courage to do this, since she marries Ted.)

I also enjoyed meeting your Ted. His mannerism call his daughter to mind, and I love it when writers are able to show that parent-child connection in Marauders fics. Great job! I could practically hear his conversation with Dromeda. His casual charm next to her prim intelligence. You struck a nice balance with that.

At least for me, this didn't really read like a one shot - there isn't a feeling of the curtain falling. (I hope that makes sense!) When I got to the end, I was perplexed not to see the next chapter button, because I want to know what happens next! So that's excellent, actually, but I would encourage you to expand this piece into a short story/novella/novel if that's something you're interested in doing. :) I would certainly read it!

Thanks for doing this swap, dear! I absolutely enjoyed reading this so much, and am determined to take a look at your WIP, despite my endless Dobbys-inspired reading list.

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hello! :D

Thanks for the swap! :)

I love Ted and Andromeda! I'm glad you liked this little one shot :) I think she definitely feels guilty about lacking Sisius' bravery to start with, (and if you think about it all of the Black children show bravery in different ways! :')) and she will definitely be confronting her family and their beliefs in time when she realises just how wrong they are. But I also think in a weird way, she will always love them :)

Yes! I like to believe that Tonks definitely acts like her dad! That's what I was trying to portray, so I'm really glad that you got that! :)

I plan on making it a series of one shots! :D So keep an eye out for the next one! I'm planning it at the moment :)

Aw thank you so much! This was such a lovely review to get! :D I hope we can swap again :)

Katie:)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Gabriella Hunter 'Dromeda

4th September 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's great to be back. I was going to continue on with your novel but I saw this little gem and decided to give it a try. I like that it ties in a long with Kings and Queens of Hogwarts, but from a completely different perspective.

I never really read much about Andromeda and I tried to write a one-shot about her a while back but it never came together. I love here that you've given her some great personality and backstory, she seems to be fully developed and I like the differences between her and the two sisters. I was really impressed by the fact that you brought up the fact that Andromeda doesn't approve of her sister's beliefs but still loves them. I think that that's an important thing that people have to point out because those bonds don't necessarily die off easily. The darkness in Bellatrix and the cool acceptance that Narcissa have really highlight wasn't different about the three girls and the choices that they'll make.

I am really curious though to learn more about how that all happens. We know what will happen of course but I wonder what will motivate the girls in the future and what Andromeda will do in the end. Sirius is her favorite cousin and that calls to mind that she isn't in the "Black mold" like the rest, considering that Sirius turned his back on the family basically and has nothing to do with them. I wonder if we'll see him at some point? Regulus made an appearance, as did future Death Eater brothers but that's just going to nag me.

But Ted Tonks! What a delightfully wonderful gust of fresh air. He made me all fuzzy and warm, I really want to see how his relationship with Andromeda unflods. They seem like complete opposites so I'm curious to know more about them and how the family will react. :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie! :D

I really want to play around with the idea of describing the war from everyone's point of view so it's not just bias! :)

I'm really glad that you liked my Andromeda, I think you're spot on with the sisters thing; she would have been so torn and probably quite inwardly torchered. It's definitely a heart vs mind situation. Yes! The sisters would have had a bond at some point and I think a lot of people forget that! I've chosen to start at the point where they are all started to go in their different paths.

I plan to do a lot more Black sisters in one shot form as well as in kings and queens so that we can really see their motivation for things, like why Narcissi turned her back, well Bellatrix became insane and why Andromeda eventually chose Ted :) We will definitely see some Sirius!

Aw I'm so glad you liked my version of Ted! I wanted him to be like that to show that Andromeda finally sees she's been living in this crazy world that doesn't make sense :') and actually Ted is the normal type of person she needs!

I'm so glad you liked this little one shot!

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dirigible_Plums 'Dromeda

4th September 2015:
Hey,

I'm here for the review swap. I was meaning to get to it last night, but I really needed to go to sleep as I had an early start. Sorry :/ Onwards, I go, though:

I recently discovered a new love for the Black sisters. Their story is so wonderfully morbid and I like to see how they once started out. It's interesting how you've chosen to portray pre-Azkaban Bellatrix as having a "famed cold and stern demeanour" because I can't imagine a Bellatrix that's not insane. It's a believable change though because she would've been brought up to be haughty and distant. She and Narcissa have been portrayed well.

It's also refreshing to have a bookish Andromeda. I never really thought of her to be that type, but I can see how she would be and it really ties in with the Slytherin desire to strive to be the best, essentially . She tries to distance herself from the Black legacy, but she can't quite manage it. Sure, she's not a pureblood supremacist, but I like how she still has the Black mannerisms drilled into her. Meanwhile, Ted is the complete opposite of her. He's clumsy, he's crass and he's wonderfully ordinary.

One thing I think could be improved on is the length of the paragraphs. I'm all for long paragraphs as some of my one shots have a lot of them, but I feel that some of the paragraphs would be better suited to being broken into smaller ones e.g. the one where Lucius & Co enter the compartment.

My other major criticism would be the ending. I feel as if it was cut off at an awkward part. The entire chapter was written from her POV, but that last sentence suddenly switched to Ted's which I felt disrupted the flow. I also thought it would've benefitted from a final paragraph to conclude things properly especially since this is a one shot.

Thanks for the review swap. I look forward to your review :)

Dirigible_Plums xo

Author's Response: Hey, :)

Thank you for the review! :)

I absolutely love the black sister because all three of them are so different and they just fascinate me! I think Bellatrix would have definitely been a typical 'pure blood girl' whilst she was a Hogwarts, rather than the insane Bellatrix in the books, I think she probably lost her mind when Voldemort was killed and she went to Azkaban.

I'm glad you like my interpretation of Andromeda! :) You've totally read what I was trying to capture! Yeah Ted is the total opposite and I think that's what would draw her to him so much and him in turn to her. I love clumsy bashful Ted :)

I'll have a look at the lengths of the paragraphs and see if I can sort that out!

You're right about the last bit, I definitely need to revise that. But there will be more one shots with the two of them, so that's why I've left it open ended :)

Thanks for the review! :)

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by manno_malfoy 'Dromeda

3rd September 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap. I do love Ted and Andromeda a lot, so I was really excited for this.

I felt that this story was a lot more Andromeda than Andromeda/Ted as we just get to know Andromeda better. We get introduced to her ideologies and where she stands on matters, and her relationship with her sisters and even other Slytherins.

I think your characterisation of the three sisters is quite admirable. Your Bellatrix really is interesting, and I would love to see a story like this one focused on her. What I liked about what you've done with Bella is how you managed to balance her age and the madness, in a way that made it believable. She loves her sisters and it shows. She's fairly agreeable when surrounded by suitable company. So really great work with that.

I like that Narcissa and Lucius are in a loving relationship and it isn't just arranged. Even though we didn't get to see that much of her, but I suppose just enough to know where she stands on things.

What confused me a little bit is the age of everyone and what years they're in. It was hard to imagine what sort of relationship Lucius and Narcissa were having because I didn't know how old they were. And I understand that it's AU (and I'm guessing you did that so you can place all three sisters at Hogwarts at the same time, but do correct me if I'm wrong). But even if that's the case, I feel that it would've been a lot easier to understand the characters if I knew what year they're in.

My favourite part perhaps is when Regulus joined them in the compartment and Bellatrix referred to him as their only cousin. It's such a small thing but makes a bold statement about Bellatrix and what she's like.

I found your Ted very interesting. I like that he has an accent and that you showed it throughout the chapter rather just told us and left it up to imagination. He's just so spontaneous with what he says, and he's the absolute opposite of her, and on top of all of that, he called her 'man'. I had to bury my face in my hands at that moment and wanted to dive into the story and drag him away before he did anything else that's stupid. But alas.


And last but not least, your Andromeda. I admire that even though she disagrees with her family on many things, she manages to not show it as much. She still maintains a natural relationship with her sisters. But I like that she treats Rabastan with some contempt because it shows how her tolerance is just extended to her family.

I happened to catch onto a few typos so I thought I'd point them out. Just in case.

-Andromeda protested in a joking manor... (should be 'manner')

-Oi Ted, common mate! (come on)

-The included you Mr Black (that includes)

Other than that, I thought that this was a nice story. I did want to see more of Ted and Andromeda and how they progress. I do hope that'll be in the series that you've mentioned. Well done with everything, though! :D

-Manno

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much for your review! :)
Yeah this definitely leans morello Andromeda, but I am planning to continue this with a series of one shots, so keep your eyes peeled! There will definitely be more Ted to come, because we love him! :D
I have actually written a Bellatrix one shot which I hope to publish soon as well :) and thank you, I try quite hard with her characters. I really believe that her madness was quite hidden in her younger years and it was Azkaban which made it really come out. She was a black so I think she would have held herself well and not show any madness to start with :)
ahh I'm sorry the ages confused you, I actually linked this to run alongside my novel which is a WIP and explains all of there ages :) But I'll definitely true to make some adjustments to make it obvious in this one as well!
Ah i'm glad you liked that, it was my favourite part as well!
Hahaha! Ted is my favourite! He is totally the opposite, which is what I think attracts Andromeda to him so much. And he definitely does not know how to act around her! :')
Andromeda is a very torn character, which I'm looking forward to explore more, but she definitely doesn't believe in pure blood superiority. Yes I think she would hate the outside pure blood world to her family because she hates the ideals to much, but she loves her family and would do anything for them.
Thank you for pointing out the typos! I'll definitely sort those out ASAP!

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, I will definitely have more Ted and Andromeda so keep an eye out! :D

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by blackballet 'Dromeda

2nd September 2015:
Hi there! I’m here for our review swap from the forums.

First of all, I love how you started this one-shot. I love how you hinted that no matter which Black it was, they’d have a reputation of some sort. It was perfect, especially for Andromeda’s character.
I also love how she describes Bellatrix. It’s so exact and specific, like Andromeda constantly studies her sister. It doesn’t seem contrived. Andromeda clearly wants her sister back.
There’s one small mistake I found. In the paragraph starting with “Where’s Cissy?” there’s a ‘so’ where there should be a ‘she’. Lucius is also spelled wrong in the next paragraph.
Again, I really adore the relationship with Andromeda and Bellatrix.
I also love the introduction of Narcissa. It seems that Andromeda is really protective of Narcissa which is a lovely trait that I would definitely associate her with.
Okay now that the introduction of the characters are over, we get into the really juicy part!

Oh gosh, this is so intense. I love how the sisters are kind of flat, actually. Especially Narcissa. I know that eventually Narcissa evolves, but I think, right now, she’s just a girl who thinks like her parents and wants to be pretty. And when they see the marauders, they automatically go to pick a fight. It’s so simple and childlike, and seems like something Bellatrix would pull as a teenager.
Your introduction of Ted is a scene I truly adore. I love how Andromeda is offended when he calls her a man, even though it’s clearly colloquially. She is also insulted by his swearing which is so in character. It really presents her as a Black. And then at the end, she is intrigued just enough, and it really plays well into the next section.
Awww! That was completely adorable! I wish that this was a longer story so I could see how Ted breaks Andromeda out of her shell even more than he already has. ‘Dromeda was the perfect title for this perfect little one-shot.
Love your one-shots!

blackballet

Author's Response: Hello! :D

First I'd just like to say thank you for such a lovely review! I think this is something that I'm really proud of so I'm so happy that's it's been so well received! :) Also thank you for pointing out he small errors, I will definitely get straight to changing those!

I think that they were definitely all memorable in Hogwarts for their own reasons, not just Sirius as the pranker, also I was kinda trying to get a slightly less marauders bias take on this part as well, so explore the 'baddies' for someone who is constantly with them, which was really fun!

I think its so important that Andromeda had a strong relationship with both of her sisters and thats what makes everything so sad, having to leave them and being disowned. Particularly Bellatrix and I'm kind of trying to portray the idea that this is the point where they have started to drift apart which ends up with a huge gap in their beliefs!

I love Ted and Andromeda! they are just so adorable and I'm so happy that you like it and thought it was sweet!:D There will be more Tedromeda, in one shot form so keep an eye out! :D

Thank you again for the feedback and the lovely comments!

Katie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login