Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Break Me
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shadowkat Chapter 1

26th May 2016:
Drunk Remus. I always love seeing stories where he's drunk...he's always so awkward. And this is one of the reasons I don't ship WolfStar after Azkaban. Sirius wouldn't be able to handle a relationship. What he really needed at that time was a friend, not the extra drama that getting together with someone would bring.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dojh167 Chapter 1

6th March 2016:
For the HPFF Review-A-Thon

I don't tend to read WolfStar because James/Sirius is everything, but this story caught my eyes when yo u posted it and has been sitting on my reading list ever since, so here I am!

At the beginning, I assumed that it was Sirius coming to Remus' (see, I accidentally wrote James' at first) door. To me, it kind of turns things around to make Sirius the one who is trying to turn Remus away, and that is interesting to me.

Apparently it is also surprising to Sirius. And now he's... getting tea? AND admitting he's not ready for a relationship? How very mature of him

To me, this really reflects what Remus later says to Tonks, that she deserves someone hole and right for her.

While I know that they are both right about how damaged they are, I'm with Sirius her (as much as my emotionally idealistic heart may whine about it). Neither of them are emotionally prepared for a relationship, and they would really only bring each other further down.

That was two days before he died??!?! RUDE

The ending may seem uplifting, but I don't trust it one but. He is in shambles. He is drunk. Sirius just died. He is more broken than he was before. Not to mention we know how he will push Tonks away for the next year, which makes this feel even more like he is just using her/thinking of Sirius.

On the surface, this is a relatively straightforward story, but there is so much background and emotional depth connected to it, and I think you did a really good job of harnessing that.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey Sam!

Thanks for dropping by!

I can understand your point about James/Sirius although I don't personally ship them myself.

I don't know why, but I sort of always picture Sirius as the more distant of the two as adults. I think Azkaban damages him in a way that others can only guess at.

Tonks definitely gets the short end of the stick in this. In my mind, Remus only goes to her once Sirius is off the table.

I'm really glad that you picked up on the nuances of this story. It wasn't meant to be simple or straightforward at all. I never really liked Tonks/Remus as a ship and in my mind this is really the only way it works.

Thanks for the lovely review and for participating in the Review-A-Thon!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #3, by princesslily_36 Chapter 1

22nd January 2016:
Hello again!

I picked this one for the second swap because it's wolfstar, I've never read one (on account of being a strong Ronks) but always loved the idea.

Your story just broke my heart into a million pieces for so many reasons. I swear, reading Sirius in this after reading the mischevious prankster in the previous story was such a stark and tragic contrast - reminded me so much of how a wonderful handsome talented person just wasted away. No *sobs* And Remus, so lonely, so damanged. Why, WHY CAN'T THEY BE YOUNG MARAUDERS FOREVER :(

Sirius being distant and perceptive and Remus being the drunken emotional one was a change to see - We always see the vice versa in all the fics, but you made this in such a way it just fit the situation.

And Sirius' last words to Remus was just... no words to describe what I felt then. Did it have to end like that :(

'Making Sirius happy' -> *sob* Sirius made sure that Remus was not alone when he was gone, and yet Ronks was born from a wolfstar. Completely mixed emotions here.

I love how you've managed to write this in both first and second person form. It draws the reader into both the PoVs and is a wonderful way of giving an insight into both the characters without any awkward shifts of PoV.

Thank you for such an amazing read! I'll be back for more in a while :D

Love and cheers *because I'm going to need some after reading this*
~Ysh~

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Basilisk Chapter 1

6th November 2015:
Hello Kaitlin,

lissstening to Joplin in the background while reading thisss killed the bitss of me Potter left behind.
You've managed to make Sirius's death ssso much more unfair and heart-breaking.

The dialogues were ssimply marvellous. I even felt a bit offended for Sirius because it felt like Remus was saying "let's settle with each other, we're broken anyway", but I just ssso sstrongly agree with them being together, I turned out being mad at Sirius. You alssso almosst made me feel bad for Tonks, but Remus is an honorable man. His love is not pity.
Your writing is a delight, this story felt alive through the POV you chose and the wonderful descriptions you used.

Thank you for writing this.

 Report Review

Review #5, by ScorpiusRose17 Chapter 1

8th September 2015:
Hi Kaitlin!

I really enjoyed this. I've never read a wolf/star based fic before so this was quite an interesting first read. :)

I thought you did a great job characterizing both Remus and Sirius. I could really picture Sirius thumping loudly down the steps, yelling at his mother and Remus being desperate to reach out to a friend/love especially during the time and surrounding circumstances.

I kept singing the song through my mind as I read so I think it was a great idea putting it in the beginning like that! It really helped me get into Remus' mind frame.

I look forward to reading more of your stories!

Keep up the awesome job! :)

-Jenn

Author's Response: Hi Jenn!

You've never read a Wolfstar? But...But.How?

I'm happy that the characterization seemed on point. This is my second time writing Wolfstar, but my first time ever writing Remus.

I love that song. I was so excited when I saw it on the list to choose from.

I hope you enjoy them!

Thanks for the lovely review!

~Kaitlin



 Report Review

Review #6, by notreallyblonde44 Chapter 1

8th September 2015:
Reading another one-shot because I'm here and why not? haha

o.O OH WOW. Love it!!! I am not particularly fond of Tonks as a character and adore Remus to protective-pieces, so I prefer this to canon and think it fits nicely into canon, so now it's real :P

Yikes the feels, so many feels in a second. Poor Sirius. Half-poor Remues. Meh I care Tonks is being used, but meh. And very interesting POV selection! You did a good job with it. I didn't know I was being "you'd" until about midway through lol

#howlingforwolfstar
-Ellie

Author's Response: Hi Ellie!

That was so sweet of you to stop by and read another one-shot.

I actually don't like Tonks very much myself either and I sort of ship Wolfstar, so I had to try and find a plausible reason for Ronks to happen. I'm glad you like how I envisioned them getting together.

There are a lot of feels and most of them are sort of depressing.

I'm thrilled that you didn't notice the "being you'd" until halfway through. It's always my hope when I do 2nd person that I'll be able to make it fit within the story.

Thanks for the lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp Chapter 1

1st September 2015:
Hey again! Here for the last of the reviews (for now - because I need to come back and read more of your writing)!

I don't normally ship WolfStar but you made me ship them a little here. I felt bad for poor Remus, but I'm glad in the end he went to Tonks. His love and pain for Sirius was palpable but Sirius' arguments made sense too. I love how you showed all of these aspects of their relationship so easily and in such a short one-shot.

The descriptions were brilliant as always and I enjoyed the characterisation of Remus and Sirius. I really don't have anything else to add except that this was a very good read. Your writing is amazing and I am so glad I got to read some of it.

Great, great work!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hi Aditi,

I think Wolfstar is one of those ones where you either love them or you don't. I happen to really like the idea of them together.

Remus really is not having the best of times in this story. I feel like he really does love Sirius, but two dysfunctional people in a relationship is bad news and I think Sirius knows it.

Thanks for your lovely comments!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #8, by Frankie05 Chapter 1

31st August 2015:
Kaitlin,

You must be a huge fan of tearing my heart out. Seriously how are you so good at eliciting emotions from me!
This was so well done aside from being so devestatingly heart breaking. Poor Remus is so alone and so sad and just wants to be with someone and he loves Sirius but Sirius won't take him back. And he's pretty far gone in the realm of alcohol. Poor buddy.

They are both broken men and while we are in Remus's head you do a good job getting Sirius' opinion out there on the matter. And Remus is a lucky guy to have Sirius and to have Tonks :/ I wish he wasn't so insecure about it.

And holy crap. Are those Sirius's last words to Remus ;( why Kaitlin why?!

But the end had such a nice touch - I mean aside from the drinking Problem Remus seems to have at the moment (but he just lost his friend and ex lover) and he goes to Tonks. Albeit probably not the right motivation but from books we know he is happy with her.

You are seriously so brilliant. Amazing Author you are! Keep it up and keep churning them out because your writing makes so many people happy!!

Frankie

Author's Response: Hi Frankie!

I'm so sorry that this tore your heart out, but that tells me that my writing is doing what it's supposed to in this. Remus is alone and sad, but so is Sirius. I'm a firm believer that two highly dysfunctional people are toxic together...and I think Sirius worries about that too.

I'm glad that the view of Sirius through Remus' eyes gave you a good picture of who he was.

*sobs uncontrollably* I know. Don't hate me.

Yes, there is something optimistic about him finding Tonks, but if you think about why he's doing it, it certainly isn't for the right reasons.

Thank you so much for all of your kind words. This review really made me smile.

~Kaitlin



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login