Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Bonded For Life
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by princesslily_36 Bonded For Life

6th March 2016:
FOR THE HPFF REVIEW-A-THON

AW FLUFFY JILY *squeals in excitement*

OMG, It's an A-Z one shot, and in 500 words!!! How talented are you??

It is just so adorable how Sirius, Remus and Peter snigger at James when he awes at Lily's beauty at the beginning! Such Marauders they are. You know it was only when I read that I realized they were all probably around 18 years old (give or take months) I mean I knew they were 18, but it sort of hit me that time you know.

Others said it would never happen and you proved them all wrong. - Ah, in the middle of all that happiness, James had to praise himself in his own head. He's so JAMES!

And his cockiness was preceeded by for years marrying her seemed like a wild fantasy which shows us how far he had come, and that he really knew that. He knew what she meant to him, and what it meant to her.

Wedding scenes are totally fluffy and aw-inspiring, and yours brings the whole thing alive for me. Starting from your opening description to the very clever inclusion of the letter Z (zig-zagging) which demonstrated dancing, I loved every single bit of it.

It was such a feel good one shot, and I loved reading it. Thank you for the wonderful read!

XOXO
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Bonded For Life

21st February 2016:
Hi there! Jayde here, with the 2nd of your reward reviews for correctly guessing one of the presents in the "Guess the Present" thread! Congratulations, and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday!

I was going to read the Draco/Hermione one-shot I saw a little higher up on your author's page, but I noticed that that's the one-shot Dee had left your other reward review on, so I thought I'd go with this, instead. Plus, I'm really in the mood for some fluff, and this looked particularly fluffy! :D

I'll be reviewing as I read, so if I seem to jump from one topic to another kind of quickly, that's why!

Okay, so the first thing I'm just struck by as soon as I glance at the page is just awe of you for being able to complete the A-Z challenge! I seriously don't think I could pull that off, so HUGE props to you there!

You've got a VERY powerful introduction here. Just in the first paragraph you've already let us know we're at a wedding, and you've clued us in on SO many emotions!

And then, the "Hurry" line. GAH, I don't know what it is, but that got me right in the feels... he's so desperate for her to be his! It's so moving and fluffy and sweet! And aw, he's going to cry because she told him she loves him! Eeek!

I really like the part where you said "for years marrying her seemed like a wild fantasy" - because in James' case, I'm sure it was true! It took him SO long just to get her to agree to go out with him, I'm sure there must have been times when he thought it'd NEVER happen. Poor thing. :( But, there's no need to be sad - they're getting married so obviously it all worked out in the end. (Sadly, I think I said that last bit more for benefit than yours :P)

And WOW. I know that completing the A-Z part of this must have been a challenge, but the words you chose to use to fulfill that requirement are amazing and fit so well with the story!

And Awww! He's not even paying attention to the ceremony because he's staring at her! That's so sweet!!! ♥

I love the part where the other marauders lift James onto their shoulders.. though it's also a little bittersweet because we know what will happen in just a short time with Peter... :( (Don't think about that now Jayde, just enjoy the ceremony!) :P

Hahha! The X and Y sentences made me laugh! :D

This is just such a cute, fluffy little story and I love it to bits! You did a fantastic job with conveying a very powerful emotional moment in such few words! Your writing flowed very well and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, either - well done dear!

 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne Bonded For Life

14th February 2016:
James is just so adorkable! I want to pinch his cheeks because he's so cute! I love how you wrote him, he's exactly how I imagined he would be during his wedding to Lily.

And the marauders reactions were priceless! I just can't stop smiling at them all! They're just so happy and I love it!

Wait, each sentence started with a different letter of the alphabet, oh wow that flowed so well! I am so impressed right now. I'm going to have to read this again haha :D

This was brilliant and oh so cute! I absolutely loved and adored it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Basilisk Bonded For Life

20th December 2015:
Hiss Hiss, guess who? The Basilisk, with a review.

Thisss was so sweet and beautiful and adorable. It made me go "Aww" which is saying something since I'm an ancient creature who does not utter such words.

Nonetheles, your portrayal of James was lovely. He was so in love with Lily and I loved that. Hisss feelings were so palpable and second person worked well here. Seeing the ceremony through hiss eyes, feeling his love for Lily, seeing her beauty, through him, it was so well-written.

So much conveyed in just 500 words. Loved it. Great work!

10/10
Hiss Hiss
The Basilisk

 Report Review

Review #5, by Owlpost68 Bonded For Life

27th September 2015:
Awww this was ADORABLE! But you knew that :) Really, James' thoughts were so sweet, and so him. You really brought the short scene to life with the description, so great job on that. My favorite reaction was when she told him I love you and his knees went jelly-like :) I can only imagine how surreal this day would be for him after all the time she said no. This is definitely one of my favorite Jily stories :D
great job!

 Report Review

Review #6, by HeyMrsPotter Bonded For Life

13th September 2015:
HAI MEG! Just dropping by to leave you some love...just because I can :)

HOLY BALL OF FLUFFY CUTENESS, BATMAN.

This. Was. Adorable.

I demand you write fluff all of the time becuase omg. James' love for Lily is just the sweetest thing ever, and this is officially my new headcanon. He is just the perfect mix of excited and nervous and in love, exactly as I always imagined James would be where Lily was concerned. I love the little inside joke they both shared with their dirty thoughts, it's fitting considering they were porbably only 19/20 when they were married and probably still very much in that phase of their relationship.

This was 500 words of total perfection, every word really did count♥

Love and squishy hugs for you, Meg!

xxx

 Report Review

Review #7, by carry on with your knitting Bonded For Life

28th August 2015:
Hey! :)
I'm here for the review swap! :)

Aw jilly yay! I love the marauders and jilly are just adorable!
I loved this one shot, I thought it was really interesting reading it from James' point of view, because I've never really read anything like that before :) you can feel yourself, as the reader, just how much he loves Lily and it was so adorable!! This is the way I want my future husband to be!! I won't lie this fic gave me some james feels :')
I loved the 'quite pretty' bit, even at his wedding james is the joker!
I'm so happy that they finally get together, for me they have just the perfect relationship, and you captured it really well here! I think there is a challenge for like a 'one moment' or something? I don't know if this is already and entry, but if not you should totally put it forward!

I loved reading it and it made my heart melt!:)

Katie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Bonded For Life

22nd August 2015:
Hey Meg,

I just got your review (thank you so much by the way ♥) and it made me smile so much that we'd done similar things so I wanted to come and read yours straight away!

I love Jily. They're just so cute, I want to squish them up and hold on to them forever so they always stay alive and happy! You completely got all those feelings in there, it was so wonderful to read.

Your James. God I love him as a character and you wrote him every bit how I imagine him. The way he was blown away with Lily's beauty and finally being able to call her his wife, gah the whole thing made me super happy! And when Lily mouthed that she loved him when walking down the aisle. In true marauders style, I love that they lifted James up on to their shoulders and then when you used "your Lily". My favourite bit though was the final line.

Lily Potter had a beautiful ring to it - as you always knew it would.

YES. Yes it does!!

Meg, this whole thing was super cute and adorable and I loved it! Good luck in both challenges, you really deserve to do well ♥

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #9, by TreacleTart Bonded For Life

21st August 2015:
Hey Meg!

Here for the Gryffindor Review Battle! Go Team Red!

Oh a Jily piece! I'm excited to see what you've done here. I always love to see how people envision a wizarding wedding.

For some reason, I was surprised when this was in James' voice. Based on the summary, I was thinking it was going to be Lily. I actually sort of like that it is him because we get to see a genuinely emotional moment from him. I think you captured his nervous excitement really well. And through his POV we also get a small glimpse at how Sirius, Remus, and Peter (shudders) are feeling.

I love the little bit where the Marauders life James up on their shoulders. I thought that was cute and sounded like something they would do. I also enjoyed the part at the end where Lily winks and says "later". She's fiesty. :D

I thought the technical aspects of your writing were lovely in this as well. Everything was clear and flowed well, which I feel can be hard to do in past tense sometimes, so kudos!

I do have two very minor touches of concrit to leave you, but again this is pretty nitpicky.

yet on the outside you appeared as cool and calm as you normally tried to portray to the outside world. - I think that changing the second outside to another word would help the flow. Maybe "portray to the world around you" or something along those lines.

Marrying her was something youíve always hoped for, - I think the you've should be changed to you'd to keep in line with your tense choice throughout the story.

Another lovely story from you Meg! Your writing just keeps getting better and better.

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #10, by TidalDragon Bonded For Life

21st August 2015:
Howdy Meg!

As a general rule I don't read summaries except for novels. Why am I telling you this? Because until I reached the end of your story, I actually didn't notice the fact that you were starting a new sentence with a new letter going from A-Z - something that I think speaks volumes about how effectively you did it. You made this story flow so naturally that the quirk felt completely normal and unobtrusive. Well done!

I also enjoyed how you worked in your own take on a magical wedding. The rings and bonding is a popular one I think, but one I enjoy, and you made it mesh nicely with the personalities and the FULL range of thoughts that are coursing through a groom's mind (with a nod to the fact that even the baser ones are probably on - or at least in the back of - the bride's mind as well). That touch and the hoisting added an air of irreverence that seemed QUITE fitting for a Marauder wedding.

Yet you also used the more serious thoughts to give us some fluff and some descriptions that were elegant in their simplicity, resisting the urge to talk about Lily's hairstyle or the details of her dress, or the like that are so common.

The only bit of CC I really have is that at one point in the middle you slipped out of past tense and into present: "Marrying her was something YOU'VE (should be YOU'D) always hoped for..."

Thanks for sharing this with us Meg! Very well done!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ScorpiusRose17 Bonded For Life

21st August 2015:
Hi!!

This was lovely! I really enjoy reading sweet stories like this about Lily and James. It really gives you an idea of their happiness among all the chaos that surrounds them outside of their wedding.

I think what I liked the best about this was that it was through James' eyes not Lily's. It makes it that much sweeter and adorable coming from him. I like how you also incorporated his friends into this too, but kept the focus on Lily.

You are a wonderful writer and I look forward to reading more of your work! :)

-Jenn

 Report Review

Review #12, by Frankie05 Bonded For Life

20th August 2015:
This is magnificent Meg! Truly outstanding work! I love the flow of the piece. It really works well. I'm always terrified of writing in second person but you made it look easy! Also you nailed the 500 words plus they weren't filler words which is even more impressive! On top of that, your A-Z challenge is fantastic. This was so cute and fluffy and romantic and my heart smiles!

I'm also impressed with your usage of the semicolon. I think a lot of things terrify me in writing and you did them and used them so gracefully. It's wonderful to read and definitely aestheticly pleasing.

I think my favorite line was the Hurry one- where she was taking too long. Absolutely James thought that about his bride on his wedding day. Your characterization of James was brilliant. I also think you did a great job on your descriptions- this whole story was magnificent. I haven't the words for it!

I hope you do well on your two challenges because you deserve it after this magnificent, heart- warming Jily love. :)

Frankie

 Report Review

Review #13, by pointless_proclamations Bonded For Life

20th August 2015:
MEG! BESTESTHPFFBFFSOULSISTERBRAINTWINFRAND!!

I love this story so much!! So many heart strings pulled. It's so fluffy and adorable. Bah. The flow of the story was so natural, I didn't even realise this was for the A-Z challenge untli I read the summary again. AND that it fit exactly 500 words makes this even more impressive. Your use of second person is so beautiful.

You've also got these adorably cheeky lines in here: "kissed her like you've never kissed her before; you were surprised the room hadn't caught fire from it" and "X-Rated thoughts formed in your head" and THIS PUN "Lily Potter had a beautiful ring to it." MEG!

This is such a re-readable story! ♥

AND THERE IS SO MUCH SWEETNESS IN HERE THAT IT ACHES!

Again, AMAZING!!!

Penguin tackle hugs and cookies,
Em

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login