Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Summerbee
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal Summerbee

9th April 2017:
Wow! It is impressive doing the whole alphabet once through but to go again in reverse order? Color me astounded. I don't think I could manage what you have here. Fantastic job. Like seriously.

You did a nice job of crafting a tale and did something unique - I have never thought of a psychiatric institute in the wizarding world before I guess I always assumed everyone went and stayed at St. Mungos. Very clever by the way with naming the place after the inventor of the cheering charm. That was a nice little surprise to learn at the end particularly when the name worked well on its own before knowing its source.

I have to say the ending is a little sad, you get the feeling that Norah Vane is not getting out at all despite Lucy's beliefs - I think that because of how Norah acted at the end and told Lucy to never come back.

Also I think you made a very accurate point about goodbye parties being a bit like funerals, you celebrate the person moving on to bigger and better things but it is also a goodbye which is many times sad.

Anyway aside from the impressive use of the alphabet you did well with the story and it was a good read.

 Report Review

Review #2, by PeasantGirlFromMars Summerbee

19th October 2016:
Hi Gina!)
Sorry I'm writing it here but, apparently, since I've already left a review for "Them" I can't write anything there, and I don't know if this website allows to pm authors. Anyway, I've just realised that I never gave you the link to the Russian version of your story "Them", which you were so kind to allow me to translate:) so here it is: ficbook. net/readfic/3723535 Thank you once again for writing such an amazing story and for giving me the opportunity to share it with people who don't speak English:)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Chocolate Frog Card Summerbee

21st March 2016:
Greetings to you, lovely Gina,

I have come here to read of Summerbee.

I trust you fared well in the challenge arena,

With this entry of the young Lucy.

I'll admit first I was sad,

To hear of Lucy Weasleys pain.

And then of course I was glad,

She found a friend in Norah Vane.

I thought you captured well,

Life in such a place.

On times like this have some had to dwell,

But I think you handled it with grace.

And of course your style is perfect,

As your writing always is.

It is why this story was my pick,

One of the best Ive read, indeed tis.

If someone asks for a story of A-Z,

I will tell them of this one right off the bat.

And of course they will believe me,

For I am the Sorting Hat.

 Report Review

Review #4, by notreallyblonde44 Summerbee

11th November 2015:
Hello!

I've read this once before, and realized I never left a review (shame on me), and wanted to say that this is a very interesting one-shot. Have you ever read the Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath? It seems like you have to me, as what you describe is so similar to that book/her experiences. If you haven't, you may like it.

You did a wonderful job, I'm only wishing for more, which isn't necessary since you handle everything so well, but is a mark of good writing. When a reader wants more, you know you're stuff is interesting ;) And it's amazing to me that you did the whole alphabet back and forth! Amazing challenge, you should be happy with the result and hope you did well in the challenge itself. I admit I had to look up xenial haha. Fits so well, pacing is nice and fluid despite the letter restriction.

There's a bit of mystery here around Lucy's circumstances, and Norah completely. Lucy clearly had some form of a mental breakdown, and I hope she's OK and working on managing her stress and desire for attention in a more positive, less harmful way. For Norah, I can't help but think that Norah's sexuality could be related to her Summerbee stay, as "treatments" were once called for and could be still (though I would like to think not!!). I hope I'm wrong to some degree, either way there's definitely something just lurking below the surface with the "voices" that's so very sad and fragile in Norah. I enjoyed the girls' dynamic, and hope that they see each other again but that it doesn't involve Lucy going back if she doesn't need too.

Overall, really creative and sophisticated one-shot, I enjoyed reading it, thanks!

-Ellie

 Report Review

Review #5, by Alarte Ascendare Summerbee

27th October 2015:
You're leaving us pulling our hair out screaming... again...

WHAT HAPPENED? DID NORAH KILL HERSELF? OMG!!!

I'm pretty sure she did...

But then again the whole Draught thing is also a big cliffhanger. Did she do it herself? Did someone else do this to her? If so, is NORAH connected somehow?

GAH

Anyway...

Lovely piece yet again. I really wanted to read this after reading "Them". There's so much potential here. You can write about so many patients... So many plots...

Absolutely brilliant.

There were no mistakes. And I have no complaints.

You might want to change Doctor to Healer though.

But then again maybe you don't have to. I get the feeling that muggle knowledge on psychology is needed for this. So they either outsource their knowledge and consulting on and off or they send off Healers to study in the muggle world. And also, doctor would be better than Healer. There's no healing certain portions of psychology. You can only control them. A doctor detects and diagnoses.

See? Logic everywhere :D

I love how you can get under everyone's skin and break them open for us to see. You do all that with limited words. Amazing!

You should do a short story collection on Summerbee. An extended microfiction.

Lovely reading your work as always.

Author's Response: You're so sweet to stop by and read this piece as well. I loved reading your review and seeing your reactions. It's so satisfying as a writer to see how your audience responds to what you write.

Anyway…

I hadn't intended for Norah to seem suicidal, but it's interesting that you read it that way. I can totally see how you read that. My intention was to show that she'd accepted her "fate," as it were, and she knows she'll be in Summerbee for quite some time. That she won't get better.

And yes, Lucy did give herself the draught because of all the pressure piled on her--to get good grades, to be noticed in a big family, to live up to her big sister, etc. Stupid decision, obviously, which is what landed her in Summerbee. But she'll be okay. :)

Thanks again for stopping by to read and review. It means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLane Summerbee

26th October 2015:
OK, I had to find out a little more about Summerbee.

Poor Lucy. I'm not quite sure whether Summerbee is going to help her or make things worse. So far they don't seem to be doing a great job of figuring out what's going on in her head, but then we only have it from her point of view and it's possible they understand more than she realises.

It doesn't really sound like Norah expects to get out.

And I LOVE the idea of where you got the name of institute.

Author's Response: I like to think the doctors/nurses understand more than she realizes. She's got teenager brain and teenagers tend to think no one could possibly understand them. ;) That might be an overgeneralization but it certainly described me as a teenager.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Summerbee

22nd August 2015:
Hi Gina!

Here for RvG Review Battle in the CR!

So when I saw you had written this for the A-Z challenge I couldn't resist coming to read it! You did such a great job. When having to use the correct letter there's always a risk that you might have to force some of it (especially X's and Z's!) and I didn't feel like you had that here at all. You then did the whole thing backwards!

This was sad. I really felt for Lucy. To feel that lost and invisible that she felt the need take the potion is really awful and I can't imagine the pain that a person goes through to make that decision. You wrote the whole thing wonderfully though, my heart really went out to her.

I thought Norah was an interesting character. She's clearly been in Summerbee a long time and I get the impression that she thinks she's still going to be there for a long time. The last paragraph is really built up to, and doesn't disappoint.

Also, I like that you called the place Summerbee after Felix, that was a nice touch!

Great story though! I'm really glad I came to read it!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #8, by Frankie05 Summerbee

19th August 2015:
Hey there,

I actually loved this story! It as very sad to begin with/and end with quite honestly but in a short amount of time you made me fall in love with the characters. Lucy is in some sort of denial because why would she take draught of living death. It makes me nervous and sad for her that she feels so invisible in her large family that she feels the need to react in this way :/

Your OC is quite brilliant. Norah is a very interesting character to come into contact with this facility and obviously she has been here quite frequently. You did a magnificent job describing her and her relationships within the Summerbee.

My heart broke when she climbed into bed with Lucy. I can understand Lucy's confusion, but also her exhilaration with this eccentric girl laying in her bed, being vulnerable. I loved it. And then I loved the mask she puts on in the morning. You did a fantastic job on this. PLUS the ending paragraph is like BAM and you love it. I loved it.

Summerbee being the Cheering charm inventor is quite clever of you. Great job :) I'll be back for more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you loved the characters. :) I actually went back and added some more to the story (still keeping in like with the A-to-Z restriction), so if you want more of Lucy and Norah, have at it!

I also can't wait to read your entry once it's validated. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by LaDorki Summerbee

19th August 2015:
I'm doing the A-to-Z challenge too and saw this, thought I'd see what others were doing. :)

I have mixed emotions about this piece. I normally like pieces that look at mental health and I did like that aspect of it. I think you handled a sensitive subject pretty well.

However, I do wish it was a little longer. There are parts that feel a little disjointed. I could kind of feel that you were working to make the A-to-Z thing fit. Sometimes I like a sparse narrative, but for this particular piece I think padding up your paragraphs would help things flow more smoothly? This of course may just be my personal taste.

I do really like what you did with Lucy Weasley here, particularly as Percy's daughter. I can see how his perfectionism would project onto his children. Lucy's good grades are expected, so when she performs well, Percy might not even think to praise her. In his mind, she is doing what is expected of her and not necessarily something particularly noteworthy. I can see her striving for his approval and notice. So, I really like how you handled characterization in such a short piece.

Nice work and good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the honest review. While I am a fan of shorter/sparse paragraphs, I also felt like there were bits that were awkward since I was striving to fit the A-to-Z restriction. So I've added a whole lot more to the story. Give it another read, if you'd like.

Again, thank you. I appreciate your honesty and I'm glad that you enjoyed the characterization. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart Summerbee

19th August 2015:
Hello there!

I happened to stumble across this in the list of new stories, so I thought I'd give it a read.

I really liked this story. It was simple and short, which made it really easy to follow. Normally, in these types of stories I find myself wishing there was more detail, but I didn't feel like your story was lacking. In fact, I'm super impressed at how much happened in such a short word count.

It's interesting that Lucy says she was just trying to scare her parents to get attention. Draught of Living Death is some serious stuff and it's no wonder everyone took it really seriously. Plus, sometimes when people attempt suicide, but are unsuccessful they try to play it off as something else. I'm actually really glad they have her somewhere that she can get help.

You did a great job of making Norah seem like she had no problems at first. Then slowly you slipped in the mental illness. I thought that was realistic because there are so many mentally I'll people who have moments or time periods of clarity.

I also thought you did a great job with the challenge. You weren't using awkward sentences to make the whole alphabet thing work. It was very smooth.

Good job!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login