Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Death would be Bliss
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gail Welin Death would be Bliss

19th October 2015:
Hey shadowkat, here for our swap.

I liked reading this, it made me think a lot about Dementors.

"Shouldn't I remember my own face, my own name, my own life?" is probably the sentence that had me think the most. Maybe because I have a very definite view on Dementors, the fact that they don't really have a face and I never thought they'd care about that, or that they are non-beings and probably never had a name in the first place. Also, the thought of a Dementor thinking of is own life was really new to me, because I just never thought of a Dementor even having a life, let alone think about it (like vampires do now).

It's kind of as if this one specific Dementor has sucked up so many memories that it's super confused and is starting to identify itself with its victims. This would mean Dementors needs resets or memory wipes from time to time before the 'short-circuit' or something. Which I think is a very interesting idea ^^

It's nice that you showed a Dementor that is not soulless and evil; he has very human feelings. I'm now wondering if Dementors can talk and if they do, what kind of stories they would tell. It's pretty creepy.

A very aware Dementor is a fascinating thing.

Also, I really like that the Dementor is looking for his next "spark", it kind of reminded me of the little match girl, because of the cold coming back. And because of that, I felt even sadder because he can't die.

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #2, by Peeves the Poltergeist Death would be Bliss

10th October 2015:
Hello all! In the spirit of Halloween, I am doing something EXTRA special! If you are reading this, you are now a part of the Poltergeist chain! If you don't review TWO other people using the anonymous review name Peeves the Poltergeist within in TWENTY-FOUR (24) hours, I will drop chairs on your head until All Hallows Eve! You must copy the line and the portion above it and paste it into the beginning of each of your TWO reviews. Please try to review someone who hasn't already been reviewed by Peeves. Repeats are allowed, but discouraged. Happy Halloween!

_ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _

Woah. Now this is a story worthy of a Halloween review! This was incredibly deep and I'm am still kind of reeling from finding out this was actually from the PoV of a dementor. This story was also insanely creative and I've never really thought about what it must be like to be a dementor and I think you captured their NEED for happiness and these little sparks, and just wow. I think my favorite part was the author's note when I realized what the story was about and how creative it was. Up until that point I had thought that perhaps you were writing about someone with memory loss problems or something. I really liked how you included a lot of descriptions of the memories and really made this whole thing quite vivd. Overall, this was a really creative and enjoyable piece. Wow.

-Peeves the Poltergeist

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ted Death would be Bliss

18th August 2015:
Sounds like somebody who received the dementors kiss. I liked it. Kudos.

Author's Response: Actually, it's a Dementor. Thought that would be something unique to do.

 Report Review

Review #4, by DracoFerret11 Death would be Bliss

15th August 2015:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for you for the BvB! So, let's go over things:

Grammar/Spelling: I noticed several distracting errors in this chapter, so I figured I would help you by pointing them out! :)
--"place I am yet do not know": This is confusing. I don't really know what you mean.
--"Am I the blond boy six eating cake": Do you mean "the blond boy, six, eating cake"?
--"Why is there always voices": should be "are," not "is"
--"Why must they never be quite?": should be "quiet"
--"The sparks growing dimmer": should either be "spark's" or "spark is"

There might be others, but those are the ones I saw off the bat. I hope this helps! :)

Plot: So, I'm a little confused here. I read this thinking that it was from Sirius's point of view (since I didn't imagine that dementors could feel regret or sadness), but at the end it implied that it was supposed to be from a dementor's point of view. I think the story is cool either way, but there could be some places where you could clarify who is speaking. Reading the parts where the speaker thought things like "Am I the boy? Am I the woman?" made it seem like the dementor didn't know it was a dementor which was confusing. Either way, though, I think this was a really original story! Good job!

Emotions: I think you did a good job of capturing the discomfort and sadness and confusion that the speaker felt. It was really poignant with the subject matter. Well done.

Overall, this was a really cool story! I think it was really unique, and I liked reading it. Despite the fact that it was short, I think you did a good job capturing the emotions of the situation, and I enjoyed that! Well done!

--Emily || August BvB, Team Bronze

Author's Response: Thanks for the tips, Emily! Sorry that you read it before my editing, hopefully it's clearer now.

 Report Review

Review #5, by moonbaby11 Death would be Bliss

13th August 2015:
Hey, I'm here for the BVB Review Battle!

Wow, this piece had me guessing until the very end. At the beginning I had no clue what was going on, but I was instantly drawn in and wanted to know more! By the end (before the author's note) I thought it was about Sirius after falling through the veil in the Department of Mysteries, but I liked what you did so much more! I had to go back and read it over again, and it all made a lot more sense that way. I thought what you did was really clever!

I'm assuming that the person the Dementor is drawing memories from is still Sirius Black, due to the descriptions you've given about his memories? I liked how you painted the Dementors not as bad guys, but as creatures that are simply confused. They don't know where they are or what they are doing, but they do know that they want to feel the light (people's souls?) and that is why they give people the Kiss.

This was such a wonderfully written piece. I loved the mentions of the screams. You really brought this scene to life. I think you've done a great job here and I'm glad I chose to check out this story!

Author's Response: Yep, those are indeed his memories the dementor is drawing from. Thanks for stopping by, and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm Death would be Bliss

13th August 2015:
Hello there! Told you I'd stop by with a review! :p

How awesome was this?! I've never even thought of what "life" would be like for a Dementor! Your take on it was just amazing, chilling, creepy and also kind of sad. You actually had me sympathize with a Dementor. How? How on earth did you do that?! Wow.

I love the idea of their entire existence being in total darkness and not really knowing what or who they are. The fact that they think they are the person who they're feeding from is just so, so creative. I really, truly loved it! It made them that much more terrifying because it's like they're compelled to feed off of your memories, not that they just want to. They really don't have a choice. *chills*

I'm assuming that was Sirius and it was by the lake during that scene in PoA? Sad Face. One of his happy memories was Regulus? *cries*

Ugh the fact that they're aware that this is an awful existence and would prefer death was what was so sad about this. Again, I can't believe you have me feeling sorry for these awful creatures!

This was so brilliant. One of the most original things I've read on this site. Great, great, great job on this! Thanks so much for sharing! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Meg, and I'm so glad that you liked it! I was kinda worried about this one, so I'm happy you think I did a good job.

Sorry, but now really, that I made you cry. XD


 Report Review

Review #7, by Frankie05 Death would be Bliss

11th August 2015:
Hey there,

I only have one word: wow.

Now I have many more words- My initial reaction was - Is this the life of a Dementor (which I guess I should always go with my first instinct because of your A/N at the bottom I was correct). BUT then I wondered - Is this Sirius? Because of the light/burning sensation and the memories that invade the protagonist's mind, which made me sad. And now I'm thinking, is this how dementor's are born?! After death? Holy cow? or what if it is the veil that make a person a dementor? Has Kat unlocked one of the marvelous of the HP universe?

Anyway back to the story. Imagery here was astounding! I had chills. I thought the use of the questions the way your words flowed showed that this thing ( can I call it a person) is lost and not enjoying it's existence.

I would actually hate this life and the way you described it from this point of view makes me completely understand why they are the symbol of depression. Cold, screams, lifelessness. Well done. This packs a powerful punch for how short it is!

Frankie

Author's Response: Thanks Frankie, it still isn't one of my favorites, but I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by RavenclawFTW Death would be Bliss

11th August 2015:
Hey Kat!

So I've been meaning to R+R your writing for ages and I don't know why I haven't gotten around to it before now! I'm so glad I finally did though, because this story is really interesting and I'm really intrigued by it.

Unlike you, I've never thought about what it's like to be a Dementor, because Dementors freak me out a lot and I just feel really, really negatively about them. It's hard not to think that about the incarnation of depression! But the way you've written this story is really fascinating, and I'm so impressed by the way you've written this and managed to make Dementors sympathetic. That's a truly admirable feat!

I love the way you've woven together the memories that the Dementor has fed upon, the wedding and the birthday, and then Sirius's memories! Or at least I assume it's Sirius-- I know you like him and this definitely fits in with his character! It's really interesting to see how the Dementor seems to take on the different identities of its victims-- it's not just feeding on the memories, it's briefly becoming the people who have the memories.

It seems like the Dementor hates Azkaban almost as much as the inmates probably do, and this illustrates, to me, a lot about why Voldemort was able to sway them to join him so easily. They seem so miserable here, and it makes sense-- the Dementors feed on happiness, and the depression that follows them is just a side effect, and it doesn't seem like they're aware of that/like it. It makes Azkaban seem like an even worse place than I thought it before!

I would've been intrigued to see how the Dementor reacts to Sirius's thoughts about his innocence. I know in canon he says that helped keep him sane, because it's not a happy thought so the Dementors couldn't take it. Do the Dementors even sense that thought? Or is it like invisible to them because it's emotionless? Just a thought!

I did catch a few little errors:

"...I am yet do not know." -- I think you meant "I yet do not know."

"quite" instead of quiet in the line "Why must they never be quite?"

Not big deals, but just thought I'd point them out! :)

Great job and great story! This has raised a lot of interesting questions to me. Thanks for posting it!

--J

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by, though dang, you had to come before the edits! XD



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login