Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for All the World's a Stage
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Kay And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

20th August 2016:
I adored this story! It had me grinning almost from the very first sentence. Thank you for writing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by victoria_anne And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

24th May 2016:
I told you I wasn't quite done yet! :P

Ahh, Shakespeare... I am happy ♥

Oh my goodness I am squee-ing over your Harry and Al. Their dialogue and interactions are just so natural and enjoyable - I love it!

OMG THIS: "Would they be our children if something didnít?Ē About blowing stuff up - that is hilarious and wonderful.

Aw, Lizzie, that detail about Cedric :( ♥

Honestly, I think this is the best story of yours I've read so far. I absolutely adored it. I love how Harry's children performed a play, how everyone was wonderfully in character (even as actors) and how the kids were... well, kids!

Thank you for putting a smile on my face tonight ♥

Love Bianca

Author's Response: Bianca!

Isn't Shakespeare the best! I totally love him and his works!

Hehehe, I'm glad that you liked this! I always worry if I've done a good job writing canon characters... so thank you!

Of COURSE Harry's kids would be prone to blowing stuff up! I mean, c'mon! How often did Harry blow stuff up! Just because he was in real danger from Voldy doesn't mean it's not a valid gene that could be passed on! XD

Hmmm... Cedric. I had to do that. It felt wrong not bringing him up at some point.

Really? The best? That actually makes me really happy! This is easily one of my favorite stories to have written. :)

Thank you so much for this wonderful review as well as all the other reviews you've left me recently! They've all left me grinning like crazy, so I think we're both smiling now! :D

Keep being awesome and keep writing!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #3, by IchigoPan And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

20th May 2016:
Hot Seat Review!! xD

This was a wonderfully done one-shot. From the makeshift stage Harry's kids made to the typical parent reactions (I guess the "reparo" spell doesn't work for cracked eggs), the visual descriptions played vividly in my head. You can definitely feel the love in the Potter family, something Harry had always wanted in his life. And Lily, dear, sweet Lily, already working her charms on her brothers.

And the last line was the best, having him accept his former reincarnations to who he is now: a parent.

I'd give you 20/10 for the "Doctor Who" reference, but they'd only give me 10/10.

Author's Response: Eeek! Thank you! Hot Seat reviews are the best!!

Hahaha! Why thank you! I'm glad you liked this!

Yeah, I don't think reparo would work on eggs. There are some things that even magic can't fix. :P

YES. I'm glad you got the reference. I totally cracked myself up with that one. :)

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! It totally made my day!

Keep writing and being fantastic!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragon And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

15th May 2016:
Howdy Lizzie! I'm taking a break from the (many) novels in my reviewing quest and thus, I have been led here to your fine tale.

I thought this story was an delightful and amusing addition to the body of dad!Harry Next-Gen stories. While the play itself had humorous moments, I have to say my favorite part was the parental reactions by Harry and Ginny. Being a dad myself it's always funny to see what wild ideas and crazy schemes your kid will come up with for a good (or not) reason and yet, like Harry/Ginny, on those good occasions we of course indulge. I thought the back and forth between Harry and Ginny and stern!Ginny and laid-back!Harry were a good parenting type fit for the both of them as well.

Thanks for sharing this story with us - and phone aside, I didn't notice ANY typos in this bad boy - impressive!

Author's Response: Kevin!!

Thank you for taking the time to review this story!! I always love getting a review from you!

Hehehe, I think Harry and Ginny's reactions are what really made the story too! I really enjoyed coming up with the kid's shenanigans, but I know the feeling of watching something like that and being torn between ruining the moment or dealing with the mess afterwards. :P This was certainly a result of that!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Kevin! You're amazing!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

25th January 2016:
Hey Lizzie,

I'm here for the Gryffie Review Battle! Go Team Red! I know you have more recent stories, but I thought I'd take a moment to go back through your stories and catch up with some of the stuff I've somehow missed and work my way forward.

I have to admit upfront that I'm from a small family and never grew up around little kids, so I have a really hard time getting really invested in stories about little kids, but this was an amazing exception to that rule. I think that's because this was a lot more humor and things that even I (someone who has very little experience with children) can appreciate.

I love how the kids version of the Triwizard Tournament is so completely different than what actually happened. I mean it makes sense that they wouldn't know about Cedric at such a young age, but I laughed at how everything that they showed was affected by the person they'd heard the story from...like Ron and rescuing Gabrielle or Hermione telling them that Ron snored the merpeople to death. Those little details were what really made the story.

I had another good laugh over the kids crushing all of the eggs and the cat trailing sticky egg goo all over the place. As soon as you pointed out that they were using real eggs, I knew it was going to be a complete disaster.

All in all, I thought this was a really cute and accurate portrayal of what life in a big family is like. Sort of crazy. A bit unpredictable. Sometimes messy and sticky, but always filled with love.

My only bit of CC would be that the ending feels a bit incomplete to me and I know you pointed that out in your author's note, but I do hope that at some point you come back and add to it a bit.

Thanks for a feel good read!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Kaitlin!

Gah, you're so wonderful! I can't believe how many of my stories you've read and reviewed! You've probably gotten to nearly all of them by now!

I'm glad that you liked the kids here. I know it can be hard to enjoy little kids in stories, so it really means a lot to me that you appreciated it here! :D

I thought really long and hard about how I was going to write the Triwizard Tournament as a kids play, because I didn't want to have Cedric's death in there because I didn't think Harry would want his kids knowing about that sort of thing at such a young age. I always figured that he'd tell them the ENTIRE story when they were older (plus, there were only three kids, not four and including Cedric messed with that. ;) )

But all those other details? Oh those were straight from the book - I reread all of the tasks before I wrote this, and those details were almost too easy to include here!

Hehehe, it certainly was a disaster waiting to happen, huh? That's what I love the most about big families. Giant disasters full of love.

Yeah, hopefully I'll get back to this and fix up the ending at some point... we'll see how it goes. :D

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing (and enjoying) this story, Kaitlin! You're so amazing!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Freddie And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

7th January 2016:
clever do write more

Author's Response: Why thank you! And I'll certainly keep writing if you keep reviewing!

So glad you liked this story, and thanks for R&Ring!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Crescent Moon  And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

3rd January 2016:
I loved this. The kids were so funny. Brilliant.

Author's Response: I totally agree - kids are hilarious sometimes. :)

Thanks for R&Ring!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #8, by awesomepotter And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

18th August 2015:
Hey Lizzie! Your second review for the Coined by Shakespeare challenge is here!
I thought this was such a sweet story. I love the way that Harry interacts with his kids; as we don't get to see a lot of that in the epilogue I always like to see in in people's fics. Each child has their own personality which I think you created so well - I know it can be hard to clearly define characters in a one-shot sometimes. The kids' play was so lovely to imagine in my head, too - James in Lily's wig and Albus attempting to ride the tiny broomstick are some great mental images, I tell you. It was funny to see all the influences all of Harry and Ginny's friends had had on the childrens' knowledge of the Triwizard Tournament (it took me a few minutes to work out who Vicky was, but once I did and I knew they got it from Ron it was so funny) and all the little accidents they had with the eggs and the cat made it so sweet yet so funny to read.
I like what you did with this prompt as well - it was interesting to see you take it rather literally with the idea of including a little play into the story. I also thought it was so lovely how you ended it with Harry thinking of all the things he had been in his life, none of which he really chose for himself, but then the one that he did and how much he loved it. I thought that was a really lovely way to end it and bring it back to your original prompt.
Aww, Lizzie, I loved this. It gave me lots of cuddly feels and I thought you did such a lovely job with all the characters. Well done!
-Grace

Author's Response: Grace!

I'm so glad you liked this story! It was certainly one of my favorite stories to write, since I really got to get in touch with my inner 10 year old. Every time I reread this the mental images never fail to make me giggle, so I'm glad you liked them too!

Harry's kids are really fun to write and I really loved imagining how their extended family would influence their views of the stories we already know so well. It just made absolute sense that they would call Krum "Vicky" because of Ron.

And don't worry, the Vicky part was completely intentional. It makes the whole thing ten times funnier to me. :D

I'm SO glad you liked the way I used the quote! I wasn't sure about using it so literally, but it worked out in the end. The more that I thought about the roles Harry's had, the more sense it made for him to truly feel that parenthood was a role he'd chosen for himself.

Anyway, thanks for R&R'ing and for your fantastic challenge! I really enjoyed writing for it!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #9, by Owlpost68 And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

13th August 2015:
This was just as amazing as I thought it was going to be. I especially liked when Harry and Ginny thought of the video camera and said how they needed more blackmail. That is soo something my mom would do, since she has quite a bit on me lol. I really think you captured the chaos of what it's like to have 3 kids and the sentimental moments that come along with being a parent. Even though I'm not one myself, I see a lot of them at work in all walks of life. This somehow captured it all. Great job! :D

Author's Response: Heather!

YAY! I'm so glad you liked it!

Heehee. The video camera bit is something I was a bit unsure about throwing in because of the whole "magic messes with muggle electronics" thing, but I took the risk. Which seems to have paid off!

My parents have LOADS of blackmail on me. It seems that they always had a reason to bring the camera out and record me doing something stupid. And it seemed just like Harry and Ginny (a bit more Ginny though) to want blackmail on their kids.

I know the chaos of kids all too well (I work with kids), and I know how amazing it is when a sentimental moment like that comes up and how hard it is to make sure you enjoy it before it goes away. Which is exactly what I was going for here!

And it's good to know that I managed to capture it!!

Thanks so much for R&R'ing, Heather! It means a lot!!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #10, by CambAngst And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

13th August 2015:
Hi, Lizzie! I'm on my quest to complete the GryCReMo reviewing event and I decided to start with stories from all of the other participants. Please indulge me while I take care of my scorekeeping:

GryCReMo (Review #11)

Now, on to your story. I think a lot of people on HPFF know that I have twin boys, who happen to be 7 years old at this point. I don't know whether you have children, but you did an amazing job of capturing the sort of behavior, logic (or lack thereof), story-telling and enthusiasm that you'd expect from kids this age. You just nailed it. The kids seemed perfectly age-appropriate and I loved the way they played their parts and interacted with one another.

Poor Ginny. I could see a lot of Molly in the way you wrote her as a mother. She's keeping her frustration under control pretty well, trying hard to relax and enjoy this precious moment. But, dude! They're completely trashing the house! I thought you struck a pretty good balance with her character, making her tolerant but not too tolerant.

Harry was really good with the kids. He indulged them so much and played along so gamely. It's exactly the type of father I'd picture him being after his miserable and joyless childhood with the Dursleys. I could never see Harry being angry with his kids or denying them anything.

"Can't tell you," Lily said wryly. "Spoilers." -- Slow clap. Brilliant.

"Do you think anything is going to explode?" Ginny asked, eyeing the sheet covered objects nervously. -- Umm, funny you should mention that, Ginny.

Lily is adorable. She played her older brothers like violins.

It took me probably a little too long to make the connection between "Vicky" and Viktor Krum, but then it became clear that the kids got most of the story from Ron and it all fell into place. Nicely done.

Poor kitty! That image was hilarious, though.

With a loud bang, the cushion exploded, the white stuffing flying everywhere, covering the whole room like a layer of thick snow, as the room filled with the smell of burning fabric and hair. -- Definitely my favorite moment in the chapter.

You did a really great job with this. I enjoyed it thoroughly and like I said, the kids felt very well written.

Author's Response: Dan!

Okay, I'll admit, I've taken FOREVER to reply to this review because it's probably one of my favorite reviews I've ever received and I really enjoy rereading it, since it never fails to make me giggle. :D

Anyway - no, I didn't know that you had twin boys, but the fact that you liked how I've written the kids here means A TON. I work as a nanny, but the kids I take care of are much younger, so one of my greatest fears was that I'd make these kids seem younger than they are, so THANK YOU!

Hehehe, I had a lot of fun writing Ginny - the way she reacts to everything is pretty much *exactly* how I react to the kiddos I watch whenever something similar happens. If I've learned anything, sometimes the mess is worth the memories it creates.

It actually was a bit hard for me to decide how I wanted to write Harry, so I'm glad you liked him here! I felt like he'd be the more "laid back" parent for the exact reason you mentioned. He'd never want them to have to experience what he did.

Those quotes are some of my favorites - especially Lily's. I mean, of course she'd get away with murder when it comes to her brothers.

The bit about Vicky was intentional, so don't worry. I wanted it to take a minute... I think it makes the reveal a bit funnier... ;)

Why thank you! I'm rather proud of the kitty part. And the cushion exploding bit. It seemed like something that would happen with the Potter kids around.

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! It's made my day several times over! :D
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #11, by Mia And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

3rd August 2015:
Omg so cute and funny, loved how the kids version of the story was so altered by Ron and Hermione and all the other Weasleys- and happy birthday to you too :)

Author's Response: Mia!

Haha! Thanks so much for stopping by and reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed this story! It's definitely one of my favorites.

And thank you for the birthday wishes!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

29th July 2015:
Hello Lizzie,

You know, I figured if I was already procrastinating betaing HIMYF (because I don't have my computer here, and it's just too hard on my phone) I should at least spend the time leaving you a review.

Now, could it be that you have stolen my muse? I can't find her anywhere, and you seem to have two (at least) lately, judging by the amount of stories you've been writing. If you do have her, could you send her back? I really miss her.

This is really really sweet. I love the chaos that ensues and I appreciate the sarcastic conversations between Harry and Ginny. I can remember when my sister and I would put on plays for our parents... It was never quite that much drama, but we usually ended up making the living room look like a tornado had just passed through.

I love that you show so clearly how much Harry loves his kids. I've always imagined him to be a great father.

Hermione's present for him seems oddly fitting, and you included the quote nicely.

I think it's really impressive that you wrote this on your phone.

Thanks for the great read,

~Anja xxx

Author's Response: Anja!!

D'aww! Don't worry about it! I'm procrastinating writing for it, so we're in the same boat. :P

I don't think I've stolen anyone's muse! *looks around* *whispers* But I think my muse did! ;)

I shall try to send her back to you - although it seems that both have abandoned me at the moment, so we'll see how it goes.

Chaos. That's the word I always think of when I think of the Weasley next-gen kids, and naturally, Harry's kids would fall into that category. I've seen how little kids can completely destroy a room in less than two minutes whilst playing, and it's shocking how fast they are! That was what I was channelling when I was writing this, so it's good to know I managed to write it well!

I figured Harry would be a great dad too. Being a parent and taking on the role of being a Dad would be something that I always figured he'd love to do and take seriously - and it would be the first "label" assigned to him that HE chose to take on, which is surprisingly more important than we might realize.

Oh, of course Hermione gave him a book on Shakespeare! I figured that she would never stop trying to give Ron and Harry gifts that would be a "good influence" on them. And I'd bet that Harry would at least try to appreciate it as he got older.

You know, you've reviewed almost everything I've written! HOW do you do that?!? It makes me ridiculously happy though.

Thanks for R&R'ing, Anja!

Lizzie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login