Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Clock
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginny The Clock

17th April 2017:
Jailbreak

Renee!! Why?! omg this was crushing. So beautifully written and so painful. I'm honestly in awe that you managed to pack such a huge emotional punch into so few words.

So I pretty much figured out right from the start, based on the title, that the "you" George was addressing was the clock, which also made it pretty clear that he was sort of... I guess, projecting his feelings about Fred's death and his grief onto the Weasley family clock. I'm glad I knew that from the start though, because that understanding of the situation drove home what George was going through. (Although I imagine it would still work very well if one didn't know who "you" was until the end, because then it'd be a huge sucker punch :P)

Some of the small details in here really heightened the pain of the situation. Like the bit about how George's worst dreams are about laughter, which is meant to be a happy and joyful think. Also, I really loved the part about his siblings. The description of Ginny's hands as "frank and gentle" was great, not sure how to word this but that's almost her in a nutshell. And I like the thought of Ron being lost for words actually being comforting. I know how horrible and helpless it feels to be lost for words when someone you love is in pain, so that almost made me feel a little better hahaha.

This was amazing. Fantastic work!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #2, by melian The Clock

17th April 2017:
Aw, Renee! The feels! Obviously any George story that's immediately post-war will be like this, but you really hit it, didn't you? And me in a public place reading it too. I hope you're ashamed of yourself.

To be frank, getting into George's head just at this point isn't easy. I know because I've tried it. The grief, the sense of loss, not only of part of himself (because let's face it, those boys were extensions of each other) but also loss of future, of what he had expected his life to turn out like. It's hard. It's heartbreaking. And you nailed it.

This got pretty dark when he was thinking about suicide, saying the only reason he didn't really entertain that possibility was due to respect for his mother. That's tough. And it's also honest. We've all had feelings like that, even me, and I"ve had a pretty blessed existence. But I've been known to think, this is how people feel when they take that step, and it was only due to love for my family that I didn't take that thought any further. And George is exactly the same. It's dark, but like I said, it's real. And that's what makes it so powerful.

All in all I thought this was a really moving and thought provoking one-shot. Extra kudos to you for managing to fit so much into so few words. I think its brevity made it all the more moving, to be honest. Good work!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #3, by Secret Valenpuff The Clock

28th February 2017:
Though the title is a bit of a clue, this is a really beautiful read.

Just excuse me for a moment as I pick the shattered remains of my heart up off the floor. Reading that last word gives me goosebumps.

This is a heartbreaking answer to the question of what happened to Fred's hand on the clock, and you've written it so well. All the tiny details that allude to a clock, and it just fits together perfectly. Dare I say... the cogs fit together?!

(Clocks have cogs, right?)

Anyway, such a gorgeous piece, you should be very proud.

The last letter in the last sentence is: D

It's been an absolute pleasure being your secret Valentine this year, you're the best Hufflepuff classmate anyone could ever ask for. And now it's March! I hope the new month is as wonderful and bright as you!

Love Valenpuff ♥

Author's Response: Speaking of heavy language... hahaha yeahhh.

I'm always nervous this story won't make sense, so i'm glad all the cogs fit together. (Hehe, cogs. You funny!)

Thank you thank you THANK YOU for being even more the best fellow Puff and Prefect and just a wonderful person!

♥ ♥ ♥ Renee


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy The Clock

14th December 2015:
Renee... OMG. Have I told you how brilliant you are? I just can't right now!

First off, I HAD to read this because I ADORE Shakespeare, so I knew this had to be good, and you did NOT disappoint!

You captured George's grief here SO perfectly - and the description was just perfect, as usual. And the ambiguity- I seriously thought he was talking about Molly at first, and then the 'wooden' was just the hint I needed to start looking for a deeper meaning.

It wasn't until the very end that I understood what was happening. I remembered the title and thought it was just some clock in George's flat, but then "Lost"... and all the feels just fell on me right then, and it was SO powerful and brilliantly done!

I think it makes perfect sense for George to single out the clock, as though it's the clock's fault. That's definitely a part of the grieving process, and you wrote it perfectly. I mean really, this is SO good. Heartbreaking, but excellent.

Author's Response: Aw, Jayde, stop it - you're making me blush! Have I told you how brilliant YOU are?!?

It is SO interesting to read how different people interpret this story! I sometimes worry it's too confusing, but it's worth it to read all the varied reactions and responses people have.

I am so bad at responding to reviews because what can I even say to thank you besides just THANK YOU! (Thank goodness for all caps!)

But, really, this review is so kind. Thank you.
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #5, by The Basilisk The Clock

14th December 2015:
Sssoo nice. Losss while painful can be beautifully portrayed. Thisss is a cassse where you have taken sssuch pain and sssorrow and made is beautiful. Not to sssay that one lovesss death and losss. It is merely a matter that you crafted lovely wordsss in ssso many waysss that it makesss one paussse. Your lassst paragraph is mossst noteworthy. It is very poetic. It hearkened very much to a sssoliloquy written my Shakespear. The words played nicely drudging up thoughtsss of the massster of words himself.

Very nice job and very nicely written.

Author's Response: Hello, Basilisk! How lovely of you to stop by one last time! I must say, now that the cat...er, snake... is out of the bag, I am very curious which amazing person is behind this review. But I guess I'll never know. ;)

I'm glad you thought this was well done, despite the painful subject matter. Thank you so much for your review!

Also, thank you for being around this year, Basilisk. HPFF loves you!!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan The Clock

11th December 2015:
Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! HOT SEAT DAY!

Wow, once again I'm really impressed by the depth of your writing! I can't believe I'd never reviewed anything on your page before today.

You know, the whole way through this, I was so sure George was talking to Death. You know, like the Grim Reaper personification of Death. Death doesn't care about things like feelings, it just comes to call and takes people when it's their time. George has trouble looking into the face of Death, as in he has trouble seeing his own face in the mirror because he only sees his dead twin. And at the end, Death's slender hand comes to claim Fred. SO THEN, I scrolled down to the review box and remembered the title of the story is The Clock. The whole time you were talking about a clock, and not death - AND HERE'S THE THING - IT WORKS PERFECTLY FOR BOTH. Just like in Goodbye, Love, Goodbye - you've managed to weave two different meanings into one story and it's really amazing. I know that the Death interpretation maybe isn't what you intended, but that's the way I read it and I just think it's the coolest thing how you left it ambiguous enough that there are multiple interpretations.

So back to the clock - I really like that this is what George fixates on and blames, as he needs to blame something for what happened. Time is just such a cold, unfeeling thing, and it moves on whether or not you want it to. George views the clock as this 'soulless fiend' because it documents time, with all its painful past and counting into the future which looks uninviting now. What a beautifully written analogy and I just love this. It's beautiful, in a really sad and heart-crushing way.

This quote just killed me: Sometimes at night, I wake to echoes. The past holds an insufferable quantity of pain. And fear. And, worst of all, of laughter. No ghost could haunt me more thoroughly. -- BRB TEARS. but really this part is so heartrending. George is unable to move on because he's dwelling on how awful it felt to lose Fred, and how it's even worse to think of how wonderful it used to be and all the happy times he had with Fred because he can never have that again. And the fact that he looks just like Fred, so in a way he is his own ghost and will not go away. Losing a twin is just such a horrible thing to think about and I am still furious with JKR for separating the twins. :'(

Once again, marvelous work Renee! You're such a talented author!

Author's Response: TWEAK!

Hello again you unbelievably lovely person, you! If you can;t believe you'd never reviewed anything on my page prior to the hot seat, I can't believe you've now reviewed NEARLY EVERYTHING on my page! I mean, wow! THANK YOU SO MUCH for all these reviews!!!

When I wrote this story, I was really worried it would be confusing, but I also felt like point blank explaining that he was talking to the clock would take away from it somehow. It turns out I was right to worry, because I think it IS confusing for a lot of readers. But, I'm glad it is, because then I get to read these incredible reactions like yours!

I hadn't thought about him talking to death before, but I think the death interpretation also works really well, like you said. I also hadn't thought of the similarity to Goodbye, Love Goodybye. (Well, I think of them as my most "embarrassingly angsty and emo" fics, but I hadn't connected the ambiguity before. haha.)

You are just way too nice to me with these reviews, and can't even tell you how much it made me smile when I read all of them! Thank you!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jayna The Clock

12th October 2015:
Happy Birthday Renee! I just saw the review you left me, so I figured I'd drop by and leave you one as well. I guess we are birthday twins!

I really liked this (in fact I just favorited it). I loved how you focused on something relatively small, a clock, and dove deep into it and showed how significant it is to George. This nearly made me cry and the ending was just so beautiful. I also enjoyed all the imagery and descriptions you used because it made it really easy to picture, especially the way you characterized the nails as "blood red". I think the saddest part was when you hinted that George was considering suicide (or at least I think you were???). Overall, even though this was incredibly sad and tragic, you did a really great job of describing exactly what it feels like to be George in this moment and you did a fantastic job of appealing the reader's empathy.

Hope you have a wonderful day!

-Jayna

Author's Response: Favorite! Yay! That is so lovely! Thank you!

You definitely picked up the hint correctly, and I do think that part is really, really sad. I nearly cried myself while writing this!

Thank you for everything you said! This review made my birthday even better! :hug:

I hope you had a great time celebrating your own birthday, too!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #8, by ScorpiusRose17 The Clock

17th September 2015:
Hi Renee!

I am finally here with your challenge award reviews! :)

I really liked this. It is quite dark and depressing, but I think it is great to be able to see how this was able to effect George since that was a huge part of their life being together him and Fred.

I really like how you took the phrase and really twisted it to make it feel real and relatable for anyone who reads it. It isn't always easy to take a phrase, quote or a couple of words and make them fit with your own original ideas and I thought you did a superb job!!

Keep up the great work! :)

-Jenn

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I agree it can be hard to write in response to a phrase like that. I had actually dropped out of the challenge, or at least I was considering it, because I couldn't come up with anything to write about except Voldemort, and I really didn't want to write that. And then I sat up in bed at 1:30 in the morning and wrote this story in the space of two hours. Weird how muses work, isn't it??

Thanks again for the review!
:hug: Renee


 Report Review

Review #9, by AngelEyez3954 The Clock

23rd August 2015:
Renee!

Thank you for bringing tears to my eyes - ugh, the feels! This is so beautifully written...poor George. The loss of a family member is hard enough, but the loss of a twin seems just catastrophic to me.

"And yet, if you are merely an empty shell, how do you invade my thoughts and infect my dreams? How do you tarnish what was once sacred ground?" - I love this line. Such a great description.

Congrats on your win - it is so deserved!

~LJ

Author's Response: Hi LJ!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review my story! I am totally flabbergasted by (but happy about, of course) the recognition.

"The loss of a twin seems just catastrophic" --> Yes! I agree! And I really tried to capture the greatest depth of that pain as much as I could - I'd like to believe things get better from here.

Thanks again for the review! You're the sweetest!
~Renee


 Report Review

Review #10, by awesomepotter The Clock

18th August 2015:
Hello! Your review for the Coined by Shakespeare Challenge arrives at last!
WHY DO YOU PEOPLE DO THESE THINGS TO ME? I have read this fic four times. Every time has made me cry. Every. Single. Time. Your use of language is just phenomenal - using no dialogue and very few words at all, you have managed to create such vivid images and evoke so many emotions within both your character and your readers that I honestly don't know what to really say in this review.
The sentences convey such a graphic desciption of George's feeling of loss, of emptiness, of just being so lost without Fred that he can't work out what to do any more. I love how, although, you drop hints along the way, you only properly reveal what the subject of the story is at the very end. Until then, it becomes this real-life monster, who is responsible for ripping apart this family soullessly and without shame. Your description of the clock is so well done here.
What you've done with the prompt is amazing, too - I kinda guessed that it would be a story where a character would be about something, but I never would have imagined anything like this. What you've chosen to do is really original, but it fits so well with the prompt. This definitely wasn't what I was expecting, but I love it.
Well done. So much. I absolutely love this story - the ending, the fact that the clock declares Fred as 'Lost' - it gets me every time. I really liked reading this - well done again ;)
-Grace

Author's Response: Grace! Hi!

Thanks for your review! You are much too kind! Also, thank you for starting this challenge and giving me this prompt (I know it was a random number, but whatever) because I never would have written this otherwise! I never expected it to go in this direction, either. It was literally a 2AM stroke of inspiration. So I'm glad you thought it fit well!

I am simultaneously sorry and very pleased that I made you cry. (How's that for an apology? ;))

Thanks again for your review!
Renee


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella Hunter The Clock

3rd August 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swap. I'm sorry that I didn't get to this right away but things got in the way but I'm here now!

So, I was pleasantly surprised to see that this was about George. I'm a HUGE fan of George and devour whatever I can that features him as a main character. I honestly love seeing how differently people write him and having him sucked into despair like this is powerful but beautiful.

I can sense his pain with each word and although you didn't go into a lot of detail on where he was in his life at that moment, you get the feeling that there's more and nothing. I got the sense that he may have been at a crossroads with himself and breaking down his grief the way you did--featuring his siblings and their various support while also showing how torn up he was, is brilliant. The ending tore at me a little but I am glad that I decided to give this story a chance!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie,

Thanks so much for your review! I am so, so happy that you read it as a "crossroads," because when I wrote this, I was imaging George at the greatest depth of his despair. I think from here things will get better for him. So you were exactly right.

No worries at all about needing a little extra time - I just posted your review a moment ago :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by pointless_proclamations The Clock

27th July 2015:
Hiya Renee!

[this review is permeated with intermittent weeping]

'Not with you staring' That line just told me this would be about Fred and then my feelings started breaking, Renee. You've explored George's thoughts and emotions with such depth and I absolutely loved it. George is going through so much all at once and I think you showed that well. There is this naturally disjointed flow that works well in this sort of internal monologue.

I am so impressed with your balloon metaphor. That was such a novel way to describe that feeling. Holy wow.

Your style of narration here was amazing! It was poetic; affecting and unnerving. It was haunting and I am in awe of it!! ♥

Cheers,
Em

Author's Response: Hi, Em.

Sorry about the weeping... I was doing that when I wrote it, too!

Thank you, specifically, for the comment about the balloon metaphor. I find it really helpful to get feedback on specific things like that. And I'm glad you liked it!

Just, in general, thank you SO much for your amazingly sweet review! You are entirely lovely!!

~Renee


 Report Review

Review #13, by The Ghost Of His Last Laugh The Clock

27th July 2015:
Oh my goodness. This is so beautiful. I just wrote a story about Fred's hand on the clock, but this tops it spectacularly. Wow. Honestly, I have no words. Well done.

Author's Response: Oh, wow! Thank you so much!!! (Now I have no words, either!)

I'm sure your story is fantastic, by the way. Can't wait to read it! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by TreacleTart The Clock

22nd July 2015:
Hi there!

Thought I'd stop by and take a look at your writing since you so kindly took a look at some of mine the other day.

The death of Fred, for me, is the single most haunting death in the entire HP series. (and it's littered with haunting deaths: Sirius, Remus, Tonks, Dobby, Dumbledore) I think I find it the saddest because he was so young and so full of life and it's hard to imagine George without him. I think you've captured that feeling quite well. Your words really convey the bitterness and desolation that George would surely feel.

I thought the technical aspect of your writing was very good as well. I didn't notice any typos or errors and all of your sentences seemed to flow. The plot moves along nicely and I think you've characterized George quite well.

If I'm being honest, I was a bit confused about who George was talking to. I re-read it three times before I figured it out, but once I did it made a whole lot more sense. The clock. Perhaps if I wasn't so tired when I read this, I might've picked up on it quicker, so I wouldn't worry about that too much.

Anyway, this was a lovely story and you've managed to convey so much in such a short space. Great job!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi Kaitlin!

Thank you so much for stopping by - that is really sweet of you!

I had the hardest time thinking of something to write for the prompt I got for this challenge - "devil incarnate." All I could think of was Voldemort, and I didn't have a clue how to write him. Then in the middle of the night, I thought of the clock, which might be a devil incarnate of sorts for George. So, in other words, I wrote this at 3AM and I am not sure it makes any sense at all! But I also really like it, haha.

Thank you for the lovely things you said about this story! I'm glad you liked it! (Although I'm sorry you had to read it three times!)

~Renee


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login