Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Do Not Argue With An Idiot
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by victoria_anne Chapter One

10th March 2016:
Hey there!

Thank you for putting a smile on my face! There is so much brilliance in this one little story!

Sorry Lily, but I'll agree with Sirius there - you are a freak for turning him and James down!
Oops, Sirius mentioned the Invisibility Cloak - busted! Ha ha "sacred Marauder secrets", Merlin knows what they could be!

The little mention of Tonks was so sweet, though it took me a little while. At first I was like 'eh?' but I worked it out eventually :D

Oh Merlin, Regulus and Petunia having children?! What a disturbing thought!

You had me in stitches toward the end - my imagination was running wild! Sirius promising his first-born to a mermaid, Remus sitting on a whoopee cushion, McGonagall using aforementioned whoopee cushion in the staff room...!

*runs to catch imagination, which is skipping pleasantly through the hallways of Hogwarts to the tune of Bohemian Rhapsody*

Lovely work, m'dear, I hope you have a good night/day/evening/morning - wherever you are!

- Bianca x

Author's Response: Aw this review has cheered me up after a stressful afternoon.

I had so much fun writing this, I totally think Sirius would've tried flirting with the mermaids and ending up insulting them!!! hahahahahahahaha

Bohemian Rhapsody is totally a Hogwarts song lol

Thanks so much again!!


Sophie xxx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Slytherin Eagle Chapter One

6th August 2015:
Hello! I have finally made it here to review your AMAZING entry!

Sorry it has taken me so long to get around to doing this, but I'm here now. I did read it when it first came in, and reading it again reminded me just how much I enjoyed it the first time.

I enjoyed the characterisation in this story because you really captured your interpretation of the characters and wrote it fluidly into the story line. The quote was used well, and matched the scenes that were being described in the dialogue. The dialogue that you used was really well thought out and flowed nicely; the conversational tone wasn't forced.

I liked the reference to Tonks in the story, I thought it was quite a cute little reference that was just slipped in for extra detail, so well done!

Thankyou for writing such a wonderful entry for the challenge. You have met all the criteria and your story was simply delightful to read!

Lea xx

Author's Response: :Happy Dance: That's just got my day off to an awesome start!! Thank you!! I'm so happy you enjoyed it; I had so much fun writing it. I find both characters pretty easy to write (bit of a cop out, I've written them both a fair bit!) and I love writing dialogue.

It was such a great quote as well and seemed to lend itself to the situation perfectly, and seemed a very 'Sirius-y' statement imo.

Thank you for setting such a fab challenge, this really helped me get my writing mojo going again!

And thank you again for the fab review xxx

Soph x


 Report Review

Review #3, by Felpata Lupin Chapter One

12th July 2015:
Hey, Sophie! Here for TAR round 5!
Ahahah! How funny! Loved it!!!
I'm a great fan of the Marauders, and of humourous stories, so I really enjoyed reading this! :)
It was so much fun to see Sirius and Lily joking together. They appear to be opposing characters, but you showed here that they are actually very similar. Lily has his rebellious and mischievous side (the Firewhiskey scene was hilarious, and the part about pink hair too) and Sirius in turn has his vulnerabilities and his difficult familiar background and his SERIOUS side (sorry for the pun... :P)
I loved the parallel you made between their families, between Regulus and Petunia. The idea of the two getting married is just so absurd that I wonder if they could actually work as a couple... I agree, the poor (ipotetical) children... Eheheh!
The final scene, with James appearing all of a sudden and asking what's going on and them busting out laughing again is just so classic and believable. I adored it.
I adored all the story! The dialogues were absolutely amusing, and the characters so much in character! Brilliant job, honey!!!
An enormous hug,
Chiara - for 2015 House Cup - Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!!

You can't beat a bit of Marauder Humour IMHO (especially the Serious/Sirius pun- a classic!)

It does seem to me these two would bond over this and have a mutual understanding. And I never thought Lily was just a goody goody- she'd have to have a sense of humour to cope with being married to James!!!
It would be the most wonderfully weird pairing wouldn't it? hehe- the poor confused resulting children.
And as if the two of them wouldn't join forces against James... lol. In fact, I may have to write that...

I'm so so happy you liked it!!! Thank you so much

Huge Hugs lovely

Soph x


 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm Chapter One

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 – Ravenclaw

Hey there! ♥

I really liked this one-shot, as I, and I think other people do this too, often forget that Lily and Sirius actually have a lot more common than you realise so it was good that you explored it here and reminded people that it wasn’t the case. In a way, it was nice that they could bond over their awkward family lives as it probably made it a bit more bearable for them to see they weren’t on their own with the awkward family and they could make a friend out of it.

I loved how you included the elements of humour into this story as they blended so well with the more serious aspects of it neither took away from the other if that makes sense. Some of my favourite parts were seeing Lily’s more rebellious side as she does need to lighten up now and then, and them imagining Petunia and Regulus getting together. Again, those two have quite a few similarities too, so I almost want this ship to happen just so I can see the craziness of it all.

Omg, McGonagall and Dumbledore have to have a prank war and you have to write about it, as that sounds too good to be true, especially if the pranks feature Queen. :P

A fab story! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: What a lovely review, Thank You xx

I do think people forget that Sirius and Lily have this in common, and it seemed like a fun idea to try and explore it. I think they would understand each other and even support each other.

One of the things I love about the Marauders is the idea that there is the potential to mix drama and humour; and I also don't think Lily was the straight laced good girl she is often portrayed to be. after all she did marry James Potter so she'd have to have a sense of humour!!

It is almost worth shipping Regulus/Petunia wouldn't it, just to see.


I totally believe they would have a prank war- (McGonagall would totally transform into a cat just to annoy her colleagues) hahaha I may have to try and write that.


Thank you so much again


Soph xxx


 Report Review

Review #5, by Schteve Chapter One

11th July 2015:
Very good, I enjoyed it. And McGonagall is definitely a prank-monger at heart. In a lot of these type one-shots, the quotes seem very much forced into the story but it worked well here. Really enjoyed it

Author's Response: I totally think McGonagall and Dumbledore would have a prank war going. Thank you, I'm really pleased you enjoyed it xxx

 Report Review

Review #6, by krazyboutharryginny Chapter One

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Aw, I think this is such a cute concept. Honestly, reading the summary I thought that this would be Sirius and Lily bonding over something stupid that James did, but I really like this too.

I'd never considered before that both Sirius and Lily have siblings that they once were close with that they don't get on with anymore. That's so sad and it definitely makes a lot of sense that that would be something they could connect over. They both understand what it's like and can relate.

So many people write Lily as this stick in the mud who refuses to break any rules, so it was refreshing that she told Sirius she wouldn't tattle about the Invisibility Cloak and that she drank some Firewhiskey.

The idea of Regulus and Petunia getting together is too funny. Strangely, aside from their opposing views (Muggle-hating vs Wizard-hating), I expect they'd be quite a good couple - Petunia is very neat and tidy and proper and Regulus is quite proper too, I imagine, because he had a very formal upbringing.

This story was funny and really nice to read, good work!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Go Go Gryffindor!!

Thanks so much for the fab review!! That's made my day.

Haha I'm pretty certain they would also bond over something stupid James does, that's entirely possible I would say.

I saw something on pinterest that made me think this might be the case, I think Petunia and Regulus are two sides of the same coin in a way; both completely prejudice against something they don't understand.

I never bought Lily being a complete stick in the mud. She'd have to have a sense of humour to go out with James! And put up with the other three! She's really fun to write with a bit of a rebellious streak.

Thank you so much again, I'm really happy you enjoyed

Soph xxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by Mrs. Claus Chapter One

8th July 2015:
For this newer Christmas in July tradition, my husband has charged me with bringing cheer and reviews to you lovely people this month! Now, my friend on the forums saw that you had a new story, and contacted me. Knowing of my duties, they promptly assured me you a brilliant writer, so I decided to see for myself. Obviously they knew what they were talking about!

I remember these two. So different as children, but at the same time with distinct similarities. Though it always frustrated me to no end how they seldom acknowledged it. Despite how dark their lives would be, I always enjoy thinking back to times such as this. So childlike and carefree, which is something I wish we saw more of in teenagers and adults nowadays, always feeling as they should grow up.

Lovely story, but now I must be off, for there is much more to do before this month is out!

Author's Response: What a lovely tradition it is! And thank you for the lovely compliment, I'm glad you agreed with your friend :D

It seemed quite likely to me that they were understand each other with the family problems etc, and it was so nice to write them just having a laugh together.

Thank you so much again Mrs Claus x


 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins beard Chapter One

8th July 2015:
Hey sweetie,
I love how this worked out. you made me smile a LOT.

It was really lovely to read, it flowed well and you did really well with the humour part of this.

love
~Anja

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad it made you smile!

Thank you for all your help with it!!!

Love
Soph xxx


 Report Review

Review #9, by articcat621 Chapter One

8th July 2015:
This was rather sweet! I love little Maurader moments like this!! Lovely job! xx

Author's Response: Thank you :) I love writing things like this. Really glad you enjoyed xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login