Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for A New Normal
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMolly August Thirty-First 2015

9th April 2017:
CharmHazel,
It was just how I expected this one to end, yet there's still much more to the story. You have held us your readers in suspense for 21 chapters. Yet you've left us with questions. Personally I think James found a muggle way into his Da's drawer. Perhaps help from Uncle George.
Bravo!
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you. I like the idea of leaving how James got the map a mystery.

 Report Review

Review #2, by DougA An Unexpected Birthday

14th March 2017:
Very nice. Ginny's plans for Harry's birthday were well done, and the photo album was nice. The fact that she couldn't surprise him with the party was funny, and the party was nicely done. I would have expected a few more guests, Flitwick and Slughorn form the School and maybe the fellow Gryffondor classmates ( Seamus, Dean Parvati, maybe Padme, and Lavender, assuming she lived in your world. I think she did in the books but not the movies. Fan fictions seem to be split as well) Anyway very nicely done.

Author's Response: I did consider that, but I decided against having too many people for Harry's birthday, knowing how much he hates the attention. As for Lavender, based on Pottermore, there is no date of death for her, so I believe she lived.

 Report Review

Review #3, by DougA Family Old and New

14th March 2017:
Seems Vernon never changes. I had hopes for Petunia, but it now seems unlikely (although you never know.. Well, you would, but I digress.) Dudley's change is nice and well done. I am somewhat surprised that our resident red haired fire breather was so calm and quiet, but I guess she was on her best behavior for Harry. (Bat Bogies, anyone ?)

The scene with Teddy was nice, and I like Ginny being the Godmother. I suspect that Remus and Tonks knew (Remus knowing about Potter men and redheads. I also believe that during Harry's 5th year, Sirius would have noticed, and of Course, he would have shared with Remus. I always saw Ginny acting like Tonks was a big sister, so I imagine they talked.

Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: I would like to think they considered Ginny for Godmother, but as we don't see her story for DH, we get to decide!

 Report Review

Review #4, by DougA Unexpected Letters

13th March 2017:
Very nice. I would have wanted to see more of the Gringotts meeting, and since Ginny was there, I think it would have fit in with your story.

The letters were well done, and I like Sirius's recognition of Ginny. Her comfort of Harry was well played.

Author's Response: I did originally plan to do the meeting, but I struggled with it and I was still relatively new to writing fanfiction at that point. I will cover it at some point in another story I have planned.

 Report Review

Review #5, by DougA Looking Forward

12th March 2017:
Very nice insight into Arthur and Molly's decision to let the couple share. I also enjoyed the talk between Harry and Ginny, and their making of plans.

I know JKR said Harry never went back to Hogwarts, due to the bad memories, but I was always a little disappointed that he wouldn't take the opportunity to have a quiet year with Ginny at school; being in the same classes, playing Quidditch together, and basically just having time to be together. Ron, i can see never returning, but I can see Harry wanting to have a year at school without having Tom in his head/on his mind. Plus, it never seemed to me that Harry would take the Auror job without having completed the school requirements.

Still, an excellent chapter, with the decisions being well reasoned by our couple

Author's Response: I may, one day, do a story with Harry going back to Hogwarts. However, I can understand his need not to return. In all honesty, it never has been confirmed if Ginny returns, we have all just assumed she did.

 Report Review

Review #6, by DougA Where It All Began

2nd March 2017:
Perfect. I did expect for someone to walk up and say, "James and Lilly ! I thought you were dead." but that's just me. A wonderful chapter.

Author's Response: I am trying to avoid that. I think on first glance people would think it was them, but on second glance they would realise it wasn't.

 Report Review

Review #7, by DougA The Five Brothers

2nd March 2017:
OK, that answers the question of who moved them from the Common Room to the Dorm. I like that Arthur and Molly found that they couldn't separate them, that they decided that being together was helping both heal. Also, after watching them be inseparable for 3 weeks, and constantly finding them napping together, that it was reasonable for them to decide that them being able to sleep together was best for both of them.

I am a little troubled by some of the brothers' reactions. Percy has always been portrayed as a bureaucrat and a bit of a prude, so that doesn't surprise me. Ron has always been a bit oblivious, but he has to have seen the behavior of the last three weeks, and known that both Ginny's heart was doing fine, thank you very much, with Harry. Also, he should have known that they were together in the Dorm, since his bed is right next to Harry's. The Dorm was full, and it would have been hard for him to miss his little sister asleep in Harry's arms. It doesn't work that he went to bed first, because then he would have had to see them asleep in the Common Room. The only other option, that he didn't sleep in the Tower, seems unlikely.

Bill, the curse breaker, and Charlie, the dragon whisperer, both have dangerous professions, and have to be more perceptive than that. In both of those jobs, it seems to me that if you aren't aware of what is going on around you, you are dead. Therefore, they have to be aware of the behavior of the past 3 weeks, and while they might not be happy that Ginny has grown up, I can't see them making a fuss if their parents are OK with it.

Quite frankly, I can't see George being all that upset, except maybe for the fact that he can't collect from Fred.

And exactly where did Hermione sleep ? Could Ron be a hypocrite ? Nah,, not Ron.

I love it

Author's Response: I know their reactions may not have been perfect, but I feel like their grief may have made slightly oblivious to everything going on. Plus, it wasn't the fact they were together, but the fact they were sharing a bed. In my head, Hermione was asleep in a different room, but not with Ron. But as I haven't looked over this chapter in ages, I couldn't tell you for certain.

 Report Review

Review #8, by DougA Saying Goodbye

2nd March 2017:
Nice Chapter. I like that Harry and Ginny are pretty much inseparable. That seems so natural given that they were forced apart for the year. Harry's support for Ginny during Fred's funeral is nice, and him dealing with the "crying girl" is perfect. While Ginny's tears are natural, it sort of fits in with a joke I heard years ago. It went that a woman gets what she wants by being smart. If that doesn't work, she gets it by playing dumb. And if that doesn't work, cry, because very few guys will not do do anything in their power to comfort her and stop the tears. Ginny would never play dumb, and I can't see her crying to try and get her way, but I can see Harry doing anything possible to comfort her and stop her tears. (and probably Hermione, Molly, Fleur, Parvati, Luna, etc.)

Ginny's comforting of Harry shows how strong and determined she is, and the scene with Arthur and Molly at the end is nice.

I am surprised at the lack of reaction by any of the Weasley brothers to Harry/Ginny, or really her parents until right at the end. Where are Ran and Hermione at this point ? I realize this is Harry/Ginny, but I thought they would be included, especially at the funerals.

And I still want to know who moved our couple from the Common Room to the Dorm.

Author's Response: Ginny's his best source of comfort so it is only natural they would be there for one another. Plus, as for the tears, as much as she doesn't cry often, I think in situations like this, the tears would be natural.

As for the lack of reactions or Ron and Hermione, the story centres mainly on Harry and Ginny and I am rubbish at writing anyone else. With the funerals, I didn't want to spend too much time on them, but felt they needed to be shown.


 Report Review

Review #9, by DougA Confessions

1st March 2017:
I like that Harry tells everything to Ginny before anyone else. No more pushing her to the side. I also like Ginny telling Harry what had happened to her, probably the only one she will tell the whole story to. I have always felt that her character got the short shift in DH. She had to have taken an extreme amount of torture due to being a blood traitor, a brave, upstanding student, and being "Potter's Witch."

Gee, I wonder which Weasley moved them from the Common Room to the Dorm WITHOUT making a scene.

Author's Response: I was inspired by the epilogue with this chapter. I always got the feeling she knew everything and it was pretty much proven in Cursed Child. Plus, I doubt he want to tell anyone but her that she was the one he was thinking of when he was hit with the Killing Curse.

 Report Review

Review #10, by DougA Reuniting

28th February 2017:
A very nice beginning. Not that JKR makes mistakes in her story, but I always felt that after having been apart for a year, watching her dot on the map, thinking of her as he died, hearing her screams when she thought he was dead, and his being willing to leave the battle against Tom to protect her, that it was rather thoughtless of him to leave her after the battle with the thought that we can talk later; after all we will have days and weeks and months to talk later. The Ginny that I know from the books would have bat bogied him for near to eternity.

I like that you have him having to find Ginny, and that she is desperate to remain awake until he comes for her. the scene of them reuniting and leaving the Great Hall without regard to who my be watching is perfect, and I like the Fat Lady letting them in without a password. Their moment on the sofa before sleep claims both of them is perfect.

Well done, as always.

Author's Response: Actually, I took the line differently. I don't think it was about when he was going to approach her or talk to her, it was about knowing in his heart that he was going to spend the rest of his life with her. Had Fred not died, then yes, I believe she would have bat bogied him for taking too long.

As for my story, I am glad you liked their reunion. I always hate it when one of them refuses to approach the other at the one time they truly do need one another.


 Report Review

Review #11, by BabbityRabbity77 Reuniting

16th February 2017:
Cute :D Really love how you started at the best moment

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Toni James Sirius Potter

6th November 2016:
Another lovely written chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMolly James Sirius Potter

5th November 2016:
CharmHazel,
Great idea waiting to the end of the chapter to reveal the name of the baby. It was nice for it to be Teddy they told. Obviously he's a bit nervous about where he stands, now. He'll know soon enough how important he still is. The rest of the chapter was terrific, as it brought us up to date with our favorite family. My how fast the family has grown.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you. Be prepared for the birth of Albus next.

 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMolly A Weasley Celebration

9th October 2016:
CharmHazel,
Thank you for giving Ginny and Harry a wonderful wedding and a joy filled reception. It was lovely and fun and of course with the betting a bit hilarious. It was a great chapter to read.
FoM

Author's Response: The bet is based on something that happened at my own wedding, so I had to use it as inspiration!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Toni A Weasley Celebration

9th October 2016:
Another brilliant chapter. Again beautifully written with excellent references to the books. Also still so understated as Ginny and Harry's wedding would have been. I love your story and keep up the good work. Will be on the look out for the next update.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Not sure when the next chapter is up as still writing it, but I will get it up as soon as I can! Babies next!

 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMolly Bonded for Life

7th September 2016:
CharmHazel,
I have read many different versions of the Wedding of Harry and his Ginny. This was was especially sweet. As much as the whole Magical world has been watching Harry during his most important moments, it was good that this was a much more private moment.
FoM
PS It was perfect.

Author's Response: Exactly what I wanted. I just cannot see Harry and Ginny wanting a big wedding with the world watching.

 Report Review

Review #17, by BooBo Bonded for Life

25th August 2016:
The guests weren't the only ones with tears running down their faces. Really great chapter, thank you.

Author's Response: I am glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Toni Bonded for Life

24th August 2016:
That was beautiful and how Harry and Ginny's wedding should be. Your wonderful writing brought a tear to my eye. I loved it.

Author's Response: I am glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Paige The Question

14th August 2016:
Aw I love how the story is going... great writing. Plz continue

Author's Response: The wedding is the next chapter and I think, as long as my kids let me near my laptop, that it should be up within a week or two.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Paige Looking Forward

14th August 2016:
So far this story is A.maz.ing! Excellent writing perfectly in character

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Paige Reuniting

14th August 2016:
Aw soo cute.. continuing to read more

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMolly The Question

21st July 2016:
CharmHazel,
What a wonderful chapter. It was full of lovely surprises and sentimental sweetness. Thank you so much for this one. It speaks of what is to come, and promises much.
FoM

Author's Response: Going straight into the wedding in the next chapter. Hopefully you will enjoy that!

 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMolly Coming Home

21st July 2016:
CharmHazel,
One part of their lives has come to it's end, another is starting. For all of them. You have laid out the changing of the dynamic and given hints as to what is to become. Some things can't and shouldn't change, totally. Ron will always look out for his sister, that has been his job for 18 years, changing the way he does it will be interesting to see. Harry knows this, so you gave him a way to stand for Ginny without tramping Ron down too hard. What happens next is in your capable hands.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Toni The Question

19th July 2016:
Really nice Chapter. I love the proposal, just perfect for them.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was actually inspired by my own proposal from my own husband.

 Report Review

Review #25, by May Family Old and New

11th July 2016:
Teddy as an amazing gift from is mum I wonder if she got it from her muggle born dad as no one on the black side of the family have the gift of changing there looks I always wondered that

Author's Response: I actually never thought about that. But that is quite an interesting thought! Most stories I have seen discussing always have it as coming from the Black side of the family.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>