Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Game On: Volume II
  
351 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Felpata Lupin Snow Wars - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Ahahah! Snowball fights are the best!!!
I loved this little piece!
Loved how little Lily was excited about the snow and immediatly went to wake her brothers!!!

It's so fun that all the family was invited over! And of course James and Fred would cause mayhem! I loved how the adults jumped into the fight! It was all so much fun!!! :)

Great job with this, too, Jayde!
So much love!!!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin She’s a Natural- ScoroseOTP- Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Aww! Baby Rose!!!
Of course she would be a natural at chess!!!
She's Ron's daughter and has Hermione's brain!!!

I loved the family dynamics, and I loved how proud and affectionate Ron is!!!

Hermione has a point about wizard chess, of course. Especially after what happened in their first year at Hogwarts... But it's obvious that Ron would want to teach Rosie to play!!! :)

This was really cute! Great job!!!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #3, by Felpata Lupin The Myrtle Game - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Oh, Jayde!!!
This was absolutely brilliant!!!
Aside from the fact that I adore the Marauders, and that you wrote them all exactly like I would expect them to be, the idea behind this is just wonderful!!!

I loved how the three of them went on about this like it was the most risky mission ever!!! And I loved Sirius talking about Remus and his morality obsession!!! Just perfect!!!

Poor Myrtle... They were really cruel with her... (I still adore them...)

When I realized Lily was in the bathroom, I couldn't help but laugh out loud!!! :D It was just brilliant how they left with their tails between their legs (no Animagus reference intended... :P)

Brilliant work on this!
Many hugs and much love!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #4, by Felpata Lupin  A Game of Muggle Sports - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Ahahah!
This was absolutely hilarious! Simply fantastic!!!

Muggles can definitely invent pretty fun games, but wizards trying to guess the rules are even better!!! ;)

I loved the mechanics among the cousins playing! How Fred and James kicked each other out, how Ted meticolously eliminated every one, really convinced he was going to win. How Albus subtly tossed Ted's ball out without him even noticing and won the game! Just brilliant!!!

So great! Loved it!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #5, by Felpata Lupin Truth - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Oh... Poor Rose... I felt so bad for her...

This was funny, though! A great idea!
I think this wizard version of Truth or Dare was great, if a bit cruel and dangerous... Then, again, it's George's invention... So no surprises! :) I think I'd have refused to play, though... Definitely not a Gryffindor :P

Another great job, honey!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #6, by Felpata Lupin Guess That Muggle Object - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
This was one of the funniest things I've read so far!!! :)
I loved Ernie's guesses! Too amusing!!! :D Especially the torturing device for misbehaving children! Ahahah!!!
And Hermione refusing to give the correct answers at first, but then changing her mind to win the points was just so much in character!!! Just great!!!
Another brilliant job! You girls are wonderful!!!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #7, by Felpata Lupin Muggle Quidditch - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

10th September 2015:
Here again!
This was funny, too... And cute...
I enjoyed the fact that they were dreaming of making it to the team the next year, and that they decided to play even if they couldn't access all the supplies, coming up with this "Muggle version" of the game! :)

Ahahah! I suppose Dom would be a Wood-like sort of captain!!!

Another fun story! I really enjoyed reading it!
Good luck for the Corncob and a huge hug!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #8, by Felpata Lupin Peeve’s Game - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

10th September 2015:
Hello ladies!
Here because I'm trying to read and review all stories nominated for the Corncob!!!

Oh, this was so much fun!
I loved how Peeves plays his game, and all the people who want to be referee... Ihihih! So funny! Oh, and the extra points for the lyrics, too!!! :P

Sorry I'm cutting this short, but I have still so many stories to read... Hope you don't mind... Great story, anyway! Very original!

Hugs and kisses,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #9, by Felpata Lupin Muggle Hunting- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

10th September 2015:
Ok... This was surely interesting... And sort of creepy...
I think you really captured Lucius' psicology perfectly (it's Lucius speaking, right?)
His arrogance, his sense of superiority towards the Muggles, obviously, but towards his fellow Death Eaters, too.

I would never have thought about this as a game... The poor Muggles, all they were doing was enjoying their quiet evening watching TV...

It was a fitting perspective, though! And surely a very original idea! Congratulations!

All my love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #10, by Felpata Lupin Jumanji- ohmymerlin- Hufflepuff

10th September 2015:
Ahahah!
Kayla, this was so much fun!!! :)

I loved your characterization of the Potters, especially James! He's just crazy!!! Eheheh!!!

“What do you have there?” [...]
“I have no idea,” James said with a slightly manic grin. The hope Albus previously had instantly disintegrated.

That made me laugh so hard!!!

I've always enjoyed the movie "Jumanji", and I seriously enjoyed reading your adaptation here!
I absolutely adored how Albus tried his best to reason with James, but he simply wouldn't listen!!! Too much fun!!!

And the closing... Amidst everyone's concern, all James can think of is go on playing! Love it!!!

Good job, honey! Good luck for the Corncob!!!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #11, by Felpata Lupin The Game - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

10th September 2015:
Jayde!!!
This was wonderful! Absolutely brilliant! I love, love, LOVE it!!!

I knew it was James all along! Who else would be so persistent rejection, after rejection, after rejection...

I loved how you used the game theme to describe his constant chase of Lily! I loved all the metaphores and the writing style and just about everything!!! Really, this is such an amazing job!!!

My only regret is that I don't know all the games you mentioned... I think I'd have appreciated the story even more...

Anyway, beautiful story, honey! Good luck for the Corncob!!!
All my love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #12, by Felpata Lupin My Escape- ScoroseOTP- Hufflepuff

8th September 2015:
Hey there!
Here because I'm trying to read and review all stories nominated for the Corncob!

Wow! This was just beautiful!
At first, I thought it was George talking, then I realized it was Ginny instead!
I loved how you wrote her! You really showed the strong young woman she's become. And at the same time, you showed us the pain of the war, of losing a piece of your family. The difficulty of carrying on and the importance of finding an escape. And which better escape than flying? I think my own escape is dancing, which is probably the closest thing to flying we Muggles can achieve... So I can relate...

Beautiful story! Congratulations!
Lots of love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #13, by Felpata Lupin Playing by the Rules- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

8th September 2015:
Ok, wasn't expecting this...
Well, maybe a little, after he came out with the spin-the-bottle idea...
Anyway, this was another fun story!
Fred's frustration at the only-Muggle-words rule was so amusing! And I suppose Muggle games would result a bit boring for people who've grown up surrounded by magic...

"Well then, this is the most boring game I’ve ever played, and I’ve played chess with Percy!" This made me laugh out loud!!!

And, well... I just adored the closing! Way too funny!!!

Another lovely story! I don't even know how you came up with so many wonderful ones!!!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #14, by Felpata Lupin The Artist- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

8th September 2015:
Ahahah!
Oh, Dee! This is so wonderful! You are a genius, seriously!!!
Poor Ron, so frustrated... I personally hate Pictionary, I'm absolutely unable to draw... So I can simpathize (but that's beside the point, maybe?)

This was the funniest, most hilarious proposal I've read about!!! I think it might become my new headcanon! ;)

Thanks for this amazing story, it really lifted my mood up!!!

Tons of love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #15, by Felpata Lupin Silencio- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

8th September 2015:
Hey, Dee!
Here because I'm trying to read and review all stories nominated for the Corncob (I've started right now, so there's a good chance I'll fail miserably, but I'll try just the same...)

Anyway... Oh, this was sweet!!!
I'd never thought of something like this, but it is such a lovely idea, Draco asking Luna to play cards with him because he needs to escape the horrors of the Death Eaters' life. And then Luna asking him the same thing after the battle, because she wants to distract herself and probably because she wants to return the kindness. Or maybe simply because she's Luna!!!

I loved the opening. How you used the details of the cellar to show how much time had passed.
To be true, I loved pretty much everything about this!!!

I would stay longer, but I have a lot of othrr stories to check... Sorry...
Great job, anyway!
All my love!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell The Final Fetch - alicia and anne - Slytherin

6th September 2015:
Hello hello!

Trying to read through the Silver Scales noms--congratulations on your nomination! This was a really cute--yet tragic--idea for a fic, and you did a good job with it, and with Sirius. The idea of him playing fetch. And then the juxtaposition of that happiness with him in his cell in Azkaban, and the Dementors, and he's just trying to remember what it's like to be happy...

You're all just trying to break me, aren't you? I keep telling you people NO MORE EMOTIONS! NO MORE EMOTIONS FOR PENNY! But do you heed my pleas? No. Alas.

And here I am, using the third person. You see what you're putting me through, all with a few hundred words on 'Padfoot' and James and Remus playing fetch? It is cruel!

"It's Padfoot's favourite game. Would you really deny him a chance to play his favourite game?"
--I really enjoyed this line, and James and his sass, and...

Ohmygosh, I am still feeling...feelings. I do not approve.

But good job with this (especially in light of all the stories you produced for this contest, the fact that they had such quality and creativity is really astounding).

And congratulations again on your nomination!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #17, by oldershouldknowbetter House Elf Cup Event #1: Curling Rock Cakes - Veritaserum27 - Ravenclaw

26th July 2015:
Hi there, I was looking through the list of these stories for my own and noticed yours so I thought I'd stop by and leave a note.

I like the whimsy of this. You start with a light tone and you build up the comedic aspects of it nicely. I personally always disliked how mean JKR was to Hagrid and especially his cooking, but you employ the strands of what she started well. From the books, Hagrid's baking served little better purpose than as stones in a game of curling.

You captured the voices of the house-elves perfectly. The action in the scene is well portrayed; I could really see that poor little elf spinning around and around on her 'stone'. If it is the same Winky as in the books, then she has really pulled herself back together remarkably well and that's lovely to see. If it indeed is the elf we last saw drinking herself into insensibility in the books, then this version of her and what it says about the society of the house-elves adds a greater subtext to the light hearted surface that is all that one sees at first.

Good work, and also good work in writing for our wonderful house efforts.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Penelope Inkwell Add on the Magic - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
What a cute idea! It definitely sounds like something I'd have been forced to play in middle school gym, though it seems as though it would be much better with magic. Bethany's a smart cookie, thinking to use a disillusionment charm. I also liked seeing something take place at the Salem Witches Academy--I don't think I've ever read a story that took place there before. Nice work!

For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #19, by Penelope Inkwell Guess That Muggle Object - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
Now this is a game I can totally see happening at Hogwarts. I enjoyed figuring them out myself. And, ohmygosh, LEGOS! "Maybe it was a torture device for muggle children as punishment for misbehaving." Bah! More like a clever testing device used on the nanny to make certain she won't curse in front of the children, even under torture. (I mean, that's what it feels like when I'm at work). I love how Hermione heard about the extra credit and was like, 'Fair? Forget fair! This is totally fair! I can hardly help that I have natural advantages!" And it was fun to see Ernie's musings on Muggle objects. Cute idea! Good job!

For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #20, by rosiful The Game - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
Wow, is there a game that you didn't manage to include!? This is such a clever use of the prompt and I love how you've written them all to described the relationship and love of James and Lily. Each one of your games/descriptions in really well written and thought and I love how you brought them all together in the end paragraph, as he keeps on playing, so that he can eventually win her. I wasn't actually really sure who this was about until the very end, which I really liked. It not only made it a bit mysterious, but it made it so it could be about anyone (even my OTP).

I could really feel James' frustration though this piece. He is constantly chasing her as he can't quite get through to her, and she in return is being quite hot/cold towards him. I'm glad he's going to keep playing until his inevitable win.

This was an awesome and very original addition to the collab. So glad I read it!

Rosiful
Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #21, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Playing by the Rules- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

Okay fred Weasley? There's no way I was passing up the chance to read this.

I kinda love hermione and fred together which is weird for me because I'm a huge Romonie fan but hey, never mind.

Your fred was so well written! I loved him throughout. The jokes and the bit of cockiness, your wrote him perfectly which made me so happy. The playing chess with percy comment definitely made me laugh. The flirting definitely built up though - the spin the bottle suggestion and stuff. It was his bold move at the end though. Snog me. I actually laughed out loud at that. It's exactly something he would do. I'll never look at scrabble the same way again. Oh, and I'd definitely love to play with Fred haha!

Your hermione was well written too. Perhaps a little bolder than in canon with her romance but it a situation like this, I think it called for it. Freds different to Ron and brought out a different side to her.

Well done on an awesome entry! I loved it!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #22, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Into the Maze - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

I like how you've taken on another task from a different point of view - I find these really interesting!

I sympathise for Fleur sometimes. To be picked for the Triwizard tournament she must be a gifted witch but I don't think this always comes across in the books. I think you got this across here really well. I'm also glad you did the book maze, rather than the movie maze - much more interesting.

The obstacles you put her up against we're really interesting - I liked the idea of the wall and her figuring it out. And the fog sounded awful. But again, you showed she was skilled and she worked it all out. The Boggart was awful for her, but I guessed that was what it was - at least it wasn't real!

But moody/crouch! Ooh! Obviously I knew this was coming but I was also nervous/excited when he did. Poor Fleur, that part was unfair for her but the whole tournament was unfair really.

Well done on another awesome entry!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #23, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Under the Lake - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

Ooh this was really interesting, seeing the second task from Cedric's point of view. I really loved what you did here.

I liked Cedric's character. What we knew from canon you kept to but you also extended his character too and gave us more about him. That's one thing that always upsets me about Cedric, we didn't get much time with him.

His care for cho was so clear and sweet, I really think those two are sweet are as a couple. The whole way through the piece he is worried about her and desperate to get her free.

I liked your description of the mermaids! They didn't sound nice at all.

Ahh I like this version of Cedric wanting to go back down and help. He comes across as that kind of guy so I like that interpretation!

Well done on an awesome entry!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #24, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The Game - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

This was so clever! Once again you've come up with a clever way of using the prompt. How many games did you get in here? So many! I'm so impressed. And you used them all really cleverly to describe how love can be. I particularly liked the cat and mouse and the red light green light - I think women can particularly be bad at changing their mind on what's okay and not - I know I can be depending what mood I'm in.

I was wondering if you were going to have it relating back to someone, and I did wonder if it would be james. I think the whole idea suits him well, it was really cute in the end. I can very much imagine james thinking along these lines.

Well done on another awesome entry!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #25, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Truth - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey

Here for Gryffindor in the House Cup 2015!

This was a really clever take on the truth or dare game, using magic to ensure everyone was playing properly haha! I don't think I would be brace enough to play this game - there's literally no getting out of it. It's definitely the kind of thing i could see George coming up with. Also, it seems freds very much like his father and uncle, stealing the game.

I thought the dare and truth you came up with were funny and definitely similar to the sort of thing we get given when ive played the game before. Poor Scorpius seems to have been dragged into this a lot though! Rose was so mortified but the result was funny! Hugo's joke at the end really made me laugh.

This was really great. The idea was creative, it read smoothly and made me smile a few different times. Great job!

Lauren

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>