Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Into The Unknown
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by WittyRaven Chapter 3

16th August 2015:
This was so emotionally powerful that even though it would not end happily I still cried at the end. I love the way you wrote how they were together in chapter 2 and it brought a smile to myself, but then a second later I was filled with dread, because I knew you were going to take it away again.
Astoria's speech to Draco was very touching and strong in my opinion and that is one of the parts that really stuck with me.
I have been in a somewhat similar situation once, years ago and I feel that you head the nail on the head. This is going straight to my favorites!

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle Chapter 3

28th June 2015:
Hey!

Ah, I didn't notice this was written for a sink my ship challenge, otherwise my hope for a Dramione reunion would have been much less. Anyway, as tragic as it was to see them not be together again, whilst both still seem to yearn for the other just a little bit, I liked how you wrote them as living separate lives now, and having moved on to someone else. I kind of like how the whole fic came full circle - Draco back with Astoria and Hermione back with Ron - it really completed the fic well. In this chapter, I thought your characterisation of both were spot on, and their thoughts and emotions about the other and about their marriage/life in general was well written. This was a really good 3 chapter fic, with each chapter holding so much surprise and skipping a few years, while still working so well together. ♥

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: AH. I am sorry to have gotten your hopes up, but I like to think it also means my writing is fantastic ;) thank you so much for stopping to read this during the challenge. I really loved being able to see your reviews. You're the best!


 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle Chapter 2

28th June 2015:
Hey again!

No! What? Ahh! Draco, why are you being such an idiot? I was so excited when I started reading this chapter to see you had fast forwarded to a time when they were both so happy with each other and already in the relationship together. When you wrote their banter and the way they interact with each other, I really felt like I believed in this Dramione. but then the argument was such a shocker and so unexpected, it really did feel so out of the blue since one sentence ago they were so happy. It was really good as part of the plot though - leaving them back where they started with things all broken again :( I really, really hope they sort everything out though. I have to say it/emphasise it again - the Dramione you portrayed in the first part of this story was so wonderful together that now I'm actually rooting for them to be together again! Great work writing this chapter - the contrast between the happy/sad (argument) was striking and worked so well as a chapter.

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: I KNOW. This was a really hard one to write for me. I spent about two weeks trying to write this chapter - I actually ended up writing chapter 3 before I wrote this one because I was so upset. I'm glad I got you rooting for Dramione though.

Cassie


 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle Chapter 1

28th June 2015:
Hey!

This was an interesting first chapter! Dramione hey.. not my favourite ship, but I do really like some of the stories. So far, I think you're off to a good start - it seems that they have their relationships falling apart in common at the very least. The characterisation of Hermione was very well done, her dialogue mostly felt very realistic and this in particular was something I could totally imagining her saying: Iím only twenty-one years old. I Ö I canít settle down. I have so much I want to do. Draco was also well characterised, although I kind of felt there were hints of OOC moments, such as with the two of them deciding to walk outside and sit together. But who knows what happened to them after the war - maybe something like this scene could have happened. Anyway, I'm intrigued and look forward to seeing where you'll take this in the next few chapters!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: In my mind, they were pretty drunk when they were walking out there, and everyone does things they normally wouldn't do then! (At least, I have a tendency to say stupid things and admit things I shouldn't. But that is so beside the point). I hope you enjoyed reading this! (As I look at the rest of the reviews)

 Report Review

Review #5, by kenpo Chapter 3

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Final chapter!!

Uggh this got my in the feels. I had a pretty recent breakup with someone I'd been with for years, and even though I'm very happily in a new relationship, I really hate the fact that my ex has refused to speak to me in any form since we broke up. I hope one day we can get to where Hermione and Draco are here (wow I literally never thought I'd say that).

Astoria and Draco's relationship makes me sad to some extent, but I also really appreciate their honesty with one another. They aren't really pretending to be in love at all, they recognize their marriage as a platonic marriage. It's really interesting and I'd like to see more of their relationship, to be honest. I'd also like to know more about how Ron and Hermione have moved on from her time with Draco. Does he know that's who she was with? I'm not sure how I feel about her marrying Ron if he doesn't know... that seems like a pretty big omission. But knowing Ron, I don't know if he'd understand.

Overall, this was a really nice story! I hope that you get more reviews, and more people read it, what with the current review challenge. Thanks for writing this! It was refreshing, and let me sort of dip my toes into what I know is a very deep pool of Dramione.

-Georgia

Author's Response: Oh, I wish I could give you a hug. I'm sorry that your ex has been so rude. One of my former friends and her boyfriend went through a rocky break up, and she's now the one not speaking to him at all. So I know it's hard (I was friends with both. Talk about awkward).

I always kind of imagined their relationship this way - one of platonic benefit to both of them. And they will make an appearance in some of my later writings! So I hope to see you around again. And thank you so much for reading it. I really hope you might give other Dramiones a chance now ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by kenpo Chapter 2

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Okay. I was wrong. This isn't Dramione? Okay I maybe didn't read the summary or anything. Maybe I should do that. Let's just say that I like to keep stories a surprise...? Does that work?

I really liked this chapter! I think it's even better than the first. I loved the way that you showed passage of time, and managed to get so much of their relationship in just a little bit of text. Fantastic!

I really liked that Hermione bought him a muggle wallet. It seems like something she would totally do! I'm not sure how cool I am with how much Draco has changed... although I do suppose that his fear of being seen would trumpt his general dislike for muggle things (and his like for Hermione).

That breakup scene! Whew! You wrote it well, it felt very dramatic.

Onto the last chapter!!

-Georgia

Author's Response: No it isn't, but if you were to stop by some of the other Dramione's I have written, I wouldn't be opposed ;) ;)

And no worries, in the insider secret knowledge Draco is no where near as nice - which was part of the problem here. Draco was sweet when with her, but his appearance in public hasn't changed a whole lot so he still comes off the way he does.


 Report Review

Review #7, by bittersweetflames Chapter 3

27th June 2015:
Okay, last chapter. It's really hard to make me cry over a story or a chapter but the way you wrote this. -sniffs- As you well know, I haven't read this chapter yet and I didn't even really know how you were going to write it.. -rubs hand over chest- But, golly gee, for two seemingly power magical beings they really are a pair of idiots, aren't they? They are OBVIOUSLY still in love with one another and it's obvious there's nothing else they'd want but to be together but, look, they're obviously NOT. ARGH!!! The way you wrote this was really beautiful tho. I mean, seriously. There's a lot of subtlety and the drama and angst was not overt BUT you could feel the pain. In the end, I could not hate anyone. Not Ron, not Astoria (because she's cool. I think I really love her) and not even the idiots (Draco and Hermione, I mean). But I could hate the situation. Hurry up and write a sequel (insert insider knowledge here) so we can see these two get together.

Carla
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: THIS CHAPTER WAS THE MOST EMOTIONAL. But it was also the easiest to write. Clearly, emotional scenes are the way I should write.

INSIDER KNOWLEDGE


 Report Review

Review #8, by kenpo Chapter 1

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015-Ravenclaw!

Hello! I heard you asked to be included in Slytherin reviews, so here we are!

I'll be honest. Dramione isn't my thing. I'm totally open to it, though, so see if you can convince me ;)

I really liked the way that you incorporated the flashbacks. It gave us a base for the story without having to really go back in detail right away. We get to jump straight into the bulk of the story. I also liked that you're already providing reason for Malfoy's change. An engagement and breakup can make someone seriously reconsider their behaviors.

One suggestion I have is to add more. I know that sounds vague, but... like when they're on the bench. It was pretty jolting, just having her seem to sit down and right away it be morning. You could also look through places that you could add a little more description, not only of the surroundings but of their expressions and things.

Other than that one thing, I enjoyed this and I'll be reading the rest!

-Georgia

Author's Response: Georgia,

Thank you for stopping by ♥ I was so happy when Carla had told me she put me in the suggestion to review thread. It really meant a lot - especially because this story didn't have any reviews really. I'll respond to your concerns later ;)


 Report Review

Review #9, by bittersweetflames Chapter 2

27th June 2015:
First off, 22 is NOT OLD. How dare you, you mean thing?! And knowing full well I am older than 22, as well.. -huffs- But, kidding aside... I love how with one scene (or even one sentence) you manage to show how they're relationship is currently going. They're obviously happ, they're on intimate terms (calling one another by the first name) and they're (most likely) in love (this is something I insist on). And because it's the Sink Your Ship challenge, I mourn the fact that this happy little scene will go on to be broken. Because, really, these two deserve happiness together. I stand by that. Then we move on to the fight between the two. It's so absolutely devastating and heartbreaking. Like, I don't even know what to do, it's so heartbreaking. They're both just incredible idiots aren't they? They're so blindly in love with one another that they just managed to push one another away rather than risk being hurt... It's so stupid of them but I understand. One of them wants recognition and the other things the other would never want a serious relationship. -sniffs- They'd have been perfect for each other.

Carla
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: No worries, I'm 24 ;) it just worked for the story. made it sound well. sound well? I shouldn't be allowed to speak. THE FIGHT WAS SO HARD TO WRITE IT MADE ME REALLY UPSET. I blame you for this .

 Report Review

Review #10, by bittersweetflames Chapter 1

27th June 2015:
First off, I am so proud of you for sinking your ship! No, seriously.. I know how awful and painful this was for you. But I am so proud of you! This idea, from the beginning of you telling me about it really intrigued me. After all, it starts of very much a Dramione then it evolves to more Canon? This I have to read. So, THAT RING. I don't know exactly how I feel about it. On one hand, I am sorry for Ron that Hermione isn't ready to commit. It's hard to be in a relationship and not be in the same place as the other person. Then you add Draco into the mix and aren't they just a sad pair? I am surprised you had Astoria call of their engagement. Then again, my view of Astoria is she's this really liberated Pureblood so the image certainly fits. So, yeah, mhmmm... And, as far as a start to their relationship goes, this was a great way to begin it. Friendship. You wouldn't think a friendship would be possible between these two. (but misery loves company and they are both so miserable, aren't they?) So, yeah, LOVELY. (will edit soon, I promise)

Carla
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: baepoo ♥ ♥

This was the hardest story I've ever written, but I did it just for you and other reasons I shan't reveal online just yet. I KNOW RIGHT. I was trying not to cackle too much while writing it, since that was the easy part for me to write. But. you have now edited this chapter ;) we're totes making progress


 Report Review

Review #11, by Liv Chapter 3

21st June 2015:
This was cute and kind of heartbreaking and thank you but I cant believe it ends here! I really enjoyed it, even though obviously the ending was bittersweet. It would have been great to see more of those moments together when they were falling for each other and coping with the relationship while trying to keep it a secret. Also I liked how you portrayed their characters and your descriptions.

Thank you for writing this! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I might try and add in another chapter here in the future. I was trying to scramble and get this done for the challenge and knowing I was sinking it left me sort of depressed to write the happy scenes!

I will leave you with a spoiler - this relationship is actually going to come up in a future story I'm going to be writing - I've already started it. =) I promise that'll make more sense later on!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login