Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Tick Tock
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Basilisk time is running out

14th December 2015:
Ssso interesssting. One knowsss from the sssummary that death is the topic at hand and that it is the death of Romilda that we shall sssee but thisss is not what I expected in the least.

The ticking of the clock was a nice touch. It immensssly helped to push the ssstory forward. The ssstory was such a sssimple snapshot of Romilda'sss life. It ssseems such a shame that she should die ssso abruptly and without out explained caussse or reassson. Yet I feel that is how thisss should be as you have written it. It is a true reflection of life from the sssimple day to day tasssksss Romilda performsss to the sssudden end to her life. There are many timesss that there is no reassson or caussse for death, it just is.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Peeves the Poltergeist time is running out

14th October 2015:
Hello all! In the spirit of Halloween, I am doing something EXTRA special! If you are reading this, you are now a part of the Poltergeist chain! If you don't review TWO other people using the anonymous review name Peeves the Poltergeist within in TWENTY-FOUR (24) hours, I will drop chairs on your head until All Hallows Eve! You must copy the line and the portion above it and paste it into the beginning of each of your TWO reviews. Please try to review someone who hasn't already been reviewed by Peeves. Repeats are allowed, but discouraged. Happy Halloween!

-

Wow. This was so impressive. It gave me an eerie sense the entire time. Poor Romilda- but she did love and work in a very sketchy part of the wizarding world.

It was such an eerie way to die. Without warning. Without knowing why... Goodness. Your descriptions and the use of tick tock painted a wonderful picture. You should continue writing! I enjoyed this scary story so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by The Basilisk time is running out

8th October 2015:
Hello! The Basilisk here to give you a special review!

I really enjoyed this one-shot! I loved the repetitiveness of the tick tock, I think it actually helps the story read even faster. Although, I was kind of hoping at the end, where you just say "tick" that the story would end with a single "tock," but instead you mention the clock.

I am quite curious though as to why Romilda has to die. We don't really see at all where she was active in the war. Although I did find it weird that she would even apply to work in Borgin and Burke when she is a muggle-born, especially since she's not hiding the fact. It just seems like an unlikely place for her to want to work at. And who is the man that was following her? Why is he intent on killing her? I just kind of wish there was a reason. Her death seems very much in vain.

But all in all it was a good read and I very much enjoyed reading it.

-The Basilisk

 Report Review

Review #4, by Beeezie time is running out

20th September 2015:
Hey, Olivia! I'm here for BvB! ♥

I really love what you did here. You've loaded so much emotion and backstory into a short one-shot, and it feels chillingly real. My heart went out to Romilda from the beginning - it's a really poignant reminder that there wasn't really a simple happily-ever-after once Voldemort is defeated. Romilda was left in an impossible position in so many ways, and it's not surprising that she's struggling to deal with the result.

I also found her place of employment absolutely fascinating. Borgin and Burkes was presented to us as a kind of sleazy shop with a little too close a focus on the dark arts, so the idea that they've hired a Muggleborn seemed odd to me. The way that Romilda describes feeling unsafe there, though, particularly because of the way Burke looks at her, brought some of that into a different focus, and when she's sent to go deal with things that former Death Eaters wanted to get rid of, I also wondered when part of it was just that Burke wouldn't care if the Muggleborn was injured/maimed/killed dealing with dangerous artifacts.

I wonder why that man was following her, and if he was there on someone else's orders. It does seem to me, though, that working at Borgin and Burkes is probably a job in which it's hard to lie low in quite the same way she might elsewhere. The clientele is disproportionately weighted toward people who would like to do her harm, particularly since she has access to some of their secrets, and "the girl who works at Borgin and Burkes" is a pretty easy target. Poor Romilda.

Olivia, that was so good. I loved it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 time is running out

7th September 2015:
Hi Olivia!

I'm here for BvB and... someone's been BUSY! TWO new stories on you AP? Wow. That's awesome.

I love it when someone dives into the minor characters, because there's just so many places they can go. Unfortunately for poor Romilda, she meets her end in this one - haha!

You did a lot of wonderful things in this. Very nice job with the repeating of "tick tock, tick tock." It definitely gives the piece a sense of urgency. And even if Romilda doesn't know anything about what is about to happen to her, the reader is set a bit on edge, almost to the point of wantin to warn the doomed girl.

I also liked your use of present tense, as it made everything seem a bit more urgent - we weren't pondering over events in the past, but rather experiencing all of it along with Romilda.

In addition, you left us lots of clues about what is really going on at Borgin and Burkes, but just enough for us to come to a few conclusions, and not really know exactly why she's been killed. I'm really, really curious about this - and I noticed it's only a one-shot! aaagh!

Nice job setting the mood for this story!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm time is running out

28th August 2015:
Hey Olivia! :)

This was so scary! Why, Romilda? Why would you work in Knockturn Alley so soon after the war with being a Muggle-born? It's not safe! :(

You really did a great job making this really tense the entire time. Between telling us that she would be dead by the end of the story, the tick tock of the clock and not being quite sure if it would be Burke or that man who killed her. My heart was racing!

You used the weather very effectively to give us the mood and tone of the story. Everything felt gritty and grey to me while reading it. This just left me feeling extremely uneasy.

I wonder what made her take up a job at that shop with her heritage? Maybe just because it was the only thing hiring at the time? I can't see a Muggle-born really wanting to work there. It had to be awful seeing all the contraband that former Death Eaters were trying to hide. Or having to see any of the former Death Eaters.

Burke sounded like a total creep. I was shocked that it wasn't him. I'm dying to know who the man was!

Those last few lines were brutal. It just boom, happens. She's gone. That is really what left me with such an uncomfortable and uneasy feeling. It was very well done.

Great job on this! I truly enjoyed it! :)

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dojh167 time is running out

21st August 2015:
Hello,k I'm here from the Review Tag Thread.

I never see Romilda stories, and so the choice to write a horror story about her seemed really interesting to me.

I'm interested to hear how Romilda's family died. It seems implied that they were killed because they were muggles, but I am curious to hear how and why they in particular were targeted, and how Romilda survived.

You've really tapped into unexplored side of Romilda here. I am truly curious to learn more about her year on the run - where she went, who she saw, how she lived. It is an interesting choice to have her work at Borgin and Burkes, which seems like a bit of a jump from the carefree student we know from canon, but really lends weight to the fact that she has gone through a lot since then.

One grammar note - in "that is raining again" "is" should be "it is"

I think that the dramatic structure of this story is quite interesting. For Romilda, it is just another day, and she doesn't know anything is coming (or ending). She has that moment of scare when she is followed on the way to work, but given the neighborhood she lives and works in, even that doesn't affect her too much. In contrast to that sense of normalcy, you create a sense of tension in the reader by the repetition of the ticking clock, and you bring these elements together very well in the end. Things feel very simple and understated, which in a sad way feels relevant to Romilda's death - just one more casualty in an ally, of somebody few people will remember or mourn.

Well done!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #8, by moonbaby11 time is running out

13th August 2015:
Hey! I'm returning for more BVB Review Battle action!

I was, once again, immediately drawn in by the summary for this story. I don't think I've ever read anything about Romilda Vane, so that was intriguing, but I also wanted to know more about her death and how/why it happened. I really liked the way that you set everything up, telling us straight from the beginning that Romlida is going to die. I think that made for a better story than simply having her death be some sort of shock at the end.

I enjoyed the repitition of 'Tick Tock' and felt like it really tied everything together in terms of the flow and the pacing. It helped to jump from one thought or moment to the next, and it also just added an almost poetic feel to the whole piece.

The one thing I have to say about this piece (and I saw that someone else mentioned it as well) is that I would have liked to know a little bit more about the "why" of the whole thing. Why was this person stalking Romlida? Why did he kill her? I feel like, although I was really entertained by this, I was left with a lot of questions at the end.

Other than that, I feel like you did a brilliant job with this! It was thrilling, suspenseful, and very well written. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter time is running out

28th July 2015:
Hi, Olivia!

I'm super late on the birthday reviews so trying to catch up. A belated happy birthday to you! Hope you had a brilliant day :D

This is the first Romilda Vane story I've read. I was never particularly fond of her character in the books or movies, drugging Harry/Ron was definitely not a good move on her part :p You've actually managed to make me feel sorry for her though!

I think you've done a brilliant job of subtley conveying the way Romilda was affected by the war. Like the way she immediately apparated at the man falling and swearing behind her, and the prejudice she still feels is there because of being a muggleborn.

The repetition of 'tick tock' is really effetive, it builds up a great tension throughout the story and actually made my heart race a little! Obviosuly we knew right from the start that Romilda was going to die, but I liked that there was still a little bit of surprise in who killed her, I really thought from the way she was describing Burke that it would be him!

This was a really creepy but brilliant story!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by toomanycurls time is running out

28th July 2015:
I need to know more! Who killed her and why?!!? Was she targetted for being a mudblood or was it just a random murder?! Why did she apply for Borgin and Burkes, knowing their reputation? Was it one of them who killed her??

I've never felt so much suspense in just a short one-shot. My heart started to race and I was very nervous for her. I thought for a bit that maybe she had an omen telling about her death but then saw it was just nerves. WHY WAS HER TIME RUNNING OUT!?? I also need to know that.

with the focus being on her murder, I love all the other details you give in this. About the death eater trials and post DH - not to mention the struggles Romilda had going back to school to finish her education. I love that they're still hiding stuff for former death eaters too. How can you make this so rich while it is so short and focused too??

love
-rose

 Report Review

Review #11, by alicia and anne time is running out

27th July 2015:
What's this? Another surprise! :P

Oh wow, those are intense words her life is going to be over? I am so intrigued now! Oh poor Romilda, having suffered so much already during the battle and losing her family.

This tick tocks are making me uneasy, especially because of how she says she's going to die soon. I'm worried it's just going to appear out of nowhere and at the moment the tick tock is the clock from the tv show Countdown. But they fit in very well and give off a great atmosphere.

I think that it's very interesting that she works at Borgin and Burkes, why does she work there? I would be scared of Burke and I'm worried for her.

Oh no! Oh no! She's looking at a shop called the Coffin House and she's been hit with a spell. Who is this man? If it's not Burke? Why was she killed? Were they ever caught? I have so many questions right now!!

I need more!

Another amazing one shot from you, you're such a fabulous writer and I was on the edge of my seat as I read through this!

Just pure brilliance!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Felpata Lupin time is running out

10th July 2015:
Hello!
Happy birthday!!! :)

I saw this story was a bit lonely, so I thought to check it out (even if it isn't the best genre for a birthday review, probably...)

Anyway, this was a really interesting concept. The fatality, the counted time, the inevitability of death.
I loved the repetition of the tickling of the clock, the atmosphere of dread and anticipation it creates. And your description and the general tone of suspense of the story kept me hooked from the first word to the last. I was scared about what would happen but I just couldn't stop reading.

The setting was just perfect, too. Knockturn Alley on a rainy night sounds just creepy. And with the full moon, too... For a moment I thought she would meet a werewolf.

Little CC (but you're totally free to disagree with me), I wish you told us something about WHY this happened. Who was the man, what did he have against her? I know this is not the purpose of the story, but I still feel it lacks something...

Apart from that, this was amazing work! Absolutely captivating and wonderfully written!
Congratulations! And happy birthday again!
Lots of love,
Chiara

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login