Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Game On
  
405 Reviews Found

Review #1, by banshee In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch - Veritaserum27 - Ravenclaw

28th September 2015:
Hey Beth! Here for the Prefect's review exchange :D

Lol, so I feel like it's very 'Harry and/or Gryffindor' thinking that people would be up to wait to catch a peak of them. Or maybe it's a teenager thing :p Either way, definitely made me laugh.

I really love the level of detail in your writing here. This was for the house cup so it was during that time frame when it was 'write things quickly', so it's says a lot to see that you included little descriptive details into it. It really adds to everything.

Harry felt like every nerve ending in his upper arm was simultaneously firing happy signals from her lingering touch. -- I LOVE THIS LITTLE MOMENT. omg this was so adorable.

How you write Ron is SO amazing. I feel like you really nailed his character here.

This was SO adorable. /BOYS/, AMIRIGHT!? Jeez, it was painful and hilarious to read, and having it from Harry's awkward misunderstanding perspective was so funny. I think I even got lost a little along with him, which just made this all the better.

I feel like friendship stories like this one - albeit themed harry and ginny's relationship - friendship stories are kind of rare around here, so it's really nice to read something like this.

Absolutely adorable, Beth!

-Julie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin The Best Sport - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Aww!!!
I love James and Lily!!!

The beginning made me laugh so hard!!! It was too funny!!! Lily expecting James to ask her to sleep with him, while he only wanted her to understand Quidditch! Because "I can’t get married to someone who doesn’t know how to play Quidditch." Ahahah! Genius!!! :)

It's just so cute, because it's clear how much James cares for her. And at the same time hilarious, because he's so obsessed about Quidditch!!!

I loved the fact that Lily caught the Snitch!

And I loved their last exchange, and James boasting about being always right!!! So much in character!!!

Brilliant work on this!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #3, by Felpata Lupin Ravenclaw vs. Hufflepuff - Dojh167 - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Ahahah! Very well deserved 150 points to Hufflepuff!!! Cedric and Cho!!! Aww!!! How cute!!! :)

I found it hilarious Lee's boredom about the match! Eheheh!

Of course, since Harry joined the Gryffindor Quidditch team, matches had become pretty interesting, in absence of a better word!!!

I loved how Lee went on with his soap opera commentary in his mind to try and make things more interesting! Ihihih!

And I loved how things did indeed become romantically interesting once the match was over!!!

Great job on this, Sam! Good luck!!!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #4, by Felpata Lupin A Little Wedding Fun - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
This was fun!
Of course the Wotters would be a competitive bunch! I loved Lucy's point of view in here!!! ;)

Your take on the chair game was funny too! I've never been too good at that game, personally (I don't have the fastest reflexes...) but I did enjoy playing it! Surely, chairs that turn invisible and shift positions would make it a lot more interesting! :)

Great job once again!
A huge hug to you both!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #5, by Felpata Lupin How to be a Muggle in Three Easy Steps - Jayna - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Jayna!!!
This was so great!!! Loved it!!!

I adored the three rules, and the first hand episodes where they were used! The selfie with the Muggle woman was brilliant!!!

I just loved every single bit of this story! It's so original and so amusing!!! :)

Thank you for another great read!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #6, by Felpata Lupin Make it Magic - Jayna - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
This was cute! :)
Ahahah! Good old Gilderoy!!!
"They wanted to make sure that I couldn’t enter, otherwise there would be no reason for anyone else to even try.”
That was genius!!!

The idea for the competition was really funny, too! To make something magical and original out of common Muggle objects! :)

Oh, and the "bread burner" made me chuckle too!
Another fun story! I really enjoyed reading it!

A huge hug,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #7, by Felpata Lupin Headless Polo - Jayna - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Ahahah! This was funny! :)
A really cute little story, Jayna, congrats! :)

I loved how you retraced Lee's commentaries from Hogwarts' Quidditch matches, even with McGonagall protests at his partiality! Just great!

And I loved the idea of the ghostly entertainment, and the unexpected turns with Pansy throwing her arm and foot and Turpin throwing the spectator... Just genious! And so funny!!! :D

Well done, honey!
Good luck for the Corncob!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #8, by Felpata Lupin The First Goal- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
Dee, this was great! :)
I loved how you wrote Ginny's nervousness at the beginning. It was very believable. :)

And Samson was really infuriating! But I adored how she channelled her fury and scored! It was great!!!

And it was so fun when the Harpies' seeker went to snog the Catapults' beater! So adorable!!! :)

Another lovely piece! Great job!
All my love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #9, by Felpata Lupin The Pressure of Triumph - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

12th September 2015:
I LOVED THIS!!!
It was such an original idea to go into the details of Harry's dreams before the Quidditch final in PoA.
I remember the dreams from canon, but reading your extended version was just great! :)
I loved how you wrote everything, because with both dreams I didn't understand they were dreams at all until they named Neville in the first one and the dragons appeared in the second! I was wondering... wait, why are the Slytherins late? What's going on? Was it canon? Ihihih!

I absolutely adored Draco's lines! They got a good chuckle out of me!

And the closing line was just brilliant!!!

Congrats on another great piece!
Lots of love!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #10, by Felpata Lupin A Pawn in a Game- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

9th September 2015:
Wow, Dee!!!
This was so cool!!!
I loved how you wrote Quirrell, how you used the concept of the pawn both literally, as he plays his way through the chessboard, and figuratively, because he's a pawn in Voldemort's hands.

The way you wrote this piece was really fascinating and, wow! Did you use exactly 500 words for it? I've never attempted the every word count yet (and I'll probably never will...) but I have great esteem of those who've accomplished it!

Anyway, another very interesting and brilliantly written story by you! I'm seriously impressed (not that I didn't know how talented you are already...)
Wonderful job, honey!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #11, by Felpata Lupin You Are - Dojh167 - Hufflepuff

9th September 2015:
Hey, Sam!
Here because I'm trying to read and review all stories nominated for the Corncob!

I really enjoyed reading your Ginny here! It was an interesting take on her character!!!

Of course she's conquered so much in her life, she's won so many battles. It's interesting, but understandable at the same time, that staying among women would make her feel uneasy. Of course growing with six brothers would shape her like that...

I loved how in the end she collects her courage and go do her try out like it is only a new obstacle in a long series she's already overcome. You really showed her strenght and willpower wonderfully!

Great job on this, honey! And good luck!
With love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #12, by Felpata Lupin Football - banshee -Hufflepuff

9th September 2015:
Hey, Julie!
Here because I'm trying to read and review all stories nominated for the Corncob!

And, well... This was so sweet and original!
Dean and Seamus are so sweet in here! I loved their playful argument about Football and Quidditch, as well as the intimacy of the scene!

I also loved the digression about Dean's confusion when he first realizes that he fancied Seamus. And his parents' support. And going into hiding...

I seriously enjoyed reading this! Well done, sweety!
Much love to you,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #13, by Felpata Lupin Death of Me- AdinaPuff- Hufflepuff

9th September 2015:
Ahahah, poor Angelina!
Sorry I'm laughing... The story as a whole is actually quite sad and moving... But that last line made me chuckle!

Anyway, this was so melancholy and sweet! I absolutely adored it! Fred's death must've been hard on a lot of people, but to no one as much as to George... They were the two halves of a single entity... He lost a part of himself, and you showed it so well here!

This was a really sweet, moving and beautifully written piece! Great job!!!

Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #14, by Frankie05 In Which Harry and Ron Discuss Everything BUT Quidditch - Veritaserum27 - Ravenclaw

14th August 2015:
Hey There,

This was wonderful. Such a short story with such a happy punch! I like that it started out as Harry and Ginny dated. Who was going to wait up for them. Obviously the whole school knows about them now that he kissed her in front of the common room. Also - great flashback to JKR in reference to the beast. I think that gets overlooked in the sixth book and I like that you touched on that.

In the moment, I like how it is Harry who calms Ginny down. She is revved up to yell at her brother, and Harry in the most innocent of touches calms her. I wanted to scream out YES!

Then the awkwardness that is supposed to set in from Ron waiting up for Harry. I like that you didn't give Ron a temper. I like that he was calm and calculated. I followed Harry's line of thought when Ron mentioned Quidditch. At first, I was confused - why is he takling about that? But then you clarified it! There was a bit more of of the conversations I didn't understand - like the reference to the Quaffle- but oh well. I miss a lot of things in life - ha. I just went back and reread the Quaffle part of the conversation - Ron is the Quaffle? either way, this story was fantastic. You aligned so many things up from the sport and the relationship! the only reason I was confused was my own lack of knowledge. Well done

Frankie

 Report Review

Review #15, by Penelope Inkwell Complete the Charm - InkStainedFingers - Ravenclaw

20th July 2015:
First off, i want to say that I think this fits Professor Flitwick brilliantly. I always thought he'd be the fun teacher, who genuinely would want students to enjoy his class even if they wouldn't ultimately take the N.E.W.T. for it, and that really came across here. I think Complete the Charm sounds like a brilliant idea! I wish I could play. I also love how you portrayed Hufflepuff House--cheerful, eager, competitive, hard-working, fun-loving, and good sports even when they lose. I like how everyone applauded for Sally-Ann and Wayne, even though they had been a dark horse team. I can't imagine that any of the other houses would have been quite as supportive, and it just really made me feel especially fond of the Hufflepuffs.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell Just Keep Swimming- Pheonix Potioneer- Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
This was such a clever idea! Wizarding Olympics! Why don't they have those? Well I like the idea that, in 2032, they shall. Roxanne did phenomenally, and I enjoyed her backstory, although to be honest I'm a little sad about the giant squid ;'(
That bit with the sharks.brrr, no thanks! But Roxanne did great. And then a sea monster and a GIANT SNAKE?! You always think the Next-Gen kids are gonna have it easier, but poor Roxanne's having to relive Hogwarts Year 2. But she succeeded, and I enjoyed reading all about it! Nice work!

For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #17, by Penelope Inkwell A Little Wedding Fun - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
Hahaha! The Weasley-Potter clan might get a little competitive, hmm? That was very cute. I liked the magical version of musical chairs--you came up with some very creative twists. It was like something out of a wedding from Alice in Wonderland. I was glad Albus beat James--he probably deserved it, as much as I'm assuming he pranked his little brother. And Lucy! Our champion! That she beat the son of George Weasley is quite a coup! But she's got Percy's "determined to be superior" genes, so we knew she could do it! Good show, Lucy! (I also very much enjoyed the hair-dying minds, especially since they were in theme with the wedding colors. Nice work!

--Penny
For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #18, by Penelope Inkwell Surviving Family (and Dragons): Charlie's perspective - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
This was a really cute idea! Normally I'm not as into action-y oneshots, but this was fun. I think you drew Percy in particular really well. I couldn't help but smile at some of his lines, especially, “I wasn’t about to take away your trophy. It would look ridiculous in my home," and “I sincerely hope you weren’t intoxicated when you wrote your name down.” He was very in-character. It was also nice to see Charlie interact with one of his brothers, particularly the prickliest one of all, since we so rarely see him in the books. I see that Fred and George aren't the only Weasleys who love a good prank :)

Nice job!

--Penny

For the House Cup, Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #19, by cherry_pop94 New Quidditch Event - StarFeather - Gryffindor

20th July 2015:
Hi Kenny! I'm here for the review you requested! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get here.

First of all, snowboarding is my other favourite thing. Seriously, I squealed a little when I read your request because I LOVE the half-pipe. Winter sports are a very big deal where I'm from, so this was right up my ally! I really enjoyed it!

This was also such a creative twist on the prompt. I love you've combined a muggle sport into this. Snowboarding is such an interesting sport to put into this, because even in the muggle world, snowboarding is a relatively new sport. It wasn't in the Olympics until 1998. I just really like the idea of wizards after the war being particularly in touch with muggle culture as a way to prevent more hateful and ignorant beliefs.

I also love that Harry is still in touch with muggle culture. He did grow up in a muggle house and he would probably still enjoy muggle things as an adult, especially muggle activities that he never got to indulge in as a child, such as watching television.

And Ginny! This really showed how creative she is, which is I think, a side of Ginny we don't often see. She really loves her sport and wants it to be innovative and fun - this is a great way to do that! People who don't generally enjoy Quidditch might get a kick out of this new event, and perhaps new kinds of athletes can join in too. I also love how she mentions that she wants to be a reporter at the end. I just really enjoy little tie-ins to canon events.

All in all, I thought this was a really wonderful and enjoyable story! Thanks for sharing!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #20, by alicia and anne Football - banshee -Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

YAY! I am finally reading your entry to the challenge! :D

Of course it's a Deamus! They make the world a better place. :D They're so cute, arguing over Football and Quidditch. They're really adorable and I can't help but smile along with this.

AWwww I love Dean's mum and step-dad, being there for him and accepting him for loving both genders. They're great parents.
I wonder how Dean and Seamus got together? And I wonder if Dean will ever get Seamus into West Ham? Although I agree with Seamus, Quidditch is so much better!

Can I just request that you write more adorable Seamus and Dean together?

I wonder how often they argue about the two sports? I bet it's quite a lot haha

 Report Review

Review #21, by alicia and anne Headless Polo - Jayna - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I love how you've explained the game in the beginning. I was trying to work out how they would all play the game, but if they could just literally use their own heads, that makes it easier to understand. :D

Ahh! Is Lee Jordan commentating? That's brilliant! I bet he's loving it! Wait... does that mean that everyone's dead? :O

OMG! I cheered when an audience member was thrown into the crowd! This is brilliant! I love that they're all just making up their own rules now!

This was wonderful and so entertaining! Such a fantastic read. :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by alicia and anne Ravenclaw vs. Hufflepuff - Dojh167 - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I admire you for writing Quidditch scenes, I know exactly how hard they are (I still don't know why I picked to write an entire novel on it. I must be crazy) But you've written the match very well. I love how Lee gets bored and so decides to try and make it more fun by adding his own things in. Lee is unbelievably hilarious in saying that people are sassy and Icy stares are being given out. I wonder how the players feel about that. I know that I find it hilarious, I can't stop laughing, I love it so much! So a massive Kudos to you for that.

Awww that was a really sweet ending! I'm glad that Cedric got that many points for kissing :P If only they were real haha.

This was brilliant and it's such an original idea! :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by rosiful Just Don't Get Caught - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
This was so funny! I love that Ginny and Andrew are going to fill Fred and George's shoe by becoming pranksters themselves, and it's always good to see Umbridge in some sort of trouble! You've actually come up with so many different, and plausible, pranks for this (which is so great! Dying hair is way too common as a prank now!)! Very creative! My favourite would have to be switching the cat plates for toilet seats! That's so funny!!

Ginny was awesome in this story too. I think you really did her character justice. She might be a bit hot-heated and angry at Andrew to begin with, but that doesn't stop her from wanting to cause some trouble! I'm glad she won in the end, that last line was brilliant!

Rosiful
Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #24, by rosiful How to be a Muggle in Three Easy Steps - Jayna - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
This is so clever! When I saw the summary I knew I had to read this story, and I'm super glad I did! I usually don't read anything 'how to' (Including important instructions.. I just wing it a lot of the time!), but this was just too awesome to pass up. I actually really love the style of writing you picked for this, it's written in a very serious and informative way and doesn't break from this style at all, but you've managed to weave lots of humor in there for us! My first thought was that this was written by Lockhart, the narration just has his sort of arrogance to it, but I'm not really sure!

My favourite part was definitely #2. Bite your tongue. The whole thing was just so funny!!

I wonder how you came up with this concept, it's so original and really awesome!

Rosiful
Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #25, by MargaretLane Just Don't Get Caught - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
House Cup 2015. Ravenclaw.

I like the comment about how Ginny kind of liked Andrew and how he would have got on well with Fred and George. It sort of gives us an introduction to him and lets us guess at the sort of person he probably is.

I think Ginny is being a bit harsh here. There is a BIG difference between getting the group in serious trouble and just remaining outside things. Most of the school didn't join Dumbledore's Army, after all. But it's in character for Ginny to be sort of judgmental of those who don't.

LOVE the line about how she hated noises more than using wands.

That part about replacing the cat plates with toilet seats is amusing. I wonder if Andrew did that. If so, I reckon this will be declared a draw.

*grins at Ginny winning* But they all won really, because Umbridge was beaten.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>