Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Rules of Motherhood
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Dreamer, Writer, Mother

25th April 2017:
Ooh, a very interesting fic - Molly wants to become a writer, wow! I never envisioned her that way but she totally could, I suppose. I love the opening of this chapter really, talking about common dreams and unusual dreams like any other girl. It is interesting that she never wanted to get married - that is a new spin to her character right there and so hard to visualise, so it'll be super interesting to see how she becomes the most awesome mother ever! Her wanting to "wield the magic of words" is also a lovely idea and your descriptions or metaphor of that is fantastic.

Of course then things changed and I liked how you wrote that - she found Arthur and realised she did not need to run away from marriage because she could still be herself alongside someone who loved her. Yet, the pregnancy, of course it hits her hard. It is a huge change and definitely one that I could see her thinking would cause her to give up her dreams. It being too early to have children, less than a year after marriage, and her reaction of the tears and the worry and the empty room, it all fit in together to make sense, and my heart went out to her. The ending broke my heart - she threw the book in the trash can, ghosh. It was like her entirely letting go of her dreams. When she found the book, I thought she would find it within herself to live up to that little Molly's dream and start writing, but alas. Sad note at the end for sure but am curious to read on how she learns to embrace her motherhood and maybe achieve her dreams too!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ABla Dreamer, Writer, Mother

25th April 2017:
Coming into this story, I didn’t quite know what to expect. I’ve read plenty of stories about Molly before, but never one that resonated with me so clearly as this one.

That she had dreams is not surprising or even a new concept – everyone has dreams, it’s what propels us forward. But secret dreams – those kept close to the heart and never uttered out loud? To be a writer?

*swoons*

You had me hook, line and sinker at that point. Her yearning to spin magic from words, her certainty that her parents wouldn’t understand – it’s like you dipped into my own head and childhood!

This line: “And as surely as she held onto these dreams, she knew that there were certain things, dreams that other children fantasized about, that she had no desire for. For one thing, she knew that never would get married.”

Merlin’s balls, that was me, spot on!

And finding out she was pregnant and realizing the enormity of the change about to happen in her life? I’m beginning to wonder if you’re a mind reader, because that’s exactly how I felt when it happened to me.

By all that’s holy, Molly kept notebooks she used to write bits of stories in, and was always waiting for the real story to come to her? And she also had a notebook that she never used but that was special to her and she tossed into the trash? OMG – what magic is this!?

*crafts a tinfoil hat and jams it on*

Stop! Get out of my head! I can’t handle it! lol

All joking aside, good Lord but this opening chapter is freaking awesome! You are my new favorite author!

 Report Review

Review #3, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx Weasels

11th July 2016:
Hey Sam!! I originally said that I was going to review every single chapter, but I got so sucked into the story that I couldn't even take my mind off of it for long enough to write little reviews! Now that I'm done reading what you have so far, however, I will tell you how I feel. Please tell me that it's true that this is a work in progress! I can't go without this!! Your writing is absolutely phenomenal and I really love delving into the early lives of Molly and Arthur Weasley. I would really love to see how they get through having each and every one of their children. There are so many things I need to know!
How does Molly react when she learns she has twins?
When exactly does she realize that she really wants a daughter?
Will Arthur be there for the birth of any of his children? (I think he should!!!)
How does Molly cope with what happens to Alice and Frank shortly after the birth of Neville?
Does Molly decide to stop having children or is she not capable of having any more?
I also have sort of a suggestion, just an idea. When you have seven children, it's extremely likely that you've had at least one miscarriage. Although it may be difficult and definitely emotional to write, I think it could be the source of much growth for Molly. Getting through it would make her a better person in the long run, stronger than before. I think she would develop an even deeper appreciation for her children as well. It could also stand as a bonding experience for her and Arthur, if he is there during and to help her get through it afterwards. I think it could be something that really starts solidifying their relationship.
Like I said, just a suggestion, but I think it would add another dimension to the story!
I really more is added to this story, I couldn't deal with it being over!! I absolutely adore your writing and thank you so much for sharing it! I would love more!!
Sophia

Author's Response: Last review!

I totally don't blame you for jumping forward, and I really appreciate all the reviews you did leave. I take it as a compliment that you were too engaged to slow down and comment!

I don't want to explicitly answer any of your questions, because things always change while writing and I wouldn't want to accidentally have to contract my answer, so here are some hints at answers instead.

The more relevant version of your question is how does Molly react when she raising twins given the deaths of her twin brothers.

I will decline to state on Molly's feelings about having a daughter, but I look forward to writing it.

Arthur will have several more chances for Molly to let him in the room while she gives birth, I'm sure it will happen ;)

Molly will certainly have trouble with the deaths of Frank and Alice. And Fabian and Gideon. And Aetella. Yes, being surrounded by so much death, and the deaths of other parents, will definitely inform her character and they way she interacts with her family.

I have definitely considered a miscarriage story line, and I expect it will be included if I get that far in the story. Thank you for your suggestion =)

Sadly, as I said in my PM, although this is a WIP it is far on the back burner for me (like the back burner in an extra kitchen I rarely visit), so you shouldn't expect updates soon. However, I do adore this story and mean to finish it at some point. If/when I do, I will PM you to let you know there is more up.

Again, thank you so, so much for all of your glowing and enthusiastic feedback. It really made my day, and I hope that at some point I can make your day with more of this story!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx Male Bonding

10th July 2016:
This seriously needs to be made into a movie. Like now. Right now.

Author's Response: Right, I'll get on that.

Wait I'm not Hollywood.

Darn.


 Report Review

Review #5, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx Welcome to Motherhood

10th July 2016:
I just love that Molly is forming a love for her child and is forming new/strengthening old friendships. Yay!
Sophia

Author's Response: I kind of adore that your reviews are getting shorter as you rush through the story. It really shows how into it you are and that you want to hurry onto the next chapter, but you still want to let me know how much you love it



Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx William Arthur Weasley

10th July 2016:
Yay! Beautiful!!! I'm so happy that you didn't skip over the part of Molly's labor like most authors would...and it was just stunningly beautiful. And yay, I'm so happy that it was Aestella who helped Molly give birth and got to name Bill! I'm sad Arthur wasn't there for the birth of his son, but it was beautiful nonetheless. And the fact that as soon as Molly saw her child all of her opinions about being a mother melted away and she felt so overwhelmed by emotions at her amazing baby is just so heartwarming. Amazing!!
❤️Sophia

Author's Response: I am glad that you liked this chapter! I am not certain that I did a very realistic job with it, and the feedback I've gotten there certainly varies. But I'm glad that in your case, the fact that I didn't have first hand experience of childbirth to fall back on didn't detract from the story.

I love Luna, and I couldn't write a story set at the Burrow and not include the Lovegoods!

Again, I did want to avoid the romantic ideal that once you have a child your fears and doubts are gone and you are a natural. But I think it is still valid that Molly could have that feeling when seeing her child for the first time. Of course, the fears and doubts will be back =P

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx Bulging

10th July 2016:
Tears actually came to my eyes while I was reading this chapter. I'm so happy that Molly finally was able to admit her feelings about motherhood, and it made me even more happy that she finally just let it all out to Arthur. Feels ☺️
This chapter also gave me lots of laughs, with Molly's interesting "friends!"
I absolutely adore this story, and your writing.
Sophia

Author's Response: YES, TEARS! MWAHAHA

But I'm glad that this chapter gave you laughs as well. This first section is so heavy and angsty, so I am glad that you are able to find some smiles in it. Molly's friends are interestingly frustrating alright, and I wasn't sure if they would be received with laughs or eye rolls - I'm glad that for you it was the former.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx Pink Pamphlets

10th July 2016:
Sophia here. This chapter really made me start thinking even more in depth about Molly. As I said in a previous I review, I always viewed Molly as the perfect mother, with no fears about motherhood at all. Seeing this part of her that is just so unsure about herself and her child is so amazing because it makes you realize that nobody's perfect: even Molly Weasley, the perfect mother had doubts in the beginning. It's awesome!

Author's Response: I am glad to hear that from the beginning this story made you think about Molly deeper, and several chapters in you are still reconsidering your perceptions.

No mother knows what they are doing 100% of the time. And when they start out, most mothers know what they are doing 0%. It is incredibly stressful to be responsible for another life and have them threaten to entirely take over what you are. I think that it shows wisdom to be uncertain - nobody knows everything about raising children, and certainly no new mother does.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx Parties and Kisses

10th July 2016:
Sam!! I absolutely love the depth you can put into your stories! Most authors would just have, "Arthur and Molly are married, happy marriage, that's that, no other thoughts about it. But you add this whole other dimension to their relationship that makes it seem so much more real! Molly questioning the realness of her marriage, along with the mixed emotions she felt towards the events of the party, make their marriage seem so much more authentic! I absolutely love it!!
Cheers, Sophia

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!

The year before I wrote this I wrote a story on Andormeda for NaNo, which is the first novel I finished and very close to my heart, but I did make that mistake - I gave a lot of depth to Andromeda, but almost entirely talked about it instead of showing it, and so with this story I wanted to show as much of Molly's character and development through her dialogue and action in scenes, rather than summarizing it in narration. I've gotten better at doing that since this story and am glad to hear you think it works here.

I'm really glad that you like this chapter. Things are pretty angsty and dreary at the beginning here, and even I get impatient with it wanting to get ahead to the cuteness of the kids XD

Your feedback is all very appreciated.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx Mrs. Prewett

10th July 2016:
Sophia again!! I love the idea that even though Molly did not have a very good maternal figure to base herself off of, we all know that she becomes an amazing mother. It shows her independence and ability to live her life her own way. And I love that she is using her writing dream to keep a list of all the rules of motherhood, because in doing this she is making the two parts of life she believed could not exist together, writing and motherhood, one. This is still amazing! Keep being awesome!!

Author's Response: Molly being a naturally perfect mother was an assumption I really wanted to examine with this story. By making her mother a poor role model, it gave her an added challenge, but also gave her something for her spitfire spirit to fight back against. If she had a decent mother she might not have the same amount of apprehension about raising children, and it is having that that makes her determined to be better than her mother and to give her children something better than what she had. It is also a reminder to her that growing up with loving support is far more important than growing up with money.

I'm glad you like how Molly's writing is being incorporated!

(also, I love your enthusiastic praise. I will indeed keep being awesome)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by xJustAnotherWeasleyx Dreamer, Writer, Mother

10th July 2016:
Hey Sam! I have already favorited this story and am eagerly waiting on the edge of my seat for more! As other reviewers have said, it is such a treat to read about Molly in this new light. I had always viewed her as a human nothing short of the best mother in existence, somehow managing to show infinite love for every last on one of her children. Although it was clear Molly was definitely a warrior and had substance, I still knew that deep down she was a momma bear through and through. However, now I'm able to experience this whole new side of Molly: a side that isn't even sure she wants kids at all. It's so amazing to read this and think about how she turns out, it just goes to show that hardships and self doubt, if you overcome them, can turn you into a better person. Molly Weasley is my favorite character in Harry Potter, and I feel seeing this part of her made me love her even more!
I will make it a point to review every single chapter!! And I know I'm late, but once I become current with the story, I will follow it closely!
You are a phenomenal writer, thank you for sharing your gift!
-Sophia

Author's Response: Hello again!

I just replied to your PM on FF and am excited to read the more specific feedback in your many reviews! =D

I am really glad to hear that you like this different interpretation of Molly. I love putting new spins on minor characters that people have a lot of assumptions about, and I was really interested to look out o=how Molly, who in the series who is portrayed as the epitome of motherdom, grows into that role. Also, since Molly is your favorite character, it's great to have my version approved by a true fan XD

I think that often mothers are viewed as existing entirely for their families and people sometimes forget that they have lives beyond that. Not to say that Molly doesn't love and prioritize her family beyond all else because it is clear from the books that she does. However, she obviously didn't always have that family, and was just as full and rich a person before that. With this story I wanted to look at who that person was and how that merges with the perception people have with her as "the best mother in existence" and how the latter doesn't replace the first, but is stronger because of it. Also, Molly is such a a Weaasley through and through, and I really had to give her a healthy helping of that Weasley passion and fire (which was really fun to balance with a more laid back version of Arthur, but my response seems to be getting away from me in length and relevance here).

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Felpata Lupin Parties and Kisses

21st December 2015:
Hi Sam!
Here again for your Hot Seat!
This chapter was pretty tense! And once again a great read!!! :)

I can't believe Arthur knew and didn't say anything. And organized the party instead... And I can't believe Molly didn't say anything sooner, and that she made such a scene in front of everyone. They really should've talked to each other sooner... but I can't blame either of them. Becoming parents is such a new and scary experience for both. And both reaction are so very in character, I believe! :)

I'm a bit sad for Alice. I can imagine she would be mortified... but I'm sure she understands.
And I hope Molly and Arthur will talk in the morning and put up with each other. But I'm sure I don't have to worry about it. :) By the way, Arthur is really a great husband!

Thank you for a wonderful read!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #13, by Felpata Lupin Mrs. Prewett

19th December 2015:
Hi, Sam!
Here for your Hot Seat, and also because I've been away from this lovely story for way too long!!!

Oh, my... Molly's mother... I don't blame Molly at all for getting so angry! Being insulted like that (because that's what she did) by someone who should be your guidance, who should give you love and support... I'm so angered myself!!!

I love how Molly took back her book and the use she put it to! I also loved the final title (and the attempted ones before it)

I expect her to make a lot of mistakes as the years go by, and taking notes of them all. But despite all the mistakes, and despite the awful example she had in her own mother (really, I was reminded of Walburga Black...) we know how great of a mother Molly will be! :D

I just had this thought, that maybe when Ginny gets married, Molly will give her the book. And maybe it will be passed from mother to daughter in the generations to come. I love the idea...

Now I have to go. But I'll probably be back again soon! :)

All my love, hugs and kisses!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #14, by Freda_and_Georgina Bulging

18th December 2015:
Hello! This is Georgina here for your Hot Seat day! This story appealed to me especially since the later chapters had one to no reviews and since we're all busy people I decided to start reviewing where the chapters had the least amount of love. But I promise I did read all the earlier chapters, I just felt this one was the one I needed to take the time to review.

So, this story: I haven't been pregnant (yet) so I can't really judge how realistic Molly's pregnancy is. So far she doesn't seem to have much morning sickness, but that could be because she's used magic to ease the sickness (or "medical attention from friends" I believe she told the muggle).

The idea of Molly not wanting to ever be a mother is interesting seeing as how she's such an amazing one in the books. I kind of assumed she always had that instinct of mothering, which is what caused her to have so many children. But you pose an interesting idea of how she wasn't ready when she had Bill. This is very intriguing and I look forward to how you blossom her mothering in later chapters.

This chapter in particular wasn't the most action-packed, but it did give a nice insight into how Molly felt halfway through her pregnancy. One complaint; though you have her complaining and stuff like that, you don't really delve into her hormone-induced emotions. I think it would really add another layer to this story to go more into how she feels and all the waterfalls of that.

But, overall, this is a nice chapter in a really intriguing story. I like how you have Molly and her friends and how it works with Arthur and all that. Keep it going, you've got so much fun stuff here.

Hope you get many reviews your hot seat day!
--Georgina

 Report Review

Review #15, by TearsIMustConceal Dreamer, Writer, Mother

28th November 2015:
Hi Sam! I am so, so sorry about not reviewing this sooner – I completely forgot about my review thread until recently so to make it up to you, I promise to review all of this story and make it one of my favourites. I feel really awful about forgetting.

Anyway, I absolutely adored this! I loved this side of Molly – we're so used to seeing motherly Molly that this take on her is really refreshing! It's strange to hear her voice her thoughts on not wanting marriage and not seeing herself as a mother and that her dreams are so important to her – this makes me think of Rose in a way and it's nice to think that maybe her determination didn't all come from Hermione.

I love that we see this part of her – we see her dreams but we also see her worries and fears – growing up is a scary thing and it's nice to see you portray this so realistically – it makes sense that once upon a time, before her mothering and buckets of love, she was once young and struggled with impending maturity and just wanted to follow her dreams, not certain expectations!

I don't want her to give up! She should carry on – and I think Arthur is sweet enough to help her do that. And of course, we know in the end she is the best mother!

I cannot wait to read the next chapter! And as for your concerns about flow and errors, everything is perfect and I'm excited to continue!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Hello Vicki!

No worries about not reviewing sooner (I say as I respond to your review four months later)

While it makes sensethat, based on when we get to know Molly of the course of the books, we primarily associate her with being a mother, but obviously that couldn't have been the case all her life, so I wanted to examine that journey.

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #16, by merlins beard Little Battles

25th November 2015:
Hey Sam,
I'm just stopping by to let you know I'm still reading and enjoying this a lot :)
I love how cute the end of this chapter is and it's so sweet whrn Bill decides that battle for them by speaking his first word. Aw

I noticed a few small typos, maybe run spellcheck over it agian? Nothing major tho.
I also noticed a few other things as well, concerning a baby's development. I don't know how much time you have spent around babies lately, so what I noticed may just be because all babies are different and we both experienced different things with them. I still want to point these things out just in case. So Bill is almost a year old now if I understood that correctly, right?
A one year old is usually just starting to walk and talk, you got that bit perfectly right. What startled me is that Molly seems to be exclusively brestfeeding.
You wouldn't be able to Vthat with a one year old. With my niece and nephew, we started giving them mashed fruits and veggies and soups when they were about 3 or 4 months old. A one year old even has some teeth. They get crackers and bread and pieces of apples and strawberries and other things. While maybe Molly doesn't want to give him that stuff yet, he would certainly be asking for it. Breastfeeding alone would not be enough to sustain a toddler. I'd add at least the mashed fruit and veggies...

Wow this is quite a lengthy bit about feeding toddlers. I hope i didn't misunderstand anything and that you do find it at least a little bit helpful.

I hope you know that I really like this story. I'll definitely continue reading and reviewing. I'm certainly not an expert about babies, but if you do want someone to ask about something, you can always contact me :)

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #17, by merlins beard Male Bonding

9th September 2015:
Okay final chapter for now, theb I'm all caught up!

Oh I love love love this chapter. I can't find much to criticize in it at all. You got it all in there, the parenting stuff sounds about right, and I love what Molly does. I love that Arthur needs time to adjust, just as Molly did at the beginning of her pregnancy. Arthur didn't experience the changes until now, so it's good that he is allowed a little freak-out time as well.

The one thing you could probably still increase a little bit are the descriptions. I'd love to have read more about Arthur's facial expressions, especially when opening/smelling the dirty nappy, or after the slight mishap right after that.

This was a very good chapter, naybe your best so far. And I really really enjoyed it.

~Anja

Author's Response: Yay, caught up!

Hehe, I love this chapter two. It has a sweetness that is characteristic of some of my favorite chapters later on.

Again, I totally get what you mean by my descriptions being lacking. It's something that I'm keeping in mind with my current writing, but because this story (at least the first 75k words) were written years ago, you shouldn't expect to see too much progress in that area for this story.

Thank again for yet another review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by merlins beard Welcome to Motherhood

9th September 2015:
Hello again,

I hope I didn't offend you with my last review.

This chapter was better on the description side, even though not too much happened. I feel like Molly's Rule number 6 is 100% true.

It's good that she has friends over, and especially the ones she chooses to invite. All the others would probably be a hassle mor than anything else, while these two are a real support.

The only thing I noticed was that if Molly was feeding the baby upstairs with Alice there, it would have taken much longer. It takes ages for newborns to drink, I've seen young mothers sit there for an hour and have the baby fall asleep while drinking because the suckling is so exhausting for them.
I'm not even sure if she did feed William upstairs or if she's going to feed him after they go downstairs, you didn't mention that.

That's only a really small thing though, so please don't be discouraged. And it's only what I have come to know about newborn babies, maybe you have different experiences. If that's the case, I'd be very interestes to hear about them.

~Anja

Author's Response: Hello again, yourself!

No, I was not offended by your review, though it was less positive than I had hoped. I took a few days to respond, but I hope you still see my explanations and that my response makes sense to you.

I agree that not much happened in this chapter. I kind of saw it as a transitional chapter. The strength and joy of this stories comes with the children beginning to grow up, but I wanted to be careful not to rush into that too quickly.

I'm glad that she is finding good support in Frank, Alie, and Aestella as friends. You are right to say that her old friends would be a bit too much of a hassle. More on that soon.

I did mean that she took William downstairs to continue feeding him, I guess that wasn't too clear.

Thanks for another review.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins beard William Arthur Weasley

9th September 2015:
Hey there. I'm finally getting back to my reading list, so here I am.

There's quite a bit I have to say about this chapter too.

So William Arhtur Weasley is finally here. I bet he's a cutie.
I love how you work in all the details you need. I don't have children, but I have a few nieces and nephews, and I was there for one birth. I can tell that you tried to go into detail with your description, but it just didn't feel emotional enough for me. I think it would be nice to have still more description in the part where Molly gives birth. It's a very hard thing to write about, and I think you're really brave for taking it on and not skipping over it like so many others do.
Giving birth is also much more messy than you described. I would suggest watching a birth video on the net if you haven't experienced it, but I wouldn't want to scare you...

One other little thing that stuck with me was that molly sleeps for a bit and then says she feels better. It sounds so blaze... the woman has squished a kid with a head the size of a small pumpkin out of her lady parts, (and since she was at home and it happened really really fast - especially for the first kid - she probably tore something as well)... she'll be feeling like poopie for a few days at least.

I like that Arthur is really really confused when he gets home. Also, good choice in who you had come to molly's rescue. I think it's very sweet to let Aestella choose the name and be godmother. I'm wondering why she didn't call a healer tho.

I really like where you're going with this story. If you decide to work on your description a bit, let me know. I'd love to have a look at the chapter again if you do change something.

Also, feel free to pm me if you ever need help with that story, or description or if you have questions about the reviews, and I'll do my best to explain myself.

~Anja

Author's Response: Hello Anja,

I'm so glad to see you back, and I'm really flattered that you read all three new chapters. You get a hug for being this story's most loyal reader.

I was a little confused by your review. You said "You love how you work in all the details you need" but then go on to say that it's not detailed enough, and don't make it clear which details you were referring to that worked for you.

However, your critique is totally warranted. In my defense, I will say that I wrote this story seven years ago, and at a point in my life when I had a pretty strong idealization of motherhood.

Furthermore, description has always been something that I struggle with as a writer. I am really not a very visual person at all. I writing, dialogue and emotions make the most sense to me. Physical description is much more difficult for me to access. However, because this is something I am aware is a shortcoming in my writing, I have been focusing on lately (to the point that I wrote a chapter focusing on description and was told that I overdid it).

My focus with RoM is giving each chapter a simple edit focusing on spelling, grammar, and awkward sentences and then posting it. I know that parts of it do need more thorough edits, but that requires more time and effort than I want to spend on it right now, as my priority is writing new work. However, the process of going through this story and posting it is getting me excited about it again after not looking at it for several years, so hopefully I will get to a point where I will give it greater focus.

Thank you very much for your review and honest feedback.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Mr Penn Dreamer, Writer, Mother

23rd August 2015:
Bravo! This was certainly one of the more original chapters I have read. Molly Weasley is one of the few characters that people do not wish to experiment with and the fact that you have tried and succeeded in showing a very different Molly from what we usually see is commendable indeed.

More than anything else though, this chapter reminded me strongly of my own young days when I tried to give a hand at writing and making my own brand of magic. The story seems to be as much a commentary on all aspiring writers as it is about the life of Molly Weasley before she became the Mrs Weasley we all knew and adored.

All in all, a great chapter.

Author's Response: Hello!

I definitely agree with the fact that a lot of readers don't try to experiment much with Molly, but I think that's unfortunate. I think there is a lot of depth to her character, and by being content to let her occupy only the space of a dutiful wife and mother is a disservice to her.

And, of course, I love re-imagining characters with more depth, so how could I resist?

I am glad that you enjoyed this first chapter and were able to relate to Molly.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Felpata Lupin Dreamer, Writer, Mother

30th July 2015:
Sam!!!
Oh, my! This was just so beautiful!!!

I loved your interpretation of Molly's character, a strong and independent young woman who wants to live her life fully and without constrictions and fulfilling her dreams.

And I love that her dream is being a writer. It's the dream of all of us around here, so I can very much sympathize! Words really have a magic on their own, and I loved how you wrote it. The miracle of a thought that become words that become ink on paper that become the dearest companion of enthusiastic readers. There is something poetic and moving about it!

I loved how you wrote the shock of pregnancy. I'm not a mother, so I can't know, but it isn't so difficult to imagine that it is something that simply revolutionize one's life. And that's another form of magic that simply trascend comprehension.

I feel like she'll be proven wrong... I'm sure she will write. And we all know that she can be a mother. And a wonderful mother at that! Motherhood might be exactly the inspiration she'd been waiting for all her youth. It's only a theory, of course... But maybe I'm right...

I really adored this, Sam! Such a sweet start to your story, and written wonderfully!!! I'll be back here. Maybe not soon, but I'll be!

Thank you so much for the swap!!!
Hugs and kisses and tons of love,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hello Chiara!

I am glad you like my interpretation of Molly. To me she is such a strong, independent woman who bring s passion to whatever she does. By the time Harry knows her she has decided to dedicate that passion to her children, but obviously she wasn't always a mother, and I was very interested in what that journey looked like for her.

I'm glad you like this so much - thanks for the review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #22, by alicia and anne Dreamer, Writer, Mother

30th July 2015:
Awww I love the idea of Molly wanting to become a writer, I think that she would be such a great writer.

I really love that you've written a story about Molly, and having this little snippet of her life before she became a mother, I also love how you have her not being too happy about marriage and saying that she couldnt' be a mother. It's not the Molly that we know later on, but it makes sense that she's worried and scared. I love that you portrayed that.

Oh no! I don't want her to give up on her dream! I really hope that the next chapter is Arthur taking it back out of the bin and helping her pursue her dream! AND SHE IS GOING TO BE THE BEST MOTHER! WE ALL KNOW THAT!!

A fantastic start to the story!

Author's Response: Hello! Congrats on getting through your crazy 24 hours!

I think I probably put a lot of myself into Molly. Granted, I wrote this at 17 and had never been pregnant, but I used it as a way to explore a lot of my feelings about femininity and family. And obviously writing.

I'm glad you enjoyed this!

Sam.



 Report Review

Review #23, by merlins beard Bulging

20th July 2015:
Hey Sam.
this time, the new chapter and the Amazing Race actually happen all at once! (lucky for me). I'm here for the 2015 House Cup for Ravenclaw!

Oh my, Shopping. this is my absolute HORROR! I only go shopping when mum makes me because I don't have anything to wear anymore... but maybe baby shopping could be fun - all the cute little clothes and shoes. and apparently it's OK for babies to wear all the cute themed stuff that I can't wear... Yeah I might actually have fun there. Molly's friends are still a little overbearing but nice and want to help her. I find the comparison between childbirth and a funeral a little macabre but strangely fitting. They are pretty much opposite events - one time a new life enters the world and the other one is taken away. yet there are still similarities... Food, flowers, celebration,...
I think the book Molly has started to write helps her a lot. It's really good that she has found a way to relief her stress. It's SUCH A BIG STEP that she talks to Arthur about being afraid, and an equally big and important one that Arthur admits that he is scared too. they can do this together, they can talk about it and be there for each other. I think this chapter is very important for the story and Molly is slowly developing and growing stronger. I'm really looking forward to the next chapter. See you then

~Anja

Author's Response: Yay for a well timed TAR! And yay for me finally getting to my response...

Haha, I've always HATED shopping, so it was very natural for me to write this as such an unpleasant experience for Molly, especially considering all of the pressure she is under. I do think baby clothes are cute and sometimes I like looking at them at stores, but that is only because I'm not pregnant and so there is no pressure. If I was, that would be a very different story.

I agree that Molly's friends mean well, but their perspective is so very different from hers already. They are still stuck in their teenage mindset, and she is having to grow up very suddenly.

I know everyone would be glad to read about Molly finally talking honestly with Arthur. I know I was glad to write it! She's still got a ways to go, but she's definitely making progress.

Thanks for reading!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #24, by cherry_pop94 Mrs. Prewett

20th July 2015:
Hello! I'm here for the House Cup 2015 representing Ravenclaw!

I read the first chapter of this quite a while ago and never seemed to have time to come back, but here I am now! And I'm very glad that I did return. This was a really interesting chapter!

I was really shocked by Molly's relationship with her mother. I suppose that I always assumed that someone as loving and maternal as Molly Weasley learnt it from her own mother, but this relationship actually makes a lot of sense with the Molly Weasley you've described.

I get the sense that Molly is afraid of motherhood because perhaps she fears being like her mother. I know I certainly feel that way sometimes. But, now I also understand how Molly became super-mother in the future. I don't want to say it was to spite her own mother, but it is a way to prove herself to a woman who never believed.

And I adore the ending where Molly starts writing. Pregnancy is a difficult time, so it's lovely that she's combining it with something she loves. I cannot wait to read the rest and find out how she tells Arthur!

Thanks for sharing this!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hey Stefanie,

I'm glad you came back for this story!

In my experience, a lot of people who are deeply caring and nurturing know what it is like to go without those things in life, and therefor places much more value on them. As Molly came from a pure blood family, this seemed like an interesting thing to play around with to me. It also was a great setup for a young Molly who is not totally prepared for motherhood and has a lot of learning and growing to do, which is just much more interesting storytelling than her being a confident natural mother from the start.

Thanks for the review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Roisin Dreamer, Writer, Mother

18th July 2015:
Hey, here for the swap!

I'm a super big fan of pre-writing stories, so I was stoked to see that this was a finished NaNo project :D

I love the idea that you're writing from Molly's perspective. She's such an archetypical Mother Figure in canon, and I love the idea that you've fleshed out her own internal world.

That Molly wants to be a writer was such a great attribute to give her. And smart, because a) most of us around here can relate, and b) because YEAH, language arts were NOT cultivated at Hogwarts!

That Molly doesn't want to get married is an interesting twist, because she's such a WIFE in canon. I'm so curious to see how you explore that. (there's a missing word in that sentence, though: "For one thing, she knew that [she] never would get married") You you really have gone a new and interesting direction with her, but still so believably! You've maintained all of her ardent passion, and it makes sense that that quality would be one that would have always been there--even before she had (or wanted) kids.

It definitely seems like her hesitation in telling Arthur she's pregnant has a lot more to do with /her/ than it does with /him./ Like, she's just not ready to say those words yet.

I can't wait to see how you characterize her moving forward. Like, we all know where she's going, but I'm curious about how she gets there. And even knowing her canon personality, that's only one facet from Harry's POV, I'm sure there would be a lot more to her.

I super dig this story and will def read on. Do you have any interest in maybe doing something of a long-term swap?

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much for the generous review.

This story has been sitting on my computer for several years, and I'm glad I'm finally posting it. The trade-off there is that, because it is several years old, my style has evolved since writing this, and there's only so much I can do to edit it without doing a huge re-write. Which I don't really want to do!

I am really glad to hear you enjoy my characterization of Molly! I had fun writing her =)

I would love to do a long term review swap. It sounds like we'd end up reading each others' stories anyway!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>