Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for At The Lake
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore At The Lake

17th June 2016:
Hey Sam! I love your writing but I haven't read anywhere near enough of it, and this event is a great chance to get to read more ♥

I absolutely loved this story. Gabrielle Delacour is one of those really minor characters that I've always been interested in but I don't think I've actually ever read a fic about her. And then to find a story that's so beautiful and beautifully written was really great :D

The way that you managed the dual timelines here was brilliant, too. It was such a fantastic idea to combine the two times together to tell the story all at once, and you managed to segue the two together seamlessly. I loved the fact that we managed to get the background for their story, back when Daphne and Gabrielle first met at the lakeside, and then we were transported to the present day, when they're getting married by the lakeside. I honestly didn't expect such a short story to be so complex, but you achieved it, and it was great. I loved the way that the responses in the present day followed on so well from the memories.

The flashbacks to when Gabrielle and Daphne met were so well written! Even from the few lines that we saw here, I could definitely imagine them sparking up a conversation and an attraction that would blossom into love over the years. When Gabrielle was so scared (and who can blame her? The poor kid was tied up underwater for goodness' sake!), Daphne was the one to look out for her, and it seems like that's carried on to the present day.

The marriage vows seemed so simple and sparse, but you included just the right amount and the description was wonderful, and the balance between narrative and dialogue was just right. I really loved this ♥ Can you write more about Gabrielle and Daphne please? :P

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

Author's Response: Hey Sian!

I'm glad I checked into this site (which I'm not doing too much these days) to see your review!

I am really glad you enjoyed this story so much!

I actually wrote this kind of in reaction to some stories that I was reading, either for the EWC or just very short, where I was frustrated by the lack of action. It seems like people shy away from trying to actually do anything in these stories, and there are a lot that focus on summarizing events and summing up a character's feelings about them, which isn't very dramatically interesting. I wanted to be careful with my criticism, as at this point I mainly wrote longer pieces.

This was my first experimentation with such a short piece, and I really, really liked it. I find that short pieces actually are often better than long ones, in that they let you really focus in on what is significant about a specific moment, and don't let you waste any words on filler.

I am glad that you saw so much potential and hints at their relationship through what you got here, and while I do not have specific plans at the moment, I certainly hope to write more about this couple someday!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #2, by writeyourheartout At The Lake

27th August 2015:
Hi Sam! ♥

This. Was. Wonderful. Top to bottom, every phrase, every word. I'm so impressed. Where do I even begin?...

Your description is just... so lovely. That opening paragraph is such a beautifully worded introduction to this story. Literally three lines in and you have me already.

There's a real simplicity to this story; a peeled-back rawness that allows the emotions of both events to pour through unscathed and unburdened by excess drama or description or dialogue. It's just bare in a way that feels effortless. But of course it's also clear how much thought went into the story, too. I mean... the way you weaved the two stories into one another was gorgeous and perfect. You drew incredible parallels by telling two stories at once, and even with all the weaving it was never difficult to follow.

You know what? I've never really thought about how the second task of the Triwizard Tournament might have effected those that were taken as the possessions. I know they knew what was going to happen to them and weren't, like... kidnapped and shoved underwater without their consent, but still. For Gabriel especially, who was this really young girl at the time, in a school far from home, surrounded by people she doesn't know except for her sister... Yeah, I'd probably be a little traumatized, too.

That said, the near-ending made my heart ache for Fleur, too! I've never even given Fleur all that much thought, so I was surprised that when Gabrielle said, "She left me." it made me want to defend Fleur! I don't think that's a fair way for Gabrielle to be thinking of her sister, who obviously loves her more than anything (I mean... she was, after all, the favorite thing they took of Fleur's). At the same time, however, I do also sympathize with Gabrielle, who, again, is only, like, eight years old at the time and scared out of her mind. I just hope that was more of an in-the-moment type thought than something she held against Fleur her whole life. I suppose I shall never know... :-p

Gabrielle was reminded of the uncanny pale beauty of her veela relatives, but she saw none of their ferocious danger disguised in this girl’s loveliness. Could true beauty really exist without true horror? - Love this. Beautifully put. ♥

That very, very end, though... Gah! So beautiful. A really perfect parallel to have drawn, with that "I will never leave you," line. I barely know either of these characters, but even just this small glimpse painted enough of a picture and told an in-depth enough story that them ending up together sincerely pulled at my heartstrings. I think that's an incredibly difficult thing to accomplish, and in just 500 words, too! Serious kudos, Sam.

Wonderful job. I'm so glad I came to read a story of yours! I'm definitely going to have to check out some more of your author page soon, as I feel I've only just skimmed the surface of your talents!

xTanya

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, this is the best review ever!

I'm glad that you didn't mind me messing with your numbers ;) I was trying to encourage you to do reviews, but didn't expect you to come review one of my stories!

And you said such wonderful, marvelous things I'm just so flattered.

I'm glad that you didn't find this difficult to follow. I've gotten reviews saying that it is and isn't, and the more positive ones I get, the less likely I'm going to make myself re-work it, which feels like good news!

Thank you very much for your compliments on my description. That's actually not something that comes easy to me, and I've been trying to work on it lately.

Yeah, Gabrielle's experience during the second task wasn't something I'd thought of much either, but when I did I was like "Well, of course that's traumatic!" Actually, the scene in the movie where the "possessions" (ick) come out o the lake has always seemed so off to me, the way that they seem so casual - the last thing they knew they were in Dumbledore's office, and now they're coming out of the lake with the whole school watching them, not knowing who may have won or been injured or anything. I mean, at least bat an eye? But anyway.

I don't think Gabrielle would have held anything against Fleur. Her heart is too pure for that. However, I think that she certainly does have abandonment issues, and while she would never deliberately blame her sister for something that happened when she was a child, it definitely had an emotional impact. I am glad you want to defend Fleur! That's a good reaction that I wish more people had.

Fun fact about this story: I wrote it on my down time at work when nobody was looking at my computer.

Anyway, thank you SO much for your review. You really made my day and filled my heart. I hope you do check out other of my stories sometime. Based on the things you loved about this one, I imagine you'll enjoy When I Go Out With You.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #3, by FireOpalQueen At The Lake

17th August 2015:
Hullo, Sam! So, why am I reviewing this instead of the second chapter of When I Go Out With You? Er… well, I found a draft of a review for this in my Reviews Folder and decided to give the story a quick read through and finish it. I’ll go back to WIGOWY as soon as possible – I really appreciated the little preview you gave me, btw, it seems really promising. : )

The first thing I have to point out about this story is, sadly, a negative thing: there’s some sort of grammatical error in the opening line. It reads “Gabrielle’s long silky dress blew playfully in the wind, its hem whipping at her bare feet nestled as they in the grass.” but I think it’s supposed to be ‘as they nestled in the grass’. Pretty minor, but still worth pointing out as it’s the first impression of the story and all that…

Narrative technique-wise I really love the contrasts between ‘then’ and ‘now’ – like how nobody notices Gabrielle’s suffering in the past, contrasted with how everyone is staring at her now, and, of course, “She left me” vs “I will never leave you”. Ah, yes, those two ending lines are so perfect.

The 500 word stories really lend themselves to looking at a relationship dynamic between two characters in just one (or in this case, two!) moment(s) which, and you do this beautifully here. We don’t see much of Daphne, but she’s so /present/ to Gabrielle… I get the sense that she’s been pretty much a constant ’presence’ in Gabrielle’s mind ever since that day when she was a child and I love the idea of Gabrielle coming back to her after growing up and going through loads of relationships trying to capture something that she once got a taste of… And with Dahne’s promise to never leave her she’ll be a literal presence in Gabrielle’s life from now on. Aah, so romantic! : )

The pairing is so counterintuitive and it still works really well, at least with how I see these characters. Like, I’ve always imagined Gabrielle was a lesbian (I think I’ve mentioned somewhere my headcanon about veela and their relationship to sexuality and gender?) and I’ve also always imagined Daphne as a sort of kind and dignified counterpoint to the Pansy Parkinson we get to see in the books. (Actually, I have a lot of thoughts about the Daphne/Pansy dynamic, but this is not the place for that. Actually, I’ll stop writing now before this review is longer than the story itself…)

All in all, a lovely little story, and, as always, beautifully written!

/Kapa

Author's Response: Thank you so much, your reviews always make my day!

I already know that you love WIGOWY (which is fun to say out loud), and although I can't wait to hear more of your wonderful thoughts on it, I'm also really glad to see your thoughts on this one!

In several ways these stories are quite similar, in length of chapters and the fact that they are the only two stories I've written so far about queer female protagonists, they are mostly happy-romantic, and are very rare in that the main characters are not deeply psychologically damaged! Well, just a little bit for Gabrielle.

Thank you for the grammatical note. I swear, I had to read the sentence like five times o figure out what was wrong with it.

I've been having so much fun writing really vivid short stories. As I'm sure you've noticed.

I like your note about Daphne being so present to Gabrielle. That's a good way to put it. You also really understood the dynamic I was trying to imply between he two of them and their relationship, which can be hard when most people just see their age gap at first.

I don't think I've heard about your headcanon about veela regarding sexuality/gender, but it sounds very interesting and kind of in line with what I had for Gabrielle here, plus the fact that as only part veela Gabrielle felt a certain amount of natural isolation.

And I'd love to hear your Daphne/Pansy thoughts as well!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by bittersweetflames At The Lake

20th July 2015:
Hi, Sam! Back for more of your stories! How could I not? You are a spectacular author and I really enjoy your writing. :D First off, let us talk about the effectivity of your storytelling. You took this story and used two such PERFECT timelines and they were meshed so perfectly that I actually never realised that they were two different timelines. But, ok, ok... I wonder how you actually decided on doing Gabrielle and Daphne because now that I've read them of course I ship them! There's something so mystically beautiful and lovely between these two that I find myself really rooting for the two of them together. The ending, in particular, was my most favorite part! The part where Gabrielle, as a child, says that her sister left her at the bottom of the lake and how when they're making vows, Daphne promises never to leave her? HOW EFFECTIVE IS THAT? So very crazily effective! I love love love it! Well done, like all your other pieces. -is fangirling-


--Carla
House Cup 2015, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello Carla!

Thank you so much for your stalking of my page for the HC, it's very flattering!

I love that your main compliment is that my writing is effective, because that's just the best thing to hear.

I'm not sure whether it's a good thing or not that you didn't realize that they were two different timelines... Did that mean that you did not realize what was happening, or just that you were so engrossed in it that it didn't take you out of the action?

I know - I had never thought about them together before, but now I ship them forever! Weird. (plus that makes the Weasley's sister-in-law also Draco's sister-in-law)

I was assigned Astoria and Gabrielle for this story, but requested to switch Astoria to Daphne so that I could give them a happy ending, which is kind of a new thing for me. XD

Thank you so much for your compliments and fangirling!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by rosiful At The Lake

20th July 2015:
I always find it so amazing what people can do with just 500 words! Your short short is really impressive and quite beautiful too! Your descriptions were just amazing, from the silkiness of her dress in the wind to the beauty of how she saw Daphne, I have no idea how you managed to fit it all in and write it so well!

I love how their meeting and their marriage were running parallel with each other. They balance perfectly together, and it's quite sweet and romantic that they are getting married exactly where they first met each other. I really loved how the two stories sort of came together in the end, with Daphne saying that she would never leave her like Fleur had.

I also never, ever thought of putting these two characters together! So original! I wounder how you came up with it?

This was a really nice story, I really, really enjoyed reading it!

Rosiful
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hey Rosiful,

Thanks for your review!

Starting with this story, I've recently found a a love of writing short stories. I find it makes my writing a lot more powerful to be very intentional in which words I use.

I'm glad you liked y descriptions! They're something that I'm working on, and doing so in the context of a word limit is actually very helpful.

I was assigned Astoria and Gabrielle as a pairing. I immediately got this plunny of them meeting after the Second Task, though ended up requesting to change Astoria to Daphne so that I could give them a happy ending.

Thanks for your review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy At The Lake

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

This is really hauntingly beautiful, dear! Gabrielle seems to go through so much internal torment here, but it's also what's meant to be the happiest day of her life.

I think it's only natural that someone with Veela blood would automatically think that a beautiful person had Veela blood, too, and I also think it's only natural that she'd fear that someone would only be attracted to her because of her Veela blood - which, unfortunately, I'm sure might have been the case with some of her suitors.

I love the way you showed their meeting at the Black Lake after the Triwizard task, and how you mirrored that with them getting married at the same place - it's like there are two stories going on here at once, and it's brilliant, and it's very romantic that they get married where they first met!

I was very curious as to who 'left' Gabrielle - maybe she's talking about Fleur.. but I'm not sure. Either way, great job dear! Well done!

Author's Response: Hello Jayde!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my little story here.

I had a lot of fun here, writing the contrast of Gabrielle's emotional turmoil as a child and her sense of peace on her wedding day and how the two weave together in her relationship with Daphne.

I think that the characters with veela blood must have a pretty unique relationship to beauty and attraction, and I only began to explore this here.

It was supposed to be Fleur who "left" Gabrielle. In the flashback scene she is pretty understandably overwhelmed by coming out of the lake with a strange boy to the chaos of Hogwarts. She had gone under with the understanding that her sister would be there to save her, and when her sister failed that made the whole ordeal extra traumatic for little Gabrielle.

Thanks so much for your review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by LadyL8 At The Lake

20th July 2015:
Huffflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Sam. I told you I'd come read some of your stories eventually, but It's not really the same when it's for the House Cup. So I'll probably be back later when everthing's over and calmed down, so that I can fully enjoy your wonderful writing.

I''m a big fan of the Every Word Counts Challenge, simply because it's so interesting to see how writers do with just 500 words. And you did well, I can tell you, not that I expected otherwise of course. I still remember the lovely writing in that collab entry of yours, and my expectations were therefore igh before reading this. But I was not disappointed. As someone who tends to struggle with writing romance, I'm shocked and a little envious of how well you do it in just so few words. I could almost feel her love for Daphne. And they are such an interesting couple by the way. How on earth did you come up with the idea of pairing Gabrielle and Daphne? But anyway, I like that they are getting married, and I'm green with envy over your descriptions. It's breathtaking , and you absolutely have to teach me how to write it so well. I'm you going to bow down to you and your lovely writing, and thank you for the short and cute story. I loved it! :D

Hugs

Lotte

Author's Response: Yay Lotte!

Thank you so much for returning to my stories. The fact that you've been looking forward to doing so is super flattering to me.

I'm glad that I didn't disappoint =)

To me, writing romance is about capturing the intensity of emotions, and I find that doing that with a small word limit is very effective, so that the words are all very pointed and necessary, with nothing in the way to muddle up the feelings words.

Haha, everyone wants to know how I came up with this pairing XD For Chazzie's Ship It! Challenge I asked for a random femslash pairing and was given Astoria and Gabrielle. I got the idea of them meeting at the lake, but actually requested to switch to Daphne because, for what seemed like the first time in my life, I wanted to give my characters a happy ending.

Thank you so much for your really wonderful compliments! I'm glad the HC got you back to my AP.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter At The Lake

20th July 2015:
Hi, Sam! After having beta’d that chapter for you I’ve been meaning to visit your author page to check out more of your work and the house cup has given me the perfect excuse!

I love the every word counts challenge. I think because there’s such a strict word limit you really have to just say exactly what needs to be said, and you definitely managed that here.

Your description here is so breath-taking. Colour me green with envy! I absolutely adore the two scenes you have running alongside each other. Their first meeting and their wedding balance perfectly and it’s amazing that you still have the flow of the story spot-on. I especially liked the line about Fleur leaving her and Daphne never leaving her. Really beautiful, Sam!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hello, lovely Dee.

I'm glad the House Cup got you back to my AP!

Ack, thank you so much for your compliments on my descriptions! That's something that I really struggle with and have been trying to work on lately. I think the EWC challenge really helps me with this by making me be very deliberate with my choice of words.

Thank you so much!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by evil little devil At The Lake

19th July 2015:
This is such a short and sweet story! I absolutely adore stories like these, which perfectly capture a moment off to the side of the HP books, which look at a character's perspective in a particular scene where they only played a minor role. I think sometimes we forget about the minor characters, and so I love stories like these which explore otherwise forgotten stories.
You managed to provide such a well-rounded and nuanced painting of Gabrielle as a person in such a short amount of words. You captured her emotions really well, the fear, the anxiety, the panic of struggling to understand where she was and why she was there - and then that moment of calm as she looked into Daphne's eyes. This really is kind of a love at first sight type story, and it is absolutely adorable! And the interplay between memory and present was amazing, particularly those last few lines. To be honest, this is a story I would love to see fleshed out into a bigger story as well, they're such interesting characters to examine!
This was an absolute delight to read!

House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for the HC review - Hufflepuffs represent!

I really enjoy writing very short powerful stories focusing on a specific event, and this story was kind of the first time that I really played with that, particularly under the word count restriction that made it very important to be extra deliberate with my choice of words.

I had never really thought too much about Gabrielle at this task, but once I did it occurred to me what a powerful and traumatic impact that must have had on such a young girl in a strange land.

It was also fun to play with the love-at-first-sight aspect here. Obviously, with the age difference and Gabrielle's youth, it wasn't a romantic or sexual love from the start, but it was still an incredibly powerful meeting that obviously had a very strong influence on the unfolding of both girls' lives.

While this story thrives on being so short, I did really enjoy creating this ship, and it's one that may pop up in other stories. I recently wrote an appearance for Daphne into another story, and couldn't keep it out of my headcanon that she would end up with Gabrielle in pretty much everything I write!

Thank you very much for this review.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart At The Lake

19th July 2015:
Hi Sam!

I'm here for the House Cup 2015- Gryffindor!

I'm really excited to see what you've done with a pairing like Gabrielle Delacour and Daphne Greengrass. It seems so unusual and I have a hard time imagining how they would've ended up getting together.

So it looks like you have them meeting after the event where Gabrielle gets sent to the bottom of the lake. Everyone seems to be ignoring her fear and concern, everyone except Daphne. I could see them meeting then as the tournament was the only time that we know they might have a chance to meet each other (at least in regards to cannon). The only thing is, Gabrielle was a little girl (12 or 13? if I'm not mistaken), so that does make it slightly unsettling for me.

I must admit that I was a bit confused between the regular typing and the italics. At first, I thought the italics were supposed to be the past because they talked about the tournament, but then it seems like all of the sudden they switch to the future when it talks about Daphne leaving. I think it would be helpful to make those sections slightly clearer.

I do like the overall story. I like that Gabrielle, who is the image of classic beauty, is so taken with Daphne and that they clearly have this amazing love. I also like that it wasn't wrapped up all neatly...that Gabrielle remembers the good in their love, but can't avoid the painful either. It was a good balance.

As a whole, this was a bittersweet, but lovely story. I think a few tweaks could make it perfection. Good job.

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Okay, sitting down to respond to my amazing 57 TAR reviews, and you are first because of course. Gryffindor is amazing at riddling, I can't even.

All of your reviews were so amazing and really wonderful to read, thank you so much.

The italics was all meant to be the past. The italicized part at the end where Gabrielle says "She left me" was her as a child telling Daphne that Fleur left her (didn't save her from the lake). So essentially there are two simultaneous scenes happening, their first meeting in italics and their wedding in normal text. Based on other reviews, it looks like about half of readers understood that, so I should look for a way to clarify it (while keeping it at 500 words, haha!)

Yes, the age difference is quite large, which is a bit of a challenge. However, I was not necessarily imagining their first meeting as a romantic encounter, but it was a very pivotal moment in young Gabrielle's life, which I imagine developing into romance over the years.

I know that the age difference here is quite extreme, though it was my intention that the romantic element did not develop until later.

Thank you so much for the first of any lovely reviews!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan At The Lake

16th June 2015:
Here for our review swap!

Wow, this is really impressive the amount you have managed to put into only 500 words! Congrats on that, because I know how hard it is and you've done wonderfully. And what a lovely pairing too ♥ I don't think I had seen that before but I really love it!

Your descriptions, particularly setting the scene in the beginning, are beautiful. I particularly like the bit about the ripples in the reflection on the lake faintly echoing her appearance - what a superb visual.

I also like that you really touched on those feelings of alienation Gabrielle would have at Hogwarts, at a school where she doesn't speak the language very well, and knows no one, and is really just there to be a prop in the tournament for Fleur. Poor girl! And then Daphne arrives just at the right moment, a friendly face in a crowd that of people who don't care about her - it was a lovely moment.

While most of the relationship is behind the scenes, it's really neat the way you have interspersed their first meeting and their wedding and how you were able to convey so many emotions that way, especially how Gabrielle is just as entranced by Daphne that day as she was when they first met - how it's set up, it kind of gives this feeling of their love unchanging through the years, which is sweet.

Lovely work on this! Thanks for the swap!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the swap and the lovely review!

I actually found it pretty easy to keep this to 500 words. I have been working on keeping my writing direct and concise, and have been reading a lot of other EWC entries. Once I drafted this I think I actually had to ADD words.

I'm glad you liked the pairing! It seemed super weird at first, especially with the age and geographical differences, but once the plot bunny came it just seemed so natural.

Thank you so much for your compliments on my descriptions! That is also something I've been working on, as I historically tend to get pretty wordy describing characters' emotions, and the one-shot I did focusing on descriptions got too wordy doing that! So it's definitely good to hear that I've struck a good balance here.

Thanks again!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by alicia and anne At The Lake

6th June 2015:
Oooo I love Every Word Counts entries! And I know, ever since writing my own, just how hard it is to write. So I can't wait to see what brilliance you've come up with!

And this was so brilliant! From the perfect beginning with the beautiful descriptions, to the short flashbacks, and then to the fabulous ending!

I didn't expect that ending at all! (I'm not sure what your summary is as you linked me straight to the story, which is my favourite way to read a story. I am always surprised about what I'm going to be reading and have no knowledge of any of it before I start. So I have no way of suspecting what it's about. It's how beautiful gems like this are found)

You really done such an amazing job at using your 500 words to fantastic effect!

I am loving Daphne/Gabrielle as a pairing!

Loved this so much!

Tammi
xx

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much!

Yeah, I didn't actually include a summary for this one, other than the ship. Because the story is so short, I felt that whatever I said in the summary would end up giving away a huge chunk of the story. I did include "Can true beauty really exist without true horror?" in the chapter summary though.

I am glad that you liked the pairing! I had never really thought about them before this challenge, but I really really like them. They might slip into some of my other stories, probably not as major characters but as nods at my new headcanon.

Thank you for the really lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by tangledconstellations At The Lake

5th June 2015:
Heyy,

Swinging by for the Review Tag.

First of all, thank you so much for your wonderful reviews on A Single Point in Time. You are SO kind - thank you so much! ♥

I was really interested in this fic when I saw the pairing - how unusual! I was really intrigued as to how you would write these two characters meeting but I must say this piece flows together really well and you made their relationship come across as very convincing. Gabrielle to me is such an odd character because she's sort of there at Hogwarts, with all of these older students, but I think you emphasised that feeling of alienation really, really well in this one-shot. I think in some ways it was that that made Daphne stand out to her all the more - because she was a kind, trusting face. I really think this is why this pairing does work so well in this moment - because the way you've written them makes sense.

As well as this, I love reading the Every Word Counts challenge entries because I think it's amazing how much can be said with so few words! This is another really fantastic example of a really great entry :D Even though there were so few words you've implied different settings and moments, along with a relationship that we don't necessarily see, but we definitely do feel. There's a feeling of backstory, of trust and of a really solid element of romance which I think is really cleverly done.

I really enjoyed reading this - thank you so much for sharing this moment! It was wonderful.

Laura xxx

Author's Response: D'aww, thank you so much!

I always particularly value reviews from writers whose stories I enjoy reading.

All of your feedback is really great to hear. I am so glad to hear that you thought the story flowed well, which was kind of a big risk I took with all the quick jumps in time. I am so glad that you found their characterizations and relationship believable. I am most glad that you said you could really feel the relationship. That was a my primary goal here, and it's pretty challenging to get a reader emotionally invested in 500 words!

I've been reading a lot of Every Word counts entries, and it made me really want to try one myself. I feel that it worked out pretty well and I'm glad you think so too.

Gah, thank you for all the lovely kind words!


 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins beard At The Lake

5th June 2015:
Hey, I'm here for our swap.

I'm impressed that you managed to fit such a powerful story into such a small amount of words.
I don't even have a headcanon for Gabrielle, so I'm open to pretty much anything plot-wise.
I really liked how the past and the present flows together, you've managed to make them merge so well.
I actually had to read through it twice because I wasn't sure if I interpreted everything correctly the first time...I'm guessing it's the Black lake we're talking about. When Gabrielle says 'she left me', she's talking about Fleur, right?
I've never pictured Daphne with Gabrielle, but it works for me.
Are you writing anything else with this pairing? I'd like to know more about their relationship.
It was great reading this, the perfect thing to do just after getting up in the morning :D I really enjoyed it.

Thanks for the swap
~Anja

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the swap =) I'm midway through your story now.

I'm really glad that you thought the story flowed well. I was afraid it only flowed in my head, since it does jump around so much.

I'm sorry that it wasn't clear enough that I was referring to the Blake Lake, because we see Gabrielle so little in the books and being a prize in the 2nd task is one of the main things that she does. So yes, it was the lake and she was talking about Fleur leaving her. However, because your guesses were both right, it sounds like you understood but just weren't 100% certain because I never said definitively.

I had never thought about this pairing before. I got Gabrielle/Astoria for the challenge, and switched it to Daphne so I could give them a happy ending. Even writing this short fic, they quickly kind of became a head canon. I like it because it connects the Malfoys to the Weasleys by marriage, bwahaha. Now Scorpius gets to be in the Next Gen cousin-athon.

Thank you or the swap!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login