Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for High Romance
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by casual_chaos Prologue

6th August 2015:
Okay, I need to read more of this, and soon!!

What is this?! Is this heaven?

I kinda have a thing for ScoRose but I rarely find a ScoRose that is up my alley, you know. But now you are apparently writing one and it is going to be perfect, I just know it! (No pressure.)

I'm sorry for the exclamation points, Laura, but honestly. I need more of this!

I don't want to not mention the story at all so I'll just say it reminds me of Lost in Translation, because you know, Tokyo and all. I'm already curious about the characters, about what exactly she does for the Department, and which Department at that, what will she do in Tokyo, why is this her last assignment and so on.

This is so fresh and original and well written, I want to squeal!

THANK YOU.

Andy

 Report Review

Review #2, by toomanycurls Prologue

3rd July 2015:
Hello my dear!!

I'm here for the BVB. I think this is the type of romance I could really get into and I don't know why. There's something about the style you've written this in that makes me want more. You include such beautiful detail in the narrative that gives a rich sense of place and hints at the interesting relationship in this story.

This reminds me of a book I read in college - it was a Pulitzer prize winning book (the title and author escape me now) but it also felt like an instant classic when I started to read it. I really hope you post more of this soon - is it your JulNo story by chance? I'm not a huge ScoRose fan but I get the feeling this will transcend a typical ScoRose story.

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #3, by Aphoride Prologue

22nd June 2015:
Hi Laura! Stopping by for the BvB battle - I know I haven't finished going through A Single Point in Time yet, but this looked so good, and I've been itching to read it for a while, so when I got a chance of course I had to stop by on this ;)

(Also, sorry for the slight delay - my computer ran out of power (oops?), so I lost the review, but tbh it just meant I had to read this twice, so I'm not that bothered :P)

I love the way you wrote this - I haven't seen many scenes, in ff or of, which are set in an airport, and it's always - to me - seemed to be a pretty difficult place to describe, being so white and almost surgical, but dirty, haha, so I'm so impressed and curious as to why you picked that, and how it all connects into the story with Rose and Scorpius. Still, as always, you describe it so beautifully that it makes me wonder why I ever thought it would be impossible - it's just... you really bring it to life as a place, and the feeling of it - particularly the early morning flights, omigosh. There's this beautiful sense of quiet in your writing in this which is just amazing - I really don't know how you did it, tbh, but it's so lovely and so evocative.

I love how you've written Rose, too - how you don't say who it is in the prologue, we know from the summary that it's her, but we get a definite feel of her, you know? And that's perhaps more telling than anything else. I love how she's so lethargic through the whole thing, and how she's almost nervous about going back to London - and back to Scorpius, more importantly, and perhaps whatever situation she left behind; it really says so much. I almost don't want to find out what happened, you know, even though I'm so curious; I almost want to see the aftermath of it all, because there are so many questions in my head about what will happen after Tokyo. I liked, too, how she hadn't written the report she was meant to in the airport; it was a lovely little touch of Rose to get in there ;)

I love, too, I just have to say, how you ended it with her flying up into the clouds in the aeroplane, and in the summary she's flying and soaring; it's just such a neat connection :)

Your writing, as I've said before - even in this review :P - is so gorgeous. You get the mood of the place so well and so instinctive - I've been to my fair share of airports, including late night and early morning flights, and it's just so true and so real, the picture of it you paint. It's so beautiful - and I can see it so clearly in my mind. I love, as well, how you describe the life it has, in a way, rather than the simple aesthetics of it, it's such a gorgeous narrative, in total :)

In total: this is too short. I need more. Please write more? You know full well (or you should :P) that I think you're amazing! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by lilysprayer Prologue

19th June 2015:
You write beautifully, it was an absolute pleasure to read this. Please, please, please keep writing! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much - it's so kind of you to drop by with a review! I should have more posted soon :) xxx

 Report Review

Review #5, by Shadowkat Prologue

16th June 2015:
BvB review battle!

First off, the description in this was absolutely stunning! It was so vivid, so easy to picture, that I felt like I was sitting right beside Rose, tiredly waiting for a flight that seemed might never be time to board. The way you already started adding depth is great, the little details sprinkled in like how the announcer keeps cutting off before she finishes, the business man and the way he straightened out his suit, walking off in a tired march. Excellently done! Beautiful way with words!

I've never been on a plane before, but from what I've seen on TV, read in books, and heard from others it was represented quite well. Tokyo, I wonder what that report is about? Last report, where else has she been, I wonder?

And I'm guessing "he" is Scorpius? Hmmm...wonder if something is going on, she sounds a bit apprehensive.

Just so you know, I really want to go traveling now...

Author's Response: Hey again Kat :)

It makes me so happy that this chapter has given you wanderlust! That's exactly what I wanted to do - make people feel as though their feet weren't firmly on the ground, just as Rose does. Wow - thank you for your really kind words. Really truly :) I'm glad you liked this. I really am - I love getting reviews from you.

This is a bit of a rambly response but just - thanks for reviewing. You always leave such enthusiastic and kind reviews :) xxx


 Report Review

Review #6, by ad astra Prologue

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review

I am so excited that you wrote this and I found this because I've been travelling SO MUCH recently and there's just something otherworldly about airports and flying that you capture brilliantly in this piece. but there was something about airports, something so hypnotic and draining, that left you feeling not like a person at all. SO TRUE. Airports are a Twilight Zone of unreality and your writing showcases that so well - the futuristic skeletons and the ethereal voice and the robotic smile - I might just be hypersensitive to the evocation of airports right now but I feel like I'm right there, three am waiting for a delayed flight to Tokyo Haneda where everything is too bright and nothing quite seems real.

I have real bad wanderlust now oops

I'm so curious about the actual story itself - what is she doing in Tokyo, where has she been, why is she checking off cities - and him, the tantalising question you dangle in front of us - how did she leave him, what happened while she was gone, does she want to go back to him at all? I can't wait to find out the answers to those questions (and to read more of your amazing writing!)

 Report Review

Review #7, by pointless_proclamations Prologue

12th June 2015:
Hi Laura!

I LOVE THIS! You transported me to a typical airport by describing it flawlessly: from the 'polite, ethereal' PA voice to the 'futuristic skeletons' for chairs. Your descriptive abilities are excellent. Although I personally love airports, your Rose was so empathiseable, I could feel her dread about this one. Her thoughts about the paperwork and the very fact that she didn't bother to wipe away the mascara from her hand really did it. AND YOUR DESCRIPTION OF THE TAKE OFF. . . magical, Laura. Description really looks to be a major strength for you.

Thank you for the wonderful story!

Cheers,
Em

House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #8, by krazyboutharryginny Prologue

12th June 2015:
Hello, I'm here to leave a review for The Amazing Race task in the 2015 House Cup! Go Go Gryffindor!

You have such a beautiful way with words. A lot of the time when writers go for this sort of vibe, with lots of prose and metaphors, it comes off as very forced and unnatural, but not here. Here it absolutely works.

Having been in quite a few airports recently myself, I felt that this was described in a way that really resonated. The line that I connected with the most was "there was something about airports, something so hypnotic and draining, that left you feeling not like a person at all." Airports really are inexplicably draining, and you've done such an impressive job of capturing that atmosphere.

I also love how the summary of "Rose being in the clouds" is actually quite literal, if this chapter is anything to go by. I was expecting it to be more of a metaphorical thing, like she daydreams a lot. Who knows, maybe it will be both as the story progresses?

Awesome work on this!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #9, by TearsIMustConceal Prologue

6th June 2015:
Hey Laura, here for the BvB review battle!

I was planning on reading another chapter of ‘A Single Point in Time’ but then I saw this and it was a ScoRose, which is steadily becoming a new fave of mine, so here I am!

Laura, you have such a way with words – everything you write is just beautifully poetic. You’ve managed to describe what is usually a mundane, boring task of sitting in an airport, especially waiting for an early morning flight seem like the most beautiful experience in the world. Honestly, I am so jealous of your talent, your writing is just incredible. But as much as I could talk about your writing all day long, I’ll get onto the story!

Your descriptions are wonderful, I especially loved the bathroom scene – the too-harsh mirrors, to me, as vain as it might seem, is one of the worst things when you’re waiting for a delayed flight and your tired – it’s one way to make yourself feel worse than you already do. You’ve managed to include every little detail perfectly and it’s just wonderful.

I also love how you’ve not given much away. From the russet hair and mascara, I’m guessing this is Rose who is in the airport and I like the mystery of what she’s been doing – from what I can gather, she either works for the Ministry or she’s perhaps a journalist of sorts but either way, you’ve left me wanting to know more about her and what she does and why she’s doing it.

I absolutely loved this line: I hesitated as I boarded the plane. This – and then, what next? Tokyo was my last city to check off, my last report to write. And then – back to London, back to him? Was that how it was going to be?

It doesn’t give a lot away about Rose and Scorpius’ relationship but it’s enough to leave me intrigued and wanting to know more. Rose seems reluctant to go back for good, to go back to him and I really want to know why.

Anyway, as always, your writing is beautiful and you’ve really got me intrigued with this story, I cannot wait for the next chapter.

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #10, by Veritaserum27 Prologue

6th June 2015:
Hi there!

I'm here for the BvB and I'm utterly amazed at your ability to describe a scene. It's not the description per se, but more of the emotions and details you make us feel when we're reading this. I read the story summary and details - so I know this is about Rose and Scorpius, but you've given us so much to ponder in just over 600 words. I'm not exactly sure why she has traveled all over the world, but she definitely felt obligated to do so, and you captured the sheer exhaustion that is experienced at the end of a very long trip so well.

I felt like I was in that airport - I've been in that airport.

All the same, she is apprehensive to go home and see him - there's some sort of uncertainty there and she's trying not to think about it. I can't decide if the sunrise at the end of the chapter is a foreshadowing of things to come or if it is a clever reference to the fact that she's headed to Japan. Either way, this is a brilliant first chapter!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #11, by BellaLestrange87 Prologue

5th June 2015:
This is for the Blue vs Bronze review battle!

I really enjoyed this opening prologue. You gave me just enough information that I want to keep reading and find out more, about Rose (if it is Rose - feel free to ignore me if it's not), about her journalist job, why she's in a Muggle airport when she could just Floo/Apparate, why she isn't all that keen on going home to him (Scorpius?), etc.

Your description was really good. I especially liked the section where Rose goes to the bathroom to fix her features. You did an excellent job of giving us an image of what she looks like without making it boring and cliché.

All in all, I really liked this, and can't wait for the next chapter to read and review it, too. I didn't see any spelling or grammar errors, either, and I'm sorry that this review was so short.

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hey Olivia!

Thank you for taking the time to review! I'm glad this has left you suitably intrigued :) No - don't apologise about your review length - the chapter itself was pretty short! I'm just glad you enjoyed it! xxx


 Report Review

Review #12, by oldershouldknowbetter Prologue

1st June 2015:
Hi there, drew your name once again for the BvB and, lo and behold, here is the beginning of a novel; a Rose/Scorpius no less. Now I'm not sure if you know my feelings on the two, but I believe that they are THE ONE TRUE PAIRING!

I don't even mind if the pairing is portrayed more in the breach than observance. The way JKR set it up in the last book was fantastic and leaves the way open for such potential - the two eldest scions of prominent wizard households you can have them love or hate each other or anything in-between. Let's see what you've done with them then.

Well this is just a prologue, so we don't get to see much happen except an amount of set up.

It's funny but I had to read the first few paragraphs again, because I found myself four or five paragraphs in and all I could remember of it was that I was in an airport - if any plot hints were doled out I missed them. It wasn't that you didn't engage me, far from it, you captured that boring ambience of the hurry up and wait that is hanging around airport terminals. Ha, you even alluded to the very fact yourself, how soul draining it can be, how you find yourself as just another shell of a human being stuck in the on-the-way-to from the having-been-at.

Ok, back to the top and let's pay attention and see what you actually have to say, rather than getting caught up in the scene.

But you make it so hard because you're such an evocative writer. There are many things I could praise, but I'll pick one.
Neon lights buzzed, unseen, way up in the ceiling, and for the enjoyment of my tiredness created a dim melody that only I could hear.
Such a lovely piece of writing, that hum of stressed resistors that is usually only detectable once it has ceased; from you it becomes a serenade of loneliness and ennui.

Ok, ok have to get back to the story mustn't get lost in the depiction. So we have ... it must be Rose, mascara gives away the sex and later on we have the unruly russet hair. She works for the Ministry, or at least contracts for them and she is on her way to ... Japan. Oh wonderful, are we going to see you inject one of your other loves into this story? (you should have had her knitting whilst she waited, then you would have hit everything) ;)

It's the last stop of her trip, one of many we assume and leaves us wondering just what her 'mission' has been. Just before she departs, nestled in the belly of the giant metal bird, you give us something tantalising -

And then – back to London, back to him?

Was that how it was going to be?


Oh my goodness, now we must come back for more and find out exactly what this entails.

A good start to a story, evocative with a few good enticements to return.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Roisin Prologue

31st May 2015:
Decided I might as well take a look at your newest story--and DARN IT I WANT TO CLICK NEXT SO BAD! The tone of this was so interesting and engaging, and I immediately want to know more. Update sooon!

The way you describe the airport and the atmosphere is really excellent. I love all of the language and specific details. You paint a super vivid picture and I really felt like I was seeing it through Rose's eyes.

I'm surprised at how you managed to take something so mundane, with so little activity in such a short span of time, and make it so amazingly compelling. Even the ending sentences felt like something of a punch, despite being so simple. Really, really well done!

Definitely let me know just as soon as you update this story because I would love to read more.

Thank you for the swap!

Author's Response: Roisin you are the loveliest!

Thank you so much for this beautiful review! You are so kind! ♥

Eep, I should have the next chapter up soonish - I'm just tweaking it and I shouldn't be very long with it. I'm glad you found it really engaging - I was worried that people would be a bit like, well, not a lot has happened here! about it. So thank you :)

Thanks for the wonderful swap! Your first chapter was absolutely fantastic!

Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Prologue

30th May 2015:
Hi Laura :) I don't know how you do it, but all of your writing (that I've read) has such a beautiful, ethereal quality to it. Even this, which is about a delayed flight at an airport, about the most mundane, least ethereal thing that can happen to a person. But somehow you give it this really beautiful quality and that's so impressive!

Having spent my fair share of time in airports as well, so many parts of this were instantly relatable, like the way airports are hypnotic and draining and leave you feeling 'like not a person at all', and the way the lights are always harsh and you can see the tiredness on your face in the light. These tiny details you've included just make the scene so rich and relatable and I feel like I'm right there. Not only do I feel like I'm right in the scene, but also experiencing the same kind of detached, lonely and exhausted feeling Rose has.

There is so much loneliness expressed in this chapter, the last flight on a long succession of flights, alone, where Rose (well, I assume it's Rose!) has changed on her travels and is going back to a place where things haven't changed, such as (presumably) Scorpius.

This is seriously gorgeous writing. The one thing I'm left wondering is why Rose is taking an aeroplane rather than a Portkey, but I suppose that's not necessarily an important detail to include in a prologue, haha. Speaking of which, this is such a short chapter but expresses SO MUCH, and that's a mark of really grest writing.

Love it!

Author's Response: Heya! ♥

Thank you so so much for this review - honestly! I swear, all of your reviews reduce me to a blubbering mess on the floor, you are just so kind and your reviews are always so lovely and unexpected. Thank you so much ♥

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this and that it was at least interesting! I was a bit hesitant because I was concerned that nothing really happens here, but as you say it is just a prologue after all! Hopefully it gives a good indication of the tone and of Rose's character :) airports are the worst, but they're also really interesting too! You're allowed to feel like a zombie in them and because they all roughly look the same I have a theory that they're all secretly one place haha. Hehe your Portkey related question will be answered soon I promise! I do have an answer to it, just not yet :)

Thanks for the really amazing review, honestly. You're the best! ♥

Laura xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login