Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for It's All In Your Head
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal Chapter One

25th April 2017:
Oh wow! So interesting! Lysander transgender to Lysandra and made head girl. Very progressive! I like it though it is surprising some ways - I wonder a little how the wizarding world addresses gender fluidity. I know there are a lot of struggles for the transgendered in the muggle world, and I feel the wizarding is older and more staunch in their judgemental ways than muggles as a whole even if the feelings are wrong. Still the wizarding world can be surprising. Also it is the future and we have already seen some wonderful strides for the LGBTQA+ community presently, though it frequently feels like a back and forth thing.

Anyway the family dynamic outside of the twins is interesting. Rolf being awkward and maybe out of it? This is different and interesting I do not often see Next Genetation stories that focus on the scarmander twins. Also it amuses me how you mention the trope of head boy head girl shenanigans not happening and the you guaranteed it by doing a brother sister combo, very clever.

All the same this chapter promises an interesting story to follow.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Chapter One

25th April 2017:
A Lorcan fic, yay! I love how this opens with such beautiful descriptions - makes me want to go to that place where he is at too. And then we slowly learn information about who he is and what is he doing which is a great writing style. He is so happy to be seventeen, to be off-age and that's pretty cool. And woohoo he is head boy! Now that is awesome, and I can see even more why he is so excited and happy. Of course he wants to make it the best year yet, after all who does not want to have their final year as the most memorable?

Hmm there seems to be awkwardness between father and son - is it a strained relationship or Just the way Rolf is? And haha I like how Lorcan doesnt want to do any "hanky panky" with the head girl, cute moment there. And wow what a twist in the end - Lysandra is head girl! BROTHER-SISTER HEAD BOY HEAD GIRL?! now that is unqiue and super fun and interesting to read. I totally cannot wait to see how things turn out. It is interesting that we do not exactly see Lorcan's reaction to the news but somehow the silence seems to say that he does not like it very much, though it could be that his reaction is reserved for the next chapter. Overall, i think this is great!! loved it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by victoria_anne Chapter One

8th March 2016:
... So I just made a cup of tea and had an extra cookie. There's no time like the present to read more of your wonderful writing! We can share the cookie.

Also I'm an absolute sucker for the Scamander twins!

Sam, you have an amazing way with words *bow down bow down, make way for the description writer, MAKE WAY I SAID!*

I was instantly transported to the beauty of Lorcan by the river (the beauty being mostly Lorcan and a bit of nature I guess...). Oh that's where they live?! In a little fairytale cottage in the woods! Oh my Merlin that is PERFECT for a family of Luna's! :D

Ah, how is Rolf faring as a father? Doesn't look too good at the moment.

OH WAIT look who's Head Girl! Ahh this is such an interesting take and I can't wait to read more.

The drama, throw me da drama!

Love B x

P.S. U totes write so gud.
P.P.S. Seriously, though. It flows beautifully.

Author's Response: Hello again, Bianca!

Thank you so much for stopping by again so soon! I'm actually quite surprised that you chose this story! I'm afraid that, of my WIPs, it is currently the lowest on my priority list. I definitely do plan to finish it, and have the rest of the chapters planned out, but I found that I needed a break from it. And then other WIPs stole my heart XD

I am very glad that you like it so far. This first chapter is just a bit of a teaser, so I'm interested to hear what you think of what's to come.

I do not personally consider description a strong suit, and I in particular think of this chapter as "agh, I don't know, just talk about nature whatever." It's in a weird place in my mind, but I'm glad you like it. It's like a peaceful little escape before the angst to come.

Thanks again!

Sam.

P.S. U reviews so nyce


 Report Review

Review #4, by Claire Evergreen Chapter One

23rd August 2015:
Hey! Here for the review swap!

I love the setup you have for Lorcan in the beginning of the first chapter. I havenít read too many fics with Lorcan as the main character, but from what Iíve seen of those few, your Lorcan is much different. I like that you didnít make him completely scatterbrained and out there, but you could definitely tell that he is Lunaís kid. The fact that he's so excited about being made Head Boy and is convinced that it's going to make his year better says a lot about his character. Maybe it's just me, but I'd figure that most kids would see it as a huge responsibility before they saw it as a way to improve their year.

So now looking back on the chapter, I finally realize why Rolf was so distant and cold towards Lorcan. At first, I just assumed that it was his personality and that was why Lorcan didn't seem too concerned about it, but now that I know what's going on, it makes a lot more sense. Of course he's going to be upset that his son refuses to accept his daughter for who she wants to be. And it also makes a lot more sense as to why Rolf reacted so strongly to Lorcan calling her Lysander.

I think you set up Lorcan's attitude towards his sister really well. Obviously it's going to be really jarring to suddenly have someone you've considered a guy for over 16 years suddenly come out and say that they're actually a girl and it has to be even more startling when it's your twin. You handled his attitude really well and even though I'd never agree with Lorcan, I found myself believing why he would act the way he did.

This is such an interesting story, I'm definitely going to have to stop by again to keep reading! Thanks for swapping with me!

Claire

Author's Response: Hello, Claire!

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I also haven't read too many stories featuring Lorcan, which was actually helpful, as it meant I didn't have to combat preconceived ideas of what he should be like.

To me, Lorcan is definitely an achiever, and definitely emotionally stunted. To me Rolf has a very different (though compatible) personality than Luna, and while you were accurate as to why Rolf felt uncomfortable with Lorcan in is chapter, but your initial impression that he has a distant personality is also accurate. The personalities and relationship of his parents has a definite effect on Lorcan, and I'll explore that directly a bit in later chapters.

I am glad that you can understand where Lorcan is coming from. It is a difficult story to write as I try to create that balance of sympathy for Lorcan while also writing about him doing and saying some unforgivable things. I can only imagine it's a similar struggle as a reader.

I have just returned to writing this story and there will definitely be updates coming soon!

Thank you very much for the swap.

Sam.



 Report Review

Review #5, by moonbaby11 Chapter Three

21st August 2015:
OOOH I TOTALLY CALLED LYSANDRA AND TEDDY AND I KNEW I SHOULD'VE MENTIONED IT IN MY REVIEW BECAUSE I SAW IT COMING LAST CHAPTER BUT THEN I THOUGHT I WAS JUST READING INTO THINGS TOO MUCH BUT I WAS RIGHT!

I think it's really interesting that you've paired Teddy and Lysandra because, although it's generally rare to see ANY Teddy ship besides him with Victoire, I don't think I've ever seen him paired with a Scamander twin before. It comes off as really original to me, and it just keeps adding to the overall feel of originality that this story has. You continue to impress me with the ways you've made this different from the other Next-Gen stories I've read over the years.

I like the way you seem to be including a few more canon characters each chapter, this time Rose and Teddy. For one it helped to get a feel for Lorcan's age in comparison to the known ages of the Next Gen kids, as well as just adding more dynamics to this story. The bitterness Lorcan has over no longer being seen as a 'duo' with his twin is really clear in this chapter (more Lorcan angst - yay!) and adds even more to his character. I think you're building up a really interesting main character here, and I get why you might find it hard to write about him due to his animosity towards Lysandra, but I think you have a really good and interesting story here and I'd love to see more. Let me know when this story updates and I'll return for more reviews :D

Author's Response: Oh wow, you saw it coming? =D

That's awesome! I do of course hint at it with Louis' comment in chapter 2, but I wasn't sure anyone would pick up on it. Other than my beta reader, you are the first person to read this chapter, so I'm excited to see your response.

I have never really shipped Teddy with Victoire. To me they had a school-age romance that was very intense while it lasted, but was not sustainable. When I tried to think of who Lysandra would naturally pair with, Teddy made a lot of sense to me, as he is older and more mature, knows what it's like to be an outsider, and understands how misleading appearances can be.

Haha, I'm glad you like the Lorcan angst, cause there's a lot more where that came from.

I finally started working on Chapter 4 today, and am making slow but steady progress. Hopefully I'll be able to update more regularly.

Thank you SO much for reviewing all three chapters on this. I really, really appreciate it.The feedback is very helpful, particularly to ear that you think this is a worthwhile and engaging story and character, and not just an energy suck (which yes, sometimes is how it feels writing it).

There should be more updated by next week!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by moonbaby11 Chapter Two

21st August 2015:
Hey there! I told you I'd be back for more! :)

I think this story just keeps getting better the more that I read it. This chapter added a bit of angst to Lorcan's character and it's clear that he really misses his brother and is really struggling with the fact that he now has a sister instead. I liked how you had them discuss how neither of them never really felt like they fit in - Lorcan with his off-beat family and Lysandra with the body she was born into. I think it really helps to show that, although different, the twins are the same in a lot of ways as well.

I liked the introduction of the canon characters like Molly and Louis, as well as the OCs that Lorcan shares a dorm with. I loved the conversation they were having because it just felt so real to me! That's something that I'm sure could be overheard when hanging around a group of high school aged boys - it just felt so natural to me.

I'm really curious to see if (and how) Lorcan will finally turn around his feelings towards his sister. I'm also curious to see if anyone else at Hogwarts shares his feelings or if Lorcan is the only one who refuses to accept Lysandra for who she is. I guess I'll just have to keep reading and, hopefully, find out more eventually!

Author's Response: Yay, thank you so much for coming back, and so quickly too!

I feel like things really take off in this chapter, as you start to see the characters interact much more.

Yes, Lorcan angst. All the Lorcan angst.

I'm glad you liked that scene of the boys in the dorm. It was one of my favorite scenes to write. I don't hang out with high school boys much, but it does feel very real to me as well.

I don't feel like it's too much of a spoiler to say Lorcan will get over himself eventually. I don't know why anyone would want to keep reading if he didn't. I seriously doubt I would keep writing if he didn't!

I think that everybody is kind of in their own stage of acceptance and understanding towards Lysandra. The overall atmosphere towards a positive one, though everyone is still kind of making sense of things. There was a reference to Molly being closer to Lorcan's attitude the previous year when Lysandra first came out, but she has obviously made more of an effort to understand her than Lorcan has. Louis approaches Lorcan and tells him in private they're impressed with Lysandra because it's not something that any of them know how to talk about in their existing group dynamic. Tere may be other characters who are internally less understanding and accepting of Lysandra but they are more inclined to keep their mouths shut that Lorcan.

I am glad that you are able to have some sympathy for Lorcan and his feelings of being an outsider, despite his obvious bigoted attitude.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by moonbaby11 Chapter One

21st August 2015:
Hey! I saw your post on the forums, saying you were looking for love on this story, so I decided to drop by!

I'm really glad I did because this seems like it's going to be a very original story. I don't see a lot of works on the archives centered around trans people (I'm assuming Lysandra is a trans girl and Lorcan is just really transphobic, hence the male pronouns and everything?) and I think you have the makings for a really good story. It will be interesting to see how you run with the idea of Lysandra having a bigoted brother - it seems like a lot of LGBTQA+ stories on the archives have the characters friends accepting them for who they are, but this is, obviously, different from the norm.

I also like how it looks like this will be more about familial relationships than romantic relationships. Sometimes it's refreshing to read a story that isn't just centered around the main characters getting together in the end. I think it's important to look at sibling relationships as well!

You have a strong writing style and I like your use of description, especially at the beginning. The parts about the lake and the sun just seemed so real that I felt I was really there with Lorcan as all of this was happening.

Overall I think this is a strong opening to your story and I'll be making my way over to chapter 2 to read more!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for heeding my plea for story love!

I' flattered to hear you think this is a strong start yo the story, even though not much happens here in this first chapter.

Your conclusions about both Lorcan and Lysandra are correct.

I think it's interesting that this story is "different from he norm" for LGBT+ writing on this website, and yet is also closer to the norm of many peoples' real world experiences. I think it is important to bridge that gap, even though it may be less pleasant to read about (And write about. Seriously, part of the reason I need encouragement to keep writing this story is because it can be so draining to write such a hostile and bigoted MC).

I'm glad to hear you're interested in reading more about familiar relationships! This story was written for the Take-A-Cliche Challenge, and so I took the traditional "Head Boy and Head Girl hate each other at first but draw close" cliche, and gave it this twist. I'm lad you enjoy that.

Thank you so much for your kind words! I am really looking forward to hearing what you think about the coming chapters.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by casual_chaos Chapter One

21st August 2015:
Hello!

I love this! I love your description and the tone of narration and just the way you set the story up. It's really exciting to come across such wonderful writing! :) I honestly don't have time to review the rest because I should be studying, but I hope you'll continue to update this.

From the hints you dropped (like the newly added bathroom), Lysandra is probably a trans girl, and Lorcan is not really accepting of it (because he referred to her as Lysander). If I am correct in my assumption, the fact that they've been made Head boy and Head girl makes for a very interesting set-up and I'm really looking forward to reading how it all plays out. And I do hope Lorcan will soon figure some stuff out, grow a brain and a bit of empathy and accept his sister as she is. Pardon the crudeness, but I get emotional about stuff like this, I hope you understand.

Okay, yes, a quality LGBTQA+ story, I'm very happy about this (though not too happy about Lorcan's attitude, but like I said, I hope that will change).

Okay, I should really go and study now but I'll be back when my schedule clears a bit!

Thank you for posting and good luck with writing!

Andy

Author's Response: Hello, Andy!

Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a supportive review!

I'm really glad to hear that you liked this first chapter. I've had my doubts about whether it serves as an enticing introductory chapter, since there's not much action and I (deliberately) keep you from getting to know the characters properly right away.

So, obviously, I am glad to hear that you didn't think that was the case. I am also glad that you picked up that Lysandra is trans before the ending.

We all hope Lorcan will finish some things out, but I warn you it will be a little while before he stops being such a... Well, pick your expletive.

I'm so glad to hear that you'll be coming back for more, and I look forward to hearing what you think!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by wolfgirl17 Chapter One

20th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Hufflepuff

Hey Sam!

Holy Guacamole you weren't kidding the other day when you said you had a lot of chapters and fics to push through the queue. This first chapter was really intriguing. I really enjoyed reading it. I've not read much about the Scamander twins before and this look into their life was really great. When I'm not rushing through the HC for the TAR I will be coming back to check out the rest of this story as I've really enjoyed this first chapter.

I did get a little confused throughout regarding there being Lorcan, Lysander and Lysandra... or was the one where you wrote Lysander a typo?? Are they triplets? Or twins as Boy/girl?

Anyway, keep up the good work and I'll PM you soon about that chapter for our collab entry.

xx-Ellie

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! I have all the plot bunnies, and I'm trying to feed as many as I can. Though they are rather competitive. As in sometimes they steal all the plot bunny food for themselves and run away where I can't reach them or feed any of the others. Alas.

In this story Lysandra is a transwoman who has recently transitioned. Lorcan is still having trouble accepting his sister's true gender. I know that this isn't super explicitly stated in this first chapter, but it becomes clearer as the story progresses.

Thanks for the read!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by SunshineDaisies Chapter One

1st July 2015:
Hey! Sorry I'm a bit late!

This was a really interesting start. I think you've done an excellent job of introducing Lorcan's character. You're only about 1200 words in and you've already created a really firm foundation for him. You can tell he's a pretty serious person, and he obviously feels disconnected and a bit hostile toward his family. You've done it subtly and with a bit of finesse that makes the story so interesting to read. You've drawn me in, I'm so excited to learn more. A great first chapter indeed.

The last line was particularly good! It definitely had me going "wait, what?" I think it'd be easy to mistake Lysandra as a typo, but because you've paired it with the fact that she's head girl, it's impossible to mistake. It's a really fantastic way to introduce the fact that Lysandra is transgendered. Your audience is familiar with Lorcan and Lysander, so the slight change of spelling in the name makes it obvious that things are a bit different than what would be expected.

I'm also super interested in the progression of this story. I haven't read many stories where not everyone is immediately accepting, which obviously isn't true to life. (Of course, that may be because I don't read many stories.) I'm very excited to see how the story progresses, and how Lorcan's character develops.

You've also done a really lovely job with description. The images are vivid and detailed, and they blend so well with the exposition of Lorcan's character. And I can definitely imagine Luna living in the type of place you described. :)

Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks for coming by! No worries at all about the delay =)

I'm really glad that you chose to read this story. It's a cool one. And I'm even more glad to hear that you liked it - yay!!

Not much happens in this first chapter, but I also see it is critical to setting up the story and characters. I am so glad to hear that you really got a good sense of the story, and that the descriptions worked so well.

"Subtly with a bit of finesse" is just what I was going for ;)

Also, "transgendered" is a bit of a derogatory term (as compared to "transgender"). Krazyboutharryginny explained this well in the "Glossary of Transgender Terms" thread on the forums.

I'm glad that even though you say you don't read a lot, you are excited to read more of this story. It will only be about 10 chapters, and I think you'll really enjoy it.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by AlecJamesCaius_ Chapter Two

29th June 2015:
Hey there, here for the review swap.

What an original idea for a story, impressed! The whole time I was like, huh... Lysandra...? That's a strange name for a girl, and why does Lorcan hate her so much? Or is this AU and is Lysander Lysandra here? And then it turns out Lysander got a sex change. I've tot to commend you, I've never read anything like this, which is a great plus. I do wonder why Lorcan is so mean to his sis though, he's a Weasley after all.. They're very close. I guess we'll get to see later. We also got introduced to a few of the other characters, but one other noteworthy thing was how everybody is so proud of Lysander for him 'coming out' that he identifies as female, while Lorcan is the only one who's against it. Strange, since usually it would be the other way around. I don't have much criticism, sorry. This chapter completely fulfilled its purpose. However you can see my lack of criticism as feedback as well! Good job. Waiting for your review :)

Alec

Author's Response: Hello, thanks for stopping by!

I don't want to spell out the reasons why Lorcan is struggling to accept Lysandra. It is certainly an emotionally complicated issue that some people struggle with more than others, and it has a very strong personal effect on Lorcan's life.

Lorcan is not a Weasley, he's a Scamander - his parents are Rolf and Luna. Also, we don't know much about the next generation, so there's a lot of freedom to question assumptions about what their family dynamics would be like.

I am just finishing up my lunch break. I'll try to leave you a review within the next day.

Thanks

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Noaccount Chapter Two

29th June 2015:
I like what you're doing here, not many stories I've read on any site show what it would be like if a sibling had a negative reaction to the LGBTQ community and you do it very well. I can't wait to see where this story goes!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

This story is fun to write because the basis of the concept (the Head Boy and Girl hating each other, but growing close over time)is a classic cliche, and yet I am doing it in an unconventional way. I love lgbt+ characters, and am glad to share more with the hpff community.

Thanks for taking the time to read this story.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gabriella Hunter Chapter One

19th June 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with a random review! Well, it's not very random considering that I was asking for something awesome to read. :D

So, you've captured my interest with this story right off the bat! I hardly ever see stories featuring Lorcan or Lysander and when I usually see them popping up, they're more of a secondary character. I like that you've made Lorcan the focus here and I'm eager to see what you're going to do with his character. I'm already getting the sense that he's a dedicated and serious kind of person but may I say that he reminded me of Percy Weasley? The entire little bit about him glowing over his Head Boy badge just made me squeal a little. I wonder if he has a rather pompous opinion of himself? I would fall in love with him even more if he did. Hahaha.

*Ahem*

I'm sensing that not everything is good at his home. Of course, we're not sure what might have happened before this but I'm getting the feeling that Rolf and Lorcan don't really have much to do with one another. Perhaps they have fallen into a numb sort of acceptance? Or maybe they've merely grown distant with one another? I wonder what happened, though I have my suspicions right now about it...

Apparently you've changed the gender of Lysander in this and I'm really curious! I don't think I've seen this done before and I'm really, really eager to find out more. I wonder what she's like and if their relationship is as forced, Lorcan was obviously not very happy about the news. :D

I liked this so keep me posted! >:)

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Yay, my first review for this story!

Now I have to hold my tongue and not answer all of your questions right away, which is tempting...

I suppose there is a bit of a connection with Percy, but Lorcan does have a very different personality. Yes, he may be a bit pompous, but not necessarily for the same reasons. The way I see it, Percy is very ambitious and his pompousness comes from a place of feeling superior to others based on social power. I see Lorcan as really very intelligent, to the point that he actually feels isolated from others.

I'm definitely glad to hear that you like Lorcan. He's not always very likeable in the coming chapters, but part of my aim with this chapter was to get readers invested in him before we get to that point.

Chapter 2 is done and I'm working on chapter 3 this weekend, though I'll probably update Rules of Motherhood first, because I'm so flattered at the good attention it's getting. I'll update this soon though, so check back!

Thanks,

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login