Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Loving Luna
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Karen Loving Luna

2nd September 2015:
Love this story
Great job

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 Loving Luna

11th August 2015:
Hi there!

Here for your second review from the "Whose Line Is It Anyway?" House Cup game. And like I said in the last review, this can also be for the brand new BvB review fest format that's going on in the common room.

Luna! Gah - I know the fun and stress and heart-wrenching emotions that come with writing Luna Lovegood. And you did such a beautiful, beautiful job with her. I love this version of her love story.

And it's so believable. Everyone loves Luna - especially us 'Claws, but literally everyone falls in love with her. She is so witty and childlike and good and you just want to have a part of her with you all the time, so this was such an enjoyable read for that reason alone.

Her love with Neville was so sweet and while I don't think "fizzled out" is the right phrase, I think it's more that they grew to love each other as inseparable friends who have such a history together, they can't ever break that bond.

I loved Stella (totally see what you did there with the name) - it's brilliant and she was such an amazing character. The way you described how they both had similar features, but were such opposites by using the artist description of how they would be portrayed on paper was beautiful writing.

And YES!!! Ginny is Luna's best friend. This is completely my head canon and I don't know if everyone else sees it the way I do, but they were always together in the books (I really think that it was Ginny's idea to name her daughter after Luna - not Harry's).

And I just loved how you tied in Luna's love for traveling with her love for Rolf. It was as if all her past loves were building and getting her ready to love Rolf. I don't know if she would've loved him the same way if she met him before she loved Stella.

Also, I wanted to comment on your handling of the LGBTQA genre. It wasn't overdone or awkward at all - it was beautiful and accepting, like Luna.

Great story!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #3, by ad astra Loving Luna

19th July 2015:
Georgia dear, here with your requested review (and sorry I took so long getting to it!)

Regarding your area of concern - I think you've done a really good job writing Luna exploring her sexuality, and particularly the passage about queer and how it relates to Luna's identity - it's a lovely piece of characterisation for her as well as capturing an important part of the queer experience. The structure you've chosen works really well with the content, and i love the way you run through each 'relationship' Luna has and build up a rich picture of her romantic and sexual experiences.

As you mentioned, you moved away from the theme of seeing Luna through the eyes of people who fall in love with her - it doesn't detract from the story at all or the overall theme of Luna's self-discovery, but the switch partway through to a more Luna-focused point of view makes the story as a whole seem slightly inconsistent - if you were to revise this story at all, I'd suggest you try and balance each relationship covered in the story with both partners' perspectives. the Stella/Luna segment in particular focuses a lot more on Luna than earlier segments, so balancing it with more of Stella's perspective would really help with the concept you're going for, without losing the "Luna finds herself" theme you've developed alongside it.

a couple of other notes on terminology - transexual in the Layla segment is an outdated term, and you should revise it to transgender. and when Rolf comes out to Luna, it would be better for him to say he's transgender, or "assigned female at birth" (AFAB) rather than that he was born with a female body - these are the terms preferred by the transgender community.

Overall, I think you've done a really admirable job with this story and it fits in so well with what we know of Luna from the canon - you've characterised her flawlessly here, and everything she says and does really rings true. Luna's a difficult character to get right, but you've not only captured her essence but enriched her character and made her far more three-dimensional than she was in the books. This whole piece has a lovely air of self-discovery, openness and acceptance, and it was a real pleasure to read.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Roisin Loving Luna

12th June 2015:
AH! I love this! You got so many of my Luna headcanons down in one fell swoop!

Stories written in perfectly omniscient narrator are hard to pull off, but this really works. Maybe because it's about Luna, who--if she's a main character--demands to get written in an unconventional way. The way you wrote her approach to her sexuality, as kind of casual and curious, I think also really suits her. She's never shied away from things just because other people might not understand them, and I think that that's a really critical point to her character. And while I've always imagined her as queer, you brought some real poignancy with that and the historic meaning of the word. Luna is Queer, in every way.

Lovely!

xoxo
Roisin

House Cup 2015
Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #5, by Tonks1247 Loving Luna

3rd June 2015:
Hello! I’m here from the review battle!

I absolutely adore Luna as a character. I haven’t ever ventured into writing her character because she is such a different and complex character but I feel you give her a good voice and place her character in such a different way. You paint her character well, showing her from different perspectives and taking down any and all borders, exactly as Luna’s character appears .

I was actually quite fascinated by the way you structured her character, especially while traveling. I love how people love her. She does have that different way of being, and to have her be so simple, so full of life, and so content makes the idea of having so many others loving her interesting. It opened up the doors as to how Luna did not look at gender as a defining factor as to who she was interested in. I think this is a really characteristic thing for Luna, seeing people as people and not as some definition of a term.

Stella’s character was a really fascinating character. She was so opposite of Luna, though looking identical, and I think their relationship is something I would like to see more of. The way they work together, and how they love each other is so different and so personal and the fact that Luna feels this loos—really feels it—is heart breaking but you explain it in such a clear way.

I also love the introduction of Rolf, at the end. I mean, I adore Neville/Luna, could ship them together until the end of the world, but Luna/Rolf is cannon and fantastic. ALSO! HERE! I absolutely adore how Luna just sort of shrugged off Rolf being born with a female body. She left it as just part of the ongoing story of life and it wasn’t an issue. I love that attitude and it is a really fitting attitude for Luna.

There were a couple nitpicky things that I noticed. Most of it was just wording and flow things.

“Knowing that she had most likely been captured is tortuous for Neville, but he carries on.” –I think in section you intended to have torturous, rather than tortuous

“The only person that Luna cuts her time short with is Harold, who is at first charming, but quickly devolves into one of the most unpleasant people she’s ever spent time with.” Flow wise, I think having it ‘…Harold, who is charming at first, but quickly….’ Would work better. It’s maybe more of my personal writing style but it flows in the sentence, especially if it were to be read out loud. There were a couple other areas with simple wording things like this that could do with some editing as well.

Closing out, I will share my favorite line:

“On Monday, he’s in line for coffee - the same coffee he got the Friday before, and the same he’ll get on Tuesday - when he sees her.”

Overall, Great story! I quite enjoyed the read!

--Grimmerz

 Report Review

Review #6, by tangledconstellations Loving Luna

1st June 2015:
Heya!

I'm here for the BvB review battle!

I absolutely loved this - I thought you captured Luna so well here and I'd love to see you write more of her! She's exactly as I imagine her too, especially as here in this piece she is a little older and she's grown into herself more. I love the idea of her exploring the world, catching people's eye but doing it for herself. That's so Luna.

The concept for this piece is really interesting and so well put together, too. The way you've merged all of these small, fleeting love stories makes the piece really effective because we're seeing them more through Luna's eyes - as brief moments that pass by. While it was sad that some of these stories came to an end altogether they work so well together, because they highlight how different people can be and how much Luna in particular has grown and changed over her lifetime. I really loved the part where Luna wished she could have asked Rex more questions - I love that she becomes more aware of herself and her sexuality - and other people's sexuality and identity - as time moves on. It just worked so well together and to me this whole piece speaks of growing up.

Your writing itself is really beautiful! I think you visually describe Luna herself really well and its clear you know exactly what she looks like in your head. I had a real sense of colour when reading this too - maybe because she visited so many countries, but in each section I could envisage it differently. Reading this felt really vibrant and really alive.

As for Stella, she's such an engaging character to include. I think it's great that she's such a contrast against Luna and that even though she says the wrong thing sometimes she's still just as wonderful and Luna loves her just as much. All of the characters in this one-shot just felt so real as though they were people you've plucked from your life, and this was just so enjoyable to read.

Thank you so much for sharing this - it was really fantastic ♥

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #7, by Becky Loving Luna

25th May 2015:
This is beautiful.

I loved the way you portrayed Luna's innocence when she can't tell that people are flirting with her or when they are mesmerised by her. I also like the fact that you made everything feel realistic by having Luna in a lot of relationships, instead of just one. I loved the Luna/Neville bit at the beginning too. It made me emotional when they broke up, but I thought that it was effective and showed that not everything in life is perfect.

AND THE WAY YOU WROTE LUNA'S CHARACTER IS PERFECT. I mean, how she's so accepting of everything and how she is so open to things. How she doesn't care about people's past as long as they are good people, and that's exactly how I always saw her to be.

I would've liked a bit more on her relationship with Stella. I know that Luna loved her enough to ask for marriage so more on their relationship would've been nice, but even so, what you did write about felt so real to me.

THANK YOU FOR WRITING THIS!! :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for this incredible review. It really made my day to see it!!

Sometime this summer, there will probably be a oneshot or short story about Stella, so keep an eye out if you want to see more of her!

Thanks again for the review

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #8, by Infinityx Loving Luna

22nd May 2015:
FIRST REVIEW.

YES MORE STELLA.

This is going to be a short review because I have to run now but wow, that was so cute and touching and gah, I'VE MISSED YOUR WRITING. Luna having loved so many different people was just something i've not read before but then it fits, you know?

I love how you've brought out the different, weird Luna from the books and also touched upon the normal, stereotypical human side. It was a great balance and lovely to read. I love how you lingered upon Luna and Neville in the beginning and how they parted ways because it just ended and they were good with that. That's sort of been my head canon as well and you've written it beautifully. :)

So yeah, gotta go, and MORE STELLA. :D

Love ya, and love Luna!

Erin

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!!! It was a total surprise, and made me smile :)

I'm so glad that you not only took the time to read this, but to leave me much a sweet review. I'm glad you like how I did Luna and Neville. I've always shipped them, but just not forever. I feel like in shipping wars, people tend to forget that most people have more than one relationship in their lifetime, and the Neville/Luna can be written and kept in line with canon.

(whoops, ranted a little there).

Seriously Erin, thank you so much for this review. You made my day!

-Georgia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login