Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Hermione Granger
  
52 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hedwig1751 Prologue: Harry Needed Her

16th February 2017:
Hello :)

I'm here from BvB, and your writing style is just AMAZING *dies*.

Well, angst is normal after a war, and the way you've characterised Hermione is just...I need a word that's better than amazing...ASTOUNDING :D

I love how she's selfless, and how she tries to be strong but when she faces off Bellatrix (even with the help of Ginny and Luna) she's sucked into this unrelenting void of weakness. Even if you have an incredibly strong and capable character, she has the capacity to be crushed and weakened, because that's what war does to you.

You just make her so human, which, I think is the best thing anyone can do with a character, especially a character as amazing as Hermione.

And at the end of this chapter with Ron (Romione yay!) I think it reminds you that Hermione's not the only one who's suffering, even though she's the main character in this fic: and how, sometimes, that can bring you together. It relates to the entire HP series and how love can bring you together, even in the darkest of times :)

-Hedwig

 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane White

18th December 2016:
I like the mention of the different paper this time.

Ah! An Australian paper. I created an Irish paper or two in various stories. It makes total sense that something like that would make international news, especially given the links between Britain and Australia.

It strikes me as worrying that her nightmares are getting MORE detailed and terrifying. It indicates things are getting more difficult for her rather than easier.

Absolutely agreed about the part they all played. I find it quite irritating the way Irish history focuses on the military battle of the War of Independence and a BIT on the parliament. What about all the county councils that swore loyalty to the illegal parliament? The trade unions that hampered British efforts to defeat the rebels? The G.A.A. and writers and teachers who revived Irish culture? What about de Valera's tour of America collecting money and gaining support?

I can see why she would be reluctant to once again interfere with their lives but I am sure it's the right thing to do. It's not even as if she's bringing THEM back to a post-war situation and even if she was, I think they would want the right to decide.

It does make sense that the love of a parent for their child should come through even a memory charm. It is such a special bond.

It really is so much to deal with - the war, being tortured, the deaths of her friends, a year of constant fear and then the difficulty of finding her parents and probably some guilt for having forced the decision upon them. It would be hard to explain to your PARENTS that you had modified their memories and sent them to a foreign country for their own good. I think it would be hard for them too, to realise their daughter had been fighting a war and they hadn't been able to protect her.

I love the way you contrast the calm of the beach with the turmoil Hermione is experiencing. You can feel the story calm down at that point.

Fall is an American term. I really don't think Hermione and her parents would use it. They'd say "autumn". I have never heard the word "fall" used outside American books and TV shows.

And her parents choosing to remain in Australia is one more difficult thing for her to deal with. Maybe they don't need her, but I am quite certain she needs them. She may be technically grown, but 18 going on 19 is still very young. I think most 18/19 year olds still need considerable support from their parents and that is without going through the trauma of a war.

This story is excellent. 10 out of 10.

Wishing you a very happy Christmas.

 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane Ron Needed Her.

18th December 2016:
LOVE the use of the Daily Prophet headlines at the start of each chapter. And I should have mentioned in the last chapter that Ireland is just coming to the end of the centenary year for the 1916 Rising, so anniversaries of battles have resonance for me this year. Though of course a centenary is very different from a one year anniversary, when the pain is still there for so many people.

The list of deaths is so sad. I mean it's hardly surprising in a war but when you see them listed like that.

That part about Hermione feeling weak is so sad. She is not weak. She is anything BUT weak. But I can definitely see how much that would hurt her, perhaps even more than being tortured. Throughout the series, Hermione is really characterised by her need for success, her need to prove herself. Feeling she failed to do so would be really hard for her.

Hermione's thoughts about the loss are something that was discussed this year with relation to 1916. WAS is right to start a rebellion right in the centre of Ireland's largest city? Should the rebels not have been able to guess that numerous civilians would be killed?

I LOVE the way you describe the ongoing effects. Too often it seems like the war is over and things end neatly. I am probably somewhat guilty of this myself.

". No more did Ronís solid, frame hold her through the night. Hermione thought sleeping by the rules of proper society would make her feel more normal and the thrumming undercurrent of her mind racing would be replaced by a hint of normality. But his absence simply left her feeling hollow and restless."
This part is so good I'm not even sure how to compliment it. Her feelings are so REAL.

And again we see her put everybody else first as she goes to see who needs her when she is struggling herself. Poor Hermione.

You describe her feelings so brilliantly.

 Report Review

Review #4, by MargaretLane Prologue: Harry Needed Her

18th December 2016:
I had to check all the reviews on this to see if I had reviewed anonymously or something. I can't believe I haven't read it. I intended to read most of the entries to the After-Effects challenge and I know from "Actions Speak Louder than Words" that you do write trauma well.

I really like the opening paragraphs and how all of Ron's concern is about getting to Hermione.

"His breath let out" sounds a bit awkward. Something like "he let out a breath" might sound better.

I really like your description of how frail she seems, especially the description of her body. It gives us a real understanding of the change in her. In the past Hermione seemed anything but breakable and this must be particularly hard for Ron to deal with because he isn't the sort of person who finds discussing things like this easy. Not that anybody does really, but he seems to find it harder than most.

And the last paragraph of the first section is so sad. Poor Hermione.

It is so in character for Hermione to pass the pain off because after all, there is a war to be won. It did seem in the book like she was consciously pushing it aside. She moved on almost immediately, which can't be healthy. Even the most resilient person in the world would need some time to recover from torture.

And it is totally in character for Bellatrix to exacerbate the curses she uses. And that fits so well with "Actions Speak Louder than Words" too, when the changes to the curse are increased.

Oh, the last part really shows how she is pushing her own feelings aside, a bit like Rose will do later in your story. And this DOES kind of show how Hermione is able to understand so well what Rose is feeling.

It was a coincidence the After Effects and Angst Challenge coming so close together, wasn't it? I entered my story in both too.

And this story has encouraged me to go back to work on a short story I was writing about Hermione.

 Report Review

Review #5, by cherry_pop94 White

16th February 2016:
Hi Beth!

I'm here for Bvb! You would not believe my excitement upon seeing that this had a new chapter! The first two were absolutely phenomenal and this was too! I absolutely adore how in depth you explore Hermione's character and her relationship with the other characters.

This chapter was heartbreaking. It was so sad to hear in the previous chapters about how much Harry and Ron needed her, but how they didn't see how much she needed them too. And now here, the last line. She thinks her parents don't need her, but again, it's clear that she needs them so badly.

This just broke my heart into a million pieces. I have always thought that Hermione found her parents in Australia and then fixed up their memories and brought them back to England with her, but you present an entirely different scenario here. But it's still such a realistic one. They do seem incredibly content with their lives in Australia and it must be so difficult for them to comprehend the world Hermione has been living in for the past year.

I still have hope though! I'm hoping that this isn't the end for Hermione and her parents. I have hope that she'll find the support that she needs after the war in Ron and Harry and all her other friends and her parents.

This is such a marvelous story Beth! Great work!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #6, by RavenclawFTW White

16th February 2016:
BETH HOW DID I MISS THIS
OMG I'M SO GLAD I WENT TO DO BVB JUST NOW BECAUSE NOW I GET TO REVIEW THIS WONDERFUL STORY

So in the past on this story, I've enthused about how much you've fleshed out Hermione and added to my views of her in canon. Here, you've occupied her really well as you've continued her story offscreen, and this is such a great and important chapter! I'm so in love with how you write Hermione, and you've thought through the consequences of DH really well.

This is such a hard situation, and I really love how much Hermione has to work up her courage to talk to her parents in the first place. This is way, way too much for one teenager to be handling! But of course Hermione isn't focusing on that, because she is very independent and strong and wonderful and ugh I love her so much but she also needs to accept help from others!!

At the beginning of the chapter, I really love how you've used the newspaper to set the scene, but also to include great comments about Harry and the reactions of the Wizarding World to the whole horcruxes debacle. Of course Harry wouldn't want to take full credit for anything that happened and would be passing credit off to everybody around him. That's the most classic Harry thing ever. And I love Hermione's own reactions to the bit about Neville, because Neville is wonderful and everybody should appreciate him.

The descriptions in this chapter are killer, and the ongoing theme of the white, washed out walls are really powerful. White can be so many different things-- sterile, clean, blank, a fresh start...here it seems more oppressive, as a lack of something that's really overpowering Hermione. Your descriptions of it were really vivid and original, though, and I'm so impressed with how you managed to weave that into the story and not just sound repetitive. Go Beth!

And then there's what happens when Hermione casts the spell...and even before that, I love how you've described Hermione's family, and it fits really well with the woman she becomes and the child she started out as. I can really picture this family, and the effects of Hermione's spell were heartbreakingly believable.

I really like how you've gone for the understated, relatively unemotional reunion, and the justifications for that within the chapter are really on point. They haven't felt like they've been missing their daughter, so of course it's not a crazy reunion, and of course Hermione won't be telling them about all the ways they should worry for her and what she's been through.

Ugh, that last line. I love how you're connecting all these chapters! It's so powerful and adds to her characterization and path so well and I absolutely cannot wait for the next chapter. Sorry I was so late coming to this one! Feel free to let me know when you update and I will come and ramble here ASAP. This is such a great story!! Good job, Beth! :D

--J

 Report Review

Review #7, by TearsIMustConceal Prologue: Harry Needed Her

7th February 2016:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY BETH!!

This is simply amazing Beth! I can't believe this is the first time i've come across this! Your writing is simply incredible and I felt everything reading this!

Seeing Hermione through Ron's eyes is perfect. We never notice the changes that happen to ourselves so letting us see Hermione through Ron is just incredible realistic and perfectly done and yeah, it's everything. His shock at her appearance and her stance and demeanour suggests that he didn't realise she was going through something or if he did, he didn't expect 5 months apart to have changed her that drastically. Her fragility makes perfect sense, after everything she suffered during the days before Voldemort's death and it really gives us an insight into a different Hermione, one we're not used to.

You explain everything Hermione has gone through perfectly in the second paragraph. Everything becomes clear as we remember that Hermione never really had time to process what happened at the Malfoy manor and that we don't seem to remember what happened to her because the pace of the book then starts to get up and it's straight back into the action. Hermione is the type who wouldn't moan and would just push through her feelings, especially to help Harry because as the last line says, 'Harry needed her' and that's just who she is. Ron holding her hand is extremely sweet and I reckon he was her biggest help through those first weeks after the cruelty she suffered at the hands of Bellatrix. You explain her PTSD perfectly and everything you write is so realistic and beautiful.

I love that you've managed to capture the other side of Hermione Ė her open and vulnerable side rather than the courageous and strong side we see throughout the books. I loved Hermione anyway but this really cements my love for her because you've given her yet another dimension to her character and it's amazing. You can tell you researched PTSD and you've done an amazing job portraying it.

That last line is the perfect ending to a perfect chapter Ė Hermione is so selfless that this just really sums up her character as a whole.

This was truly perfect Beth! Hope you have/had a good birthday!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Hi Vicki,

Gah! This review is just so sweet and kind and thank you so, so much! This totally made my birthday feel so great! I'm glad you really liked the chapter. I know a lot of people have their own head canon about what happened post war, but I really didn't want to write a story that glossed over the PTSD that the three of them would have. Actually, it was an entire cast of characters, that had trauma post war.

I really enjoy writing Hermione. And I feel like the books really limited her because they were all told from Harry's POV, so J.K. couldn't completely dive into what Hermione had to deal with. She was almost sorted into Ravenclaw, but was chosen for Gryffindor. I really believe part of that was so she could help Harry. The other part is that she's just plain tough. So this story is going to explore how she can find herself again in the face of darkness.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by The Kelpie White

18th January 2016:
Hello Little Human. Did you miss me?

Yes, I am back again to read the next part of the story.

This was again painful to read. You certainly have a way of using your words, havenít you Little Human? The way you describe things makes it feel as if I am there myself, as if Iím feeling whatever Hermioneís feeling, and itís a strange feeling for sure because we kelpies rarely feel anything at all.

I cannot say I understand family bonds completely, because we kelpies care little about families. I do think it was almost more painful for Hermione that her parents were happy without her than the alternative, as strange as that sounds, because she mustíve missed them so much and they didnít miss her because they could not remember her. Something changed because of that spell, even though it was never their intention of course, and now itís difficult to get back to their close relationship again.

I think your portrayal of these wonderful characters are so believable, and I really hope to return in the future when there are more chapters to read. Hermione has a difficult time ahead of her of course, but she is strong and this is only the beginning of her story I am sure.

I must be off again then. I have to get back to the sea before someone notices Iíve been gone all day. I do hope Iíll get to visit your authorís page again sometime in the future though.

The Kelpie

Author's Response: Hi there Kelpie,

I was so happy to see you came back for the final posted chapter of this story. I just added it and I really appreciate the feedback. Gah! Thanks for your lovely comments about the story and how the characters are believable. I was truly trying to achieve that with this story.

Thank you again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by The Kelpie Ron Needed Her.

18th January 2016:
Hello Little Human. Itís me again.

I have returned to read more of your story.

Oh my, this was so painful to read. We kelpies never played a large role in the war, so we didnít suffer as much when it was over, but I canít imagine what it mustíve felt like for those that fought and lost their friends and family members. I think Hermione is strong, because even though she is suffering a lot herself, she helps Ron with his grief like he has helped her in the past when she was tortured. I think they are an amazing couple and I love how protective and supporting they are of each other.

The beginning of this chapter is really realistic. I think itís interesting that Hermione is still, one year later, caught up in that moment when she did everything to defeat Bellatrix, but that wasnít enough and someone else had to step in to save her - or actually Ginny, but her indirectly. Itís one of those moments when you just feel really weak, because even your best wasnít good enough. Itís a feeling you donít forget easily, so it makes sense for her to still think about it a year later.

Iím sorry to make my visit so short again. I simply must be off. My friend Nessie is visiting me later, and I wouldnít want her to come to my loch and find it empty. I hope to see you again soon though.

The Kelpie

Author's Response: Hi there Kelpie,

Glad to see you came back for more! This is just the beginning for Hermione. She's just starting to feel the after effects and the funerals are a small part of her grief.

I hope the story wasn't too confusing, but this part didn't take place a year after the war - that was only the very short vignette in the prologue. The rest of the story is working up to that point. So this chapter is shortly after the final battle - during all the funerals that they had to attend. :)

I hope you had a good visit with your friend Nessie! Thanks for the review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by The Kelpie Prologue: Harry Needed Her

18th January 2016:
Hello Little Human.

Itís I, the kelpie, another magical creature making its presence at HPFF known. Iíve galloped out of the sea to visit your authorís page, and this story looked so interesting I simply had to read it.

Because Iím a sea demon living under water, I rarely get the chance to read stories on HPFF. Judging by what little I have read however, I do think this is an unique story and I really like the idea. Hermione is more fragile than I have ever seen her in any stories, and itís a strange thing to see because I obviously know the tale of how she helped save the wizarding world and me and my kind. Itís understandable though, because she mustíve gone through a lot in the war, not that we kelpies know everything that happened of course.

Your descriptions are flawless. I wasnít there for the one year anniversary celebration myself because we kelpies werenít invited, but it really felt as if I was. Ronís love for his now-wife Hermione is so sweet, and I wish Mr Kelpie wouldíve tried to protect me the way Ron tries to protect his Hermione.

Oh my, look at the time. Itís getting darker outside. I must be off now then. Itís not safe for a kelpie to be out of the sea at night. I hope to see you again soon though.

The Kelpie

Author's Response: Hi there Kelpie!

Gosh - thank you so much for all three of these amazing reviews. They are so kind and heartwarming. I really wanted to dive into what Hermione went through post-war. I think J.K. has hinted that the trio had a rough go dealing with their PTSD, but I hadn't quite seen anything done specifically focusing on Hermione, so I'm glad you liked this first chapter.

And Yay! I'm so glad you agree about Ron's feelings for Hermione. He's much deeper than he usually gets credit for, but doesn't always know the best way to show it.

Thank you again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by CambAngst White

13th January 2016:
Hi, Beth!

You always seem to find some detail to find some little detail to emphasize that both compliments the theme of your chapter as well as helping to ground the reader in the scene. This chapter was no exception, I'm pleased to say. The way that the harsh Australian sun washes out colors in Hermione's room fit so well with her overall experience. She came to Australia expecting to make peace with what she did to keep her parents safe during the war. Possibly even find forgiveness -- from her parents and/or forgiving herself. Instead the whole experience ended up being very mixed and sort of empty for her. All of the emotions she expected to feel -- love and relief and acceptance -- washed out by the sadness that came from realizing that both her and her parents have moved on with life.

She watched them for another nine days. They were happy. -- In a perverse way, I'm sure this was harder for Hermione to accept than if she'd found them unhappy. She has to feel like something should be missing from their lives, the same way that they've been missing from her life since she sent them away. But thanks to her own excellent skills, they are blissfully unaware of what's been taken from them. It's like she had never been there.

If she thought the feelings were intense when it looked like her mother recognized her, it was nothing compared to the deep-pitted devastation when it was obvious she didnít. -- This. Oh my god, this. You nailed it.

She wasnít elated. Or relieved or even weepy. Rather, she felt numb and empty. -- I think this makes perfect sense. As though she'd been expecting this tremendous outpouring of emotion, that her parents would throw their arms around her and rejoice at what had been given back to them. But since she was unable to explain the reasons why she sent them away in the first place, she couldn't have that moment.

I really love what you did with this chapter. I've read more than my fair share of hyper-emotional, weeping, rejoicing, thanking-the-stars-above reunions between Hermione and her parents. It's not that those are completely unrealistic, but your story takes a very different premise and makes it completely real. I really appreciate that.

Great job!

Author's Response: Hi Dan!

Rolling up my sleeves this weekend to get some MUCH overdue responses done (and avoiding some housework at the same time - heh heh).

Then I came upon this review and - whoa. Thanks so much for this. It brought me back to a place that I'd forgotten about in the past month; and suddenly I remember why I came here and why I stayed. ♥

I really appreciate this review because I wasn't sure if using the white and lack of color was hitting the mark. And to be completely honest, I kind of wrote this and surprised myself at how it unfolded. For the purposes of the story, I needed Hermione's parents to be somewhat out of the picture, but my head canon wouldn't allow me to just ignore them in Australia for a year or so. I feel like Hermione and her parents drifted apart slowly throughout her Hogwarts years, but after the war, she was clearly going to choose the Wizarding world over her old Muggle one.

"In a perverse way, I'm sure this was harder for Hermione to accept than if she'd found them unhappy." Yeah, I agree. Hermione, being an only child, was most likely the center of their lives. It's got to be hard to see that they didn't feel empty or sad on some level without her.

I'm trying to slowly weave in the after affects of the war as a steady progression.

Thanks again for this review! Re-reading it has gotten me excited for this story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by Fonzzx White

10th January 2016:
Poor Hermione! How awful! I hope her parents start to show her some love soon!

Author's Response: Hiya! Thank for stopping by again. This is most likely the beginning for Hermione. She doesn't want to fuss over the fact that she needs her parents. :(

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ravenclaw_princess Prologue: Harry Needed Her

5th January 2016:
Hi Beth. I'm here for BvB.

I can see how this story can fit into all those challenges. There is sure alot of angst and trauma to be told.

The fragility of Hermione is shown really clearly in the first section through the eyes of Ron. When you haven't seen someone in a while, is easier to recongnise the changes that have taken place...which also begs the question of why has it been 5 months since he saw her, has she been suffering on her own and distancing herself from them? I'm sure all will be revealed. He can see the changes in her instantly, not just in her appearance but in her demeanor. It doesn't seem like Ron knew that HErmione was suffering as her appearance came as a shock to him, so maybe she has been hiding herself away.

In the second section, we get an understanding on the reason behind her suffering. She went through a lot in Malfoy Manor and then it was straight on to Gringotts and Hogwarts and then the final battle and then the funerals, and Hermione, stubborn as she is, would have pushed everything aside to remain strong and defiant. But she suffered tremdously from the hand of Bellatrix and the PTSD is taking it's toll. It's sweet how Ron never let go of her and this probably helped Hermione through those first few days as she was never alone.

I like the ending with 'Harry needed her'. I think this sums up exactly how Hermione managed to pull herself through those days. She never really thinks about herself, she always thinks of others first.

I love Hermione and she is always so strong and I like the vulnerability that you've shown in her. This is shaping up to be another really good story and I like how it ties in a bit with ASLTW. You're writing is beautiful and flows so nicely.

Jacqui

Author's Response: Hi Jackqui,

Thank you so much for this lovely review. Eeep - you picked up on everything I was trying to convey and I love all the questions you have. I don't want to give away too much of the story, but I'm going to say that you are VERY insightful :)

I think you and I are on the same page regarding Hermione. She feels the pressure to be strong for everyone else, until her own tragedies swallow her up.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by The Basilisk Prologue: Harry Needed Her

29th December 2015:
Hiss Hiss, guess who? The Basilisk, with a review.

I loved this. Your plot idea is just superb with the idea of showing the last stages of the war and aftermath through Hermione's point of view. It's canon and real and fitting. The last bit just broke my heart. She is in so much pain, so much haunting her, and yet she's pushing it all aside because Harry needs her. She is so strong despite her weakness and you've shown that brilliantly.

The first bit is also very interesting. Ron's love for Hermione is apparent and the way he is so concerned about her is sweet. I feel sad at Hermione's frailty, and how she almost seems numb. I wonder how and when and if she'll recover. You've portrayed her perfectly.

Your descriptions are brilliant and this flowed beautifully. I really enjoyed reading this. You made my heart melt, which is saying something since I'm an ancient heartless creature. But you've pleased me and you shall not be petrified.

Great job!

10/10
Hiss Hiss
The Basilisk

Author's Response: Hi there Basilisk!

I feel so honored to be the recipient of one of your coveted reviews. And it was such a kind, thoughtful review too. I was so excited to wake up to a new review and you've got me excited to pick up this story again. I have it mapped out in my head and I've just gotten so busy with RL that I've put it on the back burner. But now I feel the inspiration coming on!

Oh - and thank you so much for not petrifying me - :)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by Beeezie Ron Needed Her.

9th November 2015:
I just realized that I still owe you for our swap awhile ago, so Iím back for chapter two! ♥

I loved the impotence Hermione expresses at the beginning of the chapter when sheís talking about facing Bellatrix. I can totally see why sheíd feel that once they were on a level playing field, sheíd be a match for Bellatrix - it makes sense on both a personal and post-traumatic level. However, experiencing a situation in which her absolute best still wasnít good enough and in the end, she needed to be rescued again also helps explain why sheís still clearly so caught up in that moment, even a year after the fact. (And, of course, it wasnít even really Hermione being rescued - it was Ginny who was the impetus for Molly stepping in.)

And the way you describe the situation after the battleÖ oh, god. It felt so heartbreakingly realistic - the coughs and the smell that just wouldnít leave her hair made me shudder, because they felt so real.

They also broke my heart, both for everyone that died and for Hermione herself - whoís still in that situation of feeling like she has to be strong for everyone else. I get it. I really do. But itís clear that being there for everyone else is causing her to spread herself too thin and not deal with her own trauma, which was considerable.

Poor Hermione. This is completely in character for her, though, and youíve done an amazing job with her so far.

Author's Response: Hiya Branwen,

TWO amazing reviews - thanks so much!

I'm like a puddle of goo over here because you picked up on exactly what I was trying to convey with this chapter. Every major point in this chapter, you made a comment on and I really appreciate it.

My plan for this is to show her slow descent into herself - and then, hopefully how she finds her way back.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by Beeezie Prologue: Harry Needed Her

9th November 2015:
Hey, Beth! Iím here for BvB!

I loved this. I think that the pretty quick progression of events after Harry, Hermione, and Ron escaped from the Malfoy Manor often ends up meaning that Hermioneís experience in the Malfoy Manor gets overshadowed. I know that I personally donít always see it as being particularly significant in terms of lasting repercussions, maybe in part because I got a little jaded to the Cruciatus Curse over the course of the series because we see it used pretty frequently.

But now youíve reminded me that experiencing it caused Nevilleís parentsí to be permanently incapacitated and no longer able to care for themselves, and while Hermione presumably wasnít subjected to it for the length of time that they were, she did get a lot more of it in one go than Harry ever did, even without Bellatrix putting her own nasty little twist on the spell - which is a wonderful touch on your part, and one that I find completely believable. And, on top of all of that, Hermione was in a highly charged situation immediately following that experience that on some level helped her avoid fully processing what had happened - which, of course, can be both a good thing and a bad thing.

The fragility you describe in the beginning of the chapter was completely convincing to me, and the way Ron reacted to it came off to me as being completely believable and genuine. The war has clearly taken a toll on her, and I suspect itís not all Bellatrix - the year they spent on the run was stressful from start to finish for her and Harry in particular, because they had to hold it together when Ron either wasnít there to contribute or just wasnít helping the already-bad situation. (Actually, I wonder if some of Ronís protectiveness that youíre showing here stems from guilt? Hmm.)

Youíre wonderful. Amazing, amazing job. :)

Author's Response: Hi Branwen,

Gah! This review is so, so kind. I'm sorry it's taken me so long to reply to it.

This story spun itself off of a chapter I wrote for my novel with a "Rose and Hermione" moment. And I'm so thrilled that you agree about Hermione and the cruciatus curse. I really wanted to explore her PTSD, which I thought would begin to take hold shortly after the celebrations following the final battle. Because she went back to Hogwarts to complete her seventh year without Ron and Harry, I think she'd have a rather tough time without them.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by Gabriella Hunter Ron Needed Her.

15th October 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and I'm so sorry that this was so late. Real life is a pain and then I got sick with this awful cold that won't go away. I'm here now, though!

I read this story quite a long time ago but I never got around to reading the second chapter. I have to say that this is really refreshing, I hardly ever see stories that focus on Hermione in this way. I think a lot of people just sort of ignore the fact that at the time, she was very young when all of these things happened and saw terrible things. Dealing with the aftermath of it is something that I always wanted to see written and you've done a very good job. PTSD is not something that a lot of people understand or feel comfortable talking about but surely, they all would have had it at some point. I think that focusing on Hermione though is a good choice, she sees everything in a more practical way but her pain comes across as so raw.

What I liked the most though were the beginning and end of this chapter. The first half showed how she was doubting herself while fighting and towards the end, Hermione had to accept that it was over. The pain was just beginning of course and she had pushed it aside to help others. Now, what I like about the ending was that she actually sought out comfort FOR herself rather than just being alone. I really like that about her here because you showed her vulnerability so well. I want to see what happens next in this story so please update soon! I loved every bit of it!

Much love,

Gabbie

P.S.: Thanks a bunch for your lovely review for This is Angelina. I got all fuzzy. :D

Author's Response: Hi there Gabbie!

Gah! Thanks so much for this awesome review! I've sort of put this story on the back burner - but I have every intention of finishing it - and beautiful reviews like this remind me how much I love writing this - and about Hermione especially.

I agree with you about how young she was. It hit me one day while I was writing part of one of my other stories - the lot of them were barely 18 when all of this went down. The repercussions of that had to run deep. Hermione, especially. She put so, so much on hold that was so very important to her during her seventh year - at some point all of that emotion had to come out. I have most of this story planned out, so when I finally get back to it, I should be all set.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by 800 words of heaven Prologue: Harry Needed Her

25th September 2015:
REVIEW SWAP.

Hey, Beth! I'm sososo sorry about the incredibly late review, but it's midterm break for me finally, and therefore, after an eternity, I have the time to review! Yayayayay!

So I'm still basically waiting for the next chapter of Hurricane Luna (not that I'm obsessed or anything...), but this story caught my eye because PRETTY BANNER. Also, not many fics are just named after their main characters. I can't recall ever reading a story just called "Ron Weasley". So cool banner and cool title, but also Hermione is a cool lady!

I really loved the way you started this story off! I expected it to open from Hermione's point of view, but it starts with Ron! It's just so sweet to see how much he loves and misses her and OMG I misread the line when he first sees her, so I thought that she'd lost her skin, and that was why cartilage and sinew was visible in her neck. I just went "COOL. ZOMBIE VIRUS." and then moved on without another thought. I actually got to the end of the second paragraph before realising that no one was nearly as excited about a zombie virus as they should be, so I went back and fixed my mistake :P

(Either way, it was a great beginning and I loved it. Although, think about it: LIVING ZOMBIES).

And then it was a flashback! The thing with Bellatrix's Cruciatus curse being particularly nasty was a really nice (and by nice I mean horrible WAT HOW CAN SOMEONE BE SO HORRIBLE) touch. And although I'm cringing at Hermione's physical and psychological pain, it's all tied in with her feelings for Ron and how he was there the entire time. And then we jump into the action of hunting Horcruxes (excellent band name), but that too is tied up with the relationship between Hermione and Harry, looking specifically at how she views her value to him.

This was just such a wonderful start and I'm super excited to see where you take Hermione. I'm sorry for both the super late review, as well as the rambling sentences (just finished an assignment - still in fusty academic mode).

PS: Congratulations on your Dobby nomination! *hugs*

Author's Response: Hello!

It seems I'm just as terrible about replying to reviews - so sorry it has taken me so long to get to this.

I LOVE the banner. I'd had the story in the back of my mind for a few months and then the banner challenge popped up and I *had* to have this. The name of the story came with the banner - haha, so I can't take credit for that one at all. Actually, I asked if I could change it because I thought "Hermione Granger" was too simple. But now I absolutely adore it. It's simplicity is what makes it striking - and it kind of gives Hermione a chance to tell her story. It will get a bit dark, as the gist of the plot deals with depression and PTSD, but I think it will be a challenge for Hermione to focus entirely on herself, when she's been so used to being Harry's sidekick.

Haha - zombies. That's so funny! I can see why you thought that :)

I'd written the bit with Ron MONTHS before I even thought of writing this story - it was in response to one of the chapters I wrote for my novel - I just needed to write a little back story. When I first decided to write this one, I worked and worked and wrote and wrote and FINALLY realized I already had my beginning! I'm so pleased with how it came out!

Yeah, I figured Bellatrix was evil enough and arrogant enough to put her own twisted spin on the cruciatus. It's not bad enough for her - she's got to make it WORSE!

Thanks again for the review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by RavenclawFTW Ron Needed Her.

17th September 2015:
Heya Beth! So I'm here for BvB and I'm really sorry because I know this is going to be a short review and won't live up to how incredible this chapter is! But real life sometimes interferes, unfortunately, so I can't do it the justice it deserves. But I also couldn't move on after reading thisĖ your words and ideas really resonated with me.

Your characterization of Hermione is still amazing to me. You've managed to keep her so in character while adding so much to that character, and I'm totally in awe. I thought you really did a great job showing how the immediate aftermath of the Battle affected Hermione, how she matured even further at that time as she saw the devastation left behind. She's already the grown up of the Trio in so many ways (like seriously...Ron and Harry would have died without her.) but she's also only a teenager. In this chapter I feel like that was really reflected well given her thoughts also about losing Fred and then how she's helping Ron.

The details you think to include about the after effects of the Battle are really evocative and continually impress me because you paint such a distinct and relatable picture with such simple ideas.

Okay, I said this would be unfortunately brief and I'm living up to that...but I really hope you update soon and continue on with this incredible characterization! I'll definitely be keeping this in mind for SOTM noms next month and sorry for the brevity!

--J

Author's Response: Hi there J!

I don't think this was a short review at ALL!

"Your characterization of Hermione is still amazing to me. You've managed to keep her so in character while adding so much to that character, and I'm totally in awe."

*dies a little bit*

THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I always get intimidated when writing the major characters and ya' know, sorta hide behind my couch as people read them in the hopes that I didn't *offend* anyone with their own view of how that character is from the books, so I really, REALLY appreciated this!

Yes!! The fact that they are all still teenagers is one of the main points I'm trying to drive home with this fic. And yeah, Hermione definitely takes on the role of "sensible organizer" for the trio.

So glad you liked Bellatrix's twist on the Cruciatus. She's sick.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by RavenclawFTW Prologue: Harry Needed Her

18th August 2015:
Hey Beth! Sorry for the delay in getting around to our swap - I was actually like super inspired to write last night and wrote a whole chapter and this kinda fell by the wayside. My bad! Anyway, here now for the swap and BvB!

I AM SO EXCITED FOR THIS STORY.
OMG.
SERIOUSLY.
Hermione is my most favoritest favorite character and I've never really read about her post-Hogwarts before, nor in a manner like this. It's so clear that the War has impacted her so much and she has so much she's repressing and working through (or bottling up?).

The second half of this chapter was really interesting and felt very in-character to me. There's no question in my mind that Hermione would try to keep Harry/Ron from finding out about any after effects like this (ayoo name dropped the challenge title in a review...nice), that Ron wouldn't let her go after his intense reactions to hearing her yelling at the Manor, and that Bellatrix would definitely have her own twist on Crucio. But at the same time, those details are so original and add so much to the characterization and struggle of Hermione, even though we already know so much about her from canon.

Then there's the first section...ahh I'm so worried about Hermione! I've never read about her year back at Hogwarts, so I've never thought about what it would be like for her to be separated from Harry/Ron, nor for those two to be away from her. I really want to know exactly what it is that's got her so fragile and wilted. I love your characterization of Hermione so far, so I trust that there are really intense reasons that will make me cry/feel deeply for her.

Anyway. I love the fast pacing and the style you've used for this, and I feel really invested after just one chapter. Can't wait to see where it's going!

--J

Author's Response: Hi J!

Thanks so much for doing a swap - and I'm doing the happy dance that you like this story! Eeep!!

I've only read a few post Hogwarts dealing with PTSD stories, but I never found one the exclusively is about Hermione. This story came to me as a part of a chapter I wrote for ASLTW and then the banner challenge has this absolutely PERFECT banner by Asphodel and I just had to start writing it.

I have big plans for this story and I can't wait to see what you think of the rest of it!

Thanks for doing a swap - let's do another sometime!

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #21, by Unicorn_Charm Prologue: Harry Needed Her

12th August 2015:
Hey Beth!! :)

I've been meaning to read this one for a while now! I'm really glad I'm finally getting the chance to stop by! :D

Ooh! My poor Hermione! She's so broken. :(

But before I get into that...

Can I just say how absolutely gorgeous your writing is? I mean, it is always flawless, in everything that you write! How do you do it? Tell me your ways! In all seriousness though, the way you're able to pain a picture, make me feel and completely take me out of my environment is amazing. You truly have a gift. Honestly, one of the best, best, best authors on this site, hands down.

My poor heart. It was so sad seeing Hermione through Ron's eyes. First off, because she is so sickly looking and obviously defeated. But then it's worse because it IS through Ron's eyes, and his love for her is so incredibly clear. I want to hug them both and take both of them away to some place warm and safe, like he wanted to take Hermione. And seeing her like this after so long apart... My feels. :(

I really loved how Ron was there for her non-stop after the Malfoy Manor incident. It really showed how much Ron means to Hermione, and how much she loves him, if he was able to comfort her so much, just by being near. I'm sure what Bellatrix did to her would have messed her up horribly. At the time she really wouldn't have had a chance to let it sink in and consume her, because like she thought, there was the next step in the plan. The next thing they had to accomplish. They were on a mission and couldn't afford to think of what has happened to them. But after the war was finally over... Well I guess she did have time to let it all sink in. And with her being away from Ron, it's obviously not going well for her. It's so sad to read!

This has been on my reading list for some time now, so I will absolutely be back to continue on. This was great Beth, as always! Thanks for sharing!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Meg,

It was so incredibly sweet of you to offer reviews on the forums - but I had no idea how kind and thoughtful this review would be - gah! Thanks so much!!

Oh - thanks so much for your comment on my writing. I know it sounds like I'm being self-deprecating, but I really don't have a lot of confidence in it. I feel like it takes me forever to post anything and even then I second guess myself about 1,000 times. I'm never 100% sure if I've hit the mark and I have to keep reminding myself that my writing is for me, and it shouldn't matter what others think (that's hard to do, though!)

I know that you have an awesome Hermione/Snape story up, so the fact that I've got you on the Ron/Hermione wagon is huge in an of itself.

Yay - I'm glad you had it on your reading list and I'd love to know what you think of the other chapters (I'm working on Chapter 3 right now).

Thanks again Meg - this review was so amazing!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by merlins beard Ron Needed Her.

22nd July 2015:
Hey Beth,
I bet you've been wondering if I kept reading or not. Well, I just got to this chapter now and I think it's really good.

It's so painful to watch Hermione go through all this, still continuing to give and care for others when she can barely hold herself together. I wish she would tell Harry and Ron that she was feeling off. I think she might be overlooking it because no one feels that great such a short time after the battle. But that's exactly the problem. While everyone is busy trying to deal with grief and injuries and feeling responsible for what happened (harry)... they all don't look around at how the others are doing, they don't notice that Hermione is drowning in the aftermath of the battle.

It made me happy that Ron and Ginny switched places in the end. Ron and Hermione should be together to hwlp each other. Hermione says at the end yhat Ron needs her. That might be true, but it looks like she won't admit to herself that she needs him as well.

I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

~Anja

Author's Response: Anja!

Thanks for this awesome review! And I'm smiling like an idiot right now because you picked up on *everything* I wanted to put into this chapter.

Yes, Hermione is dealing with so much - and they all are in a situation where the rules they've lived by for months and years are suddenly wiped away. The trio doesn't know which way is up and they're all floundering. And YES! Hermione needs Ron just as much - but she can't even focus on that right now.

I'm working on the next chapter - I really, really hope it's up soon.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by toomanycurls Ron Needed Her.

21st July 2015:
Beth!!

This is such a powerful chapter and view into Hermione in the weeks after the battle. You bring up so many realistic points on just some rather simple things people would have after the battle. The cough, the cosmetic issues that still hurt like a physical pain, ah. It's all too much.

I really loved your paragraph on Hermione trying to fight Bellatrix with Luna and Ginny. The description of Molly's fury and rage was so perfect and heartbreaking.

It's only natural to consider that it easily could have been Ron instead of Fred that died in that corridor (or her) but I hope she doesn't dwell on that for too long.

Part of me feels like Molly wouldn't really fuss with them sharing a bed at that point but I can understand wanting to put things back to how they were before the last year. I would have hated for Hermione to try staying byherself through those horrible nights.

As much as Ron does need her here, it's unfair to not say that Hermione also needs Ron. In the last chapter she was 100% selfless but here I feel she's also benefiting from Ron.

Absolotely lovely chapter!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi there Rose!

You're the first person to review this chapter since I made a few changes. No content was altered, but I just cleaned up a few sentences and added some emphasis about Hermione missing Fred as well. This review has solidified that I did all right with that- so thank you!

I'm not exactly sure if Molly insisted on certain sleeping arrangements or if they all just sort of fell into what they thought would be proper after everything was all over - Molly was probably too far gone in her own grief to even notice.

And I can't tell you how happy I am that you noticed that Hermione also needs Ron. The next chapter dips into that area as well - where Hermione is insisting (to herself) that she is needed, instead of addressing what *she* needs.

Thanks so much for this awesome review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by cherry_pop94 Prologue: Harry Needed Her

21st July 2015:
Hi Beth! I'm here for the BvB battle!

This first chapter was amazing! I think it might be my favourite thing of yours. There's just so much emotion here. I love how you've focused on how Hermione handles her PTSD. The part where you say the cruciatus curse causes lingering pain (or at least Bellatrix's does) was a great touch, it gave me shivers!

I've always felt through all the books that Harry and Ron need Hermione so much. They completely rely on her and would be dead a million times over without her around. But here, Hermione needs them and I'm so glad that Ron understands that.

Hermione is such an emotional character, so to have her, as Ron said, completely lifeless is heartbreaking. You can tell here that she's trying, but she just can't go back to who she used to be.

I'm so excited to read more of this Beth! Definitely adding it to my currently reading!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hi Stefanie!

Thanks for picking this one - I've been working really hard on it.

I agree with you about Harry and Ron needing Hermione - but in this case, it sort of helps her power through.

I'm so, so happy you noticed that Hermione is at the point where she needs Ron and Harry. That is going to play a big part in the story as it moves along. Eep! I can't wait to hear what you think about it.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by merlins beard Prologue: Harry Needed Her

21st July 2015:
Hey Beth,

I'm here for the BvB

Oohh I think I found my new favourite story! This is amazing!!! I don't know how you do it, but you make my heart beat faster every time, with every word, every line, every chapter you write.

This story starts out really painful and sad, but also very realistic. I can totally see Bellatrix adding her own curel twist to the most painful curse in existance, and even if the pyhsical pain didn't linger, not even our Hermione can come away from an event like that at Malfoy Manor unscathed. I feel so sad and so sorry for her.

I'm guessing from the first part that Ron and Hermione are in fact still together, but Hermione has gone back to Hogwarts and Ron and Harry have not. Am I right or am I missing something? The Anniversary of the battle can't be an easy event for any of them. they have all lost so much and experienced so many horrible things. adding the physical perspective of a spell that is still hurting Hermione even after it's caster has died suggests that she's more troubled than the others. I know this probably isn't going to become a bright, cheery story anytime soon, but I actually love the Angst this time. You write that so incredibly well. I think you should teach me how to do it... or I'll just keep reading your stories and learn from them.

I can't wait to read the next chapter

~Anja

Author's Response: Anja!

You're too sweet!

I did think a lot about this story before I sat down to write it. I know you've read ASLTW, so this is Hermione's backstory from that. Yeah, you're right - it's not going to be super cheerful.

I was trying to stick to JK's comments about the trio post-war and how Hermione went back to Hogwarts to finish her education, Ron went to work at the joke shop for some time until he joined Harry in the Auror department at the ministry. I'm somewhat of a canon nut - at least when it comes to my own writing. I actually find that having those guidelines helps me to firm up my stories, rather than restrict them.

As far and Ron and Hermione being together - I know I've not come out and said this, but they're sorta in-between for about a year. They've just got far too much other stuff to deal with to start up a relationship. I hope that becomes more apparent as the story goes on.

And seriously - your new favorite?! Gah - you've totally made my day with this!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>