Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for A Witch in the Family
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverMoonFairy A Witch in the Family

12th December 2016:
Liz here with a BvB review! *salute*

Okay, so... Omg, I'm like smiling and have tears in my eyes... I get way too emotional over fic. *sigh*

When I saw the title, I simply had to.

This is such a bundle of adorableness, I have no words. Everything was perfect from Dudley's discomfort to Harry's roiling emotions. The idea that the dementor that almost killed Dudley is also the reason he changed his ways and his attitudes and would ultimately help him and Harry be okay with one another? I love it to pieces!

Lily was just awesome. So much spit-fire- she is her mother's daughter. Must give Harry a headache. XD

Dudley having a magical child. That really is karma, isn't it? I love so much that despite his childhood and his father's aversion to magic, all that matters to him is that his daughter looks so happy. I really hope that Hazel and Oliver aren't meant to relive their grandmother's past. I hope that Dudley can do something to help prevent it, or Harry, or even Petunia herself.

Personally, being a fan of writing muggleborns and squibs, I would be completely interested in reading more on this storyline.

*sigh* Okay, down to business: the technicals.

Dudley knew more than his fair about magic for a Muggle,
I think you meant "fair share"?

when he had Dudley had been on decent terms for years.
had = and

they force you to relieve some
relieve = relive

That's all I have, dear. So freaking cute! Thanks for a great read!

-Liz

Author's Response: Thank you so much Liz. =) This is one of those stories that just kind of happened so I'm glad you enjoyed it. I have been debating the possibility of a sequel, but haven't been able to pin anything down yet. And thank you for pointing out typos, somehow I always seem to miss a couple. :-/

 Report Review

Review #2, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage A Witch in the Family

1st June 2015:
Ooh, I really liked this one. Harry being authorative and the stomping of Lily indicates that she is very much her mothers daughter, which adds a nice touch to it all. I also find it really realistic that Dudley didn't tell Rachel about all of their history - as it's quite a touchy subject and not one you easily talk about. I would've liked to see a sequel of some sorts, so we can see more of their characterisation, so maybe that's an idea? In any case - great story and I love the way it's all worked out :3

x Ineke

Author's Response: Hi Ineke, thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you liked the story. I've received a few comments about a possible sequel and now I'm starting to seriously consider it. I'll let you know if I end up writing one. Thanks again! =)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Katie Wallenby A Witch in the Family

24th May 2015:
Hi! You probably don't know me seeing as my family fled Britain with me in tow during the First Wizarding War. Before I finally returned home to Britain, I have to say it was really something to find out that my ex-boyfriend's son was the saviour of the wizarding world. And now here he is, with his fascinating history welcoming another person into our magical community.

The dynamics at play between everyone were perhaps the most interesting part of this new development. Between Dudley and Harry seeming to firmly bury the hatchet to the about face with Lily (II)'s attitude toward her second cousin to the bewildered wife there was a lot going on. Thankfully you're good enough at descriptions to let us see how people were feeling (perhaps coping is the better word?) in a variety of different ways from facial expressions to the details in dialogue tags.

For me, the beginning was a little literal, but it felt so familiar. I remember my mother used to run a business dealing with muggles and magical customers alike and the scampering around to make things appear "normal" was a fixture of our lives too. That said, you might consider striking a little of the recitation of items and description of the full routine. Usually for families in that situation it's so familiar it's not even terribly noticeable WHAT you're handling or hiding - it's just another routine. Like throwing all your dirty clothes in the closet and under the bed when your mum asks about laundry.

Though you've marked it completed, I think this is quite an interesting concept with a lot of potential! I can imagine Hazel branching out at school and spreading her wings, Lily helping her get acclimated a little, and even a chance for Dudley and Harry to stand together against Vernon (wouldn't that be a hoot?). Of course, I'm a simple person, so you probably have better ideas, but I do hope you'll consider telling us more of the story some day.

Who knows - maybe Hazel would run into me at Quality Quidditch Supplies. Someone in the Potter family HAS to tell her about Quidditch after all...

Author's Response: Hello Katie! Are you perhaps related to the "Wallenbys" that Slughorn spoke of? ;)

I'm glad you managed to escape during the first war and that you took the time to read this. I think coping is a great way to describe what they're doing: not very comfortable around each other or with what's happening, but trying to deal with it the best they can.

I have gotten a few comments that have made me re-consider being done with this. Maybe I will have to expand it and see how things go for the magical Dursley.

Thanks again! =)


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Summer Snake A Witch in the Family

18th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

Wow, this was a very nice little story! I loved that you took the idea of JKR giving Dursley a magical child and put your own spin to it. Now, I'm a magical snake so I understand all the fear that non-magical creatures face - and I guess it's similar with humans - and so I think you tackled Rachel's reactions very well.

Your characterisation of Harry, Lily, Dudley and little Hazel was all perfect. I really enjoyed reading their interactions. The way you described everything was very good too, especially how Harry patiently explained all the wizarding world stuff to Rachel. Dudley's worry about stuff like Voldemort's time was also genuine and a nice touch. The excitement of the girls was very good too.

All in all, I think you had a brilliant plot here and some great scenes. Your characterisation, flow and descriptions were superb. I really enjoyed reading this and it brought a smile to my face (yes I'm a creature but I can smile because I'm magical). Great job writing this! *showers confetti and flowers*

Now I'm off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

Author's Response: Hello Summer Snake! I'm glad to see you slithering (Slytherin? :P) in to read one of my stories.

I'm glad you liked the idea. Like I said, I claimed it as my head-canon as soon as I heard it and now that I'm [not as] scared to write Next Gen I just had to give it a try!

Thank you for the confetti, flowers, and kind words. =)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Shadowkat A Witch in the Family

17th May 2015:
Hey, sorry it took so long, haven't been on much the past few days. :(


I really liked this one and I''ve always wished she'd included that in the epilogue, it would have been the perfect touch.

There were a few things I saw, I think there were some missing and added words, and some sentences could be rearranged for a better flow. Some were also repeated troops close, but that could be fixed by substituting one of those for another word of the same meaning to add variety.

Also, doesn't Hogwarts send someone over to explain about magic to muggle family's?

Overall, very nice oneshot, though now I'm really wanting to see their reaction all the shops and magical items when going for supplies. I'd imagine it to be very interesting.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you also liked the idea of Dudley having a magical child. It seemed like it would be a perfect circle for Harry & Dudley's relationship. The reason I had them go see Harry is that I pictured that they had somebody greet them and explain that magic was real, but not mentioning Harry since officially cousins shouldn't know about magic (even though Harry & Dudley grew up together).

The idea about adding on is interesting. There is definitely potential there!

Thanks for reviewing. =)


 Report Review

Review #6, by May A Witch in the Family

17th May 2015:
Loved your story would have loved to have seen diagon ally through dudleys eyes

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! Thanks for reviewing! =)

 Report Review

Review #7, by looneylizzie A Witch in the Family

17th May 2015:
So I saw you posted this in the forums, and I couldn't help myself. I just HAD to stop by and read it!

And I've got to say, this is awesome!! It's one part adorable, what with Hazel so eager and excited about the prospect of being a witch. One part hilarious, with Rachel's rather understandable, yet funny reactions. And one part bittersweet, since it's kind of nice to see Harry and Dudley reconcile to a certain degree, with the hope that they will in the future.

I didn't actually know that JKR had thought about Dudley having a magical child! Now I'm kind of excited about the prospect!!! This is a really cool idea and I think you wrote it extremely well!!

Also, I'd be HILARIOUS to see Uncle Vernon's reaction to the whole idea. I mean...just imagine! :D

Anyway, this is a great little story!!
LL

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by!

I'm glad you liked the interactions between Harry and Lily and Dudley's family. I thought that if Dudley had a magical kid it would help bridge the gaps between him and Harry for good. Like you, the prospect of it stuck in my head.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. =) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ohpl A Witch in the Family

17th May 2015:
Really enjoyed your story and would love to read a sequel.

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by to review. I will consider a sequel, depending if I can come up with something else (or if it flows out haha).

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login